View Full Version : 11 a side v Boards.ie, 29th October

Pages : 1 2 [3]

29/10/2006, 11:19 PM
Some people were saying about longer-term involvement who couldn't play today..though it would probably rule out a couple from today as well....

Footie mad members doesn't necessarily correlate to players of league ability...some people are born to play football and others are born to watch and pass comment on it :D

30/10/2006, 3:50 PM
Result 6-1 to boards .

The scoreline flattered to decieve,it was only 2-1 at half time but as the game wore on our fitness levels weren't up to it and the Boards team started scoring for fun but i have no doubts that had the playing field been leveled and by that i mean,had we had any kind of fitness,the necessary footwear and a few subs (we had 11 players only),we would have not only gave them a decent game but we would have beaten them.

Man of the match was the Foot.ie goalkeeper DFX,who made some amazing saves.

padjoe
30/10/2006, 6:09 PM
in light of our respectable performance at the weekend would anyone be willing to commit to an astro league i know at least five or six who posted in the run up to the match against boards.ie who expressed an interest. so who here would be interested. yes it would cost 100 each but its a game every wednesday and it'd keep your fitness up. any one in favour and if so would you like to organise a meeting in dublin city centre or somewhere to discuss it. we've to get a move on because the league starts nov 13th and they are crying out for teams.

steno
30/10/2006, 6:29 PM
Would be up for it padjoe. Would have prefered weekend but can go from work to the venue during the week anyway.

Would have to organise jersies as well though going by the rules on the astro website, so probably be a bit more than 100 yoyos.

kdjaC
30/10/2006, 6:32 PM
Our league is sundays (we wanted thursday but got sun)

And i was man of the match, was my 1st game in 5 years hence only scoring 1 :p

kdjac

padjoe
30/10/2006, 6:55 PM
Would be up for it padjoe. Would have prefered weekend but can go from work to the venue during the week anyway.

Would have to organise jersies as well though going by the rules on the astro website, so probably be a bit more than 100 yoyos.

well to use boards.ie as an example. they took up 100 from each player to ensure commitment and they raised 2200. i think they got jerseys out of that. i'm sure kjac can give us advice on how they got started. i think the major stumbling block is ensuring commitment and if we have that we'll be fine.

kdjaC
30/10/2006, 7:09 PM
Once people pay 100 they will be commited, we had some dropouts after the 100 was paid so we transfered them (ie someone paid them and then joined, our keeper yesterday was the 1st to do that)

I got my job to get us the jersies.

kdjac

30/10/2006, 7:13 PM
I'd be up for it...although again only as keeper (sorry padjoe for 'hogging it' yesterday:o )

Need a fair bit of *conditioning* methinks as well - my head still hurts a bit :D

padjoe
30/10/2006, 7:23 PM
Once people pay 100 they will be commited, we had some dropouts after the 100 was paid so we transfered them (ie someone paid them and then joined, our keeper yesterday was the 1st to do that)

I got my job to get us the jersies.

kdjac

cool cool how did you stop pepole making off with the jerseys

padjoe
30/10/2006, 7:55 PM
he he the lads i brought down are the same both dying. dfx no problem man you were up to the job

kdjaC
30/10/2006, 7:57 PM
cool cool how did you stop pepole making off with the jerseys

I bring them and take them home every week. Still have every sock :D

kdjac

steno
31/10/2006, 9:51 AM
Lads it hurts to move and I lost my big toe nail on my righht foot as well!:(

Would be up for the league anyway regardless of what day of the week.

31/10/2006, 12:25 PM
Ye're conkered after that (dunno if I'm allowed say knackered or not, and this seems a good substitute)! God lads, yis are a right set of women altogether. That was grand.

***Bluebeard's wheelchair is pushed closer the screen so he can check what it says. Bluebeard beeps once to signify that he is happy with what his new carer has typed and can be submitted***

Drumcondra Red
31/10/2006, 5:35 PM
I'd play, pity about the scoreline last week but thats fitness I suppose!!!

aido_b
31/10/2006, 6:03 PM
Im defo in too lads, could do with a few oul games! Anyone reckon their jobs would be willing to sponsor jersies? Lets get a meeting in town one day this week if possible and we can sort out money etc ...

steno
31/10/2006, 7:16 PM
Are we playing boards again on Sunday?. How about meeting then?

kdjaC
31/10/2006, 7:53 PM
Are we playing boards again on Sunday?. How about meeting then?

We there 3-5 your invited for another game/training session for you.

let me know and motivate the lads and bring the bibs again.

You can wear bibs in the league if you have no jersey.

kdjac

padjoe
01/11/2006, 11:02 PM
i'm considering another battle. i know a good few cant show on sunday aido b missing again. i think we should meet either fri or sat to discuss possibility of team. **** sake GAA was set up in tipp surely we can set up 15 players to line out for the pride of foot.

01/11/2006, 11:08 PM
What times Sunday and how long does the game last?

01/11/2006, 11:45 PM
The game on Sunday I presume is between 3-5 - same as last week. It was 30 mins each way last week.:)

padjoe
02/11/2006, 12:48 AM
i presume so. dfx would you be interested in entering a team

02/11/2006, 1:06 AM
I'd definitely be interested in playing in an entered team.

That's one more down out of 15 or so needed then..:D

02/11/2006, 10:11 AM
Dorry folks, I'm afraid I'm away in Cork and making a good weekend of it, so nix me for the game this Sunday.

Similarly, include me out of the proposed Astro league team. Much as I would like to play, I would not be able to guarantee I'd make many games, with work and such, and, as importantly, I probably couldn't afford it. Hence the work at unsociable hours.

padjoe
04/11/2006, 9:29 PM
Dorry folks, I'm afraid I'm away in Cork and making a good weekend of it, so nix me for the game this Sunday.

Similarly, include me out of the proposed Astro league team. Much as I would like to play, I would not be able to guarantee I'd make many games, with work and such, and, as importantly, I probably couldn't afford it. Hence the work at unsociable hours.

sorry this is late is any one in the mood for playing soccer against boards.ie. i have four confirmed. myself plus three i brough last week anyone else wanna show up. bluebeard, dfx

padjoe
05/11/2006, 12:08 PM
right i no this is extremely late notice and i apologise. but we have eight/nine confirmed players for a game against boards.ie. if anyone is in the area of DCU at around three then drop in. to the sports grounds next to esso.

aido_b
05/11/2006, 7:58 PM
If theres a game going next week then im defo in!

05/11/2006, 9:32 PM
I see that it wasn't my poor manager skills that let you all down this time :( :eek: :D

Was hoping for a win for foot.ie! Next time!

Reggie
06/11/2006, 8:28 PM
sorry this is late is any one in the mood for playing soccer against boards.ie. i have four confirmed. myself plus three i brough last week anyone else wanna show up. bluebeard, dfx
When was this I will play if you are ever short again. Just send me a PM to make sure I get it but I should be on the forum most days.

Drumcondra Red
07/11/2006, 11:28 AM
I would've played, just saw this now though!!!

aido_b
09/11/2006, 9:25 PM
Lads any game on Sunday !?!?!

Reggie
10/11/2006, 8:12 PM
I am up for a game.

11/11/2006, 12:32 AM
Could someone post the info bout the 11 a side wednesday league please?

steno
11/11/2006, 10:07 AM
I don't think this is going ahead, couldn't get enough players and the league starts this wednesday

kdjaC
11/11/2006, 11:58 AM
We could possibly play you again on the 3rd of December. League games all the way till then, unless you fancy a midweek game.

The 6-1 needs to be avenged :D

kdjac

aido_b
11/11/2006, 12:27 PM
yeah im defo up for a midweek game, wednesday !?!?!

Reggie
11/11/2006, 9:49 PM
I will play whenever. Just to let you know I am 17 and unfit. Wedensday is a half day for me.

aido_b
14/11/2006, 10:07 AM
Any games midweek !?!?!

Reggie
19/11/2006, 10:44 PM
any games come on it will be a laugh.