View Full Version : Cyprus Vs Ireland Match latest thread

Pages : 1 [2] 3 4

GUISAUltra
07/10/2006, 5:17 PM
crossbar, good save kenny

cavan_fan
07/10/2006, 5:18 PM
DFX - what are you doing on here then? Go fcuk off somewhere you are wanted you to$$er.

couldnt agree more

07/10/2006, 5:18 PM
Crossbar......Cyprus. Jaysus, we should be down by two, no?

07/10/2006, 5:19 PM
Shot cleared off the line apparently.
More like 6 yards out.

are we really looking at mcshane and o'brien for weds???
Judging by O'Brien's performance so far I'd be more worried about him playing than McShane or St Ledger.

blobbyblob
07/10/2006, 5:20 PM
This is a disgrace. No reason to celebrate that goal. After this, regardless of the score, Staunton has to go. Im very ****ed off.

Nobody can defend this(team), him(stan) or them(fai)

Dan K
07/10/2006, 5:20 PM
To indicate my interest in the said game, I only remembered it was on when the Scotland France game gave an update of 0-1 on it....to which I gleefully switched over to see 1-1..:rolleyes:

You obviously care enough to want to come on here and broadcast your alleged disinterest.

I suggest you grow up.

07/10/2006, 5:23 PM
Halftime match ratings:

Kenny - 3 :eek:
Finnan - 6
O'Brien - 3 :eek:
Dunne - 7
O'Shea - 5
McGeady - 5
Ireland - 6 (except for goal did nothing else)
Kilbane - 5
Duff - 6
Keane - 6
Morrisson - 4 (has done nothing except fall around for few freekicks)

Tactics are shocking. Its like backs & forwards. McGeady running around like headless chicken chasing fullbacks when he should be tucking back to protect the fullback. Midfield structure all wrong. Funny listening to Brian Kerr as he copes with fact no defensive midfielder

Billsthoughts
07/10/2006, 5:24 PM
o brien probably needs to be taken off. he is only going to get worse.
he didnt deserve to be dropped after germany game but this performance was always on cards as long as he wasnt playing for club every week. still in with chance of winning this comfortably. need to use duff and mageady as much as possible. too much ball going out to duff where he is double marked. morrison pretty ineffective as well. finnan playin absoluteley terrible.

GUISAUltra
07/10/2006, 5:25 PM
i dont know why staunton doesnt tll them to keep giving the ball to Duff and McGeady as they're tearing them apart everytime

07/10/2006, 5:27 PM
Scotland 1-0 France :eek:

Sorry nothin' to do with Ireland but...

07/10/2006, 5:27 PM
While i do think the collective defence shocking they not helped by the midfield letting too many players run directly at them in one-on-one situations.

Kenny inspires no confidence & very badly positioned for the 2nd goal. He should have been closer to the edge of the 6 yard box, not 1 yard off his line.

Dan K
07/10/2006, 5:28 PM
i dont know why staunton doesnt tll them to keep giving the ball to Duff and McGeady as they're tearing them apart everytime

Probably because Stan isn't allowed to have communication with the team or the bench.... ;)

GUISAUltra
07/10/2006, 5:29 PM
at this rate wednesdays gonna be a disaster. scotland are one up against france

GUISAUltra
07/10/2006, 5:32 PM
he probably has some young lad giving instructions to the subs to relay it back to the bench

GUISAUltra
07/10/2006, 5:34 PM
heres hoping for a better second half

07/10/2006, 5:35 PM
Other Internationals can be discussed here (http://foot.ie/showthread.php?p=548653#post548653)

GUISAUltra
07/10/2006, 5:38 PM
cyprus penalty

GUISAUltra
donkey does it again

oh jesus :o

cavan_fan
07/10/2006, 5:39 PM
everyone here knew o'brien needed to be taken off, the irish management team of course knew better!

Soko
Take Him Off Now

GUISAUltra
3-2 konstantinou

Dan K
what's happened??

07/10/2006, 5:40 PM
What a joke!

Emmet
07/10/2006, 5:41 PM
can someone describe it ... Keith O'Neill on Sky Sports News was having kittens ... O'Brien hasn't played for Portsmoputh this year - "You can see why" - O'Neill

07/10/2006, 5:42 PM
Theres going to be more goals in this, I'm not so sure Ireland will be scoring them though :o

brine3
07/10/2006, 5:42 PM
the defence is having a shocker, but they've been left to mark two players each on counter-attacks.

ireland's 4-0-6 kamikaze formation doesn't seem to be working out

blobbyblob
07/10/2006, 5:44 PM
Bad bad form from ireland and "ireland".

Cypriot Man was down injured and we resort to trying to take advantage of the CYPRIOTS misfortune by playing on

Sad Sad day

Monkfish
what a shower of *******! will robbie and the lads be out "celebrating" again tonight like nothing happend, stan your a clown!

Dan K
Can someone please tell me what happened? I can't hear or see the game here in the UK.

cavan_fan
this is probably a discussion for tomorrow but the FAI should be asking Kerr back now.

cavan_fan
07/10/2006, 5:45 PM
Dan, you can listen on rte.ie

Dan K
07/10/2006, 5:47 PM
Dan, you can listen on rte.ie

I'm on missus' computer and the sound doesn't work properly I'm afraid! :(

GUISAUltra
07/10/2006, 5:48 PM
Can someone please tell me what happened? I can't hear or see the game here in the UK.

o brien got turned easily by his man and the he just hacked him down in the box

4-2 :mad:

GUISAUltra
4-2. useless irish team. disgraceful

07/10/2006, 5:49 PM
You don't want to know. Down 4-2 now.

4:2 - Shocking.

cavan_fan
if this isnt sacking material what is???

we have a team made up mostly of premiership players, this is unacceptable

07/10/2006, 5:50 PM
I'd imagine the bookies are going to stop taking bets on a Czech win Wednesday night....

Is this the worst Irish side EVER?

blobbyblob
Im close to tears or vomiting - i cant make up my mind which

At the start of Kerrs commentary, I thought he sounded bitter but now hes only speaking the truth. He actually sounds like he is embarressed for staunton.

Whatever about player availablity - the tactics, direction, passion, shape, communication, togetherness, pride - all have disappeared.

4 goals conceeded. european qualifying conceeded.

Close Croke Park Now - They are not worthy. Dalymount should do.

Staunton OUt NOW!

The Czechs will tear us apart.

Did they all go out on the pish last night? Sad, sad, sad.:mad: :mad: :mad:

cavan_fan
you can see why Walsall were so watertight at the back!

07/10/2006, 5:52 PM
:mad: im in shock, but not too shocked. I feel Sick.

Dan K
07/10/2006, 5:52 PM
I feel sick.

cavan_fan
07/10/2006, 5:54 PM
Is this the worst Irish side EVER?

no this is the worst irish management ever

Kenny, Finnan, Dunne, O'Shea, Duff, Kilbane, Robbie and McGeady are top flight players.

Ireland is a good prospect
Morrison and O'Brien are weak (should be replaced by Lee and St Ledger, stick O'Shea at CB)

This is as good a team as we've had.

Brian Kerr should be feeling very hard done by if they stick with this guy

07/10/2006, 5:54 PM
:mad: im in shock, but not too shocked.

That sums it up really

Emmet
07/10/2006, 5:55 PM
To be honest I didn't think we'd win this - a draw is what I was expecting ... I wouldn't write off our chances against the Czechs though. Stranger things have happened! As for qualification ... that's it now, yes? For the next year or so we'll be playing for seedings and experience ... :(