View Full Version : Limerick FC may be taken over by Polish investors

Pages : 1 [2] 3

4tothefloor
14/11/2006, 11:47 PM
Well fcuk me! i acually agree with everting 4 to the floor has said on this thread!
I'll have you know that I'm actually a bastion of knowledge and quality informed opinion on here. Just cos u got the hump about being called a gobsh**e in the shed, which was directed at scummers and not you or other genuine fans by the way, shouldn't divert you away from above fact ;)

You're a bit harsh on the Poles there, fair enough there's alot of prats around, but they're not all like that. Most of them are just bland horndogs, like they've been let loose in Hugh Heffners Playboy Mansion! The women aren't too far behind. Good job most of the lads are ugly though, ha ha ha!It's ironic 'cos they're far from the conservative catholics that JohnD thinks they are :p Ever go to the Polish bar in town when it was around? Sweet Jesus, talking about ignoramuses (sic!).... Anyway, essentially what we're saying is that football ain't at the foremost of the Poles minds :D

Monkfish
15/11/2006, 12:23 AM
A small few are interested, however not with Irish football, and besides, you could buy 10 Limerick fc's in poland for the price of one here! Having said all that, my spies inform me of a slight bit of truth to all this :cool: what remains to be seen however is how much salt has been thrown over this story. I reckon a pinch would not have been enough to alert the national media :( I urge caution........;)

swain
15/11/2006, 11:10 AM
I hear the backroom staff are from kazakhstan, just home there isn't any Jewish poles, those Kazaks like kicking them down wells.

4tothefloor
15/11/2006, 11:12 AM
Having said all that, my spies inform me of a slight bit of truth to all this :cool: what remains to be seen however is how much salt has been thrown over this story. I reckon a pinch would not have been enough to alert the national media :( I urge caution........;)
There'll be uproar though. Could even end up in a backlash against the Polish. Can't see too many Limerick people being happy with this, many think it's bad enough having a Pole in your face almost everywhere you go now, never mind them taking over our Football Club. We'll just have to wait and see, I'm remaining sceptical though!

thelimerick
15/11/2006, 11:47 AM
This whole Polish bashing has got a little ridiculous, anyone remember those bloody paddy *******s taking over London? Should we look forward to the banana chants at black players visiting Hogan Park?
We all say Drew is business through and through yet even there he's falling far short. DD could have done a lot better spending his business time trying to slap some sponsorship on our jersey this season, or releasing the "new jersey" as promised at the Derry match ( the defunct club website still promoting the coming availability of it to buy online ) btw i've seen it, its actually really nice!!.
All in all I think we've all had the wool pulled over our eyes for the last two years by Danny Drew. If he had any guts he'd level with us and tell us whats going on with our club.

15/11/2006, 12:10 PM
That was the Nazi's. No need to send us to Auschwitz, just Poland would do, believe me :eek:Excellent :D

And Auschwitz is where exactly??

15/11/2006, 12:19 PM
Should we look forward to the banana chants at black players visiting Hogan Park?

Polish businessmen looking for a feeder club, not Nigerian.

15/11/2006, 12:20 PM
Excellent :D

he he.

BohsFans
15/11/2006, 12:33 PM
Just wondering why most people on here are joking about this and not really taking it seriously.

If you don't what to lose your indentity, why don't Limerick fans get together and do something about this lease. I take it that once that is sorted Drew will be bringing the club forward?

15/11/2006, 12:44 PM
Just wondering why most people on here are joking about this and not really taking it seriously.

If you don't what to lose your indentity, why don't Limerick fans get together and do something about this lease. I take it that once that is sorted Drew will be bringing the club forward?

We laugh to ease the pain...it doesnt work.

I think that "sorting it out" may well involve Drew leaving the club. (And nobody bringing it forward)

CraftyToePoke
15/11/2006, 1:54 PM
Spot on. Seriously lads, what drugs are ye on? I thought people here were more intelligent than that

id have to go along with much of what you are saying here (!), and am genuienly taken aback by the strength of goodwill on here towards such a venture. Polska Limerick F.F.S.??

i dont know whats worse, people seeing this as a positive development or the fact that we have a chairman who could well be making it all up!!

LFC in Exile
15/11/2006, 2:17 PM
I find some of the comments on this thread not only puerile but offensive as well. "It's bad enough having a Pole in your face almost everywhere you go" and "all their interested in is vodka steriods (sic) and pills". What pathetic nonsense.

In the absence of any other investor and overwhelming indifference from the Limerick public towards their club (not to mention outright hostility on here towards a Limerick man who has stumped up and kept the club going) why shouldn't investors of any nationality buy into the club. This forum constantly has statements about the great potential of the club - well nobody else is buying into it.

I think it is interesting how some have berated DD for years and looked for him to sling his hook. Now that this may be on teh cards its a case of don't sell to the Poles. The phrase be careful what you wish for springs to mind.

JohnD
15/11/2006, 2:32 PM
Any team that renames itself Polski Juarewelski Lech Walesa FC and employs Only Poles etc is not Limerick FC in my view. Fair enough if they come on board and respect the History of the club if not...Well I, for one, am out of here:(

4tothefloor
15/11/2006, 3:30 PM
Excellent :D

It's a Nazi created camp in Poland, doh... I'm saying that, having been to Poland, there's no need to send us to the camp in Auschwitz, just regular Poland would do. Does everything have to be explained to you in great detail?

This whole Polish bashing has got a little ridiculous, anyone remember those bloody paddy *******s taking over London? Should we look forward to the banana chants at black players visiting Hogan Park?

I find some of the comments on this thread not only puerile but offensive as well. "It's bad enough having a Pole in your face almost everywhere you go"
Hey listen, I'm speaking from experience of having dated a Pole, thus knowing loads of Poles and also having visited Poland. Go there and see for yourself, hang around with them and see what they're like. You can be PC all you want about it but I'm only telling my own experiences. There's no Polish bashing going on, and I have to say I have no experience regarding the Poles and steriods/Pills etc. I have no problems with the Poles, but put it this way, I'd prefer if someone else was the bidder.

In the absence of any other investor and overwhelming indifference from the Limerick public towards their club (not to mention outright hostility on here towards a Limerick man who has stumped up and kept the club going) why shouldn't investors of any nationality buy into the club. This forum constantly has statements about the great potential of the club - well nobody else is buying into it.

I think it is interesting how some have berated DD for years and looked for him to sling his hook. Now that this may be on teh cards its a case of don't sell to the Poles. The phrase be careful what you wish for springs to mind.
Basically the club is a w***er magnet. We've known that for years. Joe Young, MOS, Danny Drew and now we're being targeted by Poles who want to change our identity. There's definately a bad curse on this club.

Any team that renames itself Polski Juarewelski Lech Walesa FC and employs Only Poles etc is not Limerick FC in my view. Fair enough if they come on board and respect the History of the club if not...Well I, for one, am out of here:(
Exactly. The issue here is our identity. Apparantly the Poles want a Polish named club, Polish colours, Polish related crest, Polish staff and will be targetting Polish football fans. So if they succeeded and attracted these legions of untapped Polski support, wouldn't those fans be singing chants in Polish at the games? What are we supposed to do, learn Polish so that we can support our local team? As I said, some here need to cop on to themselves, FFS! :rolleyes: I'd rather see us die than this 'cos I for one wouldn't support it. Unless it's Limerick FC in blue, I'd be joining JohnD...

15/11/2006, 3:51 PM
I'm with LFC In Exile on this one, some of the comments on here lads have really swung the needle of this thread close to 'racist' at times, and not just 4tothefloor either (who seems to be harbouring a grudge, possibly about being dumped by a Pole :D ), you can say I'm being PC, but some of what is being said is really getting out of hand.

And honestly, maybe I didn't read the first two pages well enough, but I don't see that many people rejoicing about this, the majority seem to be of the same opinion, that if the club colours and name are changed than it just ain't Limerick FC

BohsFans
15/11/2006, 5:23 PM
What has Drew done wrong b4 this?

There's a lot of bad feeling towards him on here, or are you bitter?

Monkfish
15/11/2006, 9:41 PM
Dont mean to offend, just telling it how i see it, and i stand by everthing i said regarding our polish friends, ask anyone who has had the pleasure of working among them for over a year. You think the Irish can be racist!!! Staying slightly on topic, regarding Mr Drew, has the best intentions for the club however hes a bit mad, il say no more.......
Regarding the cosortium bid/dream. As i said before, leave us the name, colours and location, and id welcome anyone who wants it. A.N.Y.O.N.E.
I have however recieved news from a well informed un-named source (who has nothing to do with the club) regarding a corsortium bid. The difference with this one is their nationality. Lets say its closer to home, and lets say their plan is more than interesting!........the plot thickens

15/11/2006, 11:45 PM
That was the Nazi's. No need to send us to Auschwitz, just Poland would do, believe me

It's a Nazi created camp in Poland, doh... I'm saying that, having been to Poland, there's no need to send us to the camp in Auschwitz, just regular Poland would do. Does everything have to be explained to you in great detail?

Hmmmm....nice attempt at a recovery from your failure in history and geography...:D ;)

LFC in Exile
16/11/2006, 8:43 AM
I think it's you reading that one incorrectly Joe. Made perfect sense to me.

I don't think anyone is denying that if the club changes name, colours, crest etc that it is no longer the same club. But if nobody in Limerick is willing to help or take ove rthe club then how can we complain about a Polish consortium?

4tothefloor
16/11/2006, 12:50 PM
I'm with LFC In Exile on this one, some of the comments on here lads have really swung the needle of this thread close to 'racist' at times, and not just 4tothefloor either (who seems to be harbouring a grudge, possibly about being dumped by a Pole), you can say I'm being PC, but some of what is being said is really getting out of hand.

Was the other way around actually, not that I give a s**t now :D The irony here Jebus is that the Poles, mostly the men it has to be said, are probably among the most racist I've ever met. They're ignorance to other cultures, and to women, is astounding. Speaking of those experiences on here is not racist. It's not my fault they're ignorant.

Hmmmm....nice attempt at a recovery from your failure in history and geography...:D
Your handle is quite apt Joe. You're obviously one of those where everything has to be spelt out to you literally. In future I'll keep this in mind and write a step-by-step guide just for you. I'll also include smilies 'cos you probably can't distinguish sarcasim/irony without them either, based on your above performance. Is that alright for you Joe? :D

16/11/2006, 12:53 PM
Lads this has been a good thread overall so can we all try and play a bit nicer please? Don't wanna lock it.

thelimerick
16/11/2006, 2:50 PM
..the Poles, mostly the men it has to be said, are probably among the most racist I've ever met. They're ignorance to other cultures, and to women, is astounding. Speaking of those experiences on here is not racist. It's not my fault they're ignorant.

Summing up an entire race of people based on your limited experience of them, and deeming "them" racist and ignorant is in itself, racist and ignorant.
Considering you speak negatively of "their" racism and ignorance in the first place you would think you could spot that in yourself. For a country that pretty much invented migration you think we could show a bit of humility.
If this whole story is indeed bull from the propaganda master himself, it'll have served only to show how gulable and racist we are.

16/11/2006, 4:36 PM
Excellent post. Well said.

4tothefloor
16/11/2006, 9:11 PM
Summing up an entire race of people based on your limited experience of them, and deeming "them" racist and ignorant is in itself, racist and ignorant.
Listen, I've had enough experience of them myself to know what I'm talking about, and I certainly wouldn't call it 'limited' experience. It's enough for me to generally not have a great opinion of them. Of course they're not all like that, and I've already said that, but by and large my experiences have been negative both here and in Poland. The highlights for me would be seeing a black guy getting spat on in broad daylight in a shopping street in Gydnia just for the sake of it, being abused for speaking English in same place by a businessman and over here, seeing on many occasions how the guys behaved themselves in the now defunct Polish Bar. And as I say, they're just the highlights, or lowlights... I have no problem standing over what I said - Polish guys are, both in my travels and here, one of the most racist and ignorant people I have met. I'm sorry, but that's my experience and I don't see any problem with that. Describing racism from experience is not racist.

For a country that pretty much invented migration you think we could show a bit of humility.
I have no problem with the Poles or them being here. I've employed them, worked with them etc. But the ignorance I've experienced so far and as mentioned above is not my problem. Would I be better off not mentioning it so? Lets just pretend that they're all like the pope and everything is great. Why have an opinion at all?

Excellent post. Well said.
Excellent post joe. You must have had your weetabix this morning.

I have however recieved news from a well informed un-named source (who has nothing to do with the club) regarding a corsortium bid. The difference with this one is their nationality. Lets say its closer to home, and lets say their plan is more than interesting!........the plot thickens
Any clues Monkfish? You can't just throw that one out and leave us hanging :D

16/11/2006, 9:18 PM
Lets just pretend that they're all like the pope and everything is great.

Now hold on a minute, there's been a lot of rubbish posted in this thread but there's no way anybody is going to convince me that that homophobic old relic was a great man! :D

16/11/2006, 9:19 PM
Also working across the road from what was the Polish bar I will back 4tothefloor up on that one, it was the biggest kip in the city during its operation.

Monkfish
16/11/2006, 10:54 PM
Im not sure how true the news i got was, so it wouldnt be wise to splash it all over the internet, having said that, if this "situation" happend then its good for Limerick. The person who told me this is not the bull****ting type so iv no reason to doubt him, what happens remains to be seen....

LFC in Exile
17/11/2006, 7:47 AM
Also working across the road from what was the Polish bar I will back 4tothefloor up on that one, it was the biggest kip in the city during its operation.

Which is some praise indeed given some of the 'indigenous' drinking spots. :rolleyes:

4tothefloor and SLK, I'd hate for people to judge Irish people by what groups of young, emigrant, obviously heavy-drinking groups do. There were quite a few of the types of lads you describe in the bars of New York and London in the 80s. How would you feel if their behaviour was seen as symptomatic of the whole population?

Also, nobody is saying you can't have an opinion but the basis of generalising from your limited experience is questionable. And your experience is limited. Not least the fact that the emigrants here are typically young and living the life of a transient emigrant. Not representative. Also the incidents you mention happen in Irish bars regulalrly also, people get abused for not speaking English. Black and Asian people have also been spat at and abused. By criticising an entire country because they are racist doesn't justify displaying prejudice against them. And just because you hire people doesn't mean you are not prejudice.

Sorry this is off-topic but I don't think comments such as the ones expressed on this board should go unchallenged anywhere. :ball:

17/11/2006, 12:03 PM
Which is some praise indeed given some of the 'indigenous' drinking spots. :rolleyes:

Whatever man, take whatever moral high ground suits you. I've no issue whatsoever with any group in this country but that bar was closed for a reason. Reason being that it was full of scum both Polish and Irish whose idea of a good night generally involved the breaking of windows of both resident's and other trader's, a few arrests and most memorably on St.Stephen's night a couple of paddy wagons, a half dozen squad cars and a hail of bottles that pelted down on the 'fine' cops of our city. As a people I don't feel any different about the Poles than I do about any other nationality in the country but that bar attracted the worst of them and if you're going to view that as racism then so be it.

4tothefloor
17/11/2006, 1:39 PM
Also, nobody is saying you can't have an opinion but the basis of generalising from your limited experience is questionable. And your experience is limited. Not least the fact that the emigrants here are typically young and living the life of a transient emigrant. Not representative. Also the incidents you mention happen in Irish bars regulalrly also, people get abused for not speaking English. Black and Asian people have also been spat at and abused. By criticising an entire country because they are racist doesn't justify displaying prejudice against them. And just because you hire people doesn't mean you are not prejudice.

You don't know what my experience is, so you can't comment on whether it is limited or not. The Poles have been here two years now. I've also been in Poland. Most of the stuff I witnessed involved no drink whatsoever. I only gave the Polish bar a mention because it was notorious. And some of the stuff I witnessed in there was with regard to how they treat/approach women etc and not directly involved with drink. The stuff regarding the black guy and me being almost attacked for speaking English - sorry but I've never seen that happen over here. You can take the moral high ground all you like my friend, but you cannot change someone's experiences. I've said what I have to say and I stand by it all because it's all true. I'm not adding any more to it in case I upset the Mother Theresa's on this thread :D

thelimerick
20/11/2006, 10:38 AM
4tothefloor, the fact is the very exercise of summing up a race of people based on what IS your limited experience (you don't know all Polish people) and characterising them just highlights how stupid this is.
Your talking about a nation of individuals. Just as someone could easily sum up what Irish men are like I could show them some scumbag with their tracksuit tucked into their socks alongside a D4 rugby jock called Fintan alongside a hurling mad cappamore hillbilly named Mossy etc, etc. To find some common characteristic is just a simplistic way of judging people instead of taking people person to person. Its the exact same process that has people worldwide looking at Muslims with suspicion, its completely ridiculous.

scoobysham
21/11/2006, 11:15 AM
in the irish sun (i know not most reliable but) today it says that the richest man in poland is behind the supposed takeover of limerick.. he is jan kulczyk and is worth 4 billion.... his intentions are to create a uk style premiership in ireland....he also is trying to conclude deals for cork derry and bohemians after the acquisition of limerick and players from poland will be brought in... also states again name and colours will be changed.. constuction of a new stadium is also mentioned... takeover should be done relatively quickly too.... what does everyone think of this latest development????????

JohnD
21/11/2006, 11:19 AM
Polski FC my ****** ! It will not be Limerick FC anymore.

Plus it sounds like the biggest wind up of all time. More Displacement of Irish Workers :D by foreign nationals

thomas72
21/11/2006, 11:25 AM
in the irish sun (i know not most reliable but) today it says that the richest man in poland is behind the supposed takeover of limerick.. he is jan kulczyk and is worth 4 billion.... his intentions are to create a uk style premiership in ireland....he also is trying to conclude deals for cork derry and bohemians after the acquisition of limerick and players from poland will be brought in... also states again name and colours will be changed.. constuction of a new stadium is also mentioned... takeover should be done relatively quickly too.... what does everyone think of this latest development????????

seriously how would the die hards feel about these people changing the name of limerick fc and the colours i would be total against it if i was that passionate about limerick. thats a disgrace the history of limerick will be wiped out IMO

21/11/2006, 12:07 PM
This will never happen...trust me !!

Monkfish
21/11/2006, 12:47 PM
I trust you joe, your the one soap i can beleve in!

swain
21/11/2006, 2:38 PM
Limski Polski, has a nice ring to it;)

thelimerick
21/11/2006, 3:51 PM
"The Chelsea of the Eircom League"
Danny Drew realises his dream by bringing in a Billionaire business man from the East to take over the club and make us great...
The new fiction by Danny Drew, available at all good newsdesks today!!!

22/11/2006, 10:39 AM
seriously how would the die hards feel about these people changing the name of limerick fc and the colours i would be total against it if i was that passionate about limerick. thats a disgrace the history of limerick will be wiped out IMO

It depends

Polski Limerick, Limerick Polski then personally I'd have no problem with it, it's no different to us being Limerick United, Limerick City, Limerick F.C. down through the years.............

As for the colours thing, gspain would be the man to ask but I think I remember hearing somewhere that our origional colours were Red & White anyway :confused: :)

22/11/2006, 10:41 AM
I trust you joe, your the one soap i can beleve in!

Very Good

Btw your flags and the famous banner are in my (Slightly less) safe hands rather than gaels

thelimerick
22/11/2006, 12:28 PM
It depends

Polski Limerick, Limerick Polski then personally I'd have no problem with it, it's no different to us being Limerick United, Limerick City, Limerick F.C. down through the years.............

As for the colours thing, gspain would be the man to ask but I think I remember hearing somewhere that our origional colours were Red & White anyway :confused: :)

Our original colours were red and white and we wore a sunderland type strip.
I'd have no problem if the club changed the name back to Limerick Utd or AFC, as this would be one good way for a new owner to rid themselves of the club's leeches. Completley re-inventing the team though means just that, re-inventing it. If this whole thing were actually true then we would essentially be changing the nationality of the club also. Not just new owners, new club. Its history would start the day it was taken over, its past finished.
What we need is our club to be run properly by people who know what they are doing, to put in place realistic targets and plans with our potential in mind. A completely new Footballing body overseeing the Irish League and establishing serious Football Acadamies throughout the country would also be a bonus!!!

22/11/2006, 1:11 PM

Very Good

Btw your flags and the famous banner are in my (Slightly less) safe hands rather than gaels

Well well, it looks like Billy Banned isn't banned anymore, foot has been a quieter place without you man :D

22/11/2006, 1:27 PM
.. he is jan kulczyk and is worth 4 billion.... his intentions are to create a uk style premiership in ireland....he also is trying to conclude deals for cork derry and bohemians after the acquisition of limerick and players from poland will be brought in... also states again name and colours will be changed.. constuction of a new stadium is also mentioned... takeover should be done relatively quickly too.... what does everyone think of this latest development????????He's a colourful (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Jan_Kulczyk) character to say the least...subject to criminal investigation, ties to the KGB...he should fit in well in the confines of the Hogan Park area...

This (http://www.forbes.com/lists/2006/10/KK5Y.html) is what the man himself looks like.

Here's more (http://bhppc.blogspot.com/2004_12_01_bhppc_archive.html)

He could be our very own Richard Nixon

Monkfish
22/11/2006, 4:56 PM
Jeasus Joe! i always knew your links in the CIA would come in handy, any chance of letting us know who shot JFK?
...and as for you Mr 1 week ban, i don't want to see Carew Park looking like West Belfast next time im up there, keep the flags stored in a cool, dry, safe place til my return to the realm of "hill of the south"

Tir Oilean
23/11/2006, 6:26 PM
he also is trying to conclude deals for cork derry and bohemians after the acquisition of limerick and players from poland will be brought in...

Surely this would raise eyebrows with competition authorities!:eek: :D

24/11/2006, 8:00 AM
Re colours

Our original colours in 1937 were Red and white stripes. In 1941 Waterford went out of football and we bought their blue strip. We then wore blue and white with many variations until 1983. Pat Grace changed the colours to yellow/green (his racing colours). They were changed back after he left.

I would hate to see our colours changed from blue and white. We should also keep Limerick in the name but I'd have no problem with foreign owners once they are moving the club forward.

LFC in Exile
24/11/2006, 10:46 AM
On the club colours - this is a short article/piece i wrote for a fanzine or something.

"C'mon the Blues" is a cheer that has gone up many times at Limerick matches down the years. But it wasn't always so. While Limerick soccer has for long been associated with the colours blue and white, Limerick teams have taken to the field in a variety of club colours.

Indeed, when a senior soccer team first appeared on the scene in 1937 blue was nowhere to be seen. The first teams wore Stoke City-like red and white striped jerseys and white shorts. Actually the colour was more accurately described as Cardinal red. It was reported that black and amber was also suggested as the club colours, but thankfully that Young Munsters ruse didn't work.

Limerick did not appear in blue and white until 1943, and in their first game in the new colours lost 5-0 to Cork United at the Markets Field. After this 'blue' start, Limerick teams continued to wear blue and white for the next 40 years. Limerick City came into being in 1983 and the team colours were changed along with the club name and the home ground. The club moved to Rathbane and took to wearing canary yellow and green shirts and green shorts.

The re-emergence of Limerick FC in the mid-1990s also saw the re-emergence of the famous blue jerseys. In an attempt to re-engage with the Limerick footballing public the blue and white made a return. "C'mon the Blues!"

24/11/2006, 7:57 PM
I can tell you now lads that earlier reports of the colours and name changing were well wide of the mark. From what i've learnt the possible new guy only wants to buy one club as hes mates are looking at other irish clubs, in short expect Limerick Fc to be the first of many polish investor acquisitions. We need that SC meeting called soon no point in the club getting sorted if we're lagging behind

thelimerick
26/11/2006, 2:40 PM
All press related stories on this subject have so far only quoted Drew and sourced information as given by Drew. Does anybody have any concrete information from any other source, for example the buisnessman/men linked to the story?
If this is indeed true, the news that colours and name remaining would surely make this a positive move for the club. As for foreign investors, welcome to modern day Ireland, you only need to walk the streets of this city and its industrial estates to see this is no new phenomenon. Also a quick peek over the water shows us that this is the way football and football clubs are going.

football boy
27/11/2006, 12:21 AM
All press related stories on this subject have so far only quoted Drew and sourced information as given by Drew. Does anybody have any concrete information from any other source, for example the buisnessman/men linked to the story?
If this is indeed true, the news that colours and name remaining would surely make this a positive move for the club. As for foreign investors, welcome to modern day Ireland, you only need to walk the streets of this city and its industrial estates to see this is no new phenomenon. Also a quick peek over the water shows us that this is the way football and football clubs are going.
Do you think its all a load of bull.