View Full Version : Galway -v- Rovers
2 of the lads in work bought tickets in the last hour. they were numbered 2083 or 4 or something. Does this mean that is how many are sold, or are they just sold off in different bunches and not in numerical order?
If you then take into consideration that there is 800 season tickets and 400 rovers tickets that would give a crowd of 3283 so far?
02/10/2006, 4:27 PM
My Uncle is coming down from Mayo and going with 7 other lads who haven't been to Terryland in years for the match.
At this rate the match will be a sell out by Wednesday?
Tir Oilean
02/10/2006, 6:50 PM
I bought 12 today in Terryland but there didnt seem to be that many sold. Id say most r bein sold in town. Incidently only 4 of the twelve were ever in Terryland before so it will be important that they are impressed with the set up. And the ticket number doesnt indicate they are sold to that amount mine are 1700-1712. Ive missed a pile ofgames lately so I hope I'll be treated to a feast of football on Friday!
Patrick Dunne
02/10/2006, 7:46 PM
Ticket numbers would not indicate the amount of tickets sold.
The match is far from a sell-out at present time, hopefully it will by
Friday.
Patrick Dunne
02/10/2006, 7:58 PM
I see S&S clubs in a numerous amount of factories in the city are selling the tickets as well and are apparently doing well also.
I see that S&M clubs in the city are selling tickets as well !
corbyeire
02/10/2006, 8:48 PM
get out of that garden :p :) ;)
GalwayFrancis
02/10/2006, 8:53 PM
Ticket numbers would not indicate the amount of tickets sold.
The match is far from a sell-out at present time, hopefully it will by
Friday.
if they dont will they be on sale at the gate?
I see that S&M clubs in the city are selling tickets as well !
does the missus know that you are frequenting these places?:eek: :D
corbyeire
02/10/2006, 9:31 PM
says on the website they wont be available on the night
everybody was talking about United.people who havent been at a game in years are saying that they are definetely going on Friday.How are tickets going ?
Are these people aware that they can't just turn up for this game like 'normal'?
Paddyfield
02/10/2006, 10:28 PM
Are these people aware that they can't just turn up for this game like 'normal'?
The game is well promoted on local radio and in the local newspapers including a front page advert on the Galway Advertiser which has the largest readership for a provincial newspaer in Ireland. There are posters advertising the game in lots of pubs and shops. The capacity is less than 4000 for Health & Safety reasons. Half of the ground is closed off to make way for the another stand.
Yeah, there will be people turning up on the night without tickets. Can you imagine... Touts outside Terryland? :cool:
Eire06
03/10/2006, 8:35 AM
Yeah, there will be people turning up on the night without tickets. Can you imagine... Touts outside Terryland? :cool:
Hey can children turn up without tickets or will they be turned away if they crowd is over the allowed maximum attendance
GuisaSaigon
03/10/2006, 8:47 AM
kids under 12 will be admitted for free if accompanied by a ticket holding adult.
But what Eire06 is saying is what if 3000 adults turn up and there is 1200 kids that would be going in for free, isnt that over crowding?
E.g. would be people arriving at 7.35 with there tickets but aren't allowed in because of the amount of kids that got in for free has already brought the attendance up to capacity! Basically you cannot limit the tickets for attendance if there is the possibility of the head count going up through free admission.
My own opinion anyway is that this match isnt exactly one of the matches that you would be bringing younger children to, just incase anything does happen.
There'll be no problem fitting that crowd in. Think of the amount of people the back of the stand behind the seats hold. There's also a fair bit of room behind both goals. People are grossly over-reacting to the ticket situation.
03/10/2006, 10:18 AM
the stand holds 1700 seated plus 400 standing so it will be a tight squeeze for 1400 more johnny.We are expecting 300/400 U12's and 200 Rovers fans about the same as they brought in august.
The very reason the game has been made all ticket us to avoid more than 3,500 people turning up on the night and having to refuse people entry.The simple rule is Pa no ticket no entry so advise everyone who asks you to buy their tickets early and it will make for far less problems on the night.
I will be in ffinn cyprus listening to Galway Bay FM on the internet im gutted!!!!!!
Eire06
03/10/2006, 11:11 AM
My own opinion anyway is that this match isnt exactly one of the matches that you would be bringing younger children to, just incase anything does happen.
I've been to a good few of Rovers matches when I lived in Dublin and there was hardly any trouble at them (bar a few kids acting the D**k) no worse than the fools we get at Galway United matches....
Most of you seem to think they will cause trouble and if you go to the match with that attitude there will be trouble..
Rovers fans are grand and we had loads of friendly banter with them last time they were down..
03/10/2006, 11:39 AM
Yeah, a top-of-table clash against the side with the biggest away support in the Division and your own biggest League crowd in ages. I'd hate to bring a kid to experience an atmosphere like that. Far better off waiting for the next time Kilkenny City are in town. :rolleyes:
corbyeire
03/10/2006, 12:25 PM
Yeah, a top-of-table clash against the side with the biggest away support in the Division and your own biggest League crowd in ages. I'd hate to bring a kid to experience an atmosphere like that. Far better off waiting for the next time Kilkenny City are in town. :rolleyes:
ha ha ha, your dead right - great occasion in prospect!
03/10/2006, 12:31 PM
Thats not what I ment, IMO 90% of all the u12's that do go to terryland have little to no interest in the matches but rather run around playing tig, screaming etc.. I can gaurantee you that after the match there will be parents complaining about language used and what not and that they wont be bringing the kids again because its not what they would call a family night out.
Remember things like bad language is banned in terryland and it could get you kicked out !
Me, Im going drinking before the match so I wont be bringing any kids this time.
GUISAUltra
03/10/2006, 12:58 PM
i know that bad language is banned in terryland as they are trying to get more families in but this is not going to be a place for kids. they're wont be trouble its just as tension grows in the game there will be an awful lot of abusive language towards the referees and the players from both sets of fans. so if ye are bringning kids get them a set of ear muffs, this might stop stewards threathening to throw our fans out
03/10/2006, 1:07 PM
Bad language is banned?! Better tell Gerry McDermott so cos he hates bad language at EL games:rolleyes:
Agree about the kids though. Great to see them and all but in a lot of grounds they just seem to run around like headless chickens.
GUISAUltra
03/10/2006, 1:11 PM
yeah. trying to promote more of a family club experience so we're being censored
03/10/2006, 1:44 PM
I've been to a good few of Rovers matches when I lived in Dublin and there was hardly any trouble at them (bar a few kids acting the D**k) no worse than the fools we get at Galway United matches....
Most of you seem to think they will cause trouble and if you go to the match with that attitude there will be trouble..
Rovers fans are grand and we had loads of friendly banter with them last time they were down..
No the consensus in general is that there won't be trouble.I hate the attitude of some people-Rovers are hooligans!No they're not.They have a minority but at least we weren't pelted with stones like that has happened to us in Athhlone,Limerick and Sligo.Ironic thing is then we're told it's stupid to be singing songs about Sligo and Athlone.:confused:
However when Rovers come to town it's "oh jesus watch out for that shower":rolleyes: .Rovers fans have done wonders for their club and desereve a bit of respect.They'll bring more than every other 1st Division club combined on Friday and im sure they'll be a good laugh down in Fox's agagin.They'll add to the electric atmosphere that we'll create on Friday night and hopefully go home like last time with good stories about Galway.
Relish the big games......we've been playing **** pot celtic etc for the last 5 years it's games like Friday we're thriving to get out of this ****hole for.
Will we be like this next year every second week?
I have to say i'm really looking forward to the game friday, hopefully it'll have the crowd as widely predicted here & a decent game into the bargain.
In relation to the potential for trouble, if we're treated as we were earlier in the season i'd be pretty confident you'll get no hassle from the travelling hooperazi, quite simply every away game we've been to this season where we were treated with a basic level of respect we've had a ball of a time & have been commended by the home fans afterwards for our behaviour, i see no reason for friday to be any different. As long as we win of course ;)
See ye all friday in fox's!
Koh
Banning bad language? That's one of the most absurd things I've ever heard. If you want a family night out, go along to see a 12-rated film. We're talking about football played at a relatively modest level that generally attracts working-class support. I can't wait to roar: "Oh referee, you may have erred there" on Friday night.
corbyeire
03/10/2006, 4:34 PM
banning bad language for the 2-3 match a year crowd not for us poor drones who suffer boring home draws in the p!ssing rain and cold - in summer soccer!!!
corbyeire
03/10/2006, 4:35 PM
oh yea its on aertel now about the all ticket affair!
thescoringgoals
03/10/2006, 4:55 PM
and hopefully ill be able to get it onto youtube during the weekend,our game away vrs shams earlier this season is on youtube already,it came out well,fair play to whatever shams fan put it up there.
i had to correct a few people who were calling fridays game the "title decider",its hardly that with 6 games left for us and 8 for shams and dundalk who wont go away either.youd forget that theres just 3 points to play for and yet it seems to have more hype then the playoff final home leg a few years ago,weird.would 6 wins in a row be a club record??heres hoping.
Irish Fan
04/10/2006, 8:54 AM
My mate who is a rovers fan told me there only expecting about 100 down after the expesive (d) athlone trip in the cup last week. Maybe yous could take the 300 left over by them and sell to Galway fans......Would this be feasible?
corbyeire
04/10/2006, 9:33 AM
youd hope that if the allocation wasnt going to be used - SRFC would notify GUFC and they would be sold
this sounds very like the last time when rovers were on their way down - 200-300 were coming - and we were expecting 2500 etc. etc.
probably wont sell out - maybe more than last time for sure - but you can always expect the fairweather crowd to forget to buy their ticket or not know it was all ticket etc.
either way there is going to be plenty of atmosphere down here the next night
04/10/2006, 10:08 AM
tickets are selling like hotcakes lads its only wednesday morning and zhivago have sold out twice already and over 200 sold in Terryland which is not the most accesible place for fans. Sitting in B'fast Airport wishing i was staying home but the fixtures werent even out whwn i booked for Cyprus so ill just have to make do with an internet cafe in ayia napa and BOC's dulcet tones.
Dont forget Jersey day 2 and let me here you all loud and proud in Ayia Napa.Good luck to Tony and the lads but dont forget there is 6 more cup finals after friday so Keep the Maroon Flag Flying High. Didnt bring the flags to Cyprus they will be our spirit in Terryland!!!!!!
C'mon United
P.S. Pa make sure Ronan keeps in touch with the Loughrea and Athenry Outlets.
04/10/2006, 10:58 AM
and hopefully ill be able to get it onto youtube during the weekend,our game away vrs shams earlier this season is on youtube already,it came out well,fair play to whatever shams fan put it up there.
i had to correct a few people who were calling fridays game the "title decider",its hardly that with 6 games left for us and 8 for shams and dundalk who wont go away either.youd forget that theres just 3 points to play for and yet it seems to have more hype then the playoff final home leg a few years ago,weird.would 6 wins in a row be a club record??heres hoping.
Rovers pal Rovers.
There'll be a camera there anyway I presume. Camera there last time but they never showed it:eek:
GUISAUltra
04/10/2006, 11:39 AM
54 hours and counting
Lily-the-Pink
04/10/2006, 12:16 PM
Should be a cracker! As a lilywhite don't know whether I want a draw or a Galway win! First time in Terryland so looking forward to it!
GUISAUltra
04/10/2006, 12:37 PM
if this is going to be your first game in terryland you've picked an absolute cracker. there is going to be one of the biggest crowds in the past few years and there is so much hype about this game around the city and county that terryland is going to be hopping.
A home win would give us six wins on the bounce but more importantly it will give us the 6 point lead over rovers with dundalk here in 2 weeks time.
Bring on the rovers, the 3 points and the summit of the league come friday night
thescoringgoals
04/10/2006, 1:56 PM
NYHOOP:i know there will be a camera there(there has been for most home games this season),its just gonna be a little experiement of mine to see how it turns out amd if its on youtube it can be watched over and over as opposed to 1 showing of 20 seconds of highlights at midnight on monday on tv3.
NYHOOP:no offence meant by calling ye "shams",its not meant in the "tuam" sense of the word:D ,just a shortened version of yer name.
i really hope with all this hype that this game wont be a dull 0-0 draw,my first lesson in games not living up to the hype was the 96 FA cup final between liverpool and man utd,so much hype,so much talk,then what a poor dull game it turned out to be.so i just hope fridays game doesnt turn out the same way.
Irish Fan
04/10/2006, 3:44 PM
Is there a roof over the rovers fans on friday in case it rains :d
corbyeire
04/10/2006, 3:50 PM
therell be a roof for whoever gets down early enough - and it looks like rain!!!
Paddyfield
04/10/2006, 9:22 PM
Is there a roof over the rovers fans on friday in case it rains :d
Yes. Section F (I think) of the stand has been allocated to visiting supporters. It's just inside the main entrance to Terryland Park.
Game is also live on Galway Bay FM and on the net at www.galwaybayfm.ie
Be warned that the broadcast may well be slightly biased and inaudible to delicate eardrums. Also, Galwegian colloquialisms might confuse non-locals.
05/10/2006, 1:11 AM
There'll be no problem fitting that crowd in. Think of the amount of people the back of the stand behind the seats hold. There's also a fair bit of room behind both goals. People are grossly over-reacting to the ticket situation.
Looks like a repeat of the game at Terryland in March '86, when Galway and Rovers were going gung-ho for the Premier Division. The Galway board built special one-off scaffolding for the game there, to cope with the demand from the locals :eek:. We were 3-0 up by half time, won the game, and a month later, beat Galway to the title. :)
fc hammer
05/10/2006, 2:15 AM
I have to say i'm really looking forward to the game friday, hopefully it'll have the crowd as widely predicted here & a decent game into the bargain.
In relation to the potential for trouble, if we're treated as we were earlier in the season i'd be pretty confident you'll get no hassle from the travelling hooperazi,
Koh
just a quick question for you.If you dont get your own way,you lot will cause trouble??
05/10/2006, 2:23 AM
just a quick question for you.If you dont get your own way,you lot will cause trouble??
:rolleyes: :o
05/10/2006, 2:30 AM
Camera there last time but they never showed it:eek:
I saw enough when I was there. :(
A home win would more importantly give us the 6 point lead over rovers...
...which may be wiped out in 10 days, after our 3 home games played. :D
GuisaSaigon
05/10/2006, 8:27 AM
Just heard Kevin Moran doing an ad on GBFM for the game on friday! is this new?
was up in terryland yesterday evening getting the last few tickets for everyone and I have to say that I never seen the pitch look so good. Fantastic work by Noel Connolly and everyone else involved, well done.
05/10/2006, 10:26 AM
NYHOOP:i know there will be a camera there(there has been for most home games this season),its just gonna be a little experiement of mine to see how it turns out amd if its on youtube it can be watched over and over as opposed to 1 showing of 20 seconds of highlights at midnight on monday on tv3.
NYHOOP:no offence meant by calling ye "shams",its not meant in the "tuam" sense of the word:D ,just a shortened version of yer name.
i really hope with all this hype that this game wont be a dull 0-0 draw,my first lesson in games not living up to the hype was the 96 FA cup final between liverpool and man utd,so much hype,so much talk,then what a poor dull game it turned out to be.so i just hope fridays game doesnt turn out the same way.
Couldnt care less about any foreign clubs really. But take your point re hyped up games.
Hammer I know you limerick fans have a chip on your shoulder with all things Rovers (as was infamously pointed out in your match programme against us)but that is a stupid question. The point is when you are treated like **** it leaves a sour taste in the mouth. Galway fans treat us properly. That would mean not throwing stones at us during the game.
galwayhoop
05/10/2006, 11:38 AM
there was actually a big televised game on that day in 86 - involving some foreign clubs! think it was man u and someone else. i remember with fondness the rovers fans in the old stand singing
'you can shove your english football up your asre!' :D
a classic chant!!!
my brother couldn't make out what they were saying and thought it was -
put the sugar in your cocoa and stir it up:eek:
not a bad chant either - but hardly relevant:D
Paddyfield
05/10/2006, 1:11 PM
Just heard Kevin Moran doing an ad on GBFM for the game on friday! is this new?
Where the f€ck have you been? Vietnam?
These ads are yonks old. There are others with Ronnie Whelan and Keeny Dalglish too.
GuisaSaigon
05/10/2006, 1:32 PM
Where the f€ck have you been? Vietnam?
These ads are yonks old. There are others with Ronnie Whelan and Keeny Dalglish too.
Kenny Dalglish doing a radio ad!!!! does it have subtitles?!!!!!!!!!!:rolleyes: