cfcgirl
19/02/2003, 8:06 PM
1 8 6

23/02/2003, 12:39 PM
2 6 8

RedReb
23/02/2003, 5:42 PM
How about a big REBEL FLAG with green instead of blue. I saw the BASLE fans with 1 in the champions league on a big pole, looked absolutely wicked.;) I will have that 50 euros for collection on saturday for whoever wants to collect it.

NorthoftheLee
24/02/2003, 8:02 AM
REDREB ...excellent idea....the only problem would be that it would be hard to put thatflag together, though not impossible.

fonzi
24/02/2003, 9:42 AM
how much do ye have now?

24/02/2003, 5:10 PM
Originally posted by NorthoftheLee
the only problem would be that it would be hard to put thatflag together.

It would be easier to get it printed.

RedReb
24/02/2003, 5:49 PM
we could just get the red material sewn together and surely some 1 could paint the X on both sides of it and scribble a few stars on it. CCFC REBEL BOYS

24/02/2003, 5:58 PM
Originally posted by RedReb
we could just get the red material sewn together and surely some 1 could paint the XREBEL BOYS

Off with you RedReb, it's time to earn your Blue Peter badge.

ian
24/02/2003, 6:46 PM
hahahahahahahahahahahahahahahah that was a good one peadar but it would be a good flag do.red reb can i help to couler in the flag to.

Fr. Joe
27/02/2003, 12:22 AM
This Flag idea is being copied by ye Cork c*nts. Limerick FC done this months ago. F*ck Off and think of ye're own ideas in future.

27/02/2003, 10:36 AM
Originally posted by Fr. Joe
This Flag idea is being copied by ye Cork c*nts. Limerick FC done this months ago. F*ck Off and think of ye're own ideas in future.
So sorry :eek:
Who would have thought it?
Stab City was the first ever club to think of using flags...... :rolleyes:

Back to the ghetto, little man........

fonzi
27/02/2003, 11:15 AM
a nice big pink flag would be great fun too guys!

27/02/2003, 1:06 PM
Any update on the flags choosen/ordered/sewed?

How did the big drums work for the u-21 final?

NorthoftheLee
27/02/2003, 2:27 PM
the big drums were great! the invisible, non-sound making type really do add to the atmosphere. :)

Hope they'll be a lot more effective and visible at the first home game of the season.....

FourFiveOne
28/02/2003, 5:17 PM
We didnt bring the big drums to the U 21 cup final as we felt that it would be better to leave them off til the start of the new season. They have been bought and are waiting to be beaten!

As for the flag fund itself, well the response has been very dissapointing. Many people have promised money towards it, but havent actually given us the money. There is still time though.

The flags chosen, by the votes are flag numbers 2, 3 and a dark horse late entry suggested to us via email. Its actually the nicest of the lot of them.

So we hope to be buying material, and getting them sewn together within the next 10 days. THEY WILL BE ON DISPAY on the opening day of the season.

All donations are very welcome to the account numbers above.

Cheers,
FourFiveOne

01/03/2003, 9:43 AM
Originally posted by FourFiveOne

The flags chosen, by the votes are flag numbers 2, 3 and a dark horse late entry suggested to us via email. Its actually the nicest of the lot of them.

Any chance of actually seeing this "dark horse" flag?
Is it one I sent in by any chance?....;)

01/03/2003, 11:30 AM
Typical .... want everything and dont want to do anything, sad really.

Is there anyone willing to wave/mind the flags matchday ???

02/03/2003, 8:38 PM
Originally posted by A face
Typical .... want everything and dont want to do anything, sad really.

Its actually pathetic more than anything else i reckon. When you consider that Limerick raised more than €700 and drogs raised €650 in a week, the fact that when our people try, they are either ignored or given false promises.

You know who you all are, and you are pathetic excuses for fans. You are the very same people who complain and bitch abouyt everything, yrt when someone tries to make an effort, its ignored.

Okay, im sure there are a few decent people out there, but i know for a fact that there are also some very aggressive small people supporting city who are far more concerned about earning kudos from the club than actually supporting the club. If they dont get their way, or if someone dares question them, they resort to crying like little kids and actions more becoming of a thug.

This falg fund is a proactive step. So come on those of you who havent contributed, will ye please do something positive for once.

02/03/2003, 10:12 PM
Originally posted by GWA
Its actually pathetic more than anything else i reckon. When you consider that Limerick raised more than €700 and drogs raised €650 in a week
Pathetic is operative word I think, the fact that a team like Limerick (with all due respect to them) with an absolutley miniscule fan base managed to raise more than we did with our 6000 'loyal' supporters says it all. I wonder is it just a Cork thing or what???
Everyone is favour of getting the flags but the vast majority are more than happy to leave it to other people.
Come the first game against Pats everyone will be saying things like "those flags look wonderful" or "the noise from the drums is great" or "they really add to the atmosphere" but if you asked the same people to wave one of the flags or bang one of the drums or make a donation or look after the things they'd laugh at you.

end of rant!

03/03/2003, 10:15 AM
Feck it, I was gonna throw in a tenner until some twit started with the Stab City jibes above ;) . What's the story now and when are ye hoping to have them done (if at all)? Ours are 10ft x 5ft without poles but if anybody wants a look when I'm next in Cork (in the next two weeks I'd guess) let me know and I'll bring them down. We raised about €750 overall (most of our diehards threw in €50) and got four at €125 each leaving us with *gets out calculator* €250 that we're hoping to use on a bus at some point.

03/03/2003, 10:28 AM
Originally posted by sadloserkid
€250 that we're hoping to use on a bus at some point.

why dont the 4 of ye just go by car :D

03/03/2003, 10:36 AM
Originally posted by James

You see that what's I'm talking about! :mad:

As ever in these little spats I ask the following... what was the score the last time our fine teams met???? God bless James Mulligan and his corner-flag vendetta! :D

We usually just use public transport but we're getting organised this year and fully expect to have double figures travelling! :p

03/03/2003, 4:15 PM
Originally posted by James

hehe

At least something made me smile today.

Verdi
04/03/2003, 2:54 PM
when do we find out about the flags?
i put money in and there's no news on which flags were chosen, no updates on the website fourfiveone.net
are they even going to be donefor the Pats game?

Shed End John
04/03/2003, 4:41 PM
It's great to see that the team and backroom staff aren't the only aspects of CCFC trying to have a more professional set-up.

FourFiveOne
06/03/2003, 3:16 PM
The green white and red material is currently being stitched together. The three poles are ready in waiting. We hope to have the job done by the end of next week, and possibly have photos on the website to give people a sneak preview!

Thanks again to all who have made a donation to the FUND so far. We have recieved over €220 so far (CCISA are lodging €100 in the account tomorrow).

Anybody still wanting to contribute...

AIB
Sort Code 930121
Account Number 04034023

FORZA CITY!

06/03/2003, 3:51 PM
We have recieved over €220 so far [/COLOR]

€220 euro? No offence lads but that's pretty crap from a self-proclaimed big club. Though if ye're getting three flags for that you're good hagglers anyway! ;)

Best of luck with it anyway!

06/03/2003, 3:58 PM
Originally posted by sadloserkid
€220 euro? No offence lads but that's pretty crap from a self-proclaimed big club. Though if ye're getting three flags for that you're good hagglers anyway! ;)

Best of luck with it anyway!
Actually that could get you quite a bit of flag material. Poles are the costly factor. In the SEI we got 20 people to put up a fiver a week over 8 weeks of close season to give us a great starting base of 800 Euro. But then we've been doing this for a few years now and know what to spend our money on.

Big waveys are all well and good but we use small cheque flags a lot as it gets more people involved (50/60 waving small flags rather than 3 waving big) and our Oso potrait is the best banner in Ireland

RedReb
06/03/2003, 6:42 PM
ill give my fifty euros to CCISA and they can lodge it in the above account so thats 150 euros:D

06/03/2003, 6:46 PM

Anybody still wanting to contribute...

AIB
Sort Code 930121
Account Number 04034023

Do you take cheques?
I could send a cheque over.
It would be in €uro of course.

FourFiveOne
06/03/2003, 7:26 PM
Peadar,

Good stuff, all donations greatly appreciated.
Cash and cheques can be posted to:

FourFiveOne
PO Box 81
Eglinton St
Cork City
Ireland

For those wishing to send cheques please email or PM us at the contacts below.

Thanks very much,
FourFiveOne

07/03/2003, 12:14 PM
Originally posted by Peadar
It would be in €uro of course.

Yeah none of those Queens notes...

07/03/2003, 1:18 PM
Peadar,

Good stuff, all donations greatly appreciated.
Cash and cheques can be posted to:

FourFiveOne
PO Box 81
Eglinton St
Cork City
Ireland

For those wishing to send cheques please email or PM us at the contacts below.

Thanks very much,
FourFiveOne
I think all 451 sellers should have a "collection box" when selling the mag at the first few home games.

07/03/2003, 1:50 PM
Originally posted by pete
Yeah none of those Queens notes...:eek:

queen did their own notes.. wow some 'rock!!!' band they were eh :)

FourFiveOne
07/03/2003, 2:43 PM
Fair play to the CCISA for the €100 donation and to Ian and Redreb who made contributions to the BIG FLAG FUND account today...

Cheers lads,
FourFiveOne

RedReb
07/03/2003, 7:20 PM
cant wait to get me hands on one of those big Fudder Muckers and wave the **** out of it...:D

08/03/2003, 12:04 PM
Originally posted by oddboy
I think all 451 sellers should have a "collection box" when selling the mag at the first few home games.

Oddboy ..... what is actually needed is people who are not involved in any activity, fanzine, writing for the fanzine, waving flags or otherwise should be getting involved. The fans CANT rely on a small few to get things going. It is MAD to think otherwise.

If you are interested in your club doing well, then 1-2 hours every second week is all that is needed.

Stand up and be counted is what is needed !!

ian
08/03/2003, 12:52 PM
To right A Face i agree with you in that one some fans want it all but give notting back i am looking forward to seeing the flags may be when the CCISA has its first meeting before the season starts we can have a look at them if it is ok.:cool: :cool:

08/03/2003, 3:08 PM
Oddboy ..... what is actually needed is people who are not involved in any activity, fanzine, writing for the fanzine, waving flags or otherwise should be getting involved. The fans CANT rely on a small few to get things going. It is MAD to think otherwise.

If you are interested in your club doing well, then 1-2 hours every second week is all that is needed.

Stand up and be counted is what is needed !!
I gave my money to this already.
Simply making a suggestion does not mean you are not involved:rolleyes:
And I certainly do not need advice/lessons from anyone on what following a club, which is an individual choice, entails..:mad:

09/03/2003, 1:53 PM
Originally posted by oddboy
I gave my money to this already.
Simply making a suggestion does not mean you are not involved:rolleyes:
And I certainly do not need advice/lessons from anyone on what following a club, which is an individual choice, entails..:mad:

My post was not an attack on you oddboy, seriously .... i addressed it to you but it was meant for everyone, well more importantly ... the people who dont get involved.

I do mean it and anyone that gives out about some aspect of the club/support/system but does nothing to change/affect it really dont have an opinion that should be valued or credited. In my opinion it is just bitchin' and passing the buck.

Cork City FC need you .... stand up and be counted.

09/03/2003, 4:36 PM
My post was not an attack on you oddboy, seriously .... i addressed it to you but it was meant for everyone, well more importantly ... the people who dont get involved.
OK, apology accepted..;)

FourFiveOne
14/03/2003, 8:20 PM
The three chosen flags have been sewn together. The designs are:
1. Green/Red halves with white star
2. Green/White/Red/White/Green 'pyjama'
3. Green/White halves with red "1984"

All that's left to do is to get a 'pocket' along an edge of each flag for the poles to slide into. And also to get the star and "1984" sewn on.

Should be done by next Thursday/Friday 20/21 March. We'll try and get a photo on the website.

Flag-Waving classes will begin from Monday 24 March!

14/03/2003, 10:02 PM
Flag-Waving classes will begin from Monday 24 March! We'll need to have a few of them alright. I'm assuming we're going to have huge difficulty manouvring them to start with.:)

btw, 1984 flag will be cool imo.

eoinh
15/03/2003, 10:15 AM

I do mean it and anyone that gives out about some aspect of the club/support/system but does nothing to change/affect it really dont have an opinion that should be valued or credited. In my opinion it is just bitchin' and passing the buck.

Cork City FC need you .... stand up and be counted.

i think you need to take into account what people are doing when they go to a match, a face.
i mean i go with my dad, im not supposed to leave him for the entire match am i?

Where are the flags going to be flown from at the Pats match?

FourFiveOne
16/03/2003, 11:23 AM
Have a lamp at the website for regular updates. The three flag designs chosen are here (http://www.fourfiveone.net/flagsupdate.html). We will have photos up as soon as the flags are finished, hopefully by March 25th.

Cheers...
FourFiveOne

Ιanna
16/03/2003, 12:08 PM
Nice one lads- lookin good. Fingers crossed they'll be well ready for the Pats game then :)

Ruairi
19/03/2003, 3:28 PM

Flag-Waving classes will begin from Monday 24 March!

We could have the classes out my back garden then drink cheap beer and play pro evolution/smackdown till we think we're blind

19/03/2003, 3:42 PM
Might have been mentioned but what size are they?

Interesting to see how that 1984 banner works out as stitching it on will add a bit to the (already considerable) weight

19/03/2003, 3:46 PM
Originally posted by Ruairi
We could have the classes out my back garden then drink cheap beer and play pro evolution/smackdown till we think we're blind

sounds like a plan to me
time and date ppl?