View Full Version : Limerick FC may be taken over by Polish investors

Pages : 1 2 [3]

27/11/2006, 8:47 AM
He's a colourful (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Jan_Kulczyk) character to say the least...subject to criminal investigation, ties to the KGB...he should fit in well in the confines of the Hogan Park area...

This (http://www.forbes.com/lists/2006/10/KK5Y.html) is what the man himself looks like.

Here's more (http://bhppc.blogspot.com/2004_12_01_bhppc_archive.html)

He could be our very own Richard Nixon

A (Possibly) Corrupt man??

Involved with Political Partys?? :eek:

Trying to get a foothold in Ireland?? :eek:

I never thought I'd see the day :rolleyes:

Jaysus Joe, he could have poisoned that chap in London last week and I quite frankly wouldn't give a rats ass provided he throws all his roubles/zlots/whatever at Limerick

thelimerick
28/11/2006, 10:23 AM
Do you think its all a load of bull.

I don't think Danny Drew is a reliable source of factual information. The fact that no other source whatsoever has been quoted besides Drew would suggest to me that its more of the same; feeding the press a story to get a message across to a specific audience. As I said before, should I be proved wrong I'll hold my hands up straight away.

28/11/2006, 10:51 AM
I don't think Danny Drew is a reliable source of factual information. The fact that no other source whatsoever has been quoted besides Drew would suggest to me that its more of the same; feeding the press a story to get a message across to a specific audience.

In fairness man I happen to know for a fact that the original leak in The S*n came from Poland and had appeared in several Polish tabloids

Now whether or not Drew is being taken for a ride by some Polish people is another story but if it does turn out to be bull$hit (it isn't btw) then it won't be Danny Drews fault

PinBallWizard
28/11/2006, 11:15 AM
In fairness man I happen to know for a fact that the original leak in The S*n came from Poland and had appeared in several Polish tabloids

Now whether or not Drew is being taken for a ride by some Polish people is another story but if it does turn out to be bull$hit (it isn't btw) then it won't be Danny Drews faultDont know where you get your 'facts' from but they're not a very reliable source. The story was given to the Sun by Bernard O'Neill, who gets spoonfed all his stories concerning Limerick from Danny Drew. I work in a press agency and no mention of this has gone through any Polish media at all. It's a total fabriction by a failure who needs publicity to make him look good when he decides he's had enough and ****s off....

28/11/2006, 11:34 AM
Dont know where you get your 'facts' from but they're not a very reliable source. The story was given to the Sun by Bernard O'Neill, who gets spoonfed all his stories concerning Limerick from Danny Drew. I work in a press agency and no mention of this has gone through any Polish media at all. It's a total fabriction by a failure who needs publicity to make him look good when he decides he's had enough and ****s off....

Bernard must be suffering memory loss, he seemed pretty upset at not getting the scoop :confused:

Why would Danny Drew need publicity to make him look good if he did decide to leave btw :confused:

PinBallWizard
28/11/2006, 12:53 PM
Bernard must be suffering memory loss, he seemed pretty upset at not getting the scoop :confused: Don't think so...actually, I know so !! Fancy a wager on it?

Why would Danny Drew need publicity to make him look good if he did decide to leave btw :confused:Because thats what egomaniacs like him thrive off. He needs publicity, and wants to be seen as the poor man that got shafted by Joe Young and the FAI in his quest to save Limerick FC. Maybe he did get shafted, but I'd say that's because Joe Young hates him and the FAI think he's a walking joke.

28/11/2006, 1:00 PM
Don't think so...actually, I know so !! Fancy a wager on it?

Now, now you know the sites gambling policy :)

I genuinely heard different off a usually reliable source, if I'm wrong I tip my hat to you (However no money will change hands!!)

Because thats what egomaniacs like him thrive off. He needs publicity, and wants to be seen as the poor man that got shafted by Joe Young and the FAI in his quest to save Limerick FC. Maybe he did get shafted, but I'd say that's because Joe Young hates him and the FAI think he's a walking joke.

Joe Young hates EVERYTHING From Sunshine to Puppies - FACT :)

Kerry Blue
29/11/2006, 4:52 PM
There is a piece in the Irish Mirror today about this so-called 'Polish takeover'. In an interview Danny Drew said that he is friends with Jan Kulczyk's nephew and he is interested in investing in Irish football. Drew said negotiations are at a 'positive stage' and that Kulczyk plans to invest 1million euro over three years into the club. The article also says that there is the possibilty that the club will be renamed Limerick Polska, but that it is not a demand by the Kulczyks for their investment.
Drew also said that he hopes to have something sorted out with the ground situation this weekend. It seems that Hogan Park won't be Limerick's home from next year and that Drew is trying to broker a deal with the LDMC for Jackman Park, or the Desmond League for the ground in Askeaton. If he can get a 25 year lease on either ground then re-development work would begin in time for next season.
Drew has also said that Alan Reynolds is his number one choice for manager but nothing is definite yet as he has a year to run on his contract with Waterford, and obviously that would have to be bought out if he was to become manager.

thelimerick
29/11/2006, 5:08 PM
There is a piece in the Irish Mirror today about this so-called 'Polish takeover'. In an interview Danny Drew said that he is friends with Jan Kulczyk's nephew and he is interested in investing in Irish football. Drew said negotiations are at a 'positive stage' and that Kulczyk plans to invest 1million euro over three years into the club. The article also says that there is the possibilty that the club will be renamed Limerick Polska, but that it is not a demand by the Kulczyks for their investment.
Drew also said that he hopes to have something sorted out with the ground situation this weekend. It seems that Hogan Park won't be Limerick's home from next year and that Drew is trying to broker a deal with the LDMC for Jackman Park, or the Desmond League for the ground in Askeaton. If he can get a 25 year lease on either ground then re-development work would begin in time for next season.
Drew has also said that Alan Reynolds is his number one choice for manager but nothing is definite yet as he has a year to run on his contract with Waterford, and obviously that would have to be bought out if he was to become manager.

Once again the source remains Danny Drew and Drew alone.
Jackman Park lads, brokering a deal with the LDMC while having one million euro invested into the club, it doesn't make a bit of sense. I'd be very wary as long as the source is exclusively Danny Drew, it's his story.

29/11/2006, 7:10 PM
[QUOTE=PinBallWizard;582950]Don't think so...actually, I know so !! Fancy a wager on it?QUOTE]

ill take that wager and ill meet ye to accept the money from ye :D

29/11/2006, 7:14 PM
Jackman Park lads, brokering a deal with the LDMC while having one million euro invested into the club, it doesn't make a bit of sense. I'd be very wary as long as the source is exclusively Danny Drew, it's his story.

Yea it looks like we may have to go back to the jacks as neither Limerick not the FAI have gotten the lease. While i know we had bad times there, i would view this as a "halting" ground till somewhere becomes avialable.

football boy
29/11/2006, 11:21 PM

please explain what dose not make sense to you.

thelimerick
30/11/2006, 7:37 AM
please explain what dose not make sense to you.

Why, with such a significant investment would we return to Jackman Park, and with a view to buying it, a ground worse than Hogan Park, with limited development potential ??? We'd be swapping one load of problems for another, ground sharing, having to plow money into a rubbish ground etc while apparantly pocketing one million euro over three years, why start at the bottom?

30/11/2006, 7:58 AM
Am I the only person who given the choice would rather move out to Askeaton (Or the sixth circle of hell for that matter) then back into the Jacks :confused:

thelimerick
30/11/2006, 9:33 AM
Am I the only person who given the choice would rather move out to Askeaton (Or the sixth circle of hell for that matter) then back into the Jacks :confused:
No, you're not!

30/11/2006, 9:44 AM
No, you're not!

Would the club have the good sense to run buses from the city though...............

thelimerick
30/11/2006, 9:49 AM
Would the club have the good sense to run buses from the city though...............

Don't be silly

30/11/2006, 9:53 AM
Don't be silly

I reckon we could fill at least one if it was publiscised properly :o

4tothefloor
30/11/2006, 4:23 PM
Are we supposed to believe that some Pole is going to give us €1m just for the laugh of it with maybe a name change thrown in? We've no ground and even if the Desmond/LDMC thing is an option, we will still never own that ground. How is the Pole going to get a return on his money? Cos at least one year, if not two, will be spent playing in the First Division graveyard. Even at premier division level, look at the money we would have to spend just to compete. The million that this guy is supposedly offering won't even pay for the huge ground development required at said prospective venues. None of it makes sense and it all sounds like complete and utter bull to me. Unless our Polish friend is looking to launder money......

01/12/2006, 7:59 AM
Unless our Polish friend is looking to launder money......

Would this really bother anyone?? I mean REALLY?? :)

01/12/2006, 12:48 PM
Askeaton would quite possibly be the the death of the club I think. If you were looking at a short-term fix Jackass Park would have to be preferable to a venue that's actually miles from what little support base we have surely?

4tothefloor
02/12/2006, 12:09 PM
Would this really bother anyone?? I mean REALLY?? :)
It'd bother me cos you'd have to ask what kind of people are becoming involved.

22/12/2006, 6:31 AM
If ye did move to Askeaton , your club would be renamed Limerick County, there is a danger that the club colours would become green and white, in order to attract some of the GAAAAAA following. However that scenario is preferable to no club at all.

abbeyvale
27/12/2006, 10:41 PM
If ye did move to Askeaton , your club would be renamed Limerick County, there is a danger that the club colours would become green and white, in order to attract some of the GAAAAAA following. However that scenario is preferable to no club at all.

Lads, Is moving back to the Markets Field out of the question????

27/12/2006, 11:17 PM
Lads, Is moving back to the Markets Field out of the question????

Pretty much so yea. Time is our biggest enemy

27/12/2006, 11:22 PM
Without been rude or snide when is d-day for Limerick?

the hoops
28/12/2006, 12:22 PM
Pretty much so yea. Time is our biggest enemy

why not go to the pike field again great pitch and in town?