Log in

View Full Version : Advice on the Laws of the Game



Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 [7] 8 9 10 11

girlinblack
11/08/2009, 1:45 PM
Hi Axe,

According to the laws, a direct free kick (or penalty if the offence occurred inside the box) is awarded if a player deliberately handles the ball. So, the key word here is deliberate. In order for it to be a free kick, the player had to intend to connect his hand with the ball. But the incident you described sounds like "ball to hand" to me. As the defender was just in the way of a 'million mile an hour' shot, there should be no penalty/free kick.

The 'denying a goal-scoring chance' bit can only come into play if the defender deliberately moved his hand to stop the ball going into the net. If he did that, it would be a pen & a red card.

Does that answer your q?

Cheers,
GiB

gaiscíoch
11/08/2009, 1:54 PM
Hi Axe,

According to the laws, a direct free kick (or penalty if the offence occurred inside the box) is awarded if a player deliberately handles the ball. So, the key word here is deliberate. In order for it to be a free kick, the player had to intend to connect his hand with the ball. But the incident you described sounds like "ball to hand" to me. As the defender was just in the way of a 'million mile an hour' shot, there should be no penalty/free kick.

The 'denying a goal-scoring chance' bit can only come into play if the defender deliberately moved his hand to stop the ball going into the net. If he did that, it would be a pen & a red card.

Does that answer your q?

Cheers,
GiB

Normally I'd put my hand behind my back just avoid any confusion but it happened so fast I didn't even get the chance. Wish I could react as quick as he thought I had.:(:(

I wouldn't do it deliberately there was ten mins to and it was 0-0?

gaffer33
07/09/2009, 4:49 PM
Ref,
Just a query that came up over the weekend,
1)Just say team A and team B are playing,
From a goalkick striker for A is up field just past B defence,say closest to the B keeper..is he offside.?
2)If same scene happens,but,ball is kicked from team A's keepers hands..is striker A offside..?
3)Team B goalkeeper is taking goalkick,striker A is facing him with the B defence,but is say,one yard ahead of defence,closer to B keeper,is he offside if he recieves ball..?
Thanks.

centre mid
07/09/2009, 5:53 PM
1) Yes
2) Yes
3) Not if B Goalkeeper kicks it to him.

the 12 th man
07/09/2009, 5:56 PM
Re - question no 1,you cannot be offside from a goal kick if you receive it directly from the goalie so I think answer no1 above is wrong.

The Ref
07/09/2009, 9:24 PM
Ref,
Just a query that came up over the weekend,
1)Just say team A and team B are playing,
From a goalkick striker for A is up field just past B defence,say closest to the B keeper..is he offside.?
2)If same scene happens,but,ball is kicked from team A's keepers hands..is striker A offside..?
3)Team B goalkeeper is taking goalkick,striker A is facing him with the B defence,but is say,one yard ahead of defence,closer to B keeper,is he offside if he recieves ball..?
Thanks.

1) As 12th man said, attacker cannot be offside if he receives the ball directly from his own kick out.

2) If Attcker A is in his opponents half of the field, and there is only 1 opposing player between himself and his opponents goal (i.e. Team B goalkeeper), he is offside if he receives the ball directly from his goalkeeper.

If a teammate, who is not offside, receives the ball, the attacker is not offside. Being in an offside position is not an offence, being in active play and gaining an advantage from being in that position is an offence.

3) No - You cannot be offside if the opposition last played the ball.

gaffer33
08/09/2009, 8:31 PM
That's great,thanks for the info...

Referee09
22/09/2009, 12:00 PM
1) Yes
2) Yes
3) Not if B Goalkeeper kicks it to him.

No offence to you Centre mid, but your answer is typical of players and club people in General........They don't know the Laws of the Game!!:eek:

Planners
16/12/2009, 9:26 AM
Does a player need to actually sign a form in order to be eligible to play or can it be signed for on his behalf with consent - its just that I know a player who will be playing with a particular club and there may be a question of his eligibility -
Anyone know

villain10
16/12/2009, 1:17 PM
its 1) no, you cannot be offside from your own kick off but
2) yes, you can be if the keeper kicks it out of his hands
3) no. its like a defender passin you the ball.

prionsias9
04/02/2010, 11:02 PM
hi ref. What is the ruling if a goalkeeper handles the ball outside his area and prevents the opposing centre forward from getting the ball

rambler14
04/02/2010, 11:36 PM
hi ref. What is the ruling if a goalkeeper handles the ball outside his area and prevents the opposing centre forward from getting the ball

Straight red card.

Referee09
05/02/2010, 10:28 AM
hi ref. What is the ruling if a goalkeeper handles the ball outside his area and prevents the opposing centre forward from getting the ball

OK... if it's not deliberate handball there is no offence, so the referee must deem it to be deliberate handball to award a freekick....also not every handball is worthy of a yellow card, surrounding circumstances must be taken into effect i.e. was the handball deliberately done to prevent the opponent gaining an advantage, if so then you would yellow card.....So If the goalkeeper is deemed to have deliberately handled the ball and denied his opponent gaining an advantage - Yellow Card.....if he has denied an obvious goal scoring opportunity - Red Card...... If it wasn't deliberate - no offence!!!
Hope this helps! :rolleyes:

prionsias9
05/02/2010, 5:35 PM
hi Ref.
If a player receives treatment on the pitch,must he leave the pitch before he can resume playing?

BigfeetBigsocks
05/02/2010, 6:05 PM
I would be positive thats a FIFA/UEFA Guideline, passed down to all the Senior Professional Leagues to be used but when it comes down to the Amateur game then these guidelines may or may not be used in certain competitions ie normal league match probably not in FAI Junior Cup probably is... could be wrong but

BigfeetBigsocks
10/03/2010, 2:18 PM
Question Referee9 or The Ref if your still around.....What would you Give?

Situation a ball is crossed over and goes over the head of defender and an attacker a few yards behind comes running on to it and volleys the ball towards goal but in direction of defenders face ,who has now turned to face player, the defender then brings his hands up to protect his face and it connects with the ball.

is it a deliberate Handball and penalty?

The Ref
10/03/2010, 9:03 PM
Question Referee9 or The Ref if your still around.....What would you Give?

Situation a ball is crossed over and goes over the head of defender and an attacker a few yards behind comes running on to it and volleys the ball towards goal but in direction of defenders face ,who has now turned to face player, the defender then brings his hands up to protect his face and it connects with the ball.

is it a deliberate Handball and penalty?

For a free kick or penalty to be awarded, the handball must be deliberate. The fact that the player moves his hand to protect his face would seem to me a deliberate action albeit to protect himself. Therefore in the example above I would give a free kick (or penalty if it occurred in the defenders penalty area)

The Ref

Referee09
11/03/2010, 8:33 AM
Question Referee9 or The Ref if your still around.....What would you Give?

Situation a ball is crossed over and goes over the head of defender and an attacker a few yards behind comes running on to it and volleys the ball towards goal but in direction of defenders face ,who has now turned to face player, the defender then brings his hands up to protect his face and it connects with the ball.

is it a deliberate Handball and penalty?

As The Ref states, it must be deemed to be deliberate handball. This one will split many refs however. For me you need to look at several things, the distance of the defender from the ball when it is struck, the pace of the ball, are the arms in an "unnatural position" i.e. is the defender trying to make himself bigger in an effort to block the ball. From what you described, I'm reading as this... the defender is only a few yards away and the ball is volleyed by the attacker so naturally the defender protects his face with his arms/hands. His arms aren't outstretched to the sides or above his head to make himself bigger and he is too close to avoid being hit. For me .......................play on, no offence. But I'd like to have seen it to be 100%. Far to many refs give free kicks and penalty kicks for handball incidents when it's obvious that there was no deliberate intent to handle the ball. Hope this helps rather than confuse!!

Subprime
12/03/2010, 8:59 AM
As The Ref states, it must be deemed to be deliberate handball. This one will split many refs however. For me you need to look at several things, the distance of the defender from the ball when it is struck, the pace of the ball, are the arms in an "unnatural position" i.e. is the defender trying to make himself bigger in an effort to block the ball. From what you described, I'm reading as this... the defender is only a few yards away and the ball is volleyed by the attacker so naturally the defender protects his face with his arms/hands. His arms aren't outstretched to the sides or above his head to make himself bigger and he is too close to avoid being hit. For me .......................play on, no offence. But I'd like to have seen it to be 100%. Far to many refs give free kicks and penalty kicks for handball incidents when it's obvious that there was no deliberate intent to handle the ball. Hope this helps rather than confuse!!

You have got to be kidding!!!! A player who brings his hand(s) to a ball is guilty of an offence. He is using his hand to control the ball, be it to prevent it from hitting him, going past him, preventing a goal etc.. Whats the confusion???? Either he brings his hand(s) in the direction of the ball or he didn't. HAND TO BALL NOT BALL TO HAND.

Referee09
12/03/2010, 11:16 AM
You have got to be kidding!!!! A player who brings his hand(s) to a ball is guilty of an offence. He is using his hand to control the ball, be it to prevent it from hitting him, going past him, preventing a goal etc.. Whats the confusion???? Either he brings his hand(s) in the direction of the ball or he didn't. HAND TO BALL NOT BALL TO HAND.

I told you this one would split decisions. Some will give it some won't. Your view is very "black and white" Subprime. Now as I said I'd like to see this incident but from the original post by BigFeetBigSocks, nowwhere does he say the player brought his hand to the ball. If a player brings his hands up to protect himself from a ball struck from close range, he is NOT controlling the ball with his arms. He is protecting his face with a natural reaction. But as I said if his hands/arms are outstretched in an unnatural position away or above his body, making himself bigger to block the ball then it would be an offence. Really we would need to see it to be 100 percent sure! But from Bigfeets original post, for me it's play-on...............

Referee09
12/03/2010, 2:58 PM
:confused:referee09 if a player attacking his oppoent goals takes a shot and it deflects off the referee and it ends up in the back of the net does it still stands as a goal or a hop ball from where the ref was standing(bear in mind this happend in a match last week in the 92 min of a cup match with the teams level at one all)

Hi redcardrory. The referee is part of the game and the field of play and while the team that have conceded the goal will be a little annoyed, the correct decision is to allow the goal.............

Referee09
14/03/2010, 8:25 AM
In relation to the handball question. There was a shout for a penalty in the Birmingham V Everton game yesterday. For me it's very like the scenario described above. Have a look guys, you'll get it online. What do ye think??

Subprime
14/03/2010, 9:12 PM
I told you this one would split decisions. Some will give it some won't. Your view is very "black and white" Subprime. Now as I said I'd like to see this incident but from the original post by BigFeetBigSocks, nowwhere does he say the player brought his hand to the ball. If a player brings his hands up to protect himself from a ball struck from close range, he is NOT controlling the ball with his arms. He is protecting his face with a natural reaction. But as I said if his hands/arms are outstretched in an unnatural position away or above his body, making himself bigger to block the ball then it would be an offence. Really we would need to see it to be 100 percent sure! But from Bigfeets original post, for me it's play-on...............

Ref, "If a player brings his hands up to protect himself from a ball struck from close range, he is NOT controlling the ball with his arms. He is protecting his face with a natural reaction" I seriously beg to differ and would point out that you have stated the obvious in that a player "brings his hands" is bringing your hands in the direction of the ball!!!! You are also controlling the ball in that you are preventing it from hitting your face, or your vital parts when standing 10 yards from a free kick!!!!!! You are deliberatley using your hands to revent an action from occouring!!! I suppose you got the ball in off the ref right so you can't be too bad, lol. I guess this also points out why we say referees are inconsistent!

Referee09
14/03/2010, 9:43 PM
Ref, "If a player brings his hands up to protect himself from a ball struck from close range, he is NOT controlling the ball with his arms. He is protecting his face with a natural reaction" I seriously beg to differ and would point out that you have stated the obvious in that a player "brings his hands" is bringing your hands in the direction of the ball!!!! You are also controlling the ball in that you are preventing it from hitting your face, or your vital parts when standing 10 yards from a free kick!!!!!! You are deliberatley using your hands to revent an action from occouring!!! I suppose you got the ball in off the ref right so you can't be too bad, lol. I guess this also points out why we say referees are inconsistent!

Subprime, I don't think you fully understand the offence of "handball". Finally and simply, if the player doesn't deliberately touch the ball with his hand, it's not handball. What you have poorly tried to describe above again, is not handball. Blocking your face with your hands is not hand to ball!!! End of the handball discussion for now. As for your last sentence, I'm assuming your referring to a different question asked earlier. Open your mind a little and you never know what you might learn.......................:rolleyes:

BigfeetBigsocks
15/03/2010, 9:41 AM
Subprime, I don't think you fully understand the offence of "handball". Finally and simply, if the player doesn't deliberately touch the ball with his hand, it's not handball. What you have poorly tried to describe above again, is not handball. Blocking your face with your hands is not hand to ball!!! End of the handball discussion for now. As for your last sentence, I'm assuming your referring to a different question asked earlier. Open your mind a little and you never know what you might learn.......................:rolleyes:


As The Ref states, it must be deemed to be deliberate handball. This one will split many refs however. For me you need to look at several things, the distance of the defender from the ball when it is struck, the pace of the ball, are the arms in an "unnatural position" i.e. is the defender trying to make himself bigger in an effort to block the ball. From what you described, I'm reading as this... the defender is only a few yards away and the ball is volleyed by the attacker so naturally the defender protects his face with his arms/hands. His arms aren't outstretched to the sides or above his head to make himself bigger and he is too close to avoid being hit. For me .......................play on, no offence. But I'd like to have seen it to be 100%. Far to many refs give free kicks and penalty kicks for handball incidents when it's obvious that there was no deliberate intent to handle the ball. Hope this helps rather than confuse!!


For a free kick or penalty to be awarded, the handball must be deliberate. The fact that the player moves his hand to protect his face would seem to me a deliberate action albeit to protect himself. Therefore in the example above I would give a free kick (or penalty if it occurred in the defenders penalty area)

The Ref

Why the arrogant response to the last post Referee9 he was only stating an opinion and the responses from two different referees just verified his opinion that there is inconsistences in this matter.

Referee09
15/03/2010, 2:20 PM
Why the arrogant response to the last post Referee9 he was only stating an opinion and the responses from two different referees just verified his opinion that there is inconsistences in this matter.

Please don't mistake something said in Jest (hence the rolled eyes smiley face) for arrogance. And as I said earlier, handball decisions split opinions everywhere.......For me, and this is my opinion only, but referees at junior level blow to many frees/penatlies for handball offences............

KevB76
23/03/2010, 6:06 PM
On the handball debate, we had this exact situation at Limerick v Derry recently, player in the box put in a cross at some pace and the Derry defender who was quite close raised his hand in front of his face just as he was about to get a mouthful of leather. There was no penalty, the ball went out for a corner (which it most likely would have done if it came off his face anyway).

I was well placed to see the incident, just behind the goal. For me this was the correct decision, a couple of important points, his hand went to his face, not to the ball, anyone could see it was a natural split-second reaction, and the intent was not to control the ball (which he didnt) but to protect his face.

I know some referees would give a penalty in this instance but there are a lot of refs who are very officious without much understanding, whereas there are other refs who have a better sense of the purpose of the rules and correct interpretation, and are better able to read a players actions and intent, hence you will always get inconsistencies.

Referee09
24/03/2010, 10:28 AM
With a lot of cup action on now ref09 what happens if a player takes 2 penalties before all other teamates have taken one, in a shootout and ref only spots it when its over. Is it, take the penalties again or leave it and let the league sort it out ie. replay? Would you yellow card the player who took it twice?

Ok.........Fistly as we're talking about Junior level football, I would have hoped that the referee informed both teams of the procedure for the penalty kicks before he bagan. Again the referee should be taking down the number of each player that comes up to take a penalty kick to avoid this situation. Now I'm assuming that the player hasn't changed jersey between his two kicks in an effort to deceive the referee and that his team have won the shootout. So the referee has made a mistake, and now the match has ended. It's not within the referees remit to do the penalties again and would only caution the player if he believes the player deliberately deceived him. So therefore IMO he would report the incident in detail to the League and let them decide on what action is to be taken.

Lev Yashin
06/04/2010, 8:02 PM
Quick question...Can a junior team be forced to play two matches midweek i.e. tuesday and then thursday??

Innishvilla
07/04/2010, 7:54 AM
Quick question...Can a junior team be forced to play two matches midweek i.e. tuesday and then thursday??

In Cork at the moment we have some clubs who've had the following fixture list:
Sunday, Tuesday, Thursday, Sunday, Tuesday, Thursday, Sunday - 7 games in 14 days!!!

Lev Yashin
07/04/2010, 9:06 AM
bad news for you shannon man a junior team can be forced to play two matches midweek but if ye go up to jackman and argue your case about players missing due to work etc ye can get one called off

Well if recent time are anything to go by then we wont get anything called off...more likely to get one on on the wednesday too

Referee09
07/04/2010, 10:29 AM
Well if recent time are anything to go by then we wont get anything called off...more likely to get one on on the wednesday too

Guys none of this has anything to do with the Laws of the Game. It's a League issue, so can we please keep this thread for questions relating to the LotG.

gaffers gaffer
12/04/2010, 10:07 AM
hi ref can u clear this simple rule up , defender takes a throw in and throws ball back to his goalie in his 18 yard box , goalie picks ball up, ref gives an indirect free kick, but does not give a caution was this the correct decition?

The Ref
12/04/2010, 1:39 PM
hi ref can u clear this simple rule up , defender takes a throw in and throws ball back to his goalie in his 18 yard box , goalie picks ball up, ref gives an indirect free kick, but does not give a caution was this the correct decition?

An indirect free kick is awarded to the opposing team if a goalkeeper, inside his own penalty area, commits any of the following four offences:
.....
• touches the ball with his hands after he has received it directly from a throw-in taken by a team-mate

So the indirect free kick is the correct decision.

A player is cautioned and shown the yellow card if he commits any of the following seven offences:

• unsporting behaviour
• dissent by word or action
• persistent infringement of the Laws of the Game
• delaying the restart of play
• failure to respect the required distance when play is restarted with a corner kick, free kick or throw-in
• entering or re-entering the fi eld of play without the referee’s permission
• deliberately leaving the field of play without the referee’s permission

As the picking up of a throw in would not normally fall under any of these offences, it would appear that the referee was correct in not cautioning the goalkeeper.

Hope this helps.

The Ref

mogus
13/04/2010, 7:43 PM
"remember a conversation 2 years ago. now its going to come back and bite u in the a--e" this is wat a ref said to a manager just before 2 dubious goals went in and subsequently a team being relegated..................................... i understand referees put up with a lot but surely this is wrong, if a player said something similar he would be fined or suspended and the only people to suffer here were honest young players over a ref holding a grudge


just lookin for any opinions on this

Round Tower
28/04/2010, 2:47 PM
For The Referee

We had a game recently where a no of times that when a player had to pass the ball bck to opposition keeper in a hop ball situation the referee done it himself and the game restarted with the goalkeeper kicking the ball out of his hands,its something i never seen before was he right, also on one ocasion we had the balin our posession when he stopped play for an injury to one of the opposition, when the game resumed he told our player to kick the ball back to the opposition keeper. These had no bearing on the result as we on the match.

The Ref
28/04/2010, 7:15 PM
For The Referee

We had a game recently where a no of times that when a player had to pass the ball bck to opposition keeper in a hop ball situation the referee done it himself and the game restarted with the goalkeeper kicking the ball out of his hands,its something i never seen before was he right, also on one ocasion we had the balin our posession when he stopped play for an injury to one of the opposition, when the game resumed he told our player to kick the ball back to the opposition keeper. These had no bearing on the result as we on the match.

In a drop ball situation, if a player passes the ball back to his opponents goalkeeper, the goalkeeper is entitled to pick the ball up if he is in his own penalty area and kick it out of his hands.

If there is a situation where the two teams wish to contest the drop ball, the referee must allow for the drop ball to be contested, he may suggest that one player pass the ball to his opponent but cannot insist. If the player refuses, he must permit the drop ball to be contested.

Round Tower
28/04/2010, 7:30 PM
In a drop ball situation, if a player passes the ball back to his opponents goalkeeper, the goalkeeper is entitled to pick the ball up if he is in his own penalty area and kick it out of his hands.

If there is a situation where the two teams wish to contest the drop ball, the referee must allow for the drop ball to be contested, he may suggest that one player pass the ball to his opponent but cannot insist. If the player refuses, he must permit the drop ball to be contested.


Have u ever heard where the Ref insisted he passed the ball back to the keeper himself and on the secound case he insisted we passed the ball back to their keeper when we were in pocession of the ball when he stopped the play. the referee was wrong in both cases was he not.

Innishvilla
29/04/2010, 10:59 AM
Hi ref, Always like your input. Last nights red card in the champions league semi - What do you think?

Me I'd struggle to see a card of any colour, yes he had his hands out and up but so do most players, Busquets ran into him , there was no swinging arm, see a lot of occasions where it wouldn't even be a foul. Definitely the players reaction was a disgrace, unless Motta had a sledge hammer hidden up his sleeve???
If the referee was being consistent he could have given Eto a straight red not long after when he did a similar offence near the sideline on Messi - again I thought it was barely a foul

The Ref
03/05/2010, 2:00 PM
Hi ref, Always like your input. Last nights red card in the champions league semi - What do you think?

Me I'd struggle to see a card of any colour, yes he had his hands out and up but so do most players, Busquets ran into him , there was no swinging arm, see a lot of occasions where it wouldn't even be a foul. Definitely the players reaction was a disgrace, unless Motta had a sledge hammer hidden up his sleeve???
If the referee was being consistent he could have given Eto a straight red not long after when he did a similar offence near the sideline on Messi - again I thought it was barely a foul

When I saw it first, I thought Red card, but when I saw the replay and slow motion, my opinion changed to caution. Busquets made a meal of it but Motto should never have raised his hand and in doing so, gave Busquets the opportunity to go down and force the referee make a decision. It must be remembered that the referee saw it once and in real time and while pundits disect every decision on TV afterwards, the have the advantage of slow motion, freeze frame etc.

As for the Eto incident, I missed that.

fionnsci
06/06/2010, 5:38 PM
Not so much lotg help I'm looking for but I was wondering if you could enlighten me because the FAI are no help.

Right so I did my beginners course last September and received a license valid until this December. What happens then? Do I have to do another course? The license is at "introductory level". How many levels are there and how do you move up? Also, how important are those reffing modules? - I missed one recently.

Any help appreciated.

old git
18/06/2010, 10:58 PM
Ref.... whats the ruling on penalty kicks has ball to be placed on spot.. at a game recently and player complained penalty spot was in a hole and tried to move ball to side of penalty spot.. ref warned him he would be booked if he did not take kick with ball on penalty spot... i always thought you could move ball sideways or behind spot :confused:

Subprime
21/06/2010, 10:36 AM
Hey Old Git, apparently it does not matter the condition of the penalty spot. Even if the hole is full of water that is where the penalty is taken from. If the penalty spot is not marked out, then the ref will usually use common sense (in most cases) and pick his own spot.

old git
22/06/2010, 12:09 AM
Hey Old Git, apparently it does not matter the condition of the penalty spot. Even if the hole is full of water that is where the penalty is taken from. If the penalty spot is not marked out, then the ref will usually use common sense (in most cases) and pick his own spot.

thanks subprime ... but would common sense from ref not apply to state of penalty spot also ,,,:ball:

old git
22/06/2010, 12:09 AM
Hey Old Git, apparently it does not matter the condition of the penalty spot. Even if the hole is full of water that is where the penalty is taken from. If the penalty spot is not marked out, then the ref will usually use common sense (in most cases) and pick his own spot.

thanks subprime ... but would common sense from ref not apply to state /condition of penalty spot also ,,,:ball:

Subprime
23/06/2010, 11:43 AM
Hi old git, apparently law 18 in theory does not cover it, but refs are always split on everything and just depends on the ref on the day, that's why we rarely mark out the penalty spot.

Round Tower
12/07/2010, 9:46 PM
Penalty shoot-out
Our U19 girls team reached the plate final in the San Marino tournement but lost on penalties. One of our girl's penalty in the shoot out, the keeper saved it on the line but the power of the shot the ball went over the line and the linesman flagged that the ball was over the line but the referee deemed that the penalty was saved and we lost the penalty shoot out. The referee told our manager after the game that was the law.

rambler14
12/07/2010, 10:53 PM
Penalty shoot-out
Our U19 girls team reached the plate final in the San Marino tournement but lost on penalties. One of our girl's penalty in the shoot out, the keeper saved it on the line but the power of the shot the ball went over the line and the linesman flagged that the ball was over the line but the referee deemed that the penalty was saved and we lost the penalty shoot out. The referee told our manager after the game that was the law.

Ref was wrong.

Round Tower
08/08/2010, 2:04 AM
This a good one for the REF,luckily enough for the ref it did not affevt the resault. Our opposition scored a goal at start secound half but there was a hole in the net,the ref did not signal the goal so we took a kick out and went up and scored. The opposition complained about their goal that was not given, the ref inquired off our keeper about the goal was it or not. He then gave their goal and disalowed ours, it did not matter in the end as we won 8-1 final score including the controversial goal.

Referee09
09/08/2010, 10:36 AM
This one is simple enough...............The Referee was wrong. From the outset he should of checked the nets at the beginning of the game and before the start of the second half to ensure that they were ok. Regarding the goal, at least he had the courage to change his decision but unfortunately as play had restarted with a goal kick after the ball went through the net, then technically he cannot alter his decision. Luckily as you say, the result was not affected..............