View Full Version : Oscar Traynor News

Pages : 1 2 [3] 4

allab
24/10/2006, 9:24 PM
would anyone else agree with ALLAB's comments? Lets just put it out there...Would Either of the summerville lads get on any other premier team except Charleville????
Lets hear yere views people.

In responce to your cmments Scoobysham,yes he had a bit of a bad day there but i think everyone has one or 2 bad games every now and again and it is only his second game for the ot team....Would u have him on the 1st team for the game on sunday?? Do u think the gaffer will start him!! I think he will start???
summervilleman take it easy dont think i was serious! doubt he would get on the top teams as in boro,regional,balla,view,pike.. only my opinion

scoobysham
25/10/2006, 10:57 AM
ya thats true summervilleman but to be honest he was awful against caherdavin too... from talking to a few players on the ot team he will start on sunday against cork.....needs a decent performance to keep him in the team

summervilleman
25/10/2006, 11:15 AM
Definately entitled to your opinion Allab as thats what this site is all about...As scoobysham says if he starts on sunday he will have to play well.What about cyril mayer..How would ye rate him then??.What time is the game on it??

scoobysham
25/10/2006, 11:33 AM
Definately entitled to your opinion Allab as thats what this site is all about...As scoobysham says if he starts on sunday he will have to play well.What about cyril mayer..How would ye rate him then??.What time is the game on it??

cyril maher is a decent player but if the ot team have everyone fit and available he will prob be a sub... think its half 2 or 3... and its down in cork somewhere.....

Ronald
25/10/2006, 12:56 PM
The game is on in Middleton @ 2.30 pm this Sunday.
As for the question about the Summerville players, I believe that Cyril Maher is good enough to be on the squad as he has shown in his performances when coming on in both games, James O'Donnell is a different matter I believe that he needs a good game on Sunday(if he starts) to remain.
There is not a large amount of left full backs at the standard of Oscar Traynor in the town, I do however believe that the omission of Mark Sheehan (Regional) is still a strange decision.
I wish the squad good luck on Sunday and hope they represent the league well and come back with a win.

leather
25/10/2006, 1:04 PM
Danny Hanley might be a choice for a spot as cover for left back in O/T squad.
That is if he can walk after getting the **** kicked out of himself last sunday by a shower of thugs who unfortuatley were togged out with shelbourne..

Goals4fun
25/10/2006, 1:15 PM
Danny Hanley might be a choice for a spot as cover for left back in O/T squad.
That is if he can walk after getting the **** kicked out of himself last sunday by a shower of thugs who unfortuatley were togged out with shelbourne..

who does he play with ?

leather
25/10/2006, 1:53 PM
Plays left full or sweeper with boro... played with Corbally before that..young chap.. good left foot and very fit

allab
25/10/2006, 3:33 PM

cyril is a good player as he has proved wit his spell wit carew, prob was there best player the year they went close in the fai!! think his playin centre midfield this season is he??

Edgey
25/10/2006, 3:53 PM
Saw Hanley play a few weeks ago (albeit against lower division opposition) and he looked class at both left back and centre back. Mark Sheehan has been consistently good for Regional for the last few years. Never seen O'Donnell play so can't comment.

allab
25/10/2006, 5:33 PM
Saw Hanley play a few weeks ago (albeit against lower division opposition) and he looked class at both left back and centre back. Mark Sheehan has been consistently good for Regional for the last few years. Never seen O'Donnell play so can't comment.

only saw hanley once this year against balla and he was very poor.. sheehan is very consistent

summervilleman
25/10/2006, 5:39 PM
cyril is a good player as he has proved wit his spell wit carew, prob was there best player the year they went close in the fai!! think his playin centre midfield this season is he??

Yeah he is playing in centre midfield now as thats his best position but he played on the wing for us before...We will have to see how the match fairs out on sunday and see what report comes back....
Agree with ye there..Young sheehan is a pretty good player...Full of energy and would give any defence a tough time...should at least be in the squad....I reckon they will start odonnell on sunday and cyril will be on the bench but should come on at some stage...Don't know this hanley young fellow so i can't comment there..

allab
25/10/2006, 5:42 PM
Yeah he is playing in centre midfield now as thats his best position but he played on the wing for us before...We will have to see how the match fairs out on sunday and see what report comes back....
Agree with ye there..Young sheehan is a pretty good player...Full of energy and would give any defence a tough time...should at least be in the squad....I reckon they will start odonnell on sunday and cyril will be on the bench but should come on at some stage...Don't know this hanley young fellow so i can't comment there..

sheehan is a defender!!!

summervilleman
25/10/2006, 5:43 PM
is he not the dude up front for them?? must have the wrong fellow so¬????

allab
25/10/2006, 5:45 PM
is he not the dude up front for them?? must have the wrong fellow so¬????

no sheehan is either full back or sweeper for regional!

summervilleman
25/10/2006, 5:47 PM
have the wrong guy so...Cheers!!!

abbeyvale
25/10/2006, 6:08 PM
have the wrong guy so...Cheers!!!

I'd say you were thinking of Stewart, first name Frankie, plays up front for Regional, another good player

Old keeper
29/10/2006, 5:32 PM
Limerick District League won their first game by 2 goals to 1

lim abroad
29/10/2006, 7:47 PM
Limerick District League won their first game by 2 goals to 1

who scored?

Old keeper
29/10/2006, 9:03 PM
who scored?

Galvin and Hartnett

30/10/2006, 7:09 AM
Galway DL beat Donegal league 4-1

allab
30/10/2006, 10:26 AM
anyone know limericks starting 11???

pearse4t3
30/10/2006, 11:33 AM
1.stewart 2.droog 3.mcgarry 4.carey 5.o'donnell 6.coombs 7.hartnett 8.tracey 9.cosgrave 10 barry 11. galvin. subs.heffernan,maher and hickey(gk).

jumping jac
30/10/2006, 4:51 PM
Is this all that showed up ?
The players that didn't show up or make contact ? Will they get suspended ? This is a very small panel to take to Cork ?

starbar
30/10/2006, 5:18 PM
good result for limerick.though heard there was more ldmc members on the bus then players ; when next game?and any news on the oscar trainer youths did they play the weekend?

Goals4fun
31/10/2006, 7:55 AM
Is this all that showed up ?
The players that didn't show up or make contact ? Will they get suspended ? This is a very small panel to take to Cork ?

it will be interesting hoiw much meat is behind the earlier statem,ents of 'players will be suspended for not turning up'

still shows the same signs of previous years where players are not overly interested.

pearse4t3
31/10/2006, 8:43 AM
good result for limerick.though heard there was more ldmc members on the bus then players ; when next game?and any news on the oscar trainer youths did they play the weekend?

Its a pity if some players arent taking it seriously,the ldmc and management seemed to have put alot of effort and time in this year, ah well it was still a great result. Dont think the youths are playing until a couple of weeks time, i bet the youths will take playing for the league more seriously then there junior countertparts..............

starbar
31/10/2006, 8:47 PM
Its a pity if some players arent taking it seriously,the ldmc and management seemed to have put alot of effort and time in this year, ah well it was still a great result. Dont think the youths are playing until a couple of weeks time, i bet the youths will take playing for the league more seriously then there junior countertparts..............

ya i hear they have a great team mostly wembley and dines hope they gat there players to turn up, pa mullaly has his hands full with the youths to

swinfordfc
01/11/2006, 12:47 PM
Galway DL beat Donegal league 4-1

Was this the first game and was it play in Terryland Park?

inexile
01/11/2006, 2:53 PM

wouldnt say it was a great result i remember the ot team going down there under dermot finnan and winning 7-0 two or three years ago.

galwayhoop
01/11/2006, 4:00 PM
Was this the first game and was it play in Terryland Park?

yes and yes

zizu's head
01/11/2006, 4:01 PM
Anyone with any news on the TSDL squad? :ball:

clean sheet
04/11/2006, 11:41 AM
looking forward to great game in cooke park next sat when waterford
play south tipp both could win the trophy.

Den Perry
04/11/2006, 12:05 PM
looking forward to great game in cooke park next sat when waterford
play south tipp both could win the trophy.

does anybody know the full south tipp squad?

also, is the competition knockout or round robin?

the only 1
04/11/2006, 4:22 PM
heard the council are trying to get a player suspended for not turning up for limerick last week a certain player from pike who was not even picked for the squad first time, funny enough pa mull wanted no pike lads to turn up last year:D

Old keeper
04/11/2006, 7:20 PM
heard the council are trying to get a player suspended for not turning up for limerick last week a certain player from pike who was not even picked for the squad first time, funny enough pa mull wanted no pike lads to turn up last year:D

Hi

You heard wrong, The council are trying to adhere to the rules, If players are selected for inclusion in the leagues representative side they must make themselves available or stand suspended. The council cannot be selective in the application of rules. However If any player who was selected was unable to attend because of a genuine reason then there is no problem but as in any squad, if players do not make the effort they will have to face the consequences of their actions. Not to mention the rest of the squad that they have let down. There were over 40 players who tried out for this squad the ones chosen should be honoured to represent their league.

By the way the commitment shown by the players and management this year is commendable and is really engendering a good spirit.

clean sheet
04/11/2006, 8:14 PM
its a round robin and top 2 come of groups to
the knock out phase

the only 1
05/11/2006, 12:08 PM
Hi

You heard wrong, The council are trying to adhere to the rules, If players are selected for inclusion in the leagues representative side they must make themselves available or stand suspended. The council cannot be selective in the application of rules. However If any player who was selected was unable to attend because of a genuine reason then there is no problem but as in any squad, if players do not make the effort they will have to face the consequences of their actions. Not to mention the rest of the squad that they have let down. There were over 40 players who tried out for this squad the ones chosen should be honoured to represent their league.

By the way the commitment shown by the players and management this year is commendable and is really engendering a good spirit.

did dermot phelan not have to go to the ldmc meeting tuesday night?

Old keeper
05/11/2006, 7:56 PM
did dermot phelan not have to go to the ldmc meeting tuesday night?

No But 3 players are invited to the next meeting.

Goals4fun
06/11/2006, 7:30 AM
No But 3 players are invited to the next meeting.

expand on 'invited' ???? what happens if they do not show?

Old keeper
06/11/2006, 1:35 PM
expand on 'invited' ???? what happens if they do not show?

Well If I knew that there wouldnt be much point in having meetings. If they do not show the committee has a number of options available. But I am sure that the players will attend and will have reasons why they were not available, it was not their intention im sure to let the squad that they trained with down on the day.

superhero
06/11/2006, 4:31 PM
Time is needed to make up a story as to why they were not there, and who are the ldmc to question them? there not like the police with the man power or resources to investigate to see if the excuses provided are actually true, so it will be a waste of time with no suspensions handed out and the OT will continue to be viewed as a second rate competition which is not right

Den Perry
06/11/2006, 9:10 PM
its a round robin and top 2 come of groups to
the knock out phase

thanks pal!!!

Old keeper
06/11/2006, 10:08 PM
Time is needed to make up a story as to why they were not there, and who are the ldmc to question them? there not like the police with the man power or resources to investigate to see if the excuses provided are actually true, so it will be a waste of time with no suspensions handed out and the OT will continue to be viewed as a second rate competition which is not right

I dont follow your line here Superhero!

We met as a committee last tuesday and discussed that some players were not in attendance at the OT game. We then invited / requested them to attend the next meeting (tomorrow night) after which a decision will be taken as to further action.

What would you suggest we do!! Lets try to be a little constructive here. I dont think that anyone could say that the profile of the OT has not been elevated this season.

zizu's head
07/11/2006, 6:31 AM
St. Michael’s: James Walsh, Paul Breen, Richie Ryan, Raymie O’Brien, Paul Tobin, Ray McMahon, Davy Ryan;

Clonmel Town: Richard Ryan, Raymie Condon, Dwayne Burns, Anthony Davis, Aaron Moroney, Paul Scully, Tony Scully;

Peake Villa: Derek Breen, Aaron Ryan, Ger O’Grady, Ted O’Connor, Jody O’Grady;

Clonmel Celtic: Paul Kennedy and Andrew Cosgrave,

Cahir Park: Richard Tobin, Keith Maguire;

Old Bridge: Paddy O’Donnell, Barry O’Neill

superhero
07/11/2006, 8:28 AM
I dont follow your line here Superhero!

We met as a committee last tuesday and discussed that some players were not in attendance at the OT game. We then invited / requested them to attend the next meeting (tomorrow night) after which a decision will be taken as to further action.

What would you suggest we do!! Lets try to be a little constructive here. I dont think that anyone could say that the profile of the OT has not been elevated this season.

Of course it has been elevated from previous years but the same problem still remains, players wanting turning up and playing
I spoke with a member of the team that won in Cork and he told me that there 2 outfield subs on the bench for that game and that the manager recieved two texts from players saying they couldn't turn up one the night before and one the morning of the game, not good enough from one of the strongest junior leagues in the country..... not the managements fault and not the fault of the ldmc but how do you go about ensuring players turn up?? you can't they have to want to turn up and at present very few want to turn up, they prefer having a weekend free and the ldmc will not be able to question any excuse given by a player as to why they were not there.

Suspending players is an option, but if a player has a story/excuse whether it's true or not the ldmc will have no choice but to give the player the benefit of the doubt.
as for a solution, maybe personalised gear for each player selected, from training kit, tracksuit to a gear bag it would give a certain amount of prestige in being selected.
maybe other posters here have other ideas on how you would get players wanting to play for the OT team

abbeyvale
07/11/2006, 6:25 PM
Of course it has been elevated from previous years but the same problem still remains, players wanting turning up and playing
I spoke with a member of the team that won in Cork and he told me that there 2 outfield subs on the bench for that game and that the manager recieved two texts from players saying they couldn't turn up one the night before and one the morning of the game, not good enough from one of the strongest junior leagues in the country..... not the managements fault and not the fault of the ldmc but how do you go about ensuring players turn up?? you can't they have to want to turn up and at present very few want to turn up, they prefer having a weekend free and the ldmc will not be able to question any excuse given by a player as to why they were not there.

Suspending players is an option, but if a player has a story/excuse whether it's true or not the ldmc will have no choice but to give the player the benefit of the doubt.
as for a solution, maybe personalised gear for each player selected, from training kit, tracksuit to a gear bag it would give a certain amount of prestige in being selected.
maybe other posters here have other ideas on how you would get players wanting to play for the OT team

Why not select players who just want to represent their league/s, full stop.

Goals4fun
07/11/2006, 9:05 PM
Why not select players who just want to represent their league/s, full stop.

get players to put their own names forward !
it is a catch 22, if you have players in your league good enough and they don't want to play then you will probably win nothing. If you select players who don't want to play then the effort is not there and you will win nothing.

As old keeper said the profile has been lifted but nothing has been done to get players excited about playing for youe league ! Until they solve that, i am not sure what they could do.

Maybe offer a prize like a holiday to the team/management if they win the OT??? somthing has to be done !

lim abroad
08/11/2006, 12:32 AM
Maybe offer a prize like a holiday to the team/management if they win the OT??? somthing has to be done !

thats a good idea,the winners of the aul get a holiday but the ot team would need some serious sponsorship for that and i can't see that happening

Goals4fun
08/11/2006, 9:44 AM
when is the next round of this ?
next week is league, and then after that the LDMC website have dates for MJC and FAI ?