View Full Version : Oscar Traynor News

Pages : 1 [2] 3 4

Mercurial Vapor
22/09/2006, 8:16 AM
no there prob are a few good enough but there are far better players playin premier that would of been a better choice for selection. anyone agree/disagree??

Yea agree with you, he would be better off picking all Premier players in the second squad because they are better players playing at a higher level every week.

summervilleman
22/09/2006, 3:05 PM
I disagree with u there..There would definatley be at least 2-3 very good players out of the premier that would be good enough for the Oscar traynor.. Players have to start somewhere and if u are a very good player and u are playing with a club all your life and u stick with your club(that may not be premier or may have never been premier)and are a true clubman,how u supposed to even get a chance on a team like?? I think what pa mul is doing is good...Now i have no example of a player in the comment i made above but i am sure there is at least one or 2 players hidden in the lower divisions that would be great additions to the oscar traynor team?? What do people think???

cartman
24/09/2006, 12:31 PM
I disagree with u there..There would definatley be at least 2-3 very good players out of the premier that would be good enough for the Oscar traynor.. Players have to start somewhere and if u are a very good player and u are playing with a club all your life and u stick with your club(that may not be premier or may have never been premier)and are a true clubman,how u supposed to even get a chance on a team like?? I think what pa mul is doing is good...Now i have no example of a player in the comment i made above but i am sure there is at least one or 2 players hidden in the lower divisions that would be great additions to the oscar traynor team?? What do people think???

i whole heartedley agree with you mona, if you hadnt stuck with summerville who knows where you would have been playin today!!!!!!

Old keeper
24/09/2006, 10:37 PM
I think there would be more interest in the o/t if the LDMC made them feel a little more important, why cant they give them track suits gearbags etc,if they get injured,player should report it on the day and get it payed for, i think then club and players will have more respect, and will want there players to play in the o/t,
Do u think they would do that Oldkeeper

I agree totally and anyone listening to our slots on Limerick 95FM will have heard us say that we want to raise the profile so I would expect that we will be doing something this year along the lines of kit.

W.R.F.C
25/09/2006, 3:16 PM
is he pickin 1A players so his first team wil score a few goals against them and think it'll stop the criticism of his selections???

i think u nailed that one on the head, it looks like he wants the 1a team to get a bit of a hiding, but wouldnt it look very bad for mul if we beat them. Heard alot of the 1a players who were asked to attend this match have pulled out

Mercurial Vapor
25/09/2006, 3:28 PM
i think u nailed that one on the head, it looks like he wants the 1a team to get a bit of a hiding, but wouldnt it look very bad for mul if we beat them. Heard alot of the 1a players who were asked to attend this match have pulled out

Anyone know where and when this game is on. Might be worth seeing.

MitreSize5
25/09/2006, 4:43 PM

..... and if ye beat them wouldnt it make him look like a genius for saying players in 1a were good enough and sur didn't he tell ye all along ..... either way hes a winner .....

i think people are reading too much into this. Some of the player on the 1a team would get on most premier teams in town. i dont think theres a huge conspiracy theroy at work here.

halo16
25/09/2006, 6:19 PM
i agree with the fact that alot of 1a players are as good as premier players.look at the boro and aisling? have half the boro team not played 1a for corbally over the last few years,there now riding high in premier.as for ul the backbone of there team played in 1a for years as did granville.both teams are more than holding there own. i think its a good squad bar o,donnell,o,connell and the 2 other aisling boys.coombes is a fine player,i think theres better there than the other 2 ul boys, o donoghue(regional),mc namara (balla). nobody is ever going to agree totally with pa mullallys squad. so much for the talk earlier in the month about lads getting suspended if they refuse to turn up.thats what alot of the posts are suggesting.what do you think old keeper since you made that point last month?

Old keeper
25/09/2006, 8:10 PM
i agree with the fact that alot of 1a players are as good as premier players.look at the boro and aisling? have half the boro team not played 1a for corbally over the last few years,there now riding high in premier.as for ul the backbone of there team played in 1a for years as did granville.both teams are more than holding there own. i think its a good squad bar o,donnell,o,connell and the 2 other aisling boys.coombes is a fine player,i think theres better there than the other 2 ul boys, o donoghue(regional),mc namara (balla). nobody is ever going to agree totally with pa mullallys squad. so much for the talk earlier in the month about lads getting suspended if they refuse to turn up.thats what alot of the posts are suggesting.what do you think old keeper since you made that popint last month?

Hi

There is no grand strategy to hide behind here the Manager is moving in a direction that will engender more life into the OT. The OT squad is in place and any players not making themselves available will be suspended as per rule,

The game is due to be played on the 4th of Oct in Jackman Park

More Anon

W.R.F.C
26/09/2006, 7:16 AM
Hi

There is no grand strategy to hide behind here the Manager is moving in a direction that will engender more life into the OT. The OT squad is in place and any players not making themselves available will be suspended as per rule,

The game is due to be played on the 4th of Oct in Jackman Park

More Anon

i take it, it will b played under lights. That mite convince a few of the 1a team to play, since playing under lights is a good experience

SummervilleRule
27/09/2006, 10:45 AM
Quick questions for those of you who don't think that James O'Donnell is good enough to play for the OT team? Could you please explain why and who you would pick? He played 3/4 seasons Premier football and knows what it is all about, and IMHO I think he would get on most, if not all Junior teams in town, if not around the country! Heard that there has been premier clubs chasing his signature every start of the season for the last few years but he has choosen to stay with Summerville because of his love for the team.

scoobysham
27/09/2006, 10:57 AM
Quick questions for those of you who don't think that James O'Donnell is good enough to play for the OT team? Could you please explain why and who you would pick? He played 3/4 seasons Premier football and knows what it is all about, and IMHO I think he would get on most, if not all Junior teams in town, if not around the country! Heard that there has been premier clubs chasing his signature every start of the season for the last few years but he has choosen to stay with Summerville because of his love for the team.

ralph judge got 4 goals off him a few weeks ago......... granted everyone can have a bad game but losing 4 goals against his man is pretty poor....... i would have james and gary ryan from balla off the top of my head even lyons from star would be better than o donnell.... im sure there is more from premier too

sanity
27/09/2006, 3:08 PM
ralph judge got 4 goals off him a few weeks ago......... granted everyone can have a bad game but losing 4 goals against his man is pretty poor....... i would have james and gary ryan from balla off the top of my head even lyons from star would be better than o donnell.... im sure there is more from premier too

should some of the other defenders not get some of the blame attributed to them or even the midfielders.i believe that was kind of a freak game from what i heard

halo16
27/09/2006, 6:23 PM
mark sheehan,james ryan,danny hanley,trevor higgins.thats 4 prem players who are left fulls and who should defo get a chance if james o donnell is getting one.after all how many fai medals has trevor higgins won?has he not proved himself at the top level of junior football?surely that must count for something?anybody agree?

lim abroad
27/09/2006, 8:25 PM
there was even talk of higgins getting capped for the irish junior team a few seasons back

pearse4t3
28/09/2006, 9:00 AM
If a guy is playing well every week in the Premier,he should expect to be ahead of a guy playing at a lower grade.

booster 03
28/09/2006, 5:17 PM
sur hes gone back to scotland for college!!!!!!!! o donnel is a great full back!!

Elton John
29/09/2006, 9:39 AM
I don't see why playing a selection of players from 1A will raise the profile of the Oscar Traynor Cup. Everyone knows that there are players in 1A that are good enough to play premier and many have stayed with their clubs out of loyalty. What is the point in these players playing when they will not be picked? If the now manager says its a trial match and they have every chance of being picked then why is there not a match with 11 other premier players? If the now manager says that the game is to give 1A players a chance of playing against premier players in jackman I am sure many 1A players out there would laugh at that, they play premier opposition in many cups each season?

Raise the profile???????

Mercurial Vapor
29/09/2006, 12:00 PM
I don't see why playing a selection of players from 1A will raise the profile of the Oscar Traynor Cup. Everyone knows that there are players in 1A that are good enough to play premier and many have stayed with their clubs out of loyalty. What is the point in these players playing when they will not be picked? If the now manager says its a trial match and they have every chance of being picked then why is there not a match with 11 other premier players? If the now manager says that the game is to give 1A players a chance of playing against premier players in jackman I am sure many 1A players out there would laugh at that, they play premier opposition in many cups each season?

Raise the profile???????

I agree totally with you. It'll be interesting to see the players he'll pick when the squad is down a few players. I bet they won't be the same guys that play for the Division 1A side in the "trial" game. He'll go for premier players as replacements. He should have had the trial game against players mostly made up from players in the premier league.

foot2
29/09/2006, 12:27 PM
[QUOTE=Mercurial Vapor;543248]I agree totally with you. It'll be interesting to see the players he'll pick when the squad is down a few players. I bet they won't be the same guys that play for the Division 1A side in the "trial" game. He'll go for premier players as replacements. He should have had the trial game against players mostly made up from players in the premier league.[/QUO

Whats the betting that Ed hickey will start instead of stewart... Stewart cant be relied on for these games...Why didnt the young lad from pike get a chance...He's playing well at the moment,head the ball "BENNIS" might get a call when he's signed out of st. josephs mental hospital.. Is he training does anyone know or when is he due back.

Old keeper
29/09/2006, 9:26 PM
Hi lads

In raising the profile we need to make the league feel ownership of the representitive side, the trials are a novel way to start this ball rolling and while all may not agree this is a first step in a process. Lets give the manager a chance to prove himself and his team. We will also have a game against the limerick EL side on the 18th and this should get a bit of a buzz going. While I can understand your frustrations in this we can also look at the Irish side and choices over the last number of years when we all felt that there were one or 2 EL players who were good enough to be given a chance in friendlies but were never picked but the moment they moved over the water they were given the chance!

allab
04/10/2006, 11:19 AM
any predictions for the game tonight??

abbeyvale
04/10/2006, 12:46 PM
any predictions for the game tonight??

Is that the OT v Div 1A team? what time is kick off?

pearse4t3
04/10/2006, 12:55 PM
I think the result is meaningless,performance would be more important id imagine

allab
04/10/2006, 1:00 PM

ya that 1.. kick off 7.15 jackman

barryk
04/10/2006, 1:05 PM

7.15 kick off Jackman Park

abbeyvale
04/10/2006, 2:06 PM
7.15 kick off Jackman Park

Was Robert Earls on that panel??

allab
04/10/2006, 2:11 PM
Was Robert Earls on that panel??

no jus dunphy and our keeper

abbeyvale
04/10/2006, 2:14 PM
no jus dunphy and our keeper

Just as well

Old keeper
04/10/2006, 10:10 PM
Well the two teams put on a great game finished 2-2

allab
05/10/2006, 9:10 AM
any good/bad performances last night??draw a fair result??

Hoops 1967
05/10/2006, 1:30 PM
The "outside the prem" team should have won it, near the end of the game Maher missed a good chance and the right winger hit the post. The premier team's penalty was dodgy, they were 2:1 down at that stage. Good game, they should something like it again.

allab
05/10/2006, 1:41 PM
anybody know the first 11's from last nite??

Old keeper
09/10/2006, 8:48 PM
New squad posted on the website for the training session on Wed

see's it
11/10/2006, 10:21 AM
any1 want to have ago at naming the first 11?

allab
11/10/2006, 3:09 PM
any1 want to have ago at naming the first 11?

g stewart
d droog
m carey
p mcgarry
d dunphy(if fit)
p judge
j purcell
k hartnett
r cosgrave
a barry
f stewart

see's it
12/10/2006, 11:08 AM
thats a strong team they could beat limerick wed night.if they all stay fit they have a good chance of winning the OT

sanity
16/10/2006, 11:28 AM
g stewart
d droog
m carey
p mcgarry
d dunphy(if fit)
p judge
j purcell
k hartnett
r cosgrave
a barry
f stewart

id have robbie coombes in place of P Judge.hard to argue with the rest

halo16
17/10/2006, 6:05 PM
id have robbie coombes in place of P Judge.hard to argue with the rest

ya id agree with coombes for judge.hed shade it for me also.i see pa mull is giving frankie stewart a good run out.not saying frankie isnt good enough,hes a fine player but it begs the question,why did pa mull have him warming the bench for years up in pike?now suddenly hes main man.anybody have anything to add on that?

barryk
17/10/2006, 8:33 PM
ya id agree with coombes for judge.hed shade it for me also.i see pa mull is giving frankie stewart a good run out.not saying frankie isnt good enough,hes a fine player but it begs the question,why did pa mull have him warming the bench for years up in pike?now suddenly hes main man.anybody have anything to add on that?

he has improved

CmonTheRovers
18/10/2006, 11:13 AM
[QUOTE=Goals4fun;537520]limerick are in the following group

East Cork & West Waterford League
Clare League
Munster Senior League
Limerick District League

1st round games will take place 28th-29th October

[QUOTE]

Anyone out there know the weekend/dates of Round 2 & 3 fixtures? Cheers

W.R.F.C
19/10/2006, 12:20 PM
How did match go last nite oscar traynor Vs limerick fc, did shane tracy get a run out

allab
19/10/2006, 12:24 PM
How did match go last nite oscar traynor Vs limerick fc, did shane tracy get a run out

ya he started, done well. came off injured in 2nd half, finished 3-2 to limerick, OT had the lead twice wit goals from hartnett and cosgrave 2 very good goals!

W.R.F.C
19/10/2006, 12:37 PM
ya he started, done well. came off injured in 2nd half, finished 3-2 to limerick, OT had the lead twice wit goals from hartnett and cosgrave 2 very good goals!

cheers allab

allab
23/10/2006, 7:43 PM
its hard to believe that summerville have more players in the OT than regional,boro,balla! anybody have any comments??

barryk
23/10/2006, 8:21 PM
its hard to believe that summerville have more players in the OT than regional,boro,balla! anybody have any comments??

Obviously the selectors fancy the Summerville players for their respective positions. Pa Mul told the players from outside the Premier that he would give them a chance and he has stuck to his word. I think it is to be applauded.
As we have said before the manager whoever he is picks his team and he takes responsibility. (By the way Regional had three players in panel one got injured two opted out). Good luck to them on Sunday.

summervilleman
24/10/2006, 12:56 PM

Well for one its nice to see the manager looking outside the premier for players and giving them a chance...In all fairiness the 2 guys from our team would get on any premier team if u ask me....Cyril obviously played with carew and played well and jamsie has been with us all his life and is a fine player and his loyalty and his attitude to football has been rewarded with a place on the team and from what i have heard he hasn't played to bad on the ot team??

scoobysham
24/10/2006, 1:03 PM
Well for one its nice to see the manager looking outside the premier for players and giving them a chance...In all fairiness the 2 guys from our team would get on any premier team if u ask me....Cyril obviously played with carew and played well and jamsie has been with us all his life and is a fine player and his loyalty and his attitude to football has been rewarded with a place on the team and from what i have heard he hasn't played to bad on the ot team??

to be brutally honest with u james o donnell had a very poor match against limerick f.c he made 2 errors that led to the penalty which brought limerick back into the game..... let a ball go under his feet and the winger cut into the box and made a very rash and unnecessary challenge on limericks winger to give away the penalty........stone wall penalty.......... before this limerick did not look they were gonna get back into the game........

allab
24/10/2006, 2:19 PM
[QUOTE=summervilleman;561933]In all fairiness the 2 guys from our team would get on any premier team if u ask me....

ya besides the boro/pike/view/balla/regional and prob not granville/star/corbally/carew!!! maybe charleville!

summervilleman
24/10/2006, 4:20 PM
would anyone else agree with ALLAB's comments? Lets just put it out there...Would Either of the summerville lads get on any other premier team except Charleville????
Lets hear yere views people.

In responce to your cmments Scoobysham,yes he had a bit of a bad day there but i think everyone has one or 2 bad games every now and again and it is only his second game for the ot team....Would u have him on the 1st team for the game on sunday?? Do u think the gaffer will start him!! I think he will start???