View Full Version : New FAI league

Pages : 1 [2] 3 4

steno
17/08/2006, 9:22 PM
How about the Justice League of America?

OR
Masters of the Universe for the Premier and The League of Extraordinary Gentlemen for the 1st Division:D

Ah no seriously would it be possible to do this as a poll or is their too many suggestions?

17/08/2006, 10:38 PM
How about

FAI Eircom Irish Premier

FAI Eircom Irish First Division.

So crazy it might just work.

Might get confused with the league in the North in my opinion...

For me it has to be:

Eircom League of Ireland Premier/First Division.

Red&White
18/08/2006, 12:38 AM
We should be able to take 'Irish League.' By far the best name in my opinion.

*Sulks*

manic da hoop
18/08/2006, 8:24 AM
or...

The Irish Football Experience Featuring Damien Richardson

18/08/2006, 9:30 AM
The Human League

Alan Kelly would fit right in! :D

Strabane_Harp
18/08/2006, 9:38 AM
I dont think we should worry about being confused with the Nordie league. No one outside of Belfast knows it exists anyway.

18/08/2006, 9:59 AM
I dont think we should worry about being confused with the Nordie league. No one outside of Belfast knows it exists anyway.

To be fair, it's actually the other way around.

Most foreign press seem to call us 'the Irish league' - probably due to lazy or presumptious journalism.

Strabane_Harp
18/08/2006, 10:01 AM
we are the league of ireland, therefore the Irish league.

same way as we would call the league in Sweden the swedish league rather than wat its called

lefty
18/08/2006, 11:50 AM
That might be a problem seen as the North call their league the Irish League

18/08/2006, 11:51 AM
We could claim they didn't inform us, or at least failed to do so at the correct time, and then steal the name anyway. :)

Strabane_Harp
18/08/2006, 12:44 PM
or we could play the trump card if they object

'so your admitting ye's are irish then after all are ye's'

they wouldnt know what hit them :p

18/08/2006, 1:10 PM
The Human League

Alan Kelly would fit right in! :D

Alan Kelly is human? :eek:

Strabane_Harp
18/08/2006, 1:49 PM
Language people, children are reading, next person to use the profanity A**n K**ly will get a stiff talking too

bigmac
18/08/2006, 1:52 PM
That might be a problem seen as the North call their league the Irish League

We could just call ours An Irish League so :D

18/08/2006, 2:02 PM
Alan Kelly is human? :eek:

No but he looks like an 80's reject

stevieontour
18/08/2006, 3:03 PM
Has to be the I-League

lefty
18/08/2006, 3:07 PM
IPL - Irish Premier League, just like the SPL and WPL

lefty
18/08/2006, 3:08 PM
Oh- question: Am i the only one on here that thinks the I-League sounds bent?

nshoop
18/08/2006, 3:09 PM
No I agree,I-League sounds bent

nshoop
18/08/2006, 3:10 PM
I'm just posting again to get rid of my 333posts just incase it's bad luck on me or the hoops tonight

Buller
19/08/2006, 11:34 AM
IPL - Irish Premier League, just like the SPL and WPL

Sure it cant be called that because of the irish league up north, thats why its LOI sure... :rolleyes:
Im not sure about "i-league", its alot better then "premiership" though!

19/08/2006, 12:36 PM
I'm just posting again to get rid of my 333posts just incase it's bad luck on me or the hoops tonight

Multiply that by 2 there sunshine :eek: it's 666 that some people consider bad luck :rolleyes: :p

19/08/2006, 8:06 PM
I think 666 is considerably more than bad luck...

19/08/2006, 9:19 PM
Raheny Red, in cricketing circles any multiple of 111 (a "Nelson" - from the erroneous belief that Admiral Nelson had one eye, one arm and one leg, when in fact he enjoyed a full complement of legs) is considered bad luck. This is the only superstition I observe. :o

19/08/2006, 9:25 PM
Hold on here- wasn't Nelson famous for winning- I don't see how the leap is made to it being bad luck! Sure he lost a few bits along the way, but the man had a seriously good record. Unlucky he was not.

19/08/2006, 9:37 PM
The term "Nelson" was attached to the superstition retrospectively for the reasons listed above. I think it's considered an unlucky score because Australia have been dismissed for 111 (a low aggregate for a team) on several prominent occasions.

But on a side-note, get someone to chop your arm off and see how lucky you feel afterwards!

Buller
19/08/2006, 9:55 PM
im lost.... :confused: :rolleyes:

nshoop
20/08/2006, 1:22 AM
Multiply that by 2 there sunshine :eek: it's 666 that some people consider bad luck : :p

Sunshine?,from a shels fan:confused:

20/08/2006, 10:07 AM
Sunshine?,from a shels fan:confused:

Yes!!

21/08/2006, 9:31 AM
we are the league of ireland, therefore the Irish league.

same way as we would call the league in Sweden the swedish league rather than wat its called

Errrr - no ! We are (or were...) the League of Ireland, therefore the League of Ireland....! :)

To be fair, we split off from the north, so Irish League is theirs by right in every way.

I've now come round to the idea of IPL - Irish Premier League.

David
21/08/2006, 9:44 AM
Errrr - no ! We are (or were...) the League of Ireland, therefore the League of Ireland....! :)

To be fair, we split off from the north, so Irish League is theirs by right in every way.

I've now come round to the idea of IPL - Irish Premier League.

Would still lead to confusion probably although admittedly that is probably unavoidable anyway. As far as I know (and I am not sure to be honest) we are now known as the Carnegie Irish Premier League. I grew up calling your league the League of Ireland and speaking from the outside that makes the most sense to me.

21/08/2006, 10:15 AM
I hate the I League name.....thought it was not too bad a few months back when it was first suggested but after reading it in every feckin post in this thread & in some others I really have gone off it....what would it be like if had to read it everyday for the rest of my days?? Naw its naff.

FAI Eircom Premier League is the sensible option. Have to have FAI and Eircom in there so keep it simple after that...or do like the weather and change to having Smart sponser it and we could have the Smart(a*se)FAI Premier League

21/08/2006, 2:26 PM
I hate the I League name.....thought it was not too bad a few months back when it was first suggested but after reading it in every feckin post in this thread & in some others I really have gone off it....what would it be like if had to read it everyday for the rest of my days?? Naw its naff.

FAI Eircom Premier League is the sensible option. Have to have FAI and Eircom in there so keep it simple after that...or do like the weather and change to having Smart sponser it and we could have the Smart(a*se)FAI Premier League

Every league you can think of in the world has short, snappy names : the Premiership, SPL, Budesliga, La Liga, Championat, Eredivisie, J-League, K-League etc etc etc. Their official titles may be longer, due to the insertion of sponsor names, but they are essentiallty known by their shorter non-sponsored names.

The title of our league should likewsie be short and snappy, minus the sponsors name. It cannot be like the current situation - where the 'Eircom League' would effectively be nameless without our sponsor. We do no need to have the FAI's name in any league title - it's just unnecessary.

Beyond that, it's so difficult to come up with any decent, interesting, unique name. All the obvious ones are already being used in England or the North.

The 'as Gaeilge' route would therefore provide unique names that would work and be distinctively Irish. However, I suspect the FAI would have an inherent bias against using the language, for fear of it being seen to be too old fashioned (or for fear of exposding their own malevolance towards it). It might also scare off those with little knowledge or a dislike of the langauge, and be an interesting spectacle seeign forign commentators try to prounounce them (though that is no reason not to use a language) :

Some 'as Gaeilge' suggestions would be :

- Craobh na h'Eireann (Irish Championship)
- An Craobh (or An Craobhchluiche) : The Championship
- An Conradh Priomha (Premier League)
- An Rannan* Chead (First Division) (*I'm not certain of this lexicon)

21/08/2006, 4:02 PM
Irish is never snappy.

21/08/2006, 5:17 PM
Irish is never snappy.

It is if you're an Irish speaker....! :p

21/08/2006, 6:38 PM
Some 'as Gaeilge' suggestions would be :
- An Conradh Priomha (Premier League)

Would this not be "An Príomh Sraith"? Two fewer syllables too - goes with your snappiness.

Can you imagine the RTÉ newscasters trying to say that, never mind Sky. :eek:

21/08/2006, 7:34 PM
The Ollie Byrne Appeals League?

dynamo kerry
21/08/2006, 7:44 PM
FAI <insert sponsor> Super League.

too much ucd-bias

unless you're going to have a team called the purple headed warriors

ucd fans tell me I'm wrong

21/08/2006, 8:24 PM
Purple Headed Warriors - played against them myself back in the day. A 3-3 draw and I had a shocker. Cost us second place in the league. We equalised at one stage and I (in nets) ran the length of the pitch to celebrate and tell yer man what his name was. Ah, memories. :)

Superleague Division 2 table, 1999/00 season...

Team P W D L F A Pts
Real Krapp 10 8 0 2 45 23 24
Purple Headed Warriors 10 6 2 2 40 24 20
Inter Uranus 10 6 1 3 49 16 19
THEYALL BETIS 10 6 1 3 34 16 19
Drug Squad 9 5 2 2 21 14 17
Our Lads Are Hard 10 4 0 6 27 26 12
Spit Roaster Rovers 8 4 0 4 20 25 12
Harchester United 8 3 0 5 19 27 9
69ers 7 2 0 5 12 37 6
Maccs Smurfs 7 1 0 6 10 34 3
LSD Jensen 9 1 0 8 14 47 3

21/08/2006, 8:29 PM
It just warms my heart as a taxpayer that does..................

Student Mullet
21/08/2006, 8:37 PM
Purple Headed Warriors - played against them myself back in the day. A 3-3 draw and I had a shocker. Cost us second place in the league. We equalised at one stage and I (in nets) ran the length of the pitch to celebrate and tell yer man what his name was. Ah, memories. :)

Superleague Division 2 table, 1999/00 season...

Team P W D L F A Pts
Real Krapp 10 8 0 2 45 23 24
Purple Headed Warriors 10 6 2 2 40 24 20
Inter Uranus 10 6 1 3 49 16 19
THEYALL BETIS 10 6 1 3 34 16 19
Drug Squad 9 5 2 2 21 14 17
Our Lads Are Hard 10 4 0 6 27 26 12
Spit Roaster Rovers 8 4 0 4 20 25 12
Harchester United 8 3 0 5 19 27 9
69ers 7 2 0 5 12 37 6
Maccs Smurfs 7 1 0 6 10 34 3
LSD Jensen 9 1 0 8 14 47 3

Was it a bruising encounter when the purple headed warriors played inter uranus?

21/08/2006, 8:49 PM
If I may quote from the Theyall Betis Match Programme of that week...

"In league action, the eagerly-awaited clash between Inter Uranus and the Purple Headed Warriors took place a couple of weeks ago. In the end, Inter Uranus forced the Warriors to suc-cumb, which, given the fact that the Warriors had league aspirations of their own, must have been very bitter for them to swallow (Sorry, but that had to be said…I’m going away now - Ed)."

21/08/2006, 9:58 PM
It just warms my heart as a taxpayer that does..................
In fairness, it costs the players the equivalent of a heavy night's drinking to register, and the whole thing costs the taxpayer nothing.

Red&White
21/08/2006, 11:13 PM
In fairness, it costs the players the equivalent of a heavy night's drinking

In Dublin? They must have had to remortgage.

Merc67
21/08/2006, 11:37 PM
Irish can often be too clumsy in the context of a modern commercially orientated organisation but i think there should definitely be thought given to it.

it would mark the league out as a distinctive one and also give the language a boost (which i think is important, though not the over riding issue here)

One problem would be pronounciation, given that there's already a lack of proper understanding here of the language and the 'Irish' Independent and the Daily Mail would probably balk at anything remotely Irish, fcukers that they are.

I think 'An Léig' is good (La Liga, basically) while Léig 1 and Léig 2 work for me too.

'LÉIG 1' looks spot on to me, cant really find any problems with that.

I liked I-League too, but its a little formulaic and common by now, no?

22/08/2006, 1:32 AM
Irish can often be too clumsy in the context of a modern commercially orientated organisation but i think there should definitely be thought given to it.

it would mark the league out as a distinctive one and also give the language a boost (which i think is important, though not the over riding issue here)

One problem would be pronounciation, given that there's already a lack of proper understanding here of the language and the 'Irish' Independent and the Daily Mail would probably balk at anything remotely Irish, fcukers that they are.

I think 'An Léig' is good (La Liga, basically) while Léig 1 and Léig 2 work for me too.

'LÉIG 1' looks spot on to me, cant really find any problems with that.

I liked I-League too, but its a little formulaic and common by now, no?

Very Freudian Merc - Leig means 'neglect/ruin/decay' in Irish. :eek: :o

'The FAI Neglect, Division 1'. It's perfect..... :D

The Irish word for 'league' is 'conradh' : though that has taken on more of a political meaning over the last century. I assume by 'Leig' you were trying to come up with an Irish version of an English word ?

22/08/2006, 9:43 AM
Yeah call it the FAI Con...for short....feckin hate thoughts of havin to get tongue around an Irish name. We are not the GAH.

I see what ur sayin dcfcsteve but what I forgot to say in my piece was that the shortened verision of the FAI Eircom Premier League would be the EPL. After the FAI taking over the league do u really think they wont want their name in the official title??

22/08/2006, 9:58 AM
At a recent meeting between the NLSA (National League Supporters' Association) and the FAI, the FAI noted that the proposed name for the new league, the Premiership, has to date been only a working name. The FAI has asked for supporters to submit suggested alternative titles.
So the merged, relaunched league is going to have name thought up by either the FAI or supporters suggestions. As opposed to them actually doing research with a credible company to come up with an effective name?

Bald Student
22/08/2006, 10:53 AM
So the merged, relaunched league is going to have name thought up by either the FAI or supporters suggestions. As opposed to them actually doing research with a credible company to come up with an effective name?Genesis did 'research' and you should see the names they came out with.

22/08/2006, 11:04 AM
Genesis did 'research' and you should see the names they came out with.
He said with a credible company Bald.