View Full Version : Limerick FC may be taken over by Polish investors

13/11/2006, 10:42 PM
Big big news, buy a paper today 14/10/06 :ball: :ball:

13/11/2006, 11:32 PM
Don't tell me Kate Moss and Pete Doherty split up? :eek:

Nah, come on man, spill the beans. Good news I hope.

lim abroad
14/11/2006, 2:45 AM
Big big news, buy a paper today 14/10/06 :ball: :ball:

i looked everywhere but nobody had last months paper:D

LFC in Exile
14/11/2006, 7:43 AM
Jaysus, what's with the big secret?

According to the Irish Times today (I'll post the full article later) Limerick FC may be taken over by a consortium of Polish investors. This is according to DD who will meet again tomorrow night in Limerick. (Maybe someone could stakeout DD?) There are 10 polish businessmen involved - one of whom has an interest in a Polish first division club.

According to Drew "it could mean that LFC will lose its name and its colours but these people are very serious about becoming involved in the eL". He said that he wants to see Limerick remain in the eL and if that means a change of name and colours so be it as long as senior soccer survives in the city.

The article also says last week it was revealed that another business man wants to help develop Hogan park but he won't come on board unless the club are allowed to buy the ground or are granted a long-term lease. DD reiterated his intention to fold the club on December 1st unless the lease is sorted. "A prominent business man wants to become fully involved and he wants to install a full management team and full-time playing staff. And now we have a Polish consortium interested".

:ball:

14/11/2006, 7:46 AM
That sounds promising. Looks like the Dublin Cosmos' investors have jumped ship!

Is there much of a Polish community in Limerick (beyond the national norm, I mean?)

LFC in Exile
14/11/2006, 7:51 AM
While I can see the potential for a football club to serve the interests of Ireland's polish community this sounds like upping the ante to put pressure on Joe. If the Poles know the current state of affairs and are willing to invest then why wait for Joe?

As for the second business man, a full-time set up? Again it is a coincidence that both appear as demand for a new lease intensifies. Without doubt we need Joe to give us a lease - my preference is still for the lease to go to the FAI - and I am sceptical of these reports. But if they have their desired effect then great.

C'mon Legia Limerick!:)

LFC in Exile
14/11/2006, 8:03 AM
That sounds promising. Looks like the Dublin Cosmos' investors have jumped ship!

Is there much of a Polish community in Limerick (beyond the national norm, I mean?)

There is a sizeable community but I don't think it is significantly different to the national norm. As we know ourselves from our own emigration experience, emigrants will cling closely and be very loyal to any sporting or cultural links to home.

thelimerick
14/11/2006, 9:47 AM
While I can see the potential for a football club to serve the interests of Ireland's polish community this sounds like upping the ante to put pressure on Joe. If the Poles know the current state of affairs and are willing to invest then why wait for Joe?

As for the second business man, a full-time set up? Again it is a coincidence that both appear as demand for a new lease intensifies. Without doubt we need Joe to give us a lease - my preference is still for the lease to go to the FAI - and I am sceptical of these reports. But if they have their desired effect then great.

C'mon Legia Limerick!:)

I'd have to share your scepticism, again we're relying on the word of Danny Drew speaking through the press. You could pretty much take everything he has told journalists at this stage, post it up here and it would speak for itself. Lets not forget the five year plan, the chelsea of the eircom league rubbish, Brian Kerr or Jason McAteer as our new manager etc etc.
If it is indeed true it could prove interesting, however with Drew providing the facts on this i'd recommend a barrell of salt.

see's it
14/11/2006, 10:57 AM
what does he expect the polish to do,theres already aload of guys up there gettin paid for standing around doing nothing..............

LFC in Exile
14/11/2006, 11:45 AM
what does he expect the polish to do,theres already aload of guys up there gettin paid for standing around doing nothing..............

Huh? :confused:

LFC in Exile
14/11/2006, 11:48 AM
From the Irish Times 14/11/06

Handed noticed that the byline was Bernard O'Neill

Limerick FC may be taken over by Poles
Bernard O'Neill

Limerick FC could be set to become Polski FC. Club chairman Danny Drew revealed yesterday he had been approached by a Polish business consortium at the weekend and they want to take over the club. Both parties will meet again in Limerick tomorrow night.

Drew declined to identify the people concerned, but said the consortium have made a serious approach and they want to become involved in the National League. It is understood the consortium consists of at least 10 Polish business men, one of whom has an interest in a Polish first division club.

According to Drew, the consortium have their homework done and he reckons that with the Polish population in Ireland now at over 130,000 their plan makes perfect sense.

"I met with a group of Polish business men on Sunday and they put forward a very serious business plan to take over the club," Drew said. "It could mean that Limerick FC will lose its name and its colours which is a shame, but these people are very serious about becoming involved in the Eircom League.

"From my own perspective, I just want to see Limerick remain in the Eircom League and if that means a change of name and colours so be it as long as senior soccer survives in this city.

"They fully understand the position we have been left in because of the lease issue at our ground and I am meeting them again for further negotiations.
"Their plan makes perfect sense because there is a large Polish population in Ireland and straight away they would have a fan base who will immediately identify with the club."

Limerick FC have two years left on an agreement with tenants Hill Celtic to play at Hogan Park. Last week it was revealed that another business man wants to help develop Hogan Park, but he won't come on board unless the club are allowed buy the ground, or are granted a long-term lease at the venue.

The club's future is under threat and Drew has set a December 1st deadline to fold the club.

"Unless we are granted a lease in our name or are allowed buy the ground then we will have no other choice but to fold as we cannot continue as a club like this because it is untenable," Drew said.

"A prominent Limerick business man wants to become involved and he wants to install a full management team and full-time playing staff. And now we have a Polish consortium who are interested.

"As said, my priority is to ensure that senior soccer survives in this city and if someone puts a serious offer on the table I will listen to it."

PinBallWizard
14/11/2006, 12:00 PM
Dictionary Definition of Danny Drew: Combination of Billy Liar, Walter Mitty and Daft Dave...

This guys a pillock, and he thinks we're going to buy it. There probably is no Polish consortium, and I'll lay odds that there certainly isn't going to be a local businessman involved.

It's all lies in my book, just like everything else he's told us for the past 2 1/2 years. The fact is that the priest absolutely detests Drew, and if anyone else were in charge, then the lease wouldn't be an issue.

see's it
14/11/2006, 12:10 PM
Huh? :confused:

im an over worked Dell employee,do you get it now?
i think thats my taxi.......................

14/11/2006, 12:14 PM
Dictionary Definition of Danny Drew: Combination of Billy Liar, Walter Mitty and Daft Dave...

It's all lies in my book, just like everything else he's told us for the past 2 1/2 years. The fact is that the priest absolutely detests Drew, and if anyone else were in charge, then the lease wouldn't be an issue.

Talking out your ar$e in a way I find insulting to the people on this boards intelligence..

Yes the preist was always very helpful before Drew came along :rolleyes:

You either are the priest, in which case go crawl into a hole somewhere please or alternatively you are a moron in which case get a clue

Either way I politely suggest you shut up talking nonsense :rolleyes:

14/11/2006, 12:19 PM
Reads like a netfull of water to me.

That any "consortium of business men" be they from Poland or Pluto would go so far as to change the teams name and colours -yet not be so bothered about about getting the fcuk out of Rathbane forever strikes me as ...improbable.

Voice of Reason
14/11/2006, 12:22 PM
There's about 4,000 Poles in Limerick. Nearly 5% of the population.

Come on Polonia Limerick!

14/11/2006, 12:38 PM
There's about 4,000 Poles in Limerick. Nearly 5% of the population.

Come on Polonia Limerick!

I for one welcome our new Polish overlords, as long as some kind of identity is maintained I'd have no problem supporting them

And besides if we don't like how things are going a few months down the line we can just invade the club. It's not like they'll put up much of a fight :p

PinBallWizard
14/11/2006, 12:50 PM
Talking out your ar$e in a way I find insulting to the people on this boards intelligence..:And you are the pillar of the sense-talking community on this forum are you?? I find most of your moronic ramblings on here quite irritating but I don't go personally insuting you, so I'd like it if you could try to be so kind as to return the compliment.

Yes the preist was always very helpful before Drew came along :rolleyes: I never ever said that he was. He is a selfish, bitter man. However, if you haven't already noticed, he holds the key to the clubs future and Drew hasn't endeared himself to him like maybe he should have considering the position the club finds itself in.

You either are the priest, in which case go crawl into a hole somewhere please or alternatively you are a moron in which case get a clue Obviously your inability to argue points constructively leads you to attacking posters in this way, so I'll ignore this.

Either way I politely suggest you shut up talking nonsense :rolleyes: Classy....very intelligent way to end a post. Well done.

14/11/2006, 12:55 PM
, and if anyone else were in charge, then the lease wouldn't be an issue.

:confused: :rolleyes: :rolleyes:

PinBallWizard
14/11/2006, 1:01 PM
:confused: :rolleyes: :rolleyes:Obviously you have problems understanding English.

I am saying that if Danny Drew weren't in charge of Limerick FC, then I believe that the lease of the ground would be much easier to negotiate with the priest. The priest despises Drew-this is a fact. If others were in charge, with a more sensible attitude, this problem would not exist.

14/11/2006, 1:02 PM
And you are the pillar of the sense-talking community on this forum are you?? I find most of your moronic ramblings on here quite irritating but I don't go personally insuting you, so I'd like it if you could try to be so kind as to return the compliment.

I never ever said that he was. He is a selfish, bitter man. However, if you haven't already noticed, he holds the key to the clubs future and Drew hasn't endeared himself to him like maybe he should have considering the position the club finds itself in.

Obviously your inability to argue points constructively leads you to attacking posters in this way, so I'll ignore this.

Classy....very intelligent way to end a post. Well done.

Some real constructive arguing there alright :rolleyes:

Care to expand on your comment about the priest giving the lease to anyone besides Drew :confused:

Stick to the Pinball mate...............

14/11/2006, 1:04 PM
Obviously you have problems understanding English.

Now now you've the high moral ground here don't lose it by getting personal ;) :rolleyes:

14/11/2006, 1:05 PM
yet not be so bothered about about getting the fcuk out of Rathbane forever strikes me as ...improbable.

Yerra those Polish aren't used to much :p

All the concrete, gravel and grimness probably reminds them of home :p

MyTown
14/11/2006, 1:16 PM
Could this be yet another new era or another false dawn?
I hope it works out for ye either way & I hope the good days return for Limerick soccer - as long as its not at our expense;)

http://www.rte.ie/sport/2006/1114/limerick.html

14/11/2006, 1:18 PM
See the gulp thread ;)

Although in your defence this is a far beeter title to get interest :)

MyTown
14/11/2006, 1:41 PM
Sorry for being late with the "news". :o Just scanned the 'gulp' thread & nobodies sensitivities are being spared. Most of the posts remind me more of Joe O'Mahoney's tackles than Al Finucane's interceptions.

Where ever you play your football next seson it's pretty obvious there'll be nobody sitting on the fence!:eek:

Maybe you're moderator can close this thread?

14/11/2006, 1:46 PM
Sorry for being late with the "news". Just scanned the 'gulp' thread & nobodies sensitivities are being spared. Most of the posts remind me more of Joe O'Mahoney's tackles than Al Finucane's interceptions.

Where ever you play your football next seson it's pretty obvious there'll be nobody sitting on the fence!

Maybe you're moderator can close this thread?

I'm just running around Albert Finnan like snapping at everyone ;) :)

I'd propose he merges the two under this name tbh once he's around

A thread started by gael entitled "Gulp" could send many people running :D

14/11/2006, 1:51 PM
Yerra those Polish aren't used to much :p

All the concrete, gravel and grimness probably reminds them of home :p
Whereas we need a consortium from Baghdad to feel really at home up around Hogan Park...;)

14/11/2006, 1:56 PM
Whereas we need a consortium from Baghdad to feel really at home up around Hogan Park...;)

The parallels are there........

The situation was grand til the Yanks piled in and wrecked it ;) :)

LFC in Exile
14/11/2006, 1:57 PM
Lads, can we stay on-topic please?

If DD is the issue why won't Joe sign the lease over to the FAI?

As I said earlier I am sceptical about this but I have no evidence to say its not true. I have to say I don't get the problems with DD's supposed 'untruthfulness" (is there such a word?). thelimerick refers to "the five year plan, the chelsea of the eircom league rubbish, Brian Kerr or Jason McAteer as our new manager etc etc" but which of these is a lie? I can't remember DD saying Kerr or McAteer would be our new manager (please correct me if I'm wrong). The Chelsea of the eL is obviously exaggeration but what chairman taking over a club doesn't exaggerate. There is a big difference. As for the five year plan - I don't think the failure to meet that plan is all down to DD. If the lease had been sorted two seasons ago I think we could very well be looking to join the premier division now.

As for the Poles - it does make sense on some level and it shows something we should look at if we do survive the current crisis - why not target the immigrant community support by signing Polish and other central/eastern European players? :ball:

14/11/2006, 2:02 PM
Lads, can we stay on-topic please?

If DD is the issue why won't Joe sign the lease over to the FAI?

As I said earlier I am sceptical about this but I have no evidence to say its not true. I have to say I don't get the problems with DD's supposed 'untruthfulness" (is there such a word?). thelimerick refers to "the five year plan, the chelsea of the eircom league rubbish, Brian Kerr or Jason McAteer as our new manager etc etc" but which of these is a lie? I can't remember DD saying Kerr or McAteer would be our new manager (please correct me if I'm wrong). The Chelsea of the eL is obviously exaggeration but what chairman taking over a club doesn't exaggerate. There is a big difference. As for the five year plan - I don't think the failure to meet that plan is all down to DD. If the lease had been sorted two seasons ago I think we could very well be looking to join the premier division now.

As for the Poles - it does make sense on some level and it shows something we should look at if we do survive the current crisis - why not target the immigrant community support by signing Polish and other central/eastern European players?

Had two Slovaks the season before last, remember ;)

Apologies for straying, it's just some of the anti-Drew stuff on here borders on the nonsensical at times

I genuinely welcome this if it's true (But some of the stuff I've heard leads me to believe it almost definitely isn't). One thing I will say though is that I would want the name Limerick to appear somewhere and a bit of Blue to be kept. :ball:

Btw technically the topic is "gulp" :p

eamo1
14/11/2006, 2:21 PM
be pessimistic but this could be another false dawn,just be carefull.a couple of times g.u were close to going under some stories came out about big potential investors etc and proved to be untrue.sometimes its a ploy by the chairman to make the public and more importantly the revenue crowd seem to think that all is not lost and the current money problems will be over with soon.liverpools charman has done a similar thing a few times while trying to secure funding for the new stadium,he puts out stories about american/iranian investors etc and says deals will be reched shortly,and guess what,nothing happened!shock horror.
i really hope ye dont go under.it would be a sad day indeed.

14/11/2006, 2:39 PM
Right lets get this thread back on target or else I'm taking my business to the Eircom League thread :p

Personally I can see why a consortium of Polish business men would be interested in operating a club in the Eircom League, honestly I could see it becoming a big success if it happened. If you could pull in a lot of the Poles that live in Limerick and combine them with others from around the area (there's a decent amount in Clare and Tipperary isn't there?) then you would have a very well supported club indeed.

That said if it happens and they change the name of the club (seriously if they are targeting Poles they will give it some Polish/English hybrid name) and also the club colours than I think I'll be off personally. I compared it to the situation at the MK Dons/Wimbledon a few years ago and I believe that to be apt....APT! (anyone guess the reference? sorry couldn't resist) Plus if it's true that the apparant head of the consortium has ties to a club in Polish 1st Division than surely the proposed new owners would want to bring a few of their up and comers, or never havebeens over here, on loan at least, and we could end up becoming a feeder club for said Polish 1st Division club, whilst losing our own identity at the same time

14/11/2006, 2:48 PM
Obviously you have problems understanding English.

I am saying that if Danny Drew weren't in charge of Limerick FC, then I believe that the lease of the ground would be much easier to negotiate with the priest. The priest despises Drew-this is a fact. If others were in charge, with a more sensible attitude, this problem would not exist.

I don't think Danny should be blamed for this one. Nobody is getting anywhere here. I think the Pope himself wouldn't get a lease here.

14/11/2006, 3:06 PM
If we cant get more than 300 or so out of ALL the population of Limerick and the surrounding areas, would we really get more than that from a "Polish" club?

Shouldnt the club be inclusive and representative of all the community?

Of course I realise that it will not be totally exclusive, but I imagine the locals would be even less interested in a "Polish" side than they are a local one.

14/11/2006, 3:12 PM
Honestly anytime I've talked to one of the Limerick Poles it has been about football, so I do think that they would be interested in following a Limerick team owned by their coun trymen, especially if the new owners decided to bring some young players over from the Polish 1st Division club. I think a Polish run Limerick club would attract a lot more support than Danny's Limerick to be honest

14/11/2006, 3:18 PM
If the club was taken over and proceeded to change its name and colours etc. would that not constitute a toatlly new club which would have to apply to the league for membership? By the way I really enjoy reading the Limerick thread and I don't think the club will go under with the core of passionate support that exisits. (even if ye all can't agree on anything most of the time)

Partizan
14/11/2006, 3:33 PM
I can see it now -

Rathbane bedecked to the bejesus in the red and white (Polish eagle) flags with thousands of Poles crying their undying love for 'FC Polonia Limerick' while SLK, jebus and the boys hunkering over in the far corner of the stand with the old Limerick FC flags. :p

14/11/2006, 4:09 PM
Partizan Limerick, now there's a catchy name for ya...

Partizan
14/11/2006, 4:20 PM
Partizan Limerick, now there's a catchy name for ya...

If it were a group of Serbian businessmen, then...... :D

thelimerick
14/11/2006, 4:49 PM
As I said earlier I am sceptical about this but I have no evidence to say its not true. I have to say I don't get the problems with DD's supposed 'untruthfulness" (is there such a word?). thelimerick refers to "the five year plan, the chelsea of the eircom league rubbish, Brian Kerr or Jason McAteer as our new manager etc etc" but which of these is a lie? I can't remember DD saying Kerr or McAteer would be our new manager (please correct me if I'm wrong).

Drew went to the national papers saying he was approaching Brian Kerr, Jason McAteer and Curtis Fleming among his huge list of potential replacements for NOC. He stated that while it was ambitious, Limerick FC were an ambitious club. Kerr, a few days later reported that despite reports to the contrary he had not been contacted by ANY EL club and that he had no interest in managing in the EL, instead focusing on a getting a higher profile position.
Drew see's this as a good tactic for getting Limerick a higher profile within the country, and in a sense its has worked because we have appeared in the national papers more than we have deserved on playing merit alone.
I see this as another one of his fishing for coverage adventures, simply to put Limerick out there to a: show the club as a viable option for someone to come in and take it off Drew's hands or b: Send a message to Joe Young. Thats all good and well but if this is rubbish i'd rather not be spoonfed it. As supporters we deserve a little better than having fantasy stories and MORE false dawns laid out for our imaginations to gobble down, only for the same old sh*t to pan out as usual and send us all into depression.
I personally think its insulting to the supporters. I'd much rather he'd level with us for once and for all and tell us whats really going on.
If it does however transpire to be true I will be the first to hold my hands up and apologise.

14/11/2006, 4:53 PM
Why do people believe that every Pole for 100 miles in every direction would flock to Rathbane every second Friday? There's 4,000 of them in Limerick roughly compared to about 90,000 odd in the city and suburbs. Anybody who thinks that our attendances will swell dramatically in the long-term just because we adopt a red shirt and call ourselves Polski Limerick is way off the mark IMO.

Sure for a few weeks it'd be great (just like when Danny Drew took over) but give it a few weeks and some mediocrity and the crowds would slide off to do the same things that they (and indeed most of the city regardless of nationality) do already instead of watching eircom League football.

I'd be surprised if this came anywhere close to coming to pass. Bring in some new investors for sure but messing with the colours, crest and name of the club is only going to reduce the existing fanbase.

4tothefloor
14/11/2006, 7:07 PM
Why do people believe that every Pole for 100 miles in every direction would flock to Rathbane every second Friday? There's 4,000 of them in Limerick roughly compared to about 90,000 odd in the city and suburbs. Anybody who thinks that our attendances will swell dramatically in the long-term just because we adopt a red shirt and call ourselves Polski Limerick is way off the mark IMO.

Spot on. Seriously lads, what drugs are ye on? I thought people here were more intelligent than that.

My ex was Polish, went out with her for a year. All her family are here, plus she has pretty big circle of Polish friends. NONE of them, yes NONE, of all the Polish I met through her had any interest in football. We're talking out of about 40 people here. Basketball, Ice Hockey, or no interest in sports at all, was what I came across. Now I'm not saying that this is the case everywhere, but it's a perfect example about how everything Polish related is so over-exaggerated here. A 4000 population of Polish yes, now what about all the Polish women who have no interest in football? There's just as many Polish women as men here. A Polish womans view of football is that in general it's for hooligans. What about the sizable amount of Polish men who have no interest in football? It's all a load of codswallop.

Another great example: I went to a gig in Dolans recently to see a Polish rock band called Myslovitz. Now these guys are huge in Poland, saw them in Poland myself at an Oxygen type music festival during the summer. They're Polands U2 basically. Dolans was half empty. Where were all the Poles? There's a popular Polish DJ playing in Trinity Rooms Friday night, and I can guarantee you that it'll be the same story there. Even if this Polish story was true, the Poles won't even go and anyway there's not enough Polish football fans here to make any major difference. Take the head out of the clouds lads :rolleyes:

IMO, this Polish story is a load of bulls**t from Danny Drew. Polish business men?! Poland is a p**s poor country, with a mass exodus at the moment 'cos there's fcuk all there to stay for, yet we have 10 business men willing to invest in a club that makes no money! Bare in mind that it will take an investment of millions to take Limerick forward. Polish businessmen, don't make me laugh!

For what it's worth - if there was a name/colour change and the club suddenly became a Polish Glasgow Celtic, i'd be off as well. I've no interest in supporting anything Polish and listening to 'Kurwa' this and 'Kurwa' that. They're a most ignorant race of people anyway, especially the men, so thanks but no thanks....

JohnD
14/11/2006, 7:31 PM
This Polish thing is a joke. Limerick FC is nothing but a business to DD and he will sell to the highest bidder. What about the History of this Club est in 1937 not 2004 ?

Agree with 4 to the Floor. We will prob be saying the Rosary and praying to statues of the Pope before all games.

Sometimes I wonder about the IQs of the Posters here. If Limerick FC becomes Polonia or Legwia whatever thats it Limerick FC will be dead, no more, cease to exist. Forget about it Thats it...The End.

14/11/2006, 7:44 PM
Agree with 4 to the Floor. We will prob be saying the Rosary and praying to statues of the Pope before all games. Ehhhh John...hate to break this to you man but the Pope that was Polish died about a year ago or so....the new one's a Gunther...;) :D :D

4tothefloor
14/11/2006, 8:00 PM
Ehhhh John...hate to break this to you man but the Pope that was Polish died about a year ago or so....the new one's a Gunther...
All the better, a dead pope that's being lined up for saint hood. Gael will be selling rosary beads, statues and portraits instead of scarves and pin badges :p :D

Agree with John. We're dead as Limerick if this happens, but I don't believe it for a second. Limerick FC hasn't a pot to p**s in at the moment so with all the money that would be required for investment, it'd be years and years before it'd be profitable. And the money is coming from Poland, that bastion of wealth..... :rolleyes: As I said elsewhere, next we'll have the Jews taking over Lazio.....

JohnD
14/11/2006, 8:18 PM
On a Plus side.....Pre Season Friendlies in Knock and Away trips to Lourdes, Fatima etc..:D . Trips to our Celtic Cousins in Scotland as well

Thanks Joe for the Ecclesiastical updates regarding the Papacy :D

It is all an Opus Dei plot to convert us;)

14/11/2006, 8:21 PM
Yeah but on the downside....I hear they're looking for a reason to re-open Auschwitz...we could be banished there for not doing as we're told...:eek: :D

4tothefloor
14/11/2006, 8:35 PM
Yeah but on the downside....I hear they're looking for a reason to re-open Auschwitz...we could be banished there for not doing as we're told...:eek: :D
That was the Nazi's. No need to send us to Auschwitz, just Poland would do, believe me :eek:

Monkfish
14/11/2006, 9:28 PM
Well fcuk me! i acually agree with everting 4 to the floor has said on this thread! Would daft danny like to meet with us and explain this further??? probably not! The Polish in Limerick have absolutly no intention of integrating in any way with the Irish, i trust none of them! all their interested in is vodka steriods and pills. I worked with a lot of them for over a year and this is the impression i got. Having said that any invester who wants to take over can do what they want as long as we play in blue in the city and have Limerick in our title. Dont hold your breath gentlemen.