United 3 - 0 Athlone (Gethins, 52)

4-0 Galway. Gethins hatrick. Athlone are disasterous.

4-0 Galway. Gethins hatrick
    nice lob that!!

Looks like carnage on the terraces

Quote Originally Posted by exiled_gufc_fan View Post
    Looks like carnage on the terraces
    I don't understand Irish but it's looking like crowd trouble alright.

57 Posts
    what was going on there - only caught the sight of the kids running
    Kom Igen, FCK...

the young Athlone 'following' have had a tendancy to cause trouble at these season's games with United.

Most Athlone fans seem to have left with some being escorted out by the Gardaí from what I can make out

81 Posts
    I'm surprised, i thought the athlone fans were dead on. We took 100 down there scored a last minute goal and there wasnt a sniff of trouble. There was a bit of banter the whole way through the match and we we were mixed in with them.

Quote Originally Posted by exiled_gufc_fan View Post
    the young Athlone 'following' have had a tendancy to cause trouble at these season's games with United.
    I know I've had hassle a couple of times away at Athlone games so it's not just ye they try to start on!.

Back to the match, Galway just missed an open goal.

Barry Moran nabs the 5th!

5-0 now. Moran. That's a result now.

Cobh beat Kildare 1-0 and Finn Harps and Limerick ended 0-0.

you can make up a team of the players in the Athlone Galway game who played for Sligo in the past.

O'Leary
    Creataro,Sheridan,Charles,Rossiter
    Gavin,Foley,Feeney,O'Brien
    O'Dowd,Moran
    with the other Moran on the bench.

Great result for Galway....

Quote Originally Posted by Réiteoir View Post
    what was going on there - only caught the sight of the kids running
    It all really kicked off when 3 lads (aged 18-20) came up behind us and threw a lit firework into the middle of us, exploding 3 feet behind my wifes head. I decided then that it was to dangerous to stay around and left as they had gathered around my car in the car park after they ran down to that end. They were kicking the car doors and as I got assistance from the gardai to get my car out we were pelted with stones (theres nearly €900 worth of damage to my car) . I pointed the 3 lads out to an official of the club and told him exactly what happened.

I can soundly say you'll never see me in Athlone ever again.
    Last edited by Terry; 29/10/2006 at 8:59 AM.

Crowd trouble was a few silly kids. Shame they let themselves, their club and their town down.

The real Athlone fans are dead on, pity bout the few children.

Athlone "fans" came looking for it last night and they most certainly got it.the majority of whom were around 16 but what was more pathetic was watching the grown men involved run aswell.About 150 of them ran from about 15 Galway lads.It had been boiling off in all 4 games this season with a bit of trouble at all of them so you can only wonder why there was no segregation.

Our bus's window was also smashed leaving the ground last night.
    The ATFC - GUFC rivalry went up a few levels last night unfortunately.i really do feel sorry for the Cootes who are a credit to ATFC and totally regret all those incidents.
    www.galwayunitedfc.net -----New GUFC fans forum and Gust Website.

Europe's Big Club.
    "Cause Galway are MASSIVE"-RW Rover on 24/8/07 00:29am

In 15 years going to LOI/EL games I have never seen such subhuman filth
    as I witnessed last night. E900 damaged caused to Terrys car, at least E500 caused to the bus.
    The events were was captured on national TV, thankfully the viewing figures were low due to the Compromise Rules.

Complete scum were allowed into the ground, spitting on people, punching, throwing fireworks. The usual incompetence from ATFC - "Deres no need for dat carry-on" .

Met the Mad as Cootes lads before and after the game, sound lads, but it is not a generalisation to say that 80% of those attending the game shouldn't have been allowed in.
    Last edited by Patrick Dunne; 29/10/2006 at 12:19 PM.