View Full Version : Foot.ie NFL Fantasy League

Pages : 1 2 [3]

Karlos
16/10/2006, 8:13 PM
I got 80 points and lost by a single point! Stoopid Torrie Holt

Even my defence tried to help you win by having a -1 score, shocking stuff!!!

Holt was awesome for me this week as was LT as always! Can't believe I'm 5-1 and without a real top QB!! Better to be born lucky than rich, eh?!! :)

Clifford
17/10/2006, 8:44 AM
I'm three points behind going into tonights game, with two receivers on a bye-week, but my opponent has Grossman for the Bears and I have the Bears tight end! I need Grossman to have a 'mare' and my tight end needs to have a TD thrown by someone else or rush for a TD.

I reckon you got what you asked for and more there last night, incredible stuff. :eek:

17/10/2006, 12:34 PM
I reckon you got what you asked for and more there last night, incredible stuff. :eek:
Grossman's my hero.:D Crazy game and Arizona still lost.

Aberdonian Stu
17/10/2006, 1:19 PM
The fecker cost me a perfect record in an IAFL's NFL fantasy league. Played him instead of Dehomme becase of him having an easier matchup. The difference was 29 points in favour of Delhomme, I lost by 21 points. Grr!

17/10/2006, 1:24 PM
The fecker cost me a perfect record in an IAFL's NFL fantasy league. Played him instead of Dehomme becase of him having an easier matchup. The difference was 29 points in favour of Delhomme, I lost by 21 points. Grr!

Played Tony Gonzalez ahead of Chris Cooley in the Pats one and tied, isntead of winning

Clifford
23/10/2006, 12:19 PM
Hines Ward, arrrrrrrrrrrgggggggggggghhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh hh.

Bleeding heck. Need a whopping night from Eli to win this week against my brother.

Everyone else happy? Couple of matches seem to be going to the wire tonight. Bledsoe/Glenn can rescue the Boys in blue's 100% record, Bronco's defense need to come big for the bullets......

23/10/2006, 12:40 PM
Need Eli Manning to have a stinker but Plexico Burress to somehow have a good one to keep my lead

Real ale Madrid
23/10/2006, 1:24 PM
Happy! No. A touch embarressed maybe need a miracle tonight or else i'm 0-7. I suppose i'm guaranteed 1st pick in the draft for 2007;)

23/10/2006, 1:44 PM
****ing hell, I'm losing to a team with FOUR players on byes! :eek: Damn you Peyton Manning. Need 15 points from the two Dallas guys now.

Aberdonian Stu
06/11/2006, 10:01 AM
And the battle of Belfield is won by....

ME:D

06/11/2006, 10:09 AM
Nightmare couple of weeks on the fantasy league. Brady got minus points last night...

Clifford
16/11/2006, 11:32 AM
Bonanza week coming up on the nfl, 4 games Sunday then 3 Thanksgiving games on sky also and then 4 more on the following Sunday. Goodness me.

All happy with the fantasy results? I've had a bit of a mare with Eli the last few weeks. It's great fun though.

Aberdonian Stu
21/11/2006, 10:04 AM
New commissioner's note now up. Two teams have secured playoff berths, the Dublin Northsiders and the T&C All Stars.

There are three weeks of action remaining. At present only two other teams have winning records.

21/11/2006, 10:18 AM
Only 3 weeks left!!! How many teams make the play offs?

Clifford
21/11/2006, 10:49 AM
Well I've no chance now, fell away badly after good start. Great fun for the season.

Looking forward to a feast of football this week.

Aberdonian Stu
21/11/2006, 11:14 AM
There will be four teams in the playoffs. The gap between 4th and 5th is currently 2 games.

Clifford
23/11/2006, 9:56 PM
Early days this weekend, but so far thank the stars Boys in Blue left Glenn and Romo on the bench!!!!

Clifford
24/11/2006, 10:07 AM
Early days this weekend, but so far thank the stars Boys in Blue left Glenn and Romo on the bench!!!!

They ended up with 52 points between them :eek: :D

24/11/2006, 10:57 AM
WTF. Why are there games on already this week?

24/11/2006, 11:06 AM
WTF. Why are there games on already this week?

Yesterday was Thanksgiving Day in the US

Clifford
29/11/2006, 10:02 AM
How long left now? Any chance the 7 in the 5-7 crew have time to catch the Boys in Blue? I got lucky vs them at the weekend.

Aberdonian Stu
29/11/2006, 11:17 AM
Boys in Blue need to lose both remaining games for one of the teams currently outside the top 4 to make it to the playoffs.

Clifford
04/12/2006, 9:00 AM
Bloody hell Reggie Bush, there's my last lingering sniff of play off's out the window.

Aberdonian Stu
05/12/2006, 9:02 AM
After this week's games there are four teams in contention for the final playoff spot. They are: Boys in Blue, Newbridge Wagons, Smashey's Bulldogs and Bashers Badgers.

Boys in Blue have a one game lead over the other three so a win or a tie in the final week would suffice for them to take the spot.

Aberdonian Stu
12/12/2006, 12:32 PM
The collapse is complete as Schumi missed out on the playoffs. The draw is as follows.

Semi finals
Dublin Northsiders vs Newbridge Wagons
T&C All Stars vs Numero Uno

Consolation playoffs for 5th to 8th place
Boys in Blue vs Smasheys Bulldogs
derekskings vs Belfield Bullets

There is no consolation draw for 9th to 12th so those places finish as follows.
9th Bashers Badgers (who were only 1 win away from the semi finals!)
10th Inchicore Saints
11th CLIFFORDS CLIPPERS
12th (BC) Eagles Abú

Real ale Madrid
12/12/2006, 12:51 PM
12th (BC) Eagles Abú

There is a rumour going around that i have to re-apply to gain entry into this league next year. :D

Thanks for the game anyway - really enjoyed the season - even if my team played like the Louisiana Muddogs - pre Bobby Bouchier. :p

12/12/2006, 1:08 PM
And I started so well...

See y'all next year

12/12/2006, 2:37 PM
I got lucky with Newbridge Wagons. Just made the semi's by the skin of my teeth. Will probably get my ass handed to me by the Dublin Northsiders!

Clifford
13/12/2006, 8:41 AM
There is a rumour going around that i have to re-apply to gain entry into this league next year. :D

Praise the Lord that you were so awful..I'll be making sure I'm there for the draft next year, pesky wife won't get in the way this time.

Best of luck to all the play off teams. Anyone who wants Vince Young can send me a fiver by post to "Losses r us".

13/12/2006, 9:14 AM
Being at the draft didn't help some of us. Being last pick was my problem.

Not an excuse... problem. Least I should get a decent spot next year :)

onenilgameover
14/12/2006, 3:54 AM
might give this a go...doing well in the soccer ball

swano
15/12/2006, 4:04 AM
Fantasy NFL is immeasurably better than any fantasy football game out there. I do one with lads from work and the banter on a sunday night when we're all in watching it is brilliant.
Lastly go on Frank Gore!

18/12/2006, 4:55 PM
I got lucky with Newbridge Wagons. Just made the semi's by the skin of my teeth. Will probably get my ass handed to me by the Dublin Northsiders!
I knew it! McNair went down injured, Booker went down injured...Didn't stand a chance...Ah well.

Aberdonian Stu
19/12/2006, 11:10 AM
There's just one week left in the Foot.ie NFL fantasy league and here are the final week's fixtures.

Foot.ie Championship game
Dublin Northsiders vs Numero Uno
The Northsiders are on a 12 game winning streak and have beaten every team in the league but it will count for nothing if they lose this week

Foot.ie Division 1-AA title game
Newbridge Wagons vs T&C All Stars
Also known as the third is second loser game these two met in week nine when T&C came out on top.

The Belfield Bowl II
Boys in Blue vs Belfield Bullets
The Bullets took the honours when they met in week nine but claiming the second Belfield Bowl would mean a fifth place finish.

The "tell me the past fortnight wasn't pointless" bowl
Smashey's Bulldogs vs derekskings
Currently eighth ranked Smashey's will move up to seventh in the final rankings if they win. Having lost last week the sixth seeded derekskings are looking to limit the damage caused by this playoff run.

Karlos
19/12/2006, 8:52 PM
There's just one week left in the Foot.ie NFL fantasy league and here are the final week's fixtures.

Dublin Northsiders vs Numero Uno
The Northsiders are on a 12 game winning streak and have beaten every team in the league but it will count for nothing if they lose this week

Ah, I'm actually sh*tting myself this week! I wouldn't be surprised in the slightest if I (or rather my players!) ballsed it up completely at the last hurdle!:o

Great fun for the season. Win or lose, it's been a brilliant way to watch the NFL. :)

Aberdonian Stu
26/12/2006, 10:01 AM
The results of this week's "bowl" games are :

Dublin Northsiders 57
Numero Uno 50

The Northsiders claimed the championship holding off a late rally by Numero Uno in the Monday night game.

Foot.ie Division 1-AA title game
T&C All Stars 51
Newbridge Wagons 43

T&C took some consolation after their semi final defeat by claiming third place.

The Belfield Bowl II
Boys in Blue 59
Belfield Bullets 45

The Boys in Blue avenged their week nine defeat by taking the Belfield Bowl and with it fifth spot.

The "tell me the past fortnight wasn't pointless" bowl
derekskings 60
Smashey's Bulldogs 57

derekskings put the brakes on their playoff slide by taking the win and with it seventh place.

Final placings from 1-8 were determined by playoff and consolation rankings matches while 9-12 were based solely on league record. So with no further ado the final standings:

1. Dublin Northsiders
2. Numero Uno
2. T&C Allstars
4. Newbridge Wagons
5. Boys in Blue
6. Belfield Bullets
7. derekskings
8. Smashey's Bulldogs
9. Bashers Badgers
10. Inchicore Saints
11. CLIFFORDS CLIPPERS
12. (BC) Eagles Abú

Hope to see you all next season.

Karlos
26/12/2006, 10:36 AM
Well, after 16 weeks of tense competitive action, it's quite pleasurable to today be named the foot.ie Champion! Woo Hoo!

Well done to everyone as it was deadly craic along the way!

Look forward to defending my crown next year but intend to bask in my glory for a little while before then (as my signature suggests)!! :) :D

Clifford
26/12/2006, 4:28 PM
Well done to the winner, nice going Karlos, well deserved and I'm sure we'll all be back for a rattle next season.

Thanks to all who set this up, I really enjoyed it. Could have done without stayin up til 5 am to see the Jet's win, but there ya go.

My Falcons are gone so I'll have a sneaky eye on the Saints from here on in as I've been there for a game.

swano
27/12/2006, 2:14 AM
Was the league you guys did wasn't based on the nfl.com scoring?

27/12/2006, 2:52 AM

Yahoo!

Congrats to Karlos

Aberdonian Stu
27/12/2006, 10:02 AM

Hard to actually understand what you're asking, that's seriously bad english.

The Yahoo system gives less points for yards than nfl.com or espn.com leagues, making actual scores more valuable.

Best way to explain is this.

Two running backs, one runs for 100 yards with no touchdowns, another runs for just 20 yards but gets in the end zone.

In nfl.com/espn the 100-yarder gets 10 points as they award 1 point for every 10 yards rushing. The 20-yarder + touchdown gets 8 points, 2 for the yards and 6 for the TD.

Now in Yahoo it's a bit different. The 100-yarder gets 5 points, half what he would have got elsewhere as they award 1 point for every 20 yards rushing. The 20-yarder + touchdown gets 7 points, 1 for the yards and 6 for the TD. He still has fewer points but his points value relative to the other guy has increased.

I'm considering switching the league to nfl.com next year, and not because I did better there. I think the Yahoo system is too stingy on yards and the nfl.com one looks nicer!

swano
28/12/2006, 4:30 AM
Apologies for the terrible english, I changed the way I was phrasing it but forgot to change the end bit!

I was in one of the nfl.com leagues this year so I was just wondering why the scoring in the final games in this thread was so low. Presumed it was a different scoring system. I'll have to join this league next year if there are places.