View Full Version : Red Star v Cork City

02/08/2006, 12:12 PM
Paddy Power Betting specials (http://www.paddypower.com/bet?action=show_event_by_markets&chosen_ev_id=675972&category=SOCCER)

Any predictions from neutrals? As a City fan i never do predictions.

Soper
02/08/2006, 12:16 PM
I think it'll be 0-0 going into the final 10 minutes, and then Cork will sneak an equalizer, then hold on till penalties.Someones got to be positive:cool:

02/08/2006, 12:19 PM
Sadly I reckon about 2-0 to Red Star. I'd love to see Cork do it, but I just think it's beyond them. Absolute best result I could envisage is a draw, which won't be enough. Is O'Flynn going to start, anyone know ? If they'd had himself, Gamble and O'Callaghan last week things just might have been different.

02/08/2006, 12:23 PM
3-0 to Cervena

Although a 3-2 win for Red Star at 40-1 appeals to me with Paddy's:o but would Cork score two goals?

02/08/2006, 12:30 PM
3 or 4 nil Red Star, Cork would ask them plenty of questions if they had a full compliment, and their temperment may be suspect, Red Star but Cork just don't have the players because of all the suspensions etc

as above Corks best hope is to keep it scoreless for the first 25 mins - if they do that they'll turn the crowd and possibly unnerve an impatient Red Star

Murray is a massive loss though on both fronts - attacking frm set plays and defending

Vitruvian Man
02/08/2006, 12:39 PM
I'm sorry to say it, but this tie reminds me a lot of when we played Rosenborg in the champions league a few years ago. They beat us without breaking sweat at home before opening a can of whoop-ass in Trondheim.

I fear that the same thing is going to happen here.

Sorry about that pete.

chippie0001
02/08/2006, 12:40 PM
Will be backing Red Star misuc 1 maybe minus 2 on the handicap and 1.25 on Betfair on the Serbs ain't a bad price in itself.

bluemovie
02/08/2006, 12:52 PM
Cork were desperately unlucky to lose the first leg, but I'm afraid that was their chance gone. I'd like to have seen how Cork's full squad could have done over two legs, but given all the players missing, I'd say this will be a comfortable two or three goal victory for Red Star. Hope I'm wrong.

02/08/2006, 1:09 PM
If cark score I'll be happy. Probably 2-1 or 3-1 to RS. If cark advance it will be the best result by an Irish side away ever.

02/08/2006, 1:17 PM
Reports that the 50k stadium will be half full.

I think O'Flynn will play.

Rico asked in press conference "How much you expect to lose by..."

02/08/2006, 2:45 PM
I reckon 3/4-0 to Red Star but I put a couple of quid on the village to win 1-0 at 33/1

02/08/2006, 2:51 PM
I'd like to see Cork go for it from the off really put it up to them rather than sit back for 20/25 mins. I know its a risk they could be caught on the break, but its worth it if they get an early goal and shake the serbs up they could crumble. would like to see cork using plenty of sportsmanship too like time-wasting etc to prevent RED-Star getting into any kind of rhythm. I hate that kind of crap in general but have lost count of the times teams have gotten results by using this controversial tactic and at the end of the day it's been done to Irish clubs in the past. you know what they say nice guy's finish last.

dav_sfc
02/08/2006, 2:58 PM
Remember when Shels played Hajduk Split. Shels scored in the first 5 minutes in the first game, got out played for the next 80 minutes and conceded 3 goals. We scored an *ahem* consolation goal at the end of the game. Enter leg 2. Hadjuk show up thinking it would be easy. They played for a draw, up step Davey Rogers with an absolute screamer! Queue Hajduk panic, queue joey Ndo's bit of magic and pass across the box to a grateful Alan Moore. 2-0 shels all over but the crying. We all went crazy and I even somehow injured my girlfriend in the wild celebrations.
Why not a Cork win, Brown Star probably think this tie is already all over. I fancy a Cork goal over there and Cork to sneak it 2-0 in the end.
Then bring on AC Milan, though i was disgusted to hear they got into the CL.

bigmac
02/08/2006, 3:24 PM
Then bring on AC Milan, though i was disgusted to hear they got into the CL.

I agree - absolute disgrace. They conspired to influence the results of matches and they should be thrown out and a much more severe penalty imposed. Not surprised that the Italian FA bottled it though - wouldn't be surprised to see them back down over Juve either.

As an aside - if they're expunging records for the last however many years, what does that do the the Italian coefficient?

02/08/2006, 3:32 PM
They're not expunging euro results

CuanaD
02/08/2006, 4:09 PM
I'm sorry to say it, but this tie reminds me a lot of when we played Rosenborg in the champions league a few years ago. They beat us without breaking sweat at home before opening a can of whoop-ass in Trondheim.

I fear that the same thing is going to happen here.

Sorry about that pete.

I'd be worried about that too:(

BUT,
i'm still hopefull of 'another upset' - especially if o'flynn can play - early goal for Cork & . . . . fingers crossed!

Gareth
02/08/2006, 4:31 PM
**SPOILER**

Early Red Card for Red Star and results in a Peno which Cork score.

They hold out till 83 minutes when Red Star score.

But in the last minute, Cork score after a lazy back pass from Red Star allow a Cork man in. Cork fans go mental, Cork are voted UEFA team of the Month and every barstooler in teh country collaspe at teh prospect of AC playing in Ireland competitively.

Its gonna happen. I am just sorry I ruined the surprise.

BohsFans
02/08/2006, 4:34 PM
Some Cork goal scorers you can bet on with paddypower:

J Gamble 12-1
D Murray 18-1
D Coughlan 20 - 1
S Guthrie 25 - 1
D Murphy 25 - 1

02/08/2006, 4:35 PM
Any predictions from neutrals?
Would love to see Cork do it but can see a 3 or 4 nil defeat on the cards.

CuanaD
02/08/2006, 4:46 PM
Some Cork goal scorers you can bet on with paddypower:

J Gamble 12-1
D Murray 18-1
D Coughlan 20 - 1
S Guthrie 25 - 1
D Murphy 25 - 1

No georgie? :D

02/08/2006, 5:12 PM
Red Star 4-0 Cork.

At least. Cork will get walloped.

Would Derry have done any better, if they were playing Red Star instead?

Gareth
02/08/2006, 5:45 PM
Squad is too lightweight past the first 11 alas.

CharlesThompson
02/08/2006, 5:54 PM
As with a lot of others here I really do hope that Cork can somehow manage to get through tonight, however I cannot see them losing by less than 2 goals.

02/08/2006, 6:25 PM
1-0 Red Star :(

02/08/2006, 6:44 PM
whats the score now?

dont know how up to date this is:

http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/football/5240360.stm

fair play to the bbc for putting this up mind. rte dont even have a link off to it on the main sport page. :(

02/08/2006, 6:49 PM
2-0 now.

02/08/2006, 6:49 PM
2-0 to Crvena Zvezda.

02/08/2006, 6:52 PM
2-0 Game over :(

Gareth
02/08/2006, 7:02 PM
I can do updates on teh sHels site for teh second half if anyone cares? If you want some I'll do them no probs. Half time. cork have nothing to offer in any way shape or form. Its very hard to watch.

02/08/2006, 7:05 PM
I can do updates on teh sHels site for teh second half if anyone cares? If you want some I'll do them no probs. Half time. cork have nothing to offer in any way shape or form. Its very hard to watch.

Id love it please........probably just depress me more but sure

Im in Bulgaria so cant watch it

rebs23
02/08/2006, 7:07 PM
Unfortunately they are a different class!

nshoop
02/08/2006, 7:13 PM
Still reckon ac will hammer them over two legs

Gareth
02/08/2006, 7:15 PM
http://www.shelbournefc.ie/matchzone/matchzone.php?matchid=9193

I'll try get the teams in now , at least Corks. I have no logo for Red Star :)

02/08/2006, 7:16 PM

Thanks Gareth much appreciated

02/08/2006, 7:18 PM
Roddy giving out about Cork having too small a squad and not investing enough since their league win during half time analysis. He reckons Cork are going backwards and is giving out about Rico a bit.

Dyl10
02/08/2006, 7:20 PM
Roddy giving out about Cork having too small a squad and not investing enough since their league win during half time analysis. He reckons Cork are going backwards and is giving out about Rico a bit.

Dont agree with him usually but he's spot on this time

Gareth
02/08/2006, 7:26 PM
Thanks Gareth much appreciated

No problems. Team is in. Don't have the subs to hand.

02/08/2006, 7:26 PM
Behan with a good headed chance from 10 metres out. He was unmarked, unfortunately it was straight at the goalkeeper.

TheOwl
02/08/2006, 7:27 PM

Gareth,

You continue to prove yourself to be Messiah for us exiled EL fans! I think you really should apply for that National Co-ordinator for Club Promotions Officer Programme. Definitely I think the FAI should appoint you full-time in some capacity to try and expand the leagues coverage. Maybe we on foot.ie can start a campaign on your behalf!

nshoop
02/08/2006, 7:29 PM
Gareth,

You continue to prove yourself to be Messiah for us exiled EL fans! I think you really should apply for that National Co-ordinator for Club Promotions Officer Programme. Definitely I think the FAI should appoint you full-time in some capacity to try and expand the leagues coverage. Maybe we on foot.ie can start a campaign on your behalf!

Have to agree,Gareth 4 Ireland!

02/08/2006, 7:30 PM

Cork are without 4 first team players, trying to pull a goal, or as of now, 4 goals back in Eastern Europe. AC Milan would find it hard, never mind Cork. No wonder he's still on the managerial skip! :rolleyes:

Maybe next year, our CL side won't have to go to Eastern Europe in QR2. :o Somewhere manageable like Norway or Sweden would be nice instead. You know how we love to face Swedish sides. :)

02/08/2006, 7:36 PM
3-0 now by the way.......

nshoop
02/08/2006, 7:40 PM
A few more goals and it's going to damage the leagues recovering reputation

Gareth
02/08/2006, 7:45 PM
Gareth,

Haha, your too kind. I do have a job though and a long suffering girlfriend who seems to put up with me.. :) Glad to be of help. We extended the servcie on shelsweb for the whole league so hopefully we will get a numebr of games a week covered.

02/08/2006, 8:04 PM
3-0 FT

Never in doubt really.

02/08/2006, 8:06 PM
3-0 FT

Never in doubt really.

Just not good enough.

Thanks again Gareth :ball:

steno
02/08/2006, 8:06 PM
They didn't break a sweat red star

Gareth
02/08/2006, 8:07 PM
Hard luck to Cork. 2 minutes and 1 down was always a killer. Red Star looked very good. But anyone else wonder if their defence isnt any good under pressure?

Gareth
02/08/2006, 8:07 PM
Just not good enough.

Thanks again Gareth :ball:

No problem . Sorry about the result. Cork were easily beaten alas.

02/08/2006, 8:09 PM
Hard luck to Cork. 2 minutes and 1 down was always a killer. Red Star looked very good. But anyone else wonder if their defence isnt any good under pressure?
Didnt see the game tonight but last week they looked shaky alright......if only we'd had a natural finisher on the field