View Full Version : Fenlon has resigned?

Pages : 1 [2] 3

10/09/2006, 5:33 PM
The more i think of it Roddy Collins would be a good fit for Shels for the rest of the season.

BohsFans
10/09/2006, 5:41 PM
Not to mention the little Bohs kids who turned up to a Shelbourne and Longford Town game on Friday night to chant during a minute´s silence for a Shelbourne fan.

Kids that chanted Bohs while we weren't even playing? :rolleyes: I think it's more like your own fans seeing the light.

Nutsy must have felt right at home.

chippie0001
10/09/2006, 6:02 PM
I don't think they knew there was a minutes silence. It still came across disgusting though, "De Boez" heard echoing around the ground during a minutes silence, scum.

And yes, I believe I can call them scum. Who else other than scum would be outside oppositions ground chanting on the night their team were not participating? Respectable individuals?

Here's a radical thought for you, not new though as most clubs do it. Hire security to sort the issue out. Its not rocket science now is it, although that does involve money.

10/09/2006, 6:43 PM
Kids did show up outside the ground and they did chant for Bohs and our security could do very little about it as it happened OUTSIDE the ground!

Gareth
10/09/2006, 6:56 PM
Dodge, referring to your comment that the splash screen was amateurish and suggesting that fans don't even want him to stay, that is pretty much totally the opposite. The fans on the Shels Forum have voted so far quite in favour of him remaining, as have the emails I have recieved. Regarding putting up the splash, amateur or not, it expressed the sentiments of the fans, and albeit an official site, I took a decision to put it up. Now we are back promoting the St Pats game. Which no doubt you'll be happier about. Eitherway, thanks for your comments regarding the site.

10/09/2006, 6:57 PM
So what, they were proabably just local kids having a laugh. You are on our turf after all.

10/09/2006, 6:59 PM
Says it all really :rolleyes:

LeixlipRed
10/09/2006, 7:18 PM
So what, they were proabably just local kids having a laugh. You are on our turf after all.

Will the airport be your turf too?? :rolleyes:

Very amateurish from an official site. Even more so when we know there are Shels fans here who want him to go

Pfft

10/09/2006, 7:23 PM
Here's a radical thought for you, not new though as most clubs do it. Hire security to sort the issue out. Its not rocket science now is it, although that does involve money.
Outside the ground. Outside, as in not inside.

bohs til i die
10/09/2006, 7:32 PM
Will the airport be your turf too?? :rolleyes:

Pfft

you mean you didnt know that the 2nd terminal will be because Bohs will require a terminal all of our own when we are in the Champions Legaue in a few years. The DAA obviously knew the new deal was in the pipeline and prepared accordingly.

chippie0001
10/09/2006, 7:33 PM

Please tell me prior to my post where either you or SFC red said outside the ground?

bohs til i die
10/09/2006, 7:35 PM

so a few lads outside the ground make noise before a Shels game, wow big f**king deal.

Are you going to criticise Aer Lingus and Ryanair for allowing flights to take off and cause noise when we have a minute's silence in our new ground dedicted to the memory of Shelbourne FC?

aido1895
10/09/2006, 7:38 PM
Please tell me prior to my post where either you or SFC red said outside the ground?
Allow me to quote EnDai (post 47)

...Who else other than scum would be outside oppositions ground chanting on the night their team were not participating? Respectable individuals?

chippie0001
10/09/2006, 8:00 PM
Apolagies so. :(

10/09/2006, 9:57 PM
Dodge, referring to your comment that the splash screen was amateurish and suggesting that fans don't even want him to stay, that is pretty much totally the opposite. The fans on the Shels Forum have voted so far quite in favour of him remaining, as have the emails I have recieved. Regarding putting up the splash, amateur or not, it expressed the sentiments of the fans, and albeit an official site, I took a decision to put it up. Now we are back promoting the St Pats game. Which no doubt you'll be happier about. Eitherway, thanks for your comments regarding the site.
Without commenting one way or the other on the splash, if Shels fans were to vote for a splash which said "F*ck off Gypos" or "6-0!", would you have done it?

Just because fans want something isn't of itself a basis for doing something.

Sam Savic
10/09/2006, 10:19 PM
Kids did show up outside the ground and they did chant for Bohs and our security could do very little about it as it happened OUTSIDE the ground!

It would be difficult for kids to know there was a minute silence if they were outside the ground. It would also be normal practise to place security or stewards outside the turnstiles and therefore, if there was something happening that shouldn't have been happening, they could sort it out.

Gareth
10/09/2006, 10:44 PM
Without commenting one way or the other on the splash, if Shels fans were to vote for a splash which said "F*ck off Gypos" or "6-0!", would you have done it?

Just because fans want something isn't of itself a basis for doing something.

There is a very clear and obvious difference between telling someone to F*** off and to put up a splash with a message of support to a manager. Cop on would dictate that your scenerio is a non-runner. So the answer is No to your question. But you knew that already.

BohsFans
10/09/2006, 11:53 PM
There is a very clear and obvious difference between telling someone to F*** off and to put up a splash with a message of support to a manager. Cop on would dictate that your scenerio is a non-runner. So the answer is No to your question. But you knew that already.

very touchy on the whole Pat Fenlon subject Gareth.

About time some poaching went on in the opposite direction!

Not really poaching though when your manager sends us his CV though is it?

11/09/2006, 12:38 AM
Would you all stop being such Moaning Michaels. Fuxache, is there anything you wouldn't whinge about?

11/09/2006, 6:50 AM
It would be difficult for kids to know there was a minute silence if they were outside the ground. I never said they knew,i just said they showed up and chanted for Bohs,which happened to be during a minutes silence!

It would also be normal practise to place security or stewards outside the turnstiles and therefore, if there was something happening that shouldn't have been happening, they could sort it out.

Other than tell them to shut up,what do you suggest they do. If they lay a finger on them,they would be charged with assault.

11/09/2006, 6:52 AM

if he takes the job or not,the above is just a complete lie!

Gareth
11/09/2006, 7:00 AM
very touchy on the whole Pat Fenlon subject Gareth.

About time some poaching went on in the opposite direction!

BohsFan, I'm not touchy, in fact if I was to have a conversation with you, you'd find I'm quite calm on the subject, but I do hope he stays. If that makes me touchy then fair enough but I would have had a different understanding of the word. Eitherway, I am eager to see we don't lose our manager.

macdermesser
11/09/2006, 8:59 AM
My personal opinion is that we should be more ambitious in the long-term, but that he's the best available in Ireland just now.

What .. better than Stephen Kenny? ;)

bohs til i die
11/09/2006, 9:10 AM
What .. better than Stephen Kenny? ;)

well yes, Fenlon has TWO league titles to Kenny's ONE

Fenlon has also achieved marginally better results in Europe compared to Kenny so far

11/09/2006, 9:31 AM
It would be difficult for kids to know there was a minute silence if they were outside the ground. It would also be normal practise to place security or stewards outside the turnstiles and therefore, if there was something happening that shouldn't have been happening, they could sort it out.

Great post. Now Hel fans stop whinging

11/09/2006, 9:36 AM
Meanwhile back at the ranch..........

Has anyone any insight as to what the major change in position was between RTE announcing that it was 99% certain Fenlon was taking the Bohs job at about 7.40pm on Friday night and stating that he would address the team and fans after the game and the fact nothing happened?

Was it just poor journalism or did something happen in the couple of hours?

Will Shels be taking action against RTE?

11/09/2006, 9:42 AM
Just heard a rumour of Fenlon to Bohs,
Keely to Shels and Gill to follow him as assistant.

11/09/2006, 10:16 AM
Keeley to Hel? Fantastic. We've a song we haven't been able to use for some time!

11/09/2006, 10:30 AM
Those Gypo kids were kicked out at half time by the guards. Somehow a few of them managed to get back in :rolleyes: and sat in Section E. When they started to chant Gypo chants some aul' fella took the matter into his own hands and dragged one of them out by the scruff of the neck with some force :eek: .

finnpark
11/09/2006, 11:08 AM
Why do people give any respect to Fenlon and Kiely?

I remember Kiely at Harps and he was just a big moaner who couldn't manage his way out of a paper bag.

Fenlon has had the best first 11 and best squad in the league now for years and is still struggling to shake off Drogs and 2 other part time clucbs. Whats the big deal. Its behond me.

The 2 best managers in league are Stephen Kenny and Sean Connor followed closely by Damien Richardson. It doesn't surprise me that Bohs are after a useless manager such as Fenlon since they sacked the best manager the league has ever seen in Stephen Kenny. Shows you what a clue they have. Time to wise up. Shels should have sacked Fenlon ages ago, Bohs should go for Connor of Sligo or someone abroad who has the contacts to bring in the right players and Kiely should be given the managers job at some women's team like they did with that useless arse Noel Talks*it King :mad:

11/09/2006, 11:18 AM
Rico? Come on. He's been in some big jobs and has only won one title - with Dolan's team, and this year is going nowhere.

bohs til i die
11/09/2006, 12:21 PM
The 2 best managers in league are Stephen Kenny and Sean Connor followed closely by Damien Richardson. It doesn't surprise me that Bohs are after a useless manager such as Fenlon since they sacked the best manager the league has ever seen in Stephen Kenny.

In Fenlon's first 3 seasons as manager he went head to head with Stephen Kenny at Bohs. Bohs were spending as much as if not more then Shels and Fenlon won TWO LEAGUE TITLES to Stephen Kenny's ONE.

To dismiss Fenlon's managerial ability is foolish.

11/09/2006, 12:26 PM
What about the "6-0" one then? That was deliberately put in as a less extreme example.

My point is that you've put the splash up on the basis that the fans wanted it, which I think is not, of itself, a good enough reason to put stuff up on a website.

Student Mullet
11/09/2006, 12:32 PM
What about the "6-0" one then? That was deliberately put in as a less extreme example.

My point is that you've put the splash up on the basis that the fans wanted it, which I think is not, of itself, a good enough reason to put stuff up on a website.But the fans wanting it wasn't the only reason the flash was put up. It was showing support for the manage which is perfectly correct for an official website to do, as would be congratulating the team on a 6-0 win.

There's no controversy here.

Gareth
11/09/2006, 4:21 PM
Its a bit of a odd point Pineapple Stu, as with all things that happen on the site, I put them up for the fans. I didn't think a splash in support of the manager was anything shocking. Putting up a 6-0 win, in context, would be fine, sure we put it up on our news page after a game? But I wouldn't put up a "6-0 In your face Other team". As student Mullet said, there is nothing here bar the fact you think it was an amateur splash. A show of support for a manager. It wasn't an attack on anyone :)

12/09/2006, 1:02 PM
As student Mullet said, there is nothing here bar the fact you think it was an amateur splash.
Actually, I explicitly stated that I wasn't offering an opinion one way or another on it. I just hate the idea of doing things purely because it's what the general populus want, which was the only reason you gave for doing it.

If you considered it and thought it appropriate, then fair enough. I'm just one of those people who hate things being justified on the basis that they're popular. :)

Student Mullet
12/09/2006, 1:08 PM
Actually, I explicitly stated that I wasn't offering an opinion one way or another on it. I just hate the idea of doing things purely because it's what the general populus want, which was the only reason you gave for doing it.

If you considered it and thought it appropriate, then fair enough. I'm just one of those people who hate things being justified on the basis that they're popular. :)Facist!

Vitruvian Man
12/09/2006, 1:08 PM
I just hate the idea of doing things purely because it's what the general populus want,

It's called Democracy.
You don't like it - move to Iraq.

:p

sonofstan
12/09/2006, 1:15 PM
Facist!

You guys give the D4IT a bad name - it's 'fascist', not "facist'

12/09/2006, 1:25 PM
You guys give the D4IT a bad name - it's 'fascist', not "facist'

Prejudiced against faces, a completely different thing.

12/09/2006, 1:55 PM
Facist!
You make it sound like it's a bad thing. :)

Prejudiced against faces, a completely different thing.
Prejudiced against that poster known as "A face", I would have thought?

12/09/2006, 3:19 PM
I think all the little kids surrounding Fenlon after the final whistle was the funniest thing I've ever seen!!!:D :D

Maynard
12/09/2006, 3:49 PM
Can't see Fenlon going anywhere before the end of the season. Two cups there for the taking, if he was to wait it'd stop alot of the accrimony before it even starts. Bohs seem to be playing the "as long as it takes to get the right man for the job" line now anyway.

Seperately I'd be SHOCKED if Keely takes over for next year. As for Giller as number two, depending on where Dundaaaallkk finish he might be the big cheese at a Prem club anyway next year.

Possibly a chance for Eamon Collins to step up to the plate next season - assuming Keely, R Collins (:rolleyes: ) and Dolan are the only other available options it wouldn't be so bad?

12/09/2006, 3:53 PM
With the way Gill was going on about the proposed new division selection
being unfair I reckon he'll jump ship at the 1st sniff of a job with Shels.

12/09/2006, 3:56 PM
Actually, just seen on www.eleven-a-side.com (http://www.eleven-a-side.com)

Bohs play waiting games as Shels demand compo
September 12, 2006

Bohemians are patiently waiting to appoint Pat Fenlon as their new
manager, with Shelbourne believed to be seeking compensation.

The saga still looks no closer to absolute resolution, though it does
appear only a matter of time before the 37-year-old hooks up with
his former club. It is understood that the two clubs are currently in
talks aimed at putting an end to the issue. ........

Drumcondra Red
12/09/2006, 4:18 PM

Thats a great attitude to have, this took place during a minutes silance in honour of a young Shelbourne fan who recently passed away. Its nice to see the future of your club is in good hands!

Oh and maybe the group of Bohs youth who show up every week to cause trouble outside Tolka when Bohs aren't playing are local kids too??? Yeah, thats it!

12/09/2006, 4:26 PM
Thats a great attitude to have, this took place during a minutes silance in honour of a young Shelbourne fan who recently passed away.

On a public street outside the ground! How were they to know what was going on inside? :rolleyes:

BohsFans
12/09/2006, 4:26 PM
I wonder will Shels be fined for that pitch incursion? :rolleyes:

12/09/2006, 4:28 PM
On a public street outside the ground! How were they to know what was going on inside? :rolleyes:
They didn't of course, it was just unfortunate timing.

However, what in the name of Christ were they doing outside Tolka chanting about Bohs on a night when Bohs weren't playing, when Bohs next game was 24 hours later in a different province?! If that isn't looking for trouble, what is?

Jaime
12/09/2006, 4:34 PM
They didn't of course, it was just unfortunate timing.

However, what in the name of Christ were they doing outside Tolka chanting about Bohs on a night when Bohs weren't playing, when Bohs next game was 24 hours later in a different province?! If that isn't looking for trouble, what is?

They're just poor inner-city working class kids with no hope, no facilities and nothing to do on a Friday night, fighting back against the government of this poxy country who have all but killed any sense of community that we ever had. Man it makes me angry. :mad: