View Full Version : To dispel a theory
chippie0001
30/08/2006, 7:14 PM
Sorry for starting another thread but with all the crap about Bohs and managers I would be interested in some stats. I reckon and I will get the dates that Bohs have had about 6 permanent managers in the previous 12/13 seasons, including one who lasted 4 games. That does not sound the best I guess. :(
However any chance a fan of each club could put up what they have had in the same period. From my guess some clubs have had more, Pats, Rovers, Derry?? and some less namely Shels.
So how much worse for hiring and firing are we to the rest? Would appreciate the help to settle a bet and win some money. :cool:
30/08/2006, 7:27 PM
I think UCD have had 4 or 5 in that period. Pete Mahon, Paul Doolin, Martin Moran, Theo Dunne and Dr. Tony O'Neill. Not sure whether Dunne just assisted O'Neill or was manager at some point too. They all left/stood down of their own volition.
bohs til i die
30/08/2006, 7:53 PM
Cork have had Noel O'Mahoney, Rico [twice], Dolan, Mountfield, Barry, Murphy, Rob Hindmarsh and Colin Murphy in that time
9 managers against 7 for Bohs.
red bellied
30/08/2006, 7:53 PM
Since 1993 Sligo Rovers have had Willie Mc Stay, Lawrie Sanchez, Steve Cotterill, Jimmy Mullen, Nicky Reid, Jim Mc Nally, Tommy Cassidy, Don O Riordan and now Sean Connor as their managers. In that time they have had a least three caretaker managers Chris Rutherford, David Pugh and Mickey Feeney.
chippie0001
30/08/2006, 7:58 PM
Turlough O'Connor - December 1993 - May 1998
Joe McGrath - June 1998-September 1998
Roddy - October 1998-June 2001
Mahon - June 2001-December 2001
Kenny - December 2001-July 2004
Farrelly - August 2004-August 2006
So in 13 years we have had 6 managers.
monutdfc
30/08/2006, 8:21 PM
Since 1993 Sligo Rovers have had Willie Mc Stay, Lawrie Sanchez, Steve Cotterill, Jimmy Mullen, Nicky Reid, Jim Mc Nally, Tommy Cassidy, Don O Riordan and now Sean Connor as their managers. In that time they have had a least three caretaker managers Chris Rutherford, David Pugh and Mickey Feeney.
Is that Tommy Cassidy the Dundalk Under-21 manager?
{edit: got confused with Tommy CONNOLLY}
red bellied
30/08/2006, 8:30 PM
Could be but I doubt it, played for Northern Ireland in the 82 World Cup and Newcastle Utd. Did well in Cyprus as a manager going a few rounds in the European Cup, was a disaster in the Showgrounds.
Dr.Nightdub
30/08/2006, 8:53 PM
Chippie, you're light years behind us - six in 20 years. I think these dates are more or less right:
? 1986 - Dec 1996 Brian Kerr
Dec 1996 - Aug 1998 Pat Dolan
Aug 1998 - Dec 1999 Liam Buckley
Dec 1999 - Feb 2003 Pat Dolan
Feb 2003 - June 2004 Eamonn Collins
June 2004 - John McDonnell
chippie0001
30/08/2006, 9:07 PM
Chippie, you're light years behind us - six in 20 years. I think these dates are more or less right:
Ok so Kerr screwed me on that one, 10 bloody years at one club, what an idiot :D
30/08/2006, 9:22 PM
I think UCD have had 4 or 5 in that period. Pete Mahon, Paul Doolin, Martin Moran, Theo Dunne and Dr. Tony O'Neill. Not sure whether Dunne just assisted O'Neill or was manager at some point too. They all left/stood down of their own volition.
Dermot Keely as well.
Dr.Nightdub
30/08/2006, 9:23 PM
The question was about which clubs have had the most managers, not which managers have had the most clubs. :D
30/08/2006, 9:31 PM
Dermot Keely was UCD manager for a short period.
I don't think it's to do with the amount of managers sacked - it's to do with how they were sacked. The pressure put to sack whoever it was. Just because Farrelly has lasted longer doesn't mean the pressure put by Boez fans wasn't over the top.
For all the (many many many) faults, I don't recall any continuous 'Roddy out' chants last season in mid-game or banners - certainly not to the extent of Farrelly or Mahon for example. Or Buckley or Rico, for that matter.
green-blood
30/08/2006, 10:30 PM
FYI Rico was not sacked by Rovers, he saw out his contract.
I'm not saying he was sacked - I'm just pointing out that there was no continued public witchhunt for want of a better term for him to go.
Chippie seems to be looking at how many have gone, rather than the circumstances that they've gone in.
Speranza
30/08/2006, 10:42 PM
Don't bet on us to dispel your theory either! Pizza was only caretaker, Keely (enjoy the dole!) resigned which leaves Mahon the only one to be sacked.
Despite some terrible football and woeful results I never once noted a campaign for Mahon to be sacked. Public witch-hunts a la Pats at the Brandy against Dolan aren't in our nature.
harpskid
30/08/2006, 11:21 PM
Patsy Mc Gowan sacked in 96, and Keely took over for the remainder of the season.
Charlie Mc Geever then took us until 1999/00 when Dick van Dykes took over before being replaced the next season by Jonathan Speak.
Speakie was replaced by Noel King, who was subsequently replaced by Felix Healy and now we have Anthony Gorman in charge.
This gives us a grand total of seven in that period (excluding caretakers), although five have been since 2000 :eek:
Battery Rover
31/08/2006, 7:18 AM
I believe we have gone through 21 managers in the last 20 years.
Think the last few were
Michael O'Connor, John Gill, Stephen Kelly, Aaron O'Callaghan, Jimmy Greene( A very talented and local football coach who now manages our Youth team), A couple of caretaker managers in there as well.
Will try and get dates and names together as we have had 21 managers in 21 years and it is getting hard to remember whether you met the person when you were having a few pints or were they actually managing the Town. :)
One missing Pete Mahon was Pats manager for nearly a week between Dolan and Buckley.
kdjac
ColinR
31/08/2006, 7:40 AM
ours was/is
94-96 jim mc laughlin (resigned)
97-98 anto whelan (resigned)
98-00 martin lawlor (sacked)
00-00 eddie may (mutual!!)
00-03 harry mc cue (sacked)
03 + doolin
chippie0001
31/08/2006, 8:14 AM
Don't bet on us to dispel your theory either! Pizza was only caretaker, Keely (enjoy the dole!) resigned which leaves Mahon the only one to be sacked.
Despite some terrible football and woeful results I never once noted a campaign for Mahon to be sacked. Public witch-hunts a la Pats at the Brandy against Dolan aren't in our nature.
I didn't say how the managers left just how many have been in charge for how long. You have had more than 6 managers in the same time period we have had I think, so that does prove my theory.
Whatever about the number of managers, I think Bohs major mistake was in getting rid of Stephen Kenny, a move I'm sure many Bohs fans are regretting now. I always thought Farrelly was a bad appointment. No experience, no knowledge of the league here, destined to fail.( I heard Ronnie Whelans name mentioned for the job this morning, any Bohs people think this will happen ?)
My theory is that you can't possibly change your manager every sesason or two and hope to build a successful team. I think the high turnover at some clubs shows that they weren't careful enough making their appointments in the first place.
31/08/2006, 8:55 AM
I was talking about the way you lot treat managers. Didn't want to get into the whole Pete Mahon thing again but the Rovers lads picked up the baton on that one.
31/08/2006, 9:03 AM
I was talking about the way you lot treat managers. Didn't want to get into the whole Pete Mahon thing again but the Rovers lads picked up the baton on that one.
OK We're boo boys. We're not content with minnowism and failure. If other teams' fans are thats their problem. Get over it.
Bottom line prospective managers: Bohs fans don't accept failure. If you think you may not achieve the level of success we crave, go to one of the teams who's fans will "support you evermore" even if you are destroying their club.
31/08/2006, 9:13 AM
Farrelly was in charge of Bohs for two years. Two years is more than long enough to be given a fair chance. Bohs may have been hasty in previous manager sackings but in Farrelly's case the sacking was just and long overdue.
I think the only recent sacking Bohs fans might regret is Stephen Kenny's. That has proven to be in retrospect the wrong decision. But big clubs have to make big decisions and if a manager is not performing, he's out the door. This is what big clubs like Bohs, Real Madrid and the rest of the G14 share in common.
31/08/2006, 9:22 AM
But big clubs have to make big decisions and if a manager is not performing, he's out the door. This is what big clubs like Bohs, Real Madrid and the rest of the G14 share in common.
Player of the month! :cool:
bohs til i die
31/08/2006, 9:25 AM
Farrelly was in charge of Bohs for two years. Two years is more than long enough to be given a fair chance. Bohs may have been hasty in previous manager sackings but in Farrelly's case the sacking was just and long overdue.
I think the only recent sacking Bohs fans might regret is Stephen Kenny's. That has proven to be in retrospect the wrong decision. But big clubs have to make big decisions and if a manager is not performing, he's out the door. This is what big clubs like Bohs, Real Madrid and the rest of the G14 share in common.
We won the league in January 2003 and after that we struggled with Kenny. We had two very slow starts to the seasons after that.
We took 7 attempts to win at home in 2004, we lost twice to Dublin City and Kenny had record budgets for the league at the time. In 2003 we spent something like €1,350,000 and a year after it was €1,250,000.
The timing of Kenny's sacking was a few months before the end of his contract. There was some messing in the background over his contract and other players contracts.
Kenny has since moved on. He is doing very well at Derry with a group of players who dont look to be as good as some of the players he had at Bohs in 2004.
Kenny might have signed a new deal and we could have ended up struggling. Who knows, the board made a decision based on what he had done at Bohs. They didnt have the luxury of looking at what he might achieve in the future.
Moral was low and getting lower
Kenny was talking about the league cup final as some sort of wonderful achievement and a home draw in the next round of the FAI Cup as his saving grace.
The mistake was amde when they allowed Gareth Farrelly put pen to papaer on a contract as our manager.
bohs til i die
31/08/2006, 9:49 AM
Eamonn Gregg - few chants, nothing more sacked after a very poor run of games in 93-94 season
Turlough - never the most popular manager due to his style of play but always did well on small budget. Left at end of contract in 1998
Joe McGrath - Sacked by board after woeful run at start of season. Had fans support. Turned out the board were right.
Roddy - Contract had run out in May 2001 and it wasnt renewed. Had just won the double but he always divided the support
Mahon - Hounded out after a total disaster of a season. Stories about mobs outside his house greatly exaggerated. His daughter sitting in the stand listening to the fans moan about him is tough sh*t IMO. One win in 3 months is not good enough for a €1,000,000 plus investment.
Kenny - Up until the final week of his 32 months he got very little stick. I ended up disliking him but if the truth be told he was the man who assembled the squad who gave me my favourite moment as a Bohs fan. It was about 5.52pm on Sunday January 12th 2003 in Tolka Park. Much as I disliked him at the time, I am glad he is doing well because I dont think he failed at Bohs because of lack of effort. I just feel he lost his way a little and couldnt turn it around. Gives everything he has to the cause and I'll always respect the man for that.
Gareth Farrelly - 21 months in charge, nearly all utter garbage. The we goa goal down to Waterford Crystal and the anti-Farrelly feeling begins.
I've already posted the stats. We are spending in the same region as Cork and Derry yet we have 3 goals [1 a fluke] in 10 league games against this seasons top 5 teams, and we have taken 4 points from 30.
Simply not good enough. Farrelly got hounded because he is a joker. His transfer dealings were a complete disaster. His tictacs were non existant and his performances on the pitch were embarassing.
He was full of bull**** excuses
- about losing 3 players to Shels [about 2 years ago]
- schoolboy errors
- budget cuts [is €1,100,000 not enough to at even compete - How much are Cork spending on there wage bill Peadar?]
- the fans
- the coaching staff
injuries [it would help if the joker wasnt feigning injury every time we played Shels - and he FAKED INJURY on at least 2 occasions to get out of games against Shels]
So all in all, we got on one managers case in a bad way and another managers case because he is an imposter and we are tagged the most fickle fans in the league.
The f**ker cost the club the grand total of €135,000 a year and he managed to ruin not 1 but 2 jobs. Its about the only think he managed to manage right in 2 years.
I've gone to Bohs matches since 1984, since I was 7. In the past 6 months I have never felt so empty about going to games. Gone are the days when I would be going to work in eager anticipation of the derby against Shels or Rovers that evening, or taking days off to travel to away games. That lack of enjoyment had started under Kenny. Some of our games were a little lifeless but it wasnt because SK had not done his homework or anything.
Farrelly is a spoofer, a joker and a complete failure as a football player and a manager. The treatment he received reflected the effort he put in as our player/manager.
31/08/2006, 9:49 AM
We won the league in January 2003 and after that we struggled with Kenny. We had two very slow starts to the seasons after that.
We took 7 attempts to win at home in 2004, we lost twice to Dublin City and Kenny had record budgets for the league at the time. In 2003 we spent something like €1,350,000 and a year after it was €1,250,000.
The timing of Kenny's sacking was a few months before the end of his contract. There was some messing in the background over his contract and other players contracts.
Kenny has since moved on. He is doing very well at Derry with a group of players who dont look to be as good as some of the players he had at Bohs in 2004.
Kenny might have signed a new deal and we could have ended up struggling. Who knows, the board made a decision based on what he had done at Bohs. They didnt have the luxury of looking at what he might achieve in the future.
Moral was low and getting lower
Kenny was talking about the league cup final as some sort of wonderful achievement and a home draw in the next round of the FAI Cup as his saving grace.
The mistake was amde when they allowed Gareth Farrelly put pen to papaer on a contract as our manager.
Fair enough. But looking from the outside-in, it seems that the Kenny episode might have helped to prolong the Farrelly reign longer that it should have. But as you have pointed out Kenny didn't perform - so goodbye.
31/08/2006, 10:34 AM
In all my time supporting Dundalk I never recall a manager being sacked.
And look where ye are now.
hoops1
31/08/2006, 10:44 AM
Who was that idiot of a steward that got involved with both managers
on Tuesday? Hes a disgrace to the human race never mind Bohs
Farelly should have clouted him
31/08/2006, 10:56 AM
The man's a hero. Showed more passion on the night than Farrelly did in all his performances put together.
Who was that idiot of a steward that got involved with both managers
on Tuesday? Hes a disgrace to the human race never mind Bohs
Farelly should have clouted him
rubbish
looked to me like scully couldnt resist a bit of finger pointing nonsense
what a toe rag
31/08/2006, 11:17 AM
Exactly, it took Scully a lifetime to walk around the pitch after he was sent off, in the meantime Rovers scored their second. The game should not have continued until he was away from the pitch and up in the stand. Then when asked to move on quickly by stewards who were trying to avoid the flaring tempers that he was provoking, he started giving them sh't.
....its also reminiscient of what Roddy Collins did at the same venue in recent times. Uncannily similar styles at work their by Scully and Collins.
31/08/2006, 11:27 AM
Uncannily similar styles at work their by Scully and Collins.
Even by your standards that's a cracker.
As I said on our board, Scully should have been escorted by stewards to the directors box or a suitably neutral area and security provided. That's what happens everywhere else. But in a typically Bohs/Wicklow GAA manner the officials and stewards can't help getting involved. Thuggish and amateur but exactly what you'd expect from Bohs.
hoops1
31/08/2006, 11:30 AM
The man's a hero. Showed more passion on the night than Farrelly did in all his performances put together.
Hero? God what a sad men you and him
If you think thats showing passion, god love you.
Any moron can rant and rave at a match
Half the idiots in the crowd could never give 1/10 the same commitment
effort and sacrifice as the worst EL player
check out footage of roddy "grandstanding" after a similar sending off at dalymount - he escorted himself to the car park area - which cant actually be accessed from the pitchside hence the scullyhesque - "look at me" ive been sent off folks distraction
misdirection
dolan and roddy are past masters and judging by that footage scully's picked up a tip or two
31/08/2006, 11:39 AM
Hero? God what a sad men you and him
If you think thats showing passion, god love you.
Any moron can rant and rave at a match
Half the idiots in the crowd could never give 1/10 the same commitment
effort and sacrifice as the worst EL player
Lectures in gentlemanly conduct from a Rovers fan? :rolleyes:
What next? English lessons from Bertie Ahern? :p
Sam Savic
31/08/2006, 11:45 AM
The problem is that he wasn't asked to move on quickly. The steward concerned, on his own admission, used foul and abusive language. Not exactly "asking" now is it.
31/08/2006, 11:55 AM
Lectures in gentlemanly conduct from a Rovers fan? :rolleyes:
Our stewards always act in a professional manner - unlike the fat git* from the other night. Even at the worst times under Roddy, he was never subjected to the intimidation that Farrelly faced the other night from Bohs fans and officials.
One of the lads in charge of our security is on this thread and himself and the others responsible for security at Rovers would make sure that scenes like the other night would never happen at Rovers. So yes, you should be taking lectures in gentlemanly conduct from Rovers.
*Internet etiquette prevents me from naming and shaming the culprit even though he's perfectly happy to take the kudos from his fellow neanderthals on gypoweb.
31/08/2006, 12:10 PM
Our stewards always act in a professional manner - unlike the fat git* from the other night. Even at the worst times under Roddy, he was never subjected to the intimidation that Farrelly faced the other night from Bohs fans and officials.
One of the lads in charge of our security is on this thread and himself and the others responsible for security at Rovers would make sure that scenes like the other night would never happen at Rovers. So yes, you should be taking lectures in gentlemanly conduct from Rovers.
*Internet etiquette prevents me from naming and shaming the culprit even though he's perfectly happy to take the kudos from his fellow neanderthals on gypoweb.
I'm sorry. This is too much. Can we please end this hypocrisy (http://bohsnews.crispynews.com/article/show/11742)?
31/08/2006, 12:11 PM
But big clubs have to make big decisions and if a manager is not performing, he's out the door. This is what big clubs like Bohs, Real Madrid and the rest of the G14 share in common.
:D :D
Bohs have joined the G14? Respect!! :D
hoops1
31/08/2006, 12:12 PM
rubbish
looked to me like scully couldnt resist a bit of finger pointing nonsense
what a toe rag
And What about him abusing his own manager?
Farrelly didnt react. class act
hoops1
31/08/2006, 12:19 PM
Farrelly didnt react. class act
Agree.
The steward should be there to keep order
Not to abuse the players and managers
Someday soon we will have a cantona type incident if fans dont know
where to Draw the line
31/08/2006, 12:42 PM
I'm sorry. This is too much. Can we please end this hypocrisy (http://bohsnews.crispynews.com/article/show/11742)?
What hypocrisy? I was in Limerick and, unlike you, know what happened. The club were 100% correct to back thre man in question. What happened on Tuesday is on camera for all to see and is merely the latest in a long list of incidents like these at Bohs.
31/08/2006, 12:44 PM
Mahon - Stories about mobs outside his house greatly exaggerated.
Exaggerated by you, it seems. No-one mentioned mobs outside his house. What they did mention was regular incidents of a few scumbags outside his house. While the dictionary definition doesn't give any indication as to how many people are in a mob (never mind more than one mob), it would be more than have been indicated in these incidents, which doesn't mean it's not scumbaggery.
UCD's manager record is fun. We've never sacked anyone because we couldn't afford to pay up Doolin's contract. Since joining the league in 1979, we've had...
Aug 1979 - May 1983 Doc O'Neill (manager since about 1970, I think) and Theo Dunne. The two kind of switched roles from what I can see depending on what else was on the Doc's plate.
Aug 1983 - Sep 1983 Dermot Keely (sold himself to Shamrock Rovers because we couldn't really afford him. He ended the season with a Cup runner's-up medal :) )
Sep 1983 - Nov 1999 Theo Dunne/Doc O'Neill. (Doc O'Neill died)
Dec 1999 - Oct 2001 Martin Moran (resigned due to work pressure)
Oct 2001 - Sep 2003 Paul Doolin (Drogheda took him from us)
Sep 2003 - present Pete Mahon
31/08/2006, 1:01 PM
The problem is that he wasn't asked to move on quickly. The steward concerned, on his own admission, used foul and abusive language. Not exactly "asking" now is it.
I'm talking about Scully's behaviour before the altercation
31/08/2006, 1:03 PM
Our stewards always act in a professional manner .
Yeah like the time they let you out early to ambush us outside Richmond Park?
Very noble of them.