View Full Version : Galway -v- Rovers

Pages : 1 2 3 [4]

Ceirtlis
07/10/2006, 2:03 PM
Some dirty challenges going in alright but Ciaran Foley put in plenty of them. no 19 and for rovers certainly put himself about as well. I thought rovers probably had more of the play but we had the better chances. Gethins was excellant up front and ran all night but he looked shattered for the last 15 minutes or so. O'Brien played well before he got injured also but united didnt get him on the ball as much as they probably should have. an excellant performance alround though.
A question for rovers fans as well why do ye like that build me up buttercup song so much. Fair play to ye for singing but i nearly went round the twist listening to that for the whole of the first half.

07/10/2006, 3:15 PM
they ref played at least 7 minutes injury time at the end of the 2nd the board said 4 but he was really bustin a gut trying help rovers out. they could be playin till next week and they never would have scored!

He played 49 minutes in the second half, but as the game was stuck in midfield for the last half hour, we couldn't get into the penalty area, never mind create a chance. I don't think the ref helped us at all, tbh. He played a lot longer then the time allocated at the end of the first half, and as a result, Galway scored, following terrible defending and goalkeeping. :(

GUISAUltra
07/10/2006, 3:21 PM
there was slighly more than 49 minutes played in the second half

Joe C
07/10/2006, 4:01 PM
Great result, great night, I had 3 young fellas me and they could hardly speak when they got home. Does anyone know what the attendence was?

Patrick Dunne
07/10/2006, 4:05 PM
3,092 official attendance. There were over 2,000 people in the stand, and certainly more than 1,100 outside it, so the actual figure had to be at least 3,500.

GUISAUltra
07/10/2006, 4:25 PM
yeah id say there was definitely 3500 and ,maybe a bit more

Paddyfield
07/10/2006, 6:03 PM
3,092 official attendance. There were over 2,000 people in the stand, and certainly more than 1,100 outside it, so the actual figure had to be at least 3,500.

3,092 paid in. Kids are free and there are season ticket holders too.

GalwayFrancis
07/10/2006, 7:30 PM
Great night all round. Great to see a sell-out in terryland, not too often that happens and not an ounce of trouble, segregation worked well, rovers fans were sound and ever (apart from during the last ten minutes of the game). Lets try and get a similar crowd up the dyke in two weeks time against Dundalk. Nice to see the Tifo flags back, and as I said in the other thread, how about putting the gufc flags up on the green mesh behind the car park goals, at least TV3 and the fair-weather fans would see them - they are class in all fairness.

exiled_gufc_fan
07/10/2006, 10:17 PM
A few photos from last night have been uploaded to the Galway United group on Flickr:

http://www.flickr.com/groups/galwayunited

GalwayFrancis
09/10/2006, 1:13 AM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=emXBqlBQBBQ
a video of the Terryland crowd at friday's game singing Utd Utd Utd

09/10/2006, 8:28 AM
Pity it's only about 4 seconds long.There's a brillaint video of the flare up on bebo.Francis can you put that up on youtube?

GalwayFrancis
09/10/2006, 12:27 PM
Pity it's only about 4 seconds long.There's a brillaint video of the flare up on bebo.Francis can you put that up on youtube?

ya, will do it when i get home, cant get on bebo in gmit - and if anyone has any more videos, email them to galwayfrancis @ gmail.com and ill pop them up on youtube

GUISAUltra
09/10/2006, 7:05 PM
its good alright but its too short. sounds brilliant though

Paddyfield
09/10/2006, 9:17 PM
ya, will do it when i get home, cant get on bebo in gmit - and if anyone has any more videos, email them to galwayfrancis @ gmail.com and ill pop them up on youtube

My fault... I recorded all 5 seconds of it. I will do a better one at the Dundalk game

DotTV
10/10/2006, 11:57 AM
My brother was at the match and said the atmosphere was unreal.
He was a regular at Terryland back in the glory days of Tommy Keane and co, when the "stand" was at the west end of the ground and we'd clatter the corrugated iron for an atmosphere.
He said the fans didnt stop singing once with flairs and everything going off.
Sounded brillaint.
Fair play to all who were there.