View Full Version : Rovers v Bohs FAI Cup live streaming
nshoop
26/08/2006, 12:02 AM
They never wanted to get past the fence but just make it look like they did.I don't mind the kids and teens doing it,but there were grown men running and kicking the fence and they looked so stupid it was unbelievable.Anyway,it was a trouble free night,which I would expect at tolka-there's only one road to police and the gards stuck all eight or ten of their vans on the road,blocking it off completely.It was a good plan to be honest but I'm sure they'll f*ck up at dalymount on tuesday as usual.Anyway that's the gossip.
nshoop
26/08/2006, 12:06 AM
I was talking to my brother who said the main stand looked 2/3 full on TV, with the left half completely full. It would have been slightly more than that IMHO as there were plenty of people standing on the steps, and with the few empty seats taken away as well.
1,500 Bohs fans, 900 in new stand and slightly more than 2/3 of main stand whatever that is is how I see it.
I was in the left of the main stand,great craic as usual,especially when you're outsinging the hoops in the new stand and the bohs in the riverside.There was atleast 1000 in the new stand as it was packed,seats and steps,and there was about 2000,maybe slightly less in the main stand.It evens out to 3000 hoops supporters in the ground
Edit:approx.4000 tonight according to official website so I'll take their word and say we had 2500 or slightly more and boez:1500
Dr.Nightdub
26/08/2006, 12:29 AM
Bohs should've had it won by half time, all they had to do was realise how much better they were but they didn't cop it. The occasion seemed to get to Rovers bigtime in the first half, they couldn't get beyond the halfway line. In fairness to them though, they limited Bohs chances. Fair play to Scully, whatever he said at half time worked for them. Second half was a complete turnaround, Rovers played Bohs off the park though I think they could yet regret yer man missing the sitter near the end. Thought Rovers should've had a second peno when their right winger was held back, open to correction as to whether or not he was inside the box but didn't figure the ref would give them a second peno either way.
I would've put the crowd at approx 4500 - say 2500 Bohs in the Riverside (full up as far as the end of the roof nearest the Drumcondra end), 1000 Rovers in the Subbuteo stand and 1000 Rovers / neutrals in the old stand.
26/08/2006, 1:13 AM
This is dirty, ugly football. A rivalry does not equate to a good football match and I seriously question their decision not to show us against the scum on Sunday.
Because everyone is sick of watching Shels play Derry this year. How many times will they play this season?? 6 times. Time for someone else to have a look-in for a change.
Rovers could yet regret yer man missing the sitter near the end.
It was a bad miss, but Bohs have already regretted their missed chances in the first-half. Should be another high-octane classic on Tuesday, but sadly, not on the box.
fergalr
26/08/2006, 1:35 AM
Crowd was 2/3s Rovers. Second half was all Rovers.
A so-called "riot" but gardaí report "no arrests made" - something doesn't sound right there...
hmmm - maybe i'm getting cynical in my old age but an establishment that has GAA links reporting "trouble" by soccer/football fans - when is that court case about Tallaght again?
Make of it what you will...
Five arrested over soccer violence
http://www.rte.ie/news/2006/0826/dublin.html
The Good Son
26/08/2006, 7:24 AM
Ignore, same link as Ringo above.
sonofstan
26/08/2006, 7:43 AM
The new stand was about 3/4full, the main stand less than 2/3 - can someone who knows the capacity of the various bits of Tolka tell me what that adds up to? I don't think there was anything like 3,000 Rovers fans.
Also - it was 1/2 hour after the final whistle before we were standing on Richmond Rd. - I've seen crowds of 80,000 disperse more quickly
26/08/2006, 8:34 AM
They never wanted to get past the fence but just make it look like they did.I don't mind the kids and teens doing it,but there were grown men running and kicking the fence and they looked so stupid it was unbelievable.Anyway,it was a trouble free night,which I would expect at tolka-there's only one road to police and the gards stuck all eight or ten of their vans on the road,blocking it off completely.It was a good plan to be honest but I'm sure they'll f*ck up at dalymount on tuesday as usual.Anyway that's the gossip.
Yeh I saw the hard men :rolleyes: running at the fence trying to get at the Rovers fans giving the usual come on gestures. Low and behold the same lads who were doing this could be seen leaving the ground with 10 minutes left! :p :D
Gareth
26/08/2006, 10:22 AM
Match Rpeort on Shelsweb
http://www.shelbournefc.ie/news.php?id=461
charliesboots
26/08/2006, 12:18 PM
Five arrested over soccer violence
http://www.rte.ie/news/2006/0826/dublin.html
Don't take this the wrong way, I'm not condoning idiot fans but I hate the way the media here report this ****.
There are people arested before and after football matches all the time all over the world. In England there are frequently people arrested after matches but it doesn't get reported because the media realise that the Premiership is a product that sells them newspapers so they try and maintain its good profile.
Over here it seems the RTE and probably the herald this evening are only dying for something to happen so they can stick the boot in at the league.
hoopy
26/08/2006, 12:56 PM
I would've put the crowd at approx 4500 - say 2500 Bohs in the Riverside (full up as far as the end of the roof nearest the Drumcondra end), 1000 Rovers in the Subbuteo stand and 1000 Rovers / neutrals in the old stand.
This isn't an idiotic 'mine's bigger than your's' comment but there's no way was there more Bohs fans than Rovers there. Anyway a very enjoyable occasion that reminds us all why this fixture is the biggest in the Country. Bohs should've had the game won by half time as our players just froze, then we should've won it in the second. Again very impressed with our players fitness levels for a part time team. As for Bohs, Devlin was excellent in the first half, the left back was terrible(hope he's playing again on Tues), and Farrelly coming on actually made Bohs worse. Enjoyable night
26/08/2006, 1:01 PM
The Riverside couldn't have been full because part of it was blocked off and the part to the left(from the main stand) of the fencing was empty. It also wasn't full all the way down the Ballybough end.
26/08/2006, 5:44 PM
Brúigh "Alt Gr" agus an litir ag an am chéanna.
Sin é! Go raibh míle maith agat! Is, er, laoch thú!
Buller
26/08/2006, 6:28 PM
The new stand was about 3/4full, the main stand less than 2/3 - can someone who knows the capacity of the various bits of Tolka tell me what that adds up to? I don't think there was anything like 3,000 Rovers fans.
Ah c'mon now... The new stand where i was definatly FULL! And the main stand was at least 90% full.... sure ppl who watched it on tv could tell you that!! I'd say there were in between 2,500 and 2,800 rovers fans and maybe 2,000 bohs?
higgins
26/08/2006, 6:37 PM
My estimate is that there was 1000 in the new stand and 2000 in the main stand,could be more in new and less in main where I was,but I reckon there was 3000 hoops fans there tonight and 1500 bohs.That's not being biased,that's my honest opinion.Can anybody back me up or set me straight with official figures?
There are not 1000 seats in the New Stand :eek:
There are not 2000 seats in the Main Stand :eek:
More rubbish...
sonofstan
26/08/2006, 6:43 PM
Ah c'mon now... The new stand where i was definatly FULL! And the main stand was at least 90% full.... sure ppl who watched it on tv could tell you that!! I'd say there were in between 2,500 and 2,800 rovers fans and maybe 2,000 bohs?
You were in the New Stand - I was looking at it; I've gone home from matches in Dalyer convinced the Jodi was full because it was full around me only to see it half full on TV - the New Stand wasn't completely full and the main was empty at the Ballybough end
26/08/2006, 6:52 PM
Really not pushed about this debate, because if Shams had a big crowd it was only because you were playing Bohemian FC. But, I can tell you with no word of a lie that the lego stand was far from full. There was a good number of seats at the top (stage) left that were showing pretty vacant Shels red.
26/08/2006, 7:18 PM
Really not pushed about this debate, because if Shams had a big crowd it was only because you were playing Bohemian FC. But, I can tell you with no word of a lie that the lego stand was far from full. There was a good number of seats at the top (stage) left that were showing pretty vacant Shels red.
It probably didn't look full due to people not in the far side, but you have to remember that there was alot of them in the staircases and grouped together in the rows or seats!
nshoop
26/08/2006, 9:17 PM
Also - it was 1/2 hour after the final whistle before we were standing on Richmond Rd. - I've seen crowds of 80,000 disperse more quickly
Yeah and how many times have we had to stand on the connaught street side in dalyer for 25 minutes while yous jump around in the jodi after getting a late draw?I've lost count,it'll be the same on tuesday except we'll be doing the jumping into the next round.
Speranza
26/08/2006, 9:26 PM
Yawn......."Rovers are the biggest club in the country, this match is the biggest in the league". Keep deluding yourselves lads but eventually you will relaise that no-one cares about Rovers or Bohs and no-ones rates an hour and a half of hoofball before a scrap as the biggest game in Ireland.
26/08/2006, 9:27 PM
- it was 1/2 hour after the final whistle before we were standing on Richmond Rd. - I've seen crowds of 80,000 disperse more quickly
GAA alert! :p
nshoop
26/08/2006, 9:40 PM
Yawn......."Rovers are the biggest club in the country, this match is the biggest in the league". Keep deluding yourselves lads but eventually you will relaise that no-one cares about Rovers or Bohs and no-ones rates an hour and a half of hoofball before a scrap as the biggest game in Ireland.
Then why was our match live on national television and yours isn't? and why was there over 4000 at our match and there wont be at yours?
except we'll be doing the jumping into the next round.
Ah Ah Ah, Super Gretna alert, nshoop.:D
Speranza, I'll probably pop into Tolka for Derry/Shels and see if there's more than 4,000 who care and whether tv cares...:)
The standard of football and form drops out of the window for a derby - it's not supposed to be great football and yet guess what the telly chose and 4,000 people..and that's despite the ludicrous original ticketing arrangement.
nshoop
26/08/2006, 10:07 PM
Ah Ah Ah, Super Gretna alert, nshoop.:D
You're right,but you'll forgive my cockyness after bohs' second half performance.To be honest,they weren't great in the first half,we were just a bag of nerves.A first timer would've said that we were the premier side last night if he hadn't have known,on and off the pitch.
Buller
26/08/2006, 10:33 PM
You were in the New Stand - I was looking at it; I've gone home from matches in Dalyer convinced the Jodi was full because it was full around me only to see it half full on TV - the New Stand wasn't completely full and the main was empty at the Ballybough end
Yeah i know but i saw all the pictures and it is full!!! Pictures (http://www.shamrockrovers.ie/gallery/index.php?Qwd=./vBohs_250806_B.Best&Qif=vBohs_250806_01_BBest.jpg&Qiv=thumbs&Qis=M)
sonofstan
26/08/2006, 10:34 PM
GAA alert! :p
The Stadio Olimpico in Rome was what I was thinking of; have never been at a GAA match in my life apart from the ones I was forced to play in primary school
Buller
26/08/2006, 10:44 PM
Yeah i know what you mean, but i saw all the pictures and it was full!!! Pictures (http://www.shamrockrovers.ie/gallery/index.php?Qwd=./vBohs_250806_B.Best&Qif=vBohs_250806_01_BBest.jpg&Qiv=thumbs&Qis=M)
27/08/2006, 12:29 AM
eventually you will relaise that no-one cares about Rovers or Bohs.
The hype in the press, the biggest derby in Irish football, the biggest crowd of the weekend, and the only game shown on tv.
Yeah, nobody cares alright!!! :rolleyes: :rolleyes: :rolleyes:
nshoop
27/08/2006, 12:40 AM
The star today had the attendance as 2500,must have been taking the p*ss,and I don't want to drag this out but how can viking say it was even fan wise?There was 2500-3000 hoops supporters and no more than 1500 bohs supporters.I know it's not really important but how could anybody say there was as many bohs as rovers there?
higgins
27/08/2006, 2:31 AM
Yeah i know but i saw all the pictures and it is full!!! Pictures (http://www.shamrockrovers.ie/gallery/index.php?Qwd=./vBohs_250806_B.Best&Qif=vBohs_250806_01_BBest.jpg&Qiv=thumbs&Qis=M)
From those Pictures theres about 850-900 up there. Its not FULL but fair play it looks well.
Speranza
27/08/2006, 2:52 AM
4,000 people at a game between two teams playing in the same city is shameful and not something to be proud of. Biggest derby in Irish football? Who says that and how can you judge it. Last season Longford vs Waterford was shown on tv, does that make it a huge match, I think not!
27/08/2006, 5:14 AM
4,000 people at a game between two teams playing in the same city is shameful and not something to be proud of. Biggest derby in Irish football? Who says that and how can you judge it.
Yes, Derry fans are ideally located to lecture us about derbies, aren't they?? :rolleyes: According to them, we should only care about games that involve a minimum 8-hour round trip instead.
27/08/2006, 11:01 AM
More than a page worth of posts later and people are still arguing about this.
HI, welcome to foot.ie...
chippie0001
27/08/2006, 11:03 AM
More than a page worth of posts later and people are still arguing about this.
If those stats are true thats 2,900 Rovers fans and 1,600 Bohs fans. Now since the game is on again in 2 days you would expect a very similar crowd since the game is 10 mins away, will be interesting what the Bohs official attendance throws up.
nshoop
27/08/2006, 11:34 AM
EDIT: don't forget re: 2,900 Rovers, that was Rovers tickets, my guess would be most neutrals would have got Rovers tickets, all though there would be no way of proving this other than gut instinct that neutrals would want to be in the main stand.
I reckon that a lot of neutrals would've gone in the riverside aswell as the main stand
27/08/2006, 1:12 PM
I reckon that a lot of neutrals would've gone in the riverside aswell as the main stand
You could see when Bohs scored that most, if not all, of the Riverside were celebrating.
I counted two "neutrals" in the Riverside. Both are well known Cork City fans and both of them celebrated our goal, sang our songs and generally enjoyed themselves without the moaning about Dubs, Dublin and anything north of Mitchelstown that is compulsary at the X.
Cheers J and N, see you on the steps of F&G on Tuesday but you don't have to paint your faces red and black again this time unless you really want to.
nshoop
27/08/2006, 6:00 PM
A lot of polite people down ballybough end clapped gently when the goal went in,couldn't have been bohs fans
Why were you watching the Ballybough end when we scored while you should have been giving us hand gestures and abuse? Call yourself a hoop?
If those stats are true thats 2,900 Rovers fans and 1,600 Bohs fans. Now since the game is on again in 2 days you would expect a very similar crowd since the game is 10 mins away, will be interesting what the Bohs official attendance throws up.
I think it could be over 5,000 as I've no doubt that there were Bohs fans who stayed away. I would expect the Jodi stand to be fairly full on Tues so the proportion of fans may well swing the other way
nshoop
27/08/2006, 7:47 PM
The noise will be different definitely as you can't get singing going on the connaught street side.I wish there was a roof on it or we were allowed back on the terracing where the atmosphere used to be brilliant.That's our excuse,bohs had the riverside on friday which is brilliant for singing and you couldn't hear a thing.There wont be more bohs fans anyway,they fill up just over half the jodi everytime.
27/08/2006, 7:52 PM
How much does the Jodi hold?
27/08/2006, 7:57 PM
chippie0001
27/08/2006, 7:59 PM
The Jodi holds 2800, the Des Kelly about 1,400 and Connaught Street side 3,800 or so.
nshoop
27/08/2006, 8:04 PM
Bohs will have about 2000 including nuetrals and we'll have about the same on the connaught street side
ger121
27/08/2006, 8:34 PM
I would expect the Jodi to be full on Tuesday as well as some people in the Des Kelly. There is no reason why we shouldn't have 3000+ Bohs fans at a home cup match against Rovers. Time will tell I guess.....
nshoop
27/08/2006, 8:42 PM
I'd be surprised if the jodi was full but as I said before,the fact that it's not on tv might bring out more neutrals.We might actually get closer to 2500 because we had close to 3000 on friday.The connaught street sides' a kip though and we always get treated like sh*te by the cops,getting video taped and pushed around so that might turn a few hoops fans off as it normally does
BohsFans
27/08/2006, 9:43 PM
I reckon the scum will have the last section in the shed (at Burdocks) or block A in the Jodi as well as Connaught st. will they not?
FAI Cup matches the away team are meant to get some covered seating?
No - all Rovers fans will be stuck on the Connaught St side... strict segregation as ordered by our bewildered and terminally stupid police force. No doubt Rovers fans wearing colours will be all but fisted on their way in to the ground as Gardai up their effort to stamp out soccer yobbery and general non-culchie behaviour.
Who cares though, we'll have a roof, a chipper and three bars to choose from.