View Full Version : Tonight's Latest (Sat)

exiled_gufc_fan
28/10/2006, 6:55 PM
Penalty to United

www.tg4.tv

exiled_gufc_fan
28/10/2006, 6:56 PM
1-0 United - Conor Gethins!

exiled_gufc_fan
28/10/2006, 7:10 PM
2-0 United. O'Brien

exiled_gufc_fan
28/10/2006, 7:21 PM
Half time: United 2 - 0 Athlone.

Latest: Kildare County 0 - 1 Cobh Ramblers

exiled_gufc_fan
28/10/2006, 7:44 PM
United 3 - 0 Athlone (Gethins, 52)

28/10/2006, 8:06 PM
4-0 Galway. Gethins hatrick. Athlone are disasterous.

exiled_gufc_fan
28/10/2006, 8:06 PM
4-0 Galway. Gethins hatrick

nice lob that!! :D

exiled_gufc_fan
28/10/2006, 8:08 PM
Looks like carnage on the terraces :mad:

28/10/2006, 8:09 PM
Looks like carnage on the terraces :mad:I don't understand Irish but it's looking like crowd trouble alright.

28/10/2006, 8:09 PM
what was going on there - only caught the sight of the kids running

exiled_gufc_fan
28/10/2006, 8:12 PM
the young Athlone 'following' have had a tendancy to cause trouble at these season's games with United.

Most Athlone fans seem to have left with some being escorted out by the Gardaí from what I can make out

Louth4sam
28/10/2006, 8:15 PM
I'm surprised, i thought the athlone fans were dead on. We took 100 down there scored a last minute goal and there wasnt a sniff of trouble. There was a bit of banter the whole way through the match and we we were mixed in with them.

28/10/2006, 8:15 PM
the young Athlone 'following' have had a tendancy to cause trouble at these season's games with United.I know I've had hassle a couple of times away at Athlone games so it's not just ye they try to start on!:mad:.

Back to the match, Galway just missed an open goal.

exiled_gufc_fan
28/10/2006, 8:23 PM
Barry Moran nabs the 5th! :D

28/10/2006, 8:24 PM
5-0 now. Moran. That's a result now.

Cobh beat Kildare 1-0 and Finn Harps and Limerick ended 0-0.

28/10/2006, 8:29 PM
you can make up a team of the players in the Athlone Galway game who played for Sligo in the past.

O'Leary
Creataro,Sheridan,Charles,Rossiter
Gavin,Foley,Feeney,O'Brien
O'Dowd,Moran
with the other Moran on the bench.

Great result for Galway....

29/10/2006, 7:16 AM
what was going on there - only caught the sight of the kids running

It all really kicked off when 3 lads (aged 18-20) came up behind us and threw a lit firework into the middle of us, exploding 3 feet behind my wifes head. I decided then that it was to dangerous to stay around and left as they had gathered around my car in the car park after they ran down to that end. They were kicking the car doors and as I got assistance from the gardai to get my car out we were pelted with stones (theres nearly €900 worth of damage to my car) . I pointed the 3 lads out to an official of the club and told him exactly what happened.

I can soundly say you'll never see me in Athlone ever again.

29/10/2006, 8:54 AM
Crowd trouble was a few silly kids. Shame they let themselves, their club and their town down.

The real Athlone fans are dead on, pity bout the few children.

29/10/2006, 9:57 AM
Athlone "fans" came looking for it last night and they most certainly got it.the majority of whom were around 16 but what was more pathetic was watching the grown men involved run aswell.About 150 of them ran from about 15 Galway lads.It had been boiling off in all 4 games this season with a bit of trouble at all of them so you can only wonder why there was no segregation.

Our bus's window was also smashed leaving the ground last night.
The ATFC - GUFC rivalry went up a few levels last night unfortunately.i really do feel sorry for the Cootes who are a credit to ATFC and totally regret all those incidents.

Patrick Dunne
29/10/2006, 12:03 PM
In 15 years going to LOI/EL games I have never seen such subhuman filth
as I witnessed last night. E900 damaged caused to Terrys car, at least E500 caused to the bus.
The events were was captured on national TV, thankfully the viewing figures were low due to the Compromise Rules.

Complete scum were allowed into the ground, spitting on people, punching, throwing fireworks. The usual incompetence from ATFC - "Deres no need for dat carry-on" :rolleyes:.

Met the Mad as Cootes lads before and after the game, sound lads, but it is not a generalisation to say that 80% of those attending the game shouldn't have been allowed in.

29/10/2006, 12:35 PM
Quality looked poor even if 5 goals so would say viewing figures will be real low as its TG4 too. As well as compromise rules was 7 goal Milan derby on at the same time.

Galway crowd seemed to be only a fraction of the 1,000 predicted here last week.

29/10/2006, 1:10 PM
Quality looked poor even if 5 goals so would say viewing figures will be real low as its TG4 too. As well as compromise rules was 7 goal Milan derby on at the same time.

Galway crowd seemed to be only a fraction of the 1,000 predicted here last week.

Ya that was the crowd predicted if we beat Dundalk and the Aussie rules weren't on.
250 there though-not bad considering all that was on in Galway.

Louth4sam
29/10/2006, 1:11 PM
It seemed a very strange game to show. The Galway Dundalk match game last week would have been a far better game to show and showcase the first division.

Patrick Dunne
29/10/2006, 1:30 PM
GUFC were never going to bring 1,000 to Athlone. Its 1991 since we brought over 1,000 to an away match. While the quality of our away support is great (songs etc), in quantity it is very poor.

Approx 100 from Galway at the game, perhaps 150 adults from Athlone, 200 local teenage scum, extremely doubtful if they paid in.