View Full Version : BIG FLAG FUND

Pages : 1 2 3 [4] 5

FourFiveOne
23/03/2003, 9:59 PM
We've got a photo of BIG FLAG #1 on our website (http://www.fourfiveone.net/flagsupdate.html) NOW.

Badweather Fan
23/03/2003, 10:56 PM
tis [SIZE=4]big

Damn, Can never get that giant text.

eoinh
24/03/2003, 9:53 AM
Originally posted by FourFiveOne
We've got a photo of BIG FLAG #1 on our website (http://www.fourfiveone.net/flagsupdate.html) NOW.

nice garden. ill give you €50 for the shed.

nah, seriously, flag looks impressive. it should look good on tv. roll on summer football!

24/03/2003, 12:11 PM

Looks good.

In the interest of safety there probably should be a user manual with that flag 'n pole though...

24/03/2003, 6:22 PM
photo of BIG FLAG #1

You're going to need some Big Strong Boys
to wave them things.
Click here (http://www.musashi.ie/) for a shameless plug.

Badweather Fan
24/03/2003, 9:48 PM
Must say i'm really impressed.
They are big and City are Italian.:)

cfcgirl
25/03/2003, 12:42 PM
excellent work well done to all involved

ian
25/03/2003, 2:50 PM
Good work to all that is involved in setting all of this up.good on ya redreb for starting it and for the four five one lads for finising it and all that gave money give your self a pat on the back.So lads we can all look forward to the new season and the new colour that will be on show at the cross for the new season.So boys and girls lets have a bit of fun on the way.:cool: :cool: :cool:

Ali-G
26/03/2003, 1:10 PM
Great work so far lads. As a matter of interest, how are the finances working out. Did ye have enough money for the 3 flags, if ye got more money, would it be spent on more flags or on other stuff. I think it will enhance the atmosphere at the cross this season. Cant wait.

FourFiveOne
26/03/2003, 2:40 PM
Did ye have enough money for the 3 flags,

Donations from everyone still meant we were short over €100 for the flags. Sales of FourFiveOne for the season left aside enough money to cover that and also get the two drums and the 50 canisters of green and white smoke that is on the way from TIFO.

if ye got more money, would it be spent on more flags or on other stuff.
We want to continue getting more flags, drums, smoke, anything that will help with the atmosphere and create displays at the Cross during the season ahead. We'd love to hear ideas for displays from the people who buy FourFiveOne and especially from the people who have donated and intend to donate to the funds.

We hope to meet up at the next CCISA meeting, for anyone who wants to help with the flag waving or drum banging!

When is that on lads?

ian
26/03/2003, 2:53 PM
Lads i have to get back to you on that one because i have to find a venue for that it will be on before the season starts.I will post the details on the site in the next two to three days for all to see.So lads will you bring one of the flags to the meeting when i have it organised.So lads and lasies lets look forward to the new season COME ON THE CITY.:o :o :o

FourFiveOne
28/03/2003, 8:34 AM
The CCISA are having their monthly meeting (http://foot.ie/t6603.htm) next Tuesday, so as said earlier we will come along and bring at least one of the big flags.

We might have to take the meeting out the front if people want to see the full effect of the flag!

Anyone curious about the plans... Anyone who wants to help for the season ahead... Are anyone with any questions... Please come along.

FourFiveOne
31/03/2003, 9:33 PM
Eventually we have the Big Flags done and dusted. Managed to get a picture earlier which can be seen on the website (http://fourfiveone.net/images/flags/3_flags.jpg).

Ruairi
01/04/2003, 2:21 PM
Fair play lads they look class

NorthoftheLee
01/04/2003, 2:43 PM
looking good alight ..me and a couple of the lads are hoping to have a 10' high 18' long flag together by the start of the season.

one horiz line of red, one white, double green, one white and one red...although we might reverse the green and red....

no flag poles though...one strictly for over the crowd before the game and for goals and stuff.....

have the material just need to get it stitched now....

below is a impressionist artists impression :)

01/04/2003, 3:11 PM
Colour at the Cross?

Itll be strange to see so much flags etc at the Cross. Cant wait. It all should be amazing.

(800th post. i think im going to cry)

Shed End John
01/04/2003, 3:13 PM
Originally posted by Conor74
Fired off my few euros to 451 today. Apologies for the delay - I didn't realise one could spend so much on deposits for hotels and wedding bands and invitations and honeymoons and all that jazz...

DON'T forget all OUR invitations, Conor!:) Congratulations are very much in order, so Congratulations.

Lads, the flags look absolutly unbelieveable, can't wait to see them at the Cross. Well done.

cfcgirl
01/04/2003, 6:07 PM
well done lads

Pat MacGroyne
01/04/2003, 6:22 PM
Well done they look brilliant lads

Dricky
02/04/2003, 1:58 PM
That look superb
Credit due to all of you who put there time and money into it.

02/04/2003, 2:01 PM
Congrats!

hayser
02/04/2003, 11:02 PM
ZZZZZZZZZZZZZzzzzzzzzz...........

Been done before lads
see you on the 11th ;)

FourFiveOne
05/04/2003, 9:05 AM
It has been asked whether the flags will be at the Ramblers game on Sunday...

The thing here is that because of the new FAI Licencing Rules it will be difficult to bring the flags to away games. We will have to ok it with the Event Controller in each eL ground. This is true for ALL away games.

There are also strict rules for using the flags at Turners Cross.
- We have to have specific 'Flag bearers' whose names will be given to the CCFC Event Controller.
- Flags can be waved ONLY before Kick-off, at half time and after the final whistle.
- There may only be enough room for two flags by the Shed (the other would be placed by the Family Enclosure)

We would ask everyone to ensure that these guidelines are obeyed or else we risk having the flags banned from games.

Cheers,
FFO

Pablo Escobar
05/04/2003, 10:58 AM
Originally posted by hayser

Been done before lads
see you on the 11th ;)
The 11th, fu*k you lot are passionate!
That's a whole day early!
I thought the Turks were mad turning up for matches 7 hours before kick off, but that's incredible!

05/04/2003, 11:54 AM
Originally posted by Pablo Escobar
The 11th, fu*k you lot are passionate!
That's a whole day early!
I thought the Turks were mad turning up for matches 7 hours before kick off, but that's incredible!

yeah ... Pats, they are going to be ... aahhh ... great ... *cough* ... yeah ... great. :rolleyes:

05/04/2003, 12:05 PM
Originally posted by hayser

Been done before lads
see you on the 11th ;)

l@nger. You are great to have done flags before, im sure you are very proud.

05/04/2003, 11:58 PM
I thought the Pats fans just got loads of small GAA type flags?
They look good too but not as impressive as the BIG FLAGS!

06/04/2003, 10:47 AM
Originally posted by Neil
I thought the Pats fans just got loads of small GAA type flags?

Yeah, those small flags are all they have. They aint overly impressive, big flags are miles better.

FourFiveOne
08/04/2003, 8:22 AM
Once again thanks to all who contributed.
We hope you are pleased with what you see on Saturday!

We hope to continue getting new flags and banners and drums etc. so if at any stage you want to contribute please talk to one of the sellers at the Horseshoe on Matchday or contact us at the usual.

NorthoftheLee
10/04/2003, 10:26 AM
Our Flag is ready too.... It's a 10' by 18' Flag. We are hoping to use it as a crowd cover over the shed before games. Will look good for hte cameras anyway!...

Dont have any pictures so you'll have to wait until saturday...:(

Ali-G
10/04/2003, 11:06 AM
I was down at the Cross this morning for my ticket. Got talking to Noelle. She said that the bendy poles have been banned, only straight ones are allowed. Could put a dampener on things Saturday. It's a EL/UEFA thing rather than a city thing.

Shed End John
10/04/2003, 11:10 AM
Originally posted by Ali-G
She said that the bendy poles have been banned, only straight ones are allowed. Could put a dampener on things Saturday. It's a EL/UEFA thing rather than a city thing.

Not having seen one up close and personal last Saturday evening. Straight poles work just fine, although the 'pull' when you wave the flag in the opposite direction is unmerciful.

24/04/2003, 10:43 PM
What's next on the list?

I'd love to see a big 50 foot by 30 foot Green/White/Red 'Crowd Cover' go up and down the Shed...

24/04/2003, 11:14 PM
Originally posted by Neil
What's next on the list?

How about some of those banners on two sticks that the Ultras and SEI have got recently? You'd see them a lot at Serie A matches and they look impressive.

NorthoftheLee
25/04/2003, 8:07 AM
What's next on the list?

I'd love to see a big 50 foot by 30 foot Green/White/Red 'Crowd Cover' go up and down the Shed...

Well there is a 10 by 18 foot one at present which will hopefully be 20 by 18 by the end of the season...need to save up the bobs again.....that'll be as big as its gonna get though.....to har dto manage otherwise...
and as well as that ..you should hear the moaners in the shed at it when they are inconvienced as the flag is put over them....:rolleyes:

also an other idea would to have a loads of the 3 by 5 foot flags....different countris like algeria, hungary, italy, iraq..etc....

25/04/2003, 8:41 AM
Originally posted by NorthoftheLee
you should hear the moaners in the shed at it when they are inconvienced as the flag is put over them
Yeah, good point.

The "two sticks" are good alright but are they not banned? I know SEI and Ultras have got away with them but there seems to be a different set of rules for us?

fonzi
25/04/2003, 10:37 AM
[QUOTE][i]
I was down at the Cross this morning for my ticket. Got talking to Noelle. She said that the bendy poles have been banned, only straight ones are allowed. Could put a dampener on things Saturday. It's a EL/UEFA thing rather than a city thing. [/
[QUOTE]
thats quite bizzare.
i was told no sticks alowed.

25/04/2003, 12:19 PM
Lads,

25 * 35 crowd cover - White with City crest (done professionally)

RedReb
26/04/2003, 4:21 AM
your talking 2,000 euros for a real class pro job.

26/04/2003, 12:16 PM
Originally posted by Ali-G
I was down at the Cross this morning for my ticket. Got talking to Noelle. She said that the bendy poles have been banned, only straight ones are allowed. Could put a dampener on things Saturday. It's a EL/UEFA thing rather than a city thing.

That seems strange, especially as $hels had one of those Seria A flags on the pitch to welcome out the teams when they played Longford on Tuesday. Cant remember if it was a bendy pole or a straight one though, I'll take another look at the vid later on.

17/05/2003, 12:50 PM
Bit late I know lads,

But I was wondering, what material did youse, or any other clubs that have big flags use for them- approx cost per flag etc

17/05/2003, 12:53 PM
Maribor,
i aint gona re-read the13 page thread but you can contact the 451 lads at

mail: fanzine@fourfiveone.net
Web: www.fourfiveone.net
Text: 086-40-50-451

and they'll know for sure, hope that helps

james

FourFiveOne
18/05/2003, 10:22 PM
Originally posted by Maribor
What material did youse, or any other clubs that have big flags use for them
You need to use a very light lining material.
Leave an email address and I'll send on exact details later.

FourFiveOne
14/06/2003, 9:21 AM
I think it's fair to say that the three big flags have been a huge success. Fair play to all who contributed and to those helping to wave and take care of them.

But we can't stop now!
We need more flags, banners....

Main problems is funds.
[One big flag and pole costs about €180 to buy, and get the material sewn together]

A lot of people have been suggesting to us that we do a regular collection around the ground. Or have a bucket outside the Horseshoe with the fanzine sellers for contributions...

Would people be willing to set up a direct debit for a while?
ie. 30 people throw €2 a week for 9 weeks and we'd have another three BIG FLAGS.

What are supporters thoughts about these ideas?
Any more ideas?

Cheers,
FFO

14/06/2003, 11:36 PM
How about a notice on the Supporters Clubs page in the Match Day Mag asking for donations or just drawing attention to what ever plan you go with.

At the Ireland match the Rovers lads all had Rovers Ultras t-shirts why not have 4-5-1 t-shirts to sell at a profit and send that money to the flag fund, not sure how workable that is.

NorthoftheLee
16/06/2003, 8:15 AM
A lot of people have been suggesting to us that we do a regular collection around the ground. Or have a bucket outside the Horseshoe with the fanzine sellers for contributions...

Would people be willing to set up a direct debit for a while?
ie. 30 people throw €2 a week for 9 weeks and we'd have another three BIG FLAGS.

agree with the donation buckets definitely....before or after the games.....

as for 2 a week ....no problemi....snt gonna be missed by anyone....

as i said at the UCD game....just ordered more flags and will hopefully have a 20' * 18' stripey flag and a 10' * 9' checkered flag ready for the rovers game on the 11th.

the more flags, the more colour, the better.......

the 451 t-shirt idea is good too. a few scarves mightnt go astray either........

16/06/2003, 12:26 PM
Originally posted by NorthoftheLee
the more flags, the more colour, the better.......

Definately, we need to keep this going and have a continuos stream of new flags etc. in the same way that the SEI or the Ultras do.
Nobody is going to miss 2 or 3 euro a week and the increased colour and atmosphere will benefit us all.
I still want to get some of those two sticks flags like Pats and Rovers and all the Serie A fans have, they are the job imo.

Fair play for organising a couple of more flags NOTL.

FourFiveOne
17/06/2003, 10:58 PM
Thank you all for the interest.

For those who were asking, here is the account number:

AIB
Sort Code 930121
Account Number 04034023

We are currently discussing the possibility of getting a flag sponsored. Hope to have some news soon.

Cheers,
FFO

17/06/2003, 11:28 PM
guiness would probably help out as they're the club sponsors. you'd be surprised how many of the pubs about the city would too (180euro to have your pub name waved about at city games is small change, lots of them sponsor nightowls teams which is way less exposure).

anybody know the easiest way to contribute from abroad (can't really walk into an AIB where i am but i'd like to chip in), any of you lads have a paypal account for example?? or would an american cheque be ok????

@ndy
18/06/2003, 12:19 PM
I assume Bohs bought the flags at Dalymount, and Shels did same on seeing the bohs ones. It disappoints me to see the treatment you guys get after all the effort, eg Monday night. Why don't you grab Pat Dolan the next time you see him, and have a word..he strikes me as a doer who if ye told him what was up would have yous on the pitch every game. :ball: