View Full Version : Pic of Ronnie Whelan Sr.
theworm2345
26/10/2006, 4:12 AM
I figure this could have gone in Ireland or St. Pats, but I wasn't sure. I need a pic for a new update my video (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YqRP6ZBI5nM).
It can be playing, coaching, or just standing around (a pic like the video), or a pick with Ronnie Jr would be good I guess too.
Thanks
26/10/2006, 11:18 AM
Great video worm,did you make it yourself?
theworm2345
26/10/2006, 12:26 PM
Great video worm,did you make it yourself?
Yeah, thats why I need the picture
Danny
26/10/2006, 12:50 PM
if ya cant get one online theworm give Pats a buzz (01 4546332) and ask for Pat O Callaghan, he's sorta the club historian and would be the best bet.
26/10/2006, 1:31 PM
Great vid, Worm, could feel the memories welling up behind my eyes.
At the risk of sounding the pedant, when you have the first Maradona picture up, yer man is actually saying "Maracana", which is the big Brazilian ground, in Rio I think.
theworm2345
26/10/2006, 8:06 PM
if ya cant get one online theworm give Pats a buzz (01 4546332) and ask for Pat O Callaghan, he's sorta the club historian and would be the best bet.
That would be a bit hard as I am in Chicago
Great vid, Worm, could feel the memories welling up behind my eyes.
At the risk of sounding the pedant, when you have the first Maradona picture up, yer man is actually saying "Maracana", which is the big Brazilian ground, in Rio I think.
Thanks, I'll put it in the next video
26/10/2006, 10:40 PM
E-mail info@stpatsfc.com and ask there. There are some around
theworm2345
26/10/2006, 10:57 PM
E-mail info@stpatsfc.com and ask there. There are some around
OK, thanks for the help
Now I'm not so sure. This is in this verse?
Dasaev, Sócrates,
Maradona, Ardiles,
Puskas, Bessonov,
Rene van de Kerkhof,
Hamilton, Jim Magee,
Saint And Greavsie on TV,
Maradona, Hand of God
Brady should be in the Squad
I would kind of doubt it because they are naming players right there
27/10/2006, 12:00 AM
Its defo Maradona
onenilgameover
27/10/2006, 1:42 AM
think i have one at home...will check in the morn and let ye know tommorrow night if i do.....
theworm2345
27/10/2006, 1:49 AM
think i have one at home...will check in the morn and let ye know tommorrow night if i do.....
Thanks
lim abroad
27/10/2006, 6:04 AM
that video brought a lump to my throat,hopefully we won't have too long a wait for more memories like those
28/10/2006, 4:59 PM
The Memories were very clever writing the song in not in the sense of never having non-Irish players mentioned more than once, and if two lines feature one player, e.g. Pele, they will be coniguous - listen carefully and you will hear what does sound like Mara-dona - it is a poorly pronounced Mara-cana. (The Memories were not very clever at singing). Similarly, you will notice that, unlike the Billy Joel track it is based on, there is really very little link between one line and the next (The Memories were not very clever at writing songs cleverly) or indeed between names in the same line that may happen to fit together (Eh, the Memories were not very clever at footballing history). The whole thing does what it should - it simply conveys a footballing atmosphere by using well known names (The Memories were very clever at marketing).
In short - yis are all wrong, and I'm right!
Still a great vid.
theworm2345
29/10/2006, 7:11 PM
The Memories were very clever writing the song in not in the sense of never having non-Irish players mentioned more than once, and if two lines feature one player, e.g. Pele, they will be coniguous - listen carefully and you will hear what does sound like Mara-dona - it is a poorly pronounced Mara-cana. (The Memories were not very clever at singing). Similarly, you will notice that, unlike the Billy Joel track it is based on, there is really very little link between one line and the next (The Memories were not very clever at writing songs cleverly) or indeed between names in the same line that may happen to fit together (Eh, the Memories were not very clever at footballing history). The whole thing does what it should - it simply conveys a footballing atmosphere by using well known names (The Memories were very clever at marketing).
In short - yis are all wrong, and I'm right!
Still a great vid.
OK, which line are you talking about, so I can check?
31/10/2006, 12:14 PM
It comes on 1m57s, after the second chorus with "Daseyev, Socrates, Maracana, Ardiles / Puskas, Besanov, Rene Van Der Kerkov / Hamilton, Jim Magee, Saint & Greavsie on TV / Maradona, Hand Of God, Brady SHould be in the squad.
And to be a right pric- sorry, pedant, on 2m22, I think that it is meant to be "Pele, number 10, we'll never see his like again, Goycochea's meaner, Champions Argentina" which would allow Gorbochev to take his rightful place else where. Goycochea was the Argentine 'Keeper, I think he got injured early on in the tournament, or beforehand, perhaps. And I'm bloody certain he doesn't spell his name this way either.
theworm2345
31/10/2006, 12:20 PM
Alright, I'm going to play it back in slow motion and see
theworm2345
29/01/2007, 3:23 AM
I'm still looking for this photo, can anyone help?
P.S. I'm thinking of putting Alan McLoughlin's goal in the update, what do you think?
29/01/2007, 9:11 AM
i forgot how catchie that tune was. whelans goal is unreal, gotta be one of the best ever irish goals if not the best. even one of the best at the euro championships!
29/01/2007, 1:42 PM
whelans goal is unreal, gotta be one of the best ever irish goals if not the best. even one of the best at the euro championships!
:o <...shinned it...> ssssh, don't tell anyone.;)
Doesn't mean it wasn't a cracking goal though!