View Full Version : Galway -v- Rovers

Pages : 1 2 [3] 4

GUISAUltra
05/10/2006, 2:03 PM
ya its hard to understand him sometimes alright but at least we get the jist of it

galwayhoop
05/10/2006, 3:21 PM
BBC pundits conversation from world cup just gone:

Martin O'Neill to Alan Hansen: ........... and as Kenny Dalgleish said

mumble, mumble, mumble:D :D :D

05/10/2006, 5:10 PM
Wes Charles is back in the Galway after his International duty and trained on Wednesday night and is available for the game against Rovers. Out for one more match through suspension is Philip Reilly while Barry Moran and Ronan Frawley are both still out with thigh injuries but might be considered....http://www.galwayunitedfc.ie/match-previews/team-news-galway-united-v-shamrock-rovers.html

05/10/2006, 6:53 PM
I see on the official rovers website that they are saying that you can get tickets at the gates of terryland and to just get there early to gaurantee entry! So are the tickets for sale at the gate or not as GUFC are still saying that they wont?

GalwayFrancis
05/10/2006, 7:04 PM
i'd say the srfc site is talking about rover's tickets, but if the games not sold out by 5pm tomorrow, i cant see how tickets wont be availible on the gate. you cant leave paying fans at the gate if theres room inside, surely

05/10/2006, 10:25 PM
Team news and Tony's comments about UTD's fans now here. (http://www.galwayunitedfc.ie/newsroom/)
Apperently he was very impressed with us in LImerick(and Gort!) and even mentioned it again at training on Sunday last.:)
Tomorrow will be even better again!

05/10/2006, 10:36 PM
Lads have you how many tickets have you sold now? Occasions like this are a credit to the league, fair play and keep it up.

05/10/2006, 10:40 PM
Well i was just talking to someone on the phone and apperently they're pretty much sold out,however all the concession tickets are gone i'm told!:)

05/10/2006, 10:51 PM
With a capacity crowd expected tomorrow will the club be ensuring Section A is kept for "usuals" tomorrow night.It's bound to be full but it will be full of people who want to stand up and make noise.Would be a disaster if some of the fairweathers who'll show up tomorrow unknowingly took the elite seats.;)

06/10/2006, 7:17 AM
With a capacity crowd expected tomorrow will the club be ensuring Section A is kept for "usuals" tomorrow night.It's bound to be full but it will be full of people who want to stand up and make noise.Would be a disaster if some of the fairweathers who'll show up tomorrow unknowingly took the elite seats.;)

you can only guarantee seats if your there good and early. With the weather as bad as it is, all seats will be gone early as no one will want to be standing out in the elements up there tonight.

06/10/2006, 9:29 AM
That's what i'm saying.They're going to keep the last 2 section for rovers fans should they not keep that Section for us?After all it was their idea to put us there.
Would be great tonight aswell if everyone filled the seats in Section A as opposed to evryone up the back.We'd make more noise and it would look better on tv!

GUISAUltra
06/10/2006, 9:46 AM
yeah it probably would look a hell of a lot better but theres not a hope im gonna be sitting down anyway and i know there'll be a lot more feeling the same

GuisaSaigon
06/10/2006, 9:50 AM
We'd better get out of the pub and up to Terryland early , get our spot and get the atmosphere going before the game. We need to show the fairweathers how its done! Are fog horns banned or have they just gone out of fashion?

GalwayFrancis
06/10/2006, 9:55 AM
We'd better get out of the pub and up to Terryland early , get our spot and get the atmosphere going before the game. We need to show the fairweathers how its done! Are fog horns banned or have they just gone out of fashion?

cant see how theyd be banned, you can get them in the marine shop at the end of merchants road

06/10/2006, 9:58 AM

No bring one geat idea!

GUISAULTRA-I don't mean sit in the seats-i mean occupy them!ie-Stand in the area like we do at away matches!

GUISAUltra
06/10/2006, 10:04 AM
yeah i dont mind but i'll be up the back anyway cos theres f**k all room if you're standing between the seats. the stand is gonna explode if we score and i dont fancy getting squashed over a load of seats

06/10/2006, 10:13 AM
Ya reminds me of the playoff's.Used to be off the ground for about 3 minutes when we scored.I came down eventually in between the lads and the seats!:D

GUISAUltra
06/10/2006, 10:19 AM
yeah i reckon we'd get trampled 2nite when we score

GUISAUltra
06/10/2006, 10:21 AM
but ya have to take the pain with the pleasure

MyTown
06/10/2006, 10:34 AM
Full Page (p88) in todays so called Oirish Mail promoting tonights game and the future structure of the League. Both Rovers & United rated with excellent chances of making the cut. Good photo of Terryland

geezer
06/10/2006, 10:38 AM
we didnt even get a mention on today fm or radio 1 sports bulletins this morning and connacht did

GuisaSaigon
06/10/2006, 10:46 AM
It will be interesting to compare attendances tonight . i doubt very much if connaught will get as big a crowd as last week

Rovers'Til IDie
06/10/2006, 11:01 AM
we didnt even get a mention on today fm or radio 1 sports bulletins this morning and connacht did
Why would you expect rte to report the match, they're only interested in the english premiership, or cross channel as they seem to have renamed the Irish sea.
Looking forward to the game tonight, I presume its sold out, and the rain has stopped (in Gort anyway).

GUISAUltra
06/10/2006, 11:07 AM
how are you in gort or do you live there

GUISAUltra
06/10/2006, 11:09 AM
if ye ended up in gort on the way down you must have had one of our drivers. the suns just coming out now. its supposed to get better all day so heres hoping we have a dry day outside foxes

Rovers'Til IDie
06/10/2006, 11:12 AM
I live here, moved to Galway about 9 or 10 years ago. Gort was the only place in Galway I could afford a house.

06/10/2006, 11:14 AM
I live here, moved to Galway about 9 or 10 years ago. Gort was the only place in Galway I could afford a house.

Are you Brazilian ? :)

Rovers'Til IDie
06/10/2006, 11:15 AM
Are you Brazilian ? :)
No, I'm actually one of only 10 Irish people living in Gort.:)

GUISAUltra
06/10/2006, 11:18 AM
i heard theres a new wave of brazilans coming over to ye in the last few weeks. there'll be no irish people there at all now soon

Rovers'Til IDie
06/10/2006, 11:33 AM
I think at the last count about half the town was brazilian. Also seems to be a hell of a lot of brits around as well, you know the sort, the ones who claim to be Irish. Oim from fackin' cara row innit :)

corbyeire
06/10/2006, 11:52 AM
I think at the last count about half the town was brazilian. Also seems to be a hell of a lot of brits around as well, you know the sort, the ones who claim to be Irish. Oim from fackin' cara row innit :)

classic - cara row innit!

here in athenry the sun is shinning and the wind is up - put on a good enough beer jacket and youll be fine

id say the mujahadeen could be back tonight :eek:

06/10/2006, 12:14 PM
its raining in ballybrit

GuisaSaigon
06/10/2006, 12:20 PM
It's cloudy in Salthill. Whats this weather.ie?
BRING ON THE ROVERS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

GUISAUltra
06/10/2006, 12:26 PM
gone cloudy again in town. headin to foxes now in a few to meet a few heads so i'll see ye all n a few hours time.

TOP OF THE LEAGUE

06/10/2006, 12:32 PM
Just met Ciaran Foley's Dad said that Ciaran has never been so up for a match in his life!!

GUISAUltra
06/10/2006, 12:35 PM
Nice One. I Was Chatting To Mixie Yesterday And I Know He Mightn't Be Playing But He Was Mad Up For It. Its Good To See The Whole Squad Excited And Not Just The Starting 11

06/10/2006, 1:00 PM
For all the hype, tonight's result is largely academic until we have played two of the games in hand. After that, we'll have a good idea of where Galway, Dundalk, and ourselves stand for the run-in.

It's a similiar story in the other division, where Shels' big lead looks odd, when you consider Derry have 3 games in hand still to play, and still hold the advantage, knowing if they win them all, they can't be caught.

Eire06
06/10/2006, 1:03 PM
Bucketing in Ballybrit at the moment, doesn't look like its gona clear up either...
Cold wet night ahead of us I think

GuisaSaigon
06/10/2006, 1:18 PM
For all the hype, tonight's result is largely academic until we have played two of the games in hand. After that, we'll have a good idea of where Galway, Dundalk, and ourselves stand for the run-in.

If we win tonight it puts us 6 points clear of you. You may have 2 games in hand but I know which position I would choose. Rovers will be under serious pressure in every game.I know games against Rovers have been cup finals for most clubs in the division this season but this will intensify if it means they can prevent you from winning the league.

thanatos80
06/10/2006, 7:46 PM
GOAL!!!!! GALWAY!!!!! right at the half, in stoppage time. Not sure who got it, but I think Raf got the assist. Hard to understand the pbp guy when he's excited. Listening to the match, over the 'net, in Galway's sister city in the US, Seattle.

06/10/2006, 7:52 PM
im listening in cyprus sweat running down my back dont know how ill last 45 mins more cmon united

thanatos80
06/10/2006, 8:41 PM
That's it. 1-0 FT Galway. That's 6 wins in a row. Way to go Tribesmen.

geezer
06/10/2006, 11:29 PM
for the boys in cypress here is a bit of a biased report, Ref gave us nothing, some awful crude late challenges from rovers and no one got booked yet he books our players for celebrating a goal. Poor Alan keane has a very serious injury out for rest of season i didnt see that tackle. Gethins was excellent, dowd and gethins missed two sitters before we scored. Derek scored just on the stroke of half time. goughy clery, wes, dowd gethins, and raf were excellent, fran not so great russell cam on for foley and cookie came on for derek, Nigel came on for alan keane in first half. Harps now next week nothing easy in this league, Super crowd hardly a seat in the house
no more than GUFC as a club deserves, nights like these

07/10/2006, 2:31 AM
Ref gave us nothing,

...except enough injury time in the first half for yous to score the winner. :mad:

he books our players for celebrating a goal.

He wasn't booked for celebrating, but for deliberately kicking the ball away (to the touchline) when he got back into his own half.
That's us finished with Dundalk and Galway this season, and as we play twice at home before Galway play again, we have an early chance to recover the ground lost lately, and (albeit temporarily) go back top. :)

thescoringgoals
07/10/2006, 8:02 AM
the reason the ref played so much injury time at the end of first half was because our right back broke his leg and took a few mins to get him off,that challenge was fine,both went for the ball etc,but some of the other tackles going in from ye guys were disgracefull and synical.
it was 12 vrs 12 out there last night,the crowd was our 12th man while yers was the referee.
still all to play for.

GuisaSaigon
07/10/2006, 11:14 AM
they ref played at least 7 minutes injury time at the end of the 2nd the board said 4 but he was really bustin a gut trying help rovers out. they could be playin till next week and they never would have scored!

07/10/2006, 11:20 AM
Do you know I was wondering what I'd prefer from this game, a Galway win, a Rovers win, a draw or lightning to hit the pitch, but I have to say, given the clear weather last night I was happier to see a Galway win than a Rovers win. Now there's a roundabout congratulations if ever I saw one! :)

Rebal Boy
07/10/2006, 11:29 AM
Great win for Galway last night. I hope ye win the league now lads since Cobh are all, but out of the running. Hope to see ye in the Premier next season. Hopefully the FAI thing goes yr way. Whatever way they choose who's going up and down. Would love to see Cobh up too, but can't see it happening.

GUISAUltra
07/10/2006, 12:32 PM
7 To 8 Minutes Injury Time At The End Of The Game, Ref Gave Rovers Enough Chances But As It Was Said Above, Rovers Were Never Gonna Get Past Billy And Wes. The 2 Were Unbelievable All Night And All Rovers Could Do Was Shoot From Distance.
In Saying The Two Boys Were Brilliant Might Be A Bit Unfair To The Rest As Every Player That Set Foot On The Pitch Ran Themselves Into The Ground.

Going Up As Champions

Metrostars
07/10/2006, 1:13 PM
Congrats to all involved!