View Full Version : No Licence, No Club, No Future.

PinBallWizard
04/12/2006, 11:14 AM
The Billy Liar character we have as a Chairman has yet again been spoofing us wth tales of how " I'm going to wind everything up on December 1st unless I get a lease for Hogan Park".

Today is December 4th....The club has been refused a licence. It has been refused it on a couple of key criteria. A). No Home, B). No qualified management with UEFA Licences. We are as far away from both these criteria as ever. Nobody wants to work for Daft Dave, and nobody wants to give him a long term lease to a ground either, apart from it seems, the local Nazi group, the LDMC. So it appears that we're going to line the coffers of the LDMC by paying for their development work and have nothing to show for it, and have to resort to someone desperate for a job that has UEFA badges, i.e Mike Kerley.

In my opinion, the club is now sadly finished. It has no future with Drew in charge, yet, sadly it is totally reliant upon him at the moment. Bad case of 'catch 22'. What I would like Daft Dave to answer now if he is reading this under any of his many guises is:

Where are the Polish investors?:rolleyes:

Where is the lease he promised??

Where is the 'local investor' he was talking to?

What players has he secured for next season, given that a lot of contracts have expired??

Answers please, and not on the back of your cornflake box Danny........

LFC in Exile
04/12/2006, 11:35 AM
Sound man. Thanks for the update - I never knew the club was in trouble. Fancy that.

I agree - lets get rid of DD and get in the next fella, there. Whats that? There is no next fella? So we'll just give up now will we? Grand so.:rolleyes:

PinBallWizard
04/12/2006, 12:14 PM
Sound man. Thanks for the update - I never knew the club was in trouble. Fancy that.

I agree - lets get rid of DD and get in the next fella, there. Whats that? There is no next fella? So we'll just give up now will we? Grand so.:rolleyes:In a prevous thread, I called you sanctimonious. I regretted it afterward, and thought to my self that I should not be so critical and judgemental.

How wrong I was.

You are the most sanctimonious, conceited, uppity know it all on this site by a mile.

Where in my post did I refer to Danny Drew leaving? I merely said that we seem to be stuck with him and that is not good. That, by the way is a personal opinion. What I think...NOBODY ELSE BUT ME !! I merely asked questions that I would like answered, and I believe others to want answers to as well.

Shove your sarcasm and uppity asttitude please, and save it for someone who might think you are God almighty !!

04/12/2006, 12:15 PM

I agree - lets get rid of DD and get in the next fella, there. Whats that? There is no next fella? So we'll just give up now will we? Grand so.:rolleyes:

This is probably the most sanctimonius thing I have ever had the displeasure of reading :)

Mr. Wizard, what do you suggest??

04/12/2006, 12:19 PM
Perhaps he has Harry Potter type powers and can 'magic' us a ground and some decent players out of somewhere??:D

04/12/2006, 12:20 PM
Today is December 4th....The club has been refused a licence. It has been refused it on a couple of key criteria. A). No Home, B). No qualified management with UEFA Licences. ........

FYI Neither of these were reasons for the licence being refused :rolleyes:

Q1. I'd imagine they're in Poland somewhere

Q2. It's in a drawer round the priests house

Q3. Living locally :confused:

Q4. The majority of the squad were on two year deals which still have a year left to run, if the club folds they will of course become free agents

04/12/2006, 12:21 PM
Perhaps he has Harry Potter type powers and can 'magic' us a ground and some decent players out of somewhere??:D

It's a long shot but definitely worth looking into :ball:

04/12/2006, 12:30 PM
FYI Neither of these were reasons for the licence being refused :rolleyes:

Q1. I'd imagine they're in Poland somewhere

Q2. It's in a drawer round the priests house

Q3. Living locally :confused:

Q4. The majority of the squad were on two year deals which still have a year left to run, if the club folds they will of course become free agents

Well, what were the criteria they failed on? Not having a home base does constitute failure in the licencing criteria, as does not having Qualified Coaches?

Not too many of the squad were on two year deals. A lot were on two year deals from two seasons ago, making a lot of them out of contract.

Your answers to the other questions, funny as they were:eek: , still don't provide answers. They are good questions given current circumstances.

04/12/2006, 12:32 PM
It's a long shot but definitely worth looking into :ball:If we can't get Harry...then Sabrina or that really cute one out of that 60's show Bewitched would do nicely. Barbara Eden I think her name was...;)

04/12/2006, 12:34 PM
Well, what were the criteria they failed on? Not having a home base does constitute failure in the licencing criteria, as does not having Qualified Coaches?

Not too many of the squad were on two year deals. A lot were on two year deals from two seasons ago, making a lot of them out of contract.

Not going into details on here, remember you can get a licence using a ground you propose to play in ala Athlone last year

Tommy Legend, Chuka, Finny, Paddy Purcell, Carthy, a raft of 21's players, spring to mind off the top of my head :confused:

04/12/2006, 12:55 PM
Not going into details on here, remember you can get a licence using a ground you propose to play in ala Athlone last year

Tommy Legend, Chuka, Finny, Paddy Purcell, Carthy, a raft of 21's players, spring to mind off the top of my head :confused:Athlone were granted that licence because they had proof of a site purchased for development, and also proof that development was well on the way. We have nothing of the sort.

Carthy's deal is up. He was on a 2 year deal, signed two seasons ago. I don't think too many of the under 21's were signed on two year deals. That doesn't leave us with too many to pick from, and theres no manager to recruit. Somethings gotta happen fast.

thelimerick
04/12/2006, 12:59 PM
Have to say I find it a bit strange that people are having a go at a poster that is clearly frustrated that we are refused a licence after everything else that has occured this season and last.
Under the present ownership we are a complete joke of a club.
The supporters have every reason to expect better than that.

PinBallWizard
04/12/2006, 12:59 PM
Joe Soap. Lim till I Die. More prime examples of the "All talk-no action" tosh that has the club in its current predicament. You talk a good game, but obviously can't play it. Drew has probably got ye all wound up and excited with his 'plans'. Get real lads...there won't be a club there next season.

04/12/2006, 1:00 PM
that really cute one out of that 60's show Bewitched would do nicely. Barbara Eden I think her name was...;)

Decades before my time Joe :p

04/12/2006, 1:02 PM
Carthy's deal is up. He was on a 2 year deal, signed two seasons ago. I don't think too many of the under 21's were signed on two year deals. That doesn't leave us with too many to pick from, and theres no manager to recruit. Somethings gotta happen fast.

I stand corrected.

I think the main thrust of my point was that a licence isn't hard to come by in this league and we will get one on appeal if we want one

04/12/2006, 1:04 PM
Joe Soap. Lim till I Die. More prime examples of the "All talk-no action" tosh that has the club in its current predicament. You talk a good game, but obviously can't play it. Drew has probably got ye all wound up and excited with his 'plans'. Get real lads...there won't be a club there next season.

I'm sick of this "All talk- no action" phrase people are dishing out like it's meant to be some sort of slur

I've said it on the Galway forum and I'll say it here - What would you have me do?? Become a 20 goal a season striker?? Invest money I don't have??

Try harder Mr. Wizard :rolleyes:

04/12/2006, 1:06 PM
Decades before my time Joe :p

She (http://users.pandora.be/60spop/barbara%20eden.jpg) was one cute genie/witch (http://pages.sbcglobal.net/c.a.gonzales/elvis/1-12/3-4/RCTops/2/images/barbara-eden-nude-3_jpg.jpg) though;)

LFC in Exile
04/12/2006, 1:55 PM
I seem to have upset someone.

I don't like using sarcasm but sometimes that is all a post deserves because it doesn't contribute to anything and is directed purely at stirring things. Poor Wizard, I apologise for offence but I thought a poster that has used this board to call someone "Walter Mitty, Billy Liar, Daft Dave", "a pillock", "a tool of the highest order", "a greedy, spiteful arsehole", "a snivelling little worm" etc etc could take a bit of slagging but it seems not.

I don't know who you are Wizard but you have been posting on here since NOC got the chop and have been pushing for him and denigrating everything else at the club. Apart from your first post you have been hyper-critical of DD without suggesting any alternative and yet at the same time slagging off others for being all talk. I don't get it.

I am not going to engage in talking about you but instead deal with the arguments you raise. You didn't refer in your post to DD leaving but I think it is clear from your posts that that is what you want. As for answers to your questions - do you really think DD is going to come on here or anywhere else and talk about who is buying or isn't buying the club? Did the West Ham board discuss their takeover with fans? Did the Chelsea board discuss Abramovich with fans beforehand? Does any club anywher ein teh world discuss with fans negotiations with potential investors? I think not - so why should LFC be any different? In fact if he did provide details to fans here it would remarkable business naiveity and lack of judgement.

As for the lease - you know where it is. We all know where it is. JY won't sign the bloody thing. Why won't he? In your view because he hates DD. You may be right but then why not sign it to the FAI? Maybe he hates them too. But I don't understand how DD can be criticised for not delivering the lease (as he promised) when JY won't sign it. I am the only one who thinks that JY should not be allowed hold the club to ransom to get rid of a guy he doesn't like? In that context - we need a ground next season - we can't rely on JY so what are our alternatives. I don't want to go back to the Jacks but there is no alternative.

So, after all that. Whats your point? :ball:

04/12/2006, 1:57 PM
If we can't get Harry...then Sabrina or that really cute one out of that 60's show Bewitched would do nicely. Barbara Eden I think her name was...;)

Jesus she's well past her prime at this stage, still that show gave me some awfully good times as a 13 year old :) , although now that I think about it she was probably in her late 50s when I was 13 :(

04/12/2006, 2:48 PM
Jesus she's well past her prime at this stage, still that show gave me some awfully good times as a 13 year old :) , although now that I think about it she was probably in her late 50s when I was 13 :( Apologies..Barbara Eden was in "I dream of Jeannie". The one out of Bewitched, Samantha, was an actress called Elizabeth Montgomery...equally hot for a 13 year old (http://www.smr-home-theatre.org/Montgomery/images/Elizabeth_Montgomery_03.jpg)

see's it
04/12/2006, 2:53 PM
have the supporters club thought about approaching a political figure to put the pressure on half of limericks father?

04/12/2006, 2:56 PM
I seem to have upset someone.

I don't like using sarcasm but sometimes that is all a post deserves because it doesn't contribute to anything and is directed purely at stirring things. Poor Wizard, I apologise for offence but I thought a poster that has used this board to call someone "Walter Mitty, Billy Liar, Daft Dave", "a pillock", "a tool of the highest order", "a greedy, spiteful arsehole", "a snivelling little worm" etc etc could take a bit of slagging but it seems not.

I don't know who you are Wizard but you have been posting on here since NOC got the chop and have been pushing for him and denigrating everything else at the club. Apart from your first post you have been hyper-critical of DD without suggesting any alternative and yet at the same time slagging off others for being all talk. I don't get it.

I am not going to engage in talking about you but instead deal with the arguments you raise. You didn't refer in your post to DD leaving but I think it is clear from your posts that that is what you want. As for answers to your questions - do you really think DD is going to come on here or anywhere else and talk about who is buying or isn't buying the club? Did the West Ham board discuss their takeover with fans? Did the Chelsea board discuss Abramovich with fans beforehand? Does any club anywher ein teh world discuss with fans negotiations with potential investors? I think not - so why should LFC be any different? In fact if he did provide details to fans here it would remarkable business naiveity and lack of judgement.

As for the lease - you know where it is. We all know where it is. JY won't sign the bloody thing. Why won't he? In your view because he hates DD. You may be right but then why not sign it to the FAI? Maybe he hates them too. But I don't understand how DD can be criticised for not delivering the lease (as he promised) when JY won't sign it. I am the only one who thinks that JY should not be allowed hold the club to ransom to get rid of a guy he doesn't like? In that context - we need a ground next season - we can't rely on JY so what are our alternatives. I don't want to go back to the Jacks but there is no alternative.

So, after all that. Whats your point? :ball:

I think we're dealing with a bit of a stirrer here, and I'm not even going to respond to his little pop off of me, but some of the points he makes are valid. What isn't valid is his directing all of his pent-up anger and emotion at a select few on this site.

Its as plain as the nose on your face that the club is in dire straits right now...the only ways out of it are to either row in 100% with whats already there, or to examine the possibility of a fans takeover similar to what the Rovers lads did. That is a very feasible prospect if the right people were prepared to spearhead it. Easier said than done I'm afraid.

However pinballwizard, I would be grateful in future if you showed the same courtesy to others on this site as they show to everyone else. Constructive criticism is welcomed...attacking posters isn't. The whole concept of a forum like this is to share opinions, not to force them down peoples throats and to constantly whine while offering nothing in the way of solutions yourself.:ball:

LFC in Exile
04/12/2006, 8:26 PM
have the supporters club thought about approaching a political figure to put the pressure on half of limericks father?

I sent around a lot of letters a couple of years ago - I think when we moved to Pike (around the start of the SC). I circulated the letters I sent to every councillor and TD on this message board as well as responses. In fairness the reaction was positive but very little could really be done. I remember Peter Power got in touch to arrange a meeting and seemed very concerned at the club's plight. I am not sure if the SC did ever meet him but he is a fella I'd get onto again as he showed interest. (In case anyone takes this as a political stroke - I am not a Peter Power supporter and in the scheme of things would rather not have him in government next time).:ball: :)

04/12/2006, 8:31 PM
So it appears that we have to resort to someone desperate for a job that has UEFA badges, i.e Mike Kerley.

Kerley may have a Waterford badge, as it certainly isn't a UEFA one judging by his results over the last two seasons. Only Pat Dolan kept them up last year after Kerley went 5 months without a win, and his only win this year was at home to the mighty Douglas Hall in the cup!

Collins and Kerr are available, and desperate for a job. Don't think they speak Polish though. :D

04/12/2006, 9:22 PM
Lads lads, for 1960s tottie look no further then Diana Rigg (the only girl bond ever married) and Hitchcocks fav, Tippie Hedren.

05/12/2006, 7:48 AM
Collins and Kerr are available, and desperate for a job. Don't think they speak Polish though. :D

Well it certainly isn't any form of English I'm familiar with :eek: :)

05/12/2006, 8:27 AM
Kerley may have a Waterford badge, as it certainly isn't a UEFA one judging by his results over the last two seasons. Only Pat Dolan kept them up last year after Kerley went 5 months without a win, and his only win this year was at home to the mighty Douglas Hall in the cup!

Collins and Kerr are available, and desperate for a job. Don't think they speak Polish though. :D I believe that ye were the last people on earth stupid enough to employ Shoddy....Anyway I hear ye'd be more in order trying to hold on to your own manager....I believe he likes it in Drumcondra..;)

thelimerick
05/12/2006, 8:42 AM

I think you would be surprised just how helpfull city hall could be and you would probably be less surprised to know that the club are aware of this and at the same time choose to completely ignore it.

05/12/2006, 9:06 AM
I think you would be surprised just how helpfull city hall could be and you would probably be less surprised to know that the club are aware of this and at the same time choose to completely ignore it.

I would be very surprised

Limerick F.C. may be many things but a vote winner it is not

thelimerick
05/12/2006, 10:11 AM
I would be very surprised

Be that as it may, the club has chosen to ignore City Hall on this which doesn't surprise me in the least with Danny Drew as chairman of our club.

05/12/2006, 10:21 AM
Be that as it may, the club has chosen to ignore City Hall on this which doesn't surprise me in the least with Danny Drew as chairman of our club.

Must have missed the outstrecthed helping hand from city hall

Ask a local councillor, I'd be surprised if two thirds of them even knew we had a club

Can you imagine the kerfuffle if Munster, no stratch that, Young Munster, were in the situation we invariably find ourselves in every couple of seasons

thelimerick
05/12/2006, 10:27 AM
Must have missed the outstrecthed helping hand from city hall

Well, I know what I know and you know what you know!

05/12/2006, 10:29 AM
It's nice to know that even in times of great misery and depression us Limerick people can still be counted on to pull together and come up with a solid plan of action :p

05/12/2006, 10:32 AM
It's nice to know that even in times of great misery and depression us Limerick people can still be counted on to pull together and come up with a solid plan of action

It's not US, it's THEM :mad: :mad: :p

05/12/2006, 10:33 AM
Well, I know what I know and you know what you know!

Whos our mystery supporter pray tell

05/12/2006, 10:38 AM
If there are political outlets that can be used to the benefit of the club, then they should be grasped and all avenues from this point explored. The time for pride has gone...now its a matter of survival and any help, no matter where it comes from should be taken.

05/12/2006, 10:42 AM
If there are political outlets that can be used to the benefit of the club, then they should be grasped and all avenues from this point explored. The time for pride has gone...now its a matter of survival and any help, no matter where it comes from should be taken.

I'm sick of pride swallowing :(

thelimerick
05/12/2006, 11:05 AM
Whos our mystery supporter pray tell

I don't think its right to go into detail here but I can promise you that an offer was made to meet with club officials, I myself informed the club and they inturn scorned it. The very minute the lease became an issue the club were contacted.
It must be remembered that Drew also told people he had bought land to develop a ground on not too long after. Since this is obviously untrue, anybody with any sense at all would question anything he has to say regarding this club.

05/12/2006, 11:07 AM
It must be remembered that Drew also told people he had bought land to develop a ground on not too long after. Since this is obviously untrue, anybody with any sense at all would question anything he has to say regarding this club.

Danny Drew is gone

Hence the lack of a proper application to join the league

It's all up in the air at the moment and there is very little anyone can do about it

thelimerick
05/12/2006, 12:01 PM
Danny Drew is gone

Is this definate??
If so who owns the club??

05/12/2006, 12:02 PM
Is this definate??

Well, I know what I know and you know what you know ;)

05/12/2006, 12:04 PM
Is this definate??

At the moment Danny does, but if that doesn't change before the start of next season (possibly by the end of this week) then there won't be a club next year, so really Danny is gone so can we stop blaming him for evrything that has gone wrong in the history of Limerick Senior Football because it's redundant now. Unless those dreaded Poles come in and bail us out of this one I think the club will cease to exist

thelimerick
05/12/2006, 12:04 PM
Well, I know what I know and you know what you know ;)

Ah man, thats just mean!

05/12/2006, 12:11 PM
Ah man, thats just mean!

What jebus said ;)

the hoops
06/12/2006, 12:22 AM
well whats the story with the under21s not getting released a couple have asked

LFC in Exile
06/12/2006, 7:56 AM

Jaysus, the junior vultures are circling already. :)

06/12/2006, 8:55 AM

Thats total cack! Most of the 21s are amateur so can move between clubs if they like. One or two have contracts which the club expect to be honoured, but theres a lot of ****e being spoken at the moment about players wanting to leave (in some cases senior for junior) and basically the players are having a laugh.

stann
06/12/2006, 10:48 AM

Not quite, mypost, Kerley only became Blues boss after Dolan left, just before this season just gone in fact. The 5 months without a win was this year. Last year we also had a long winless run under Brendan Rea, but nowhere near as long.
Point about Kerley is well made though. He may be a qualified coach, but he's no manager.

06/12/2006, 1:02 PM
Point about Kerley is well made though. He may be a qualified coach, but he's no manager.

The Waterford fans have more or less acknowledged themselves that you didn't try last year

Sure the odd win might have been nice but you can't lay all the blame at Mike Kerleys feet

For the record I don't rate him quite as highly as a lot of the Limerick bods on here. Basically in his two years with us he did good with a good squad and did crap with a crap squad :ball:

eamo1
06/12/2006, 10:59 PM
anymore?i thought ye had one.how about getting together and sorting out a plan to save yer club,sham rvs did it,g.u supporters trust helped alot when we were near Sh*t creek a few years ago.NOW is the time to get off your behinds and save yer club,surely ye yourselves have business contacts or can get the media behind ye for appeals etc etc,get a meeting together and try a few of these steps.IT IS achievable,shamrock rovers were in a more precarious position then ye and managed to stay alive.ask yerselves do ye love yer football club or just love going on forums and moaning to/about eachother,which is it????
and youd be amazed what politicans will do with an election fast approaching,trust me.so get willie o'dea togther and get this thing moving.
btw,the headline of this thread grabbed my attention,thats why im on here,it will be sad to see ye go,seriously.so i bet instead of people replying properly to my post ill probably just get a few of ye moaning at me for coming on here.my intentions are genuine,are yers?????