View Full Version : New FAI league

Pages : 1 2 [3] 4

22/08/2006, 11:12 AM
Yeah call it the FAI Con...for short....feckin hate thoughts of havin to get tongue around an Irish name. We are not the GAH.

Magicme - the GAA does not own the Irish language. Nor does any other sporting or political group in Irish society.

Irish was around for centuries before the GAA, and will hopefully be around for centuries more to come. Heaven forbid that any Irish institution might think of using a name in the Irish langauge...... :rolleyes:

Do you struggle to get your tongue round Irish names like ' Taioseach/Tanaiste' , 'Garda Siochana', 'Bord Failte', 'Iarnrod Eireann' , 'Fianna Fail', Fianna Gael', 'Luas', 'Baile Atha Cliath' , 'Eire' , 'Dail' etc etc etc etc.........? :o

22/08/2006, 11:18 AM
Fair enough Steve. I just hate the whole parocial feelin of the GAA & how backwards they r & tbh feel that if we use an Irish phrase to name the league that we are putting ourselves very much into our parish instead of venturing out into the big bad world of International football. I would love if I could speak Irish but I dont and dont see why just coz we are Irish we should have a gaelige name for the league.

22/08/2006, 11:30 AM
Genesis did 'research' and you should see the names they came out with.
They'd hardly use a foot.ie thread as the basis for anything...

Presumably you'd want a top marketing and/or advertising firm to be coming up with suggestions, along with the campaign to go with the relaunch. Then's the time to come to the fans too see what they think.

22/08/2006, 11:35 AM
They'd hardly use a foot.ie thread as the basis for anything...
Oh, no. They'd never do anything like that. Certainly not for attendance figures. What's that? They did?

Presumably you'd want a top marketing and/or advertising firm to be coming up with suggestions, along with the campaign to go with the relaunch. Then's the time to come to the fans too see what they think.
Genesis are a ... marketing firm. (I refuse to comment on their status as such, but I have a low opinion of marketing to begin with.) They came up with utter ****e as potential names. Their suggestions have been mocked repeatedly on this site.

22/08/2006, 11:39 AM
Genesis are a ... marketing firm. (I refuse to comment on their status as such, but I have a low opinion of marketing to begin with.) They came up with utter ****e as potential names. Their suggestions have been mocked repeatedly on this site.
Seriously? So the whole future of the football in this country has been decided by a marketing firm, whose best effort was to come up with "the premiership". DELANEY OUT NOW.

22/08/2006, 11:47 AM
Seriously? So the whole future of the football in this country has been decided by a marketing firm, whose best effort was to come up with "the premiership". DELANEY OUT NOW.
Sorry, management consulting - frankly, in the same boat as marketing in my book.

22/08/2006, 12:20 PM
*sigh* (for the one millionth time regarding genesis, delaney and the FAI

22/08/2006, 1:09 PM
Can't even remember if they even came up with The Premiership. The eircom Super Professional League was one though. A league like that's got to be Super...and Professional...

It's not ideal - not pretending it is. But hey, if one spark comes from all the eL fans, why not?

sullanefc
22/08/2006, 2:24 PM
The Irish word for 'league' is 'conradh' : though that has taken on more of a political meaning over the last century. I assume by 'Leig' you were trying to come up with an Irish version of an English word ?

TG4 use the word 'Sraith'

An Sraith Eircom??

I just looked it up on a translator site, Sraith = Series.

I think it's a better word than conradh, so why not stick with it.

sullanefc
22/08/2006, 2:26 PM
Magicme - the GAA does not own the Irish language. Nor does any other sporting or political group in Irish society.

Irish was around for centuries before the GAA, and will hopefully be around for centuries more to come. Heaven forbid that any Irish institution might think of using a name in the Irish langauge...... :rolleyes:

Do you struggle to get your tongue round Irish names like ' Taioseach/Tanaiste' , 'Garda Siochana', 'Bord Failte', 'Iarnrod Eireann' , 'Fianna Fail', Fianna Gael', 'Luas', 'Baile Atha Cliath' , 'Eire' , 'Dail' etc etc etc etc.........? :o

Well said. This is an Irish league, and an Irish name should be considered at least.

22/08/2006, 2:47 PM
Purple Headed Warriors - played against them myself back in the day. A 3-3 draw and I had a shocker. Cost us second place in the league. We equalised at one stage and I (in nets) ran the length of the pitch to celebrate and tell yer man what his name was. Ah, memories. :)

Superleague Division 2 table, 1999/00 season...

Team P W D L F A Pts
Real Krapp 10 8 0 2 45 23 24
Purple Headed Warriors 10 6 2 2 40 24 20
Inter Uranus 10 6 1 3 49 16 19
THEYALL BETIS 10 6 1 3 34 16 19
Drug Squad 9 5 2 2 21 14 17
Our Lads Are Hard 10 4 0 6 27 26 12
Spit Roaster Rovers 8 4 0 4 20 25 12
Harchester United 8 3 0 5 19 27 9
69ers 7 2 0 5 12 37 6
Maccs Smurfs 7 1 0 6 10 34 3
LSD Jensen 9 1 0 8 14 47 3

I made a couple of substitute appearances for "Our lads are hard" back in 1999/2000. Can't believe they still exist.

22/08/2006, 2:51 PM
I made a couple of substitute appearances for "Our lads are hard" back in 1999/2000. Can't believe they still exist.
Er, that's the 99/00 table. I don't think they're still about.

Merc67
22/08/2006, 6:15 PM
Very Freudian Merc - Leig means 'neglect/ruin/decay' in Irish.

'The FAI Neglect, Division 1'. It's perfect..... :

The Irish word for 'league' is 'conradh' : though that has taken on more of a political meaning over the last century. I assume by 'Leig' you were trying to come up with an Irish version of an English word ?
ive defo heard RnaG folk use Léig na h-Eireann...and i think ti would work a lot better than Conradh or Sraith.

Conradh, as in Conradh na gaeilge, does have that political feel, it also means contract:) which, we know, is a no-no in this league and unenforcable:).

Sraith is just too hard for most people to say, for some reaason, and doesnt look good.

hence the Léig.:)

Merc67
22/08/2006, 6:18 PM
Fair enough Steve. I just hate the whole parocial feelin of the GAA & how backwards they r & tbh feel that if we use an Irish phrase to name the league that we are putting ourselves very much into our parish instead of venturing out into the big bad world of International football. I would love if I could speak Irish but I dont and dont see why just coz we are Irish we should have a gaelige name for the league.

GAA backward?? have you been to Croker or any provincial stadium?

now have you been to any of the wonderful arena we have in the eL

you're not just one of those Irish folk carrying the weight of post colonial blues with regard to our own language are you?
that is so sad.

22/08/2006, 8:43 PM
I don't think an Irish name should be considered because most people in this country hate the language.

sullanefc
22/08/2006, 9:00 PM
Sraith is just too hard for most people to say, for some reaason, and doesnt look good.

Sh-rah. Not that hard;)

hence the Léig.:)
Leig sounds made up. I don't think it's an actual irish word.

Edit: It is an actual irish word. It was posted above. I've also looked it up here (http://www.englishirishdictionary.com/dictionary). Means something completely different:

vi: (fade) dul i léig: to peter out

vi síothlaigh, téigh i léig die away;

dul i léig, dul as feidhm: to fall into disuse;

22/08/2006, 9:54 PM
I don't think an Irish name should be considered because most people in this country hate the language.
That's nonsense. Maybe a lot of schoolgoers like yourself hate it, butthere is certainly no particular dislike of the language in Ireland. Most people I know who took the "hating Irish" attitude in school are now p!ssed off they don't have more of it.

22/08/2006, 10:04 PM
That's nonsense. Maybe a lot of schoolgoers like yourself hate it, butthere is certainly no particular dislike of the language in Ireland. Most people I know who took the "hating Irish" attitude in school are now p!ssed off they don't have more of it.
OK you're right that my opinion has been swaded by my age but seeing that the FAI is trying to re-launch the league and with the new name being part of that launch it has to be taken into consideration in trying to attract new fans to the league. The best market to target is young people before they get to attatched to English teams so I think it would be better for the name to be in English.

22/08/2006, 10:16 PM
Young people before they get attached to the English league are far too young to have an emotion about an Irish name.

22/08/2006, 11:55 PM
Young people before they get attached to the English league are far too young to have an emotion about an Irish name.

Good point.

Also - it's ridiculous to suggest that a name in Irish would be the breaking or saving of our league on it's own

The GAA liberally sprinkle Irish around, and look at the crowds they get....! :eek:

I doub the FAI would give serious consideration to a nme in Irish, but I'd personally still like to see at least one suggested.

If only we could agree on what was the most appropriate wording to use (bloody languages....:D 0

I still like 'Craobh na h'Eireann' and 'An Craobh' - as in The Irish Championship. Easy to prounce, and sounds half decent. An Craobh (pronounced : 'an creev') is a decent shorthand name I think.

Bald Student
23/08/2006, 12:12 AM
An Craobh (pronounced : 'an creev')It is in me hole (or me heeel as you'd probably say).

It's pronounced An CraaáAá-ve.

sullanefc
23/08/2006, 12:58 AM
An Craobh (pronounced : 'an creev')

It is in me hole (or me heeel as you'd probably say).

Bloody Ulster Irish :p

I'm with Bald Student on this one, in Munster and Leinster it's pronounced Cray-ov

23/08/2006, 8:05 AM
I have been in Croker on a few occasions and it is wonderful but dont try to tell me that the GAA have built that on their own. As for their local stadia...yes they are great but what I mean about backward is that politically they were stuck in a timewarp for donkeys and other than a few pockets around the world it is very much a parocial sport. Thats what I mean by backward.

23/08/2006, 8:30 AM
Er, that's the 99/00 table. I don't think they're still about.

How stupid of me. I see it says that at the top now! :(

23/08/2006, 10:17 AM
It is in me hole (or me heeel as you'd probably say).

Gailege Uladh abu ! :D

The diference is that in the north we reduce the number of syllables used in words e.g. the name Ciaran would be pronounced 'Keern' (one syllable) in the north, and 'Kee-ar-on' or 'Keer-on' in the south.

But no-one in the north would pronounce 'hole' as 'heeel'.... :confused:

bigmac
23/08/2006, 12:40 PM
But no-one in the north would pronounce 'hole' as 'heeel'.... :confused:

would it be more like "heil"? :)

RogerMilla
23/08/2006, 12:50 PM
i reckon the league should be re-christend the "Eirship"

23/08/2006, 1:51 PM
Snakes On A League?

bad mongo
23/08/2006, 1:56 PM
The Eir " muthaf*****' shiznit" ship

23/08/2006, 2:04 PM
Snakes On A League?

I want these motherfcukin' snakes off this motherfcukin' League! :)

23/08/2006, 2:09 PM
Given that formula has so far failed to improve cinema attendances (http://www.theglobeandmail.com/servlet/story/RTGAM.20060822.wxsnake22/BNStory/Entertainment/home)... :p

23/08/2006, 3:29 PM
would it be more like "heil"? :)

No, just 'hole'.

Merc67
24/08/2006, 12:47 AM
Gailege Uladh abu !

The diference is that in the north we reduce the number of syllables used in words e.g. the name Ciaran would be pronounced 'Keern' (one syllable) in the north, and 'Kee-ar-on' or 'Keer-on' in the south.

But no-one in the north would pronounce 'hole' as 'heeel'.... :

Cén saghas ráiméis é sin!?!??

Ciarán = Keern?? only in the mind of retards *can i say that?;) *
Keern is said by those accustomed to the anglicised version of the name or those ignorant to the purpose of fada's...:(

the point is it's ciar- Á-n... it's not a dialect that makes the name different, it's the brain speaking it:)

24/08/2006, 9:47 AM
in the north... the name Ciaran would be pronounced 'Keern' (one syllable) in the north
*shakes fist at nordies* pronounce it right. :mad:

24/08/2006, 12:58 PM
What right have you to compain? You don't even spell it right!

24/08/2006, 1:06 PM

:D :p

24/08/2006, 7:01 PM
Touché...

Merc67
24/08/2006, 11:05 PM

who's that aimed at?

nshoop
24/08/2006, 11:08 PM
schumi

25/08/2006, 1:02 PM
schumi
Who spells Ciarán Ciaran. That's seriously injokey PS.

25/08/2006, 1:03 PM
I never denied that!

25/08/2006, 1:11 PM
Who spells Ciarán Ciaran. That's seriously injokey PS.
That is a way of spelling the name. I remember I chose that for my Confirmation name.

25/08/2006, 1:41 PM
I think it's one way of spelling it in the same way as "Keeeern" is one way of pronouncing it...

25/08/2006, 1:41 PM
I just hate the whole parocial feelin of the GAA & how backwards they r & tbh feel that if we use an Irish phrase to name the league that we are putting ourselves very much into our parish instead

when you dont know what you are talking about, dont talk. ;)

there are as many if not more backward people "into soccer" where im from than gaelic and around the country as a whole.

nshoop
25/08/2006, 1:42 PM
So the new fai league...

fitzknows
28/08/2006, 4:22 PM
'An Premiershipín'

steno
28/08/2006, 8:12 PM
Eire A and Eire B , I league sounds terrible
or just the Premiership and Division One with Sponsors name in front.

GalwayFrancis
28/08/2006, 8:28 PM
Eire A and Eire B , I league sounds terrible
or just the Premiership and Division One with Sponsors name in front.

Eire A & Eire B is so simple it could work.
The I League is kinda catchy, like the J League n the likes.
Dont like The 'Sponsor Premiership'. It would sound 2nd rate
to the English's 'The Premiership'. Everything the english do is
The This, The That. The Fa Cup - The Ashes - The Premiership
The Fa - im sure the list goes on, should it not be - The FAE
(football ass of english). It really annoys me, so anything before
'The eircom Premiership' or what ever.

29/08/2006, 10:49 AM
Eire A & Eire B is so simple it could work.
The I League is kinda catchy, like the J League n the likes.
Dont like The 'Sponsor Premiership'. It would sound 2nd rate
to the English's 'The Premiership'. Everything the english do is
The This, The That. The Fa Cup - The Ashes - The Premiership
The Fa - im sure the list goes on, should it not be - The FAE
(football ass of english). It really annoys me, so anything before
'The eircom Premiership' or what ever.
Actually, it's The Barcleycard Premiership or whatever. The difference is that they ignore the sponsor, where as the sponsor ignores us.

29/08/2006, 12:44 PM
It's "The FA Cup sponsored by AXA" too.

I'll collate the suggestions anyway and get the best/most serious ones together and send them in shortly.