View Full Version : Foot.ie NFL Fantasy League

Pages : 1 [2] 3

Karlos
24/08/2006, 1:08 AM
Those of you wishing to enter the predictions league I've set up for Irish fans of American football can do so by going to http://football.fantasysports.yahoo.com/pickem
The group ID is: 18360
Password: f34523

Straight pick the winner format, no spread or odds involved.

Signed up for the prediction league. Another thing to keep me occupied! :p

Only had a quick glance at my team from the live draft but fairly happy with it. not sure about my QB's but sure we'll see how it goes. :)

Aberdonian Stu
05/09/2006, 6:09 PM
Your chance to predict this week's results
A feature of the league that has only just become apparent to me is that it provides an opportunity for team owners to predict the outcome of every matchup in our league.

Just click on the Match up button beside each fixture.

Aberdonian Stu
08/09/2006, 2:51 PM
Week 1 update:

From Thursday's sole game Boys in Blue (Schumi) benefitted the most with Heath Miller beating the Yahoo prediction by 7 points. A poor performance for Randy McMichael, with 3 point drop to 0, aided his cause as McMichael started for his week one opponent Clifford's Clippers.

Both derekskings and Numero Uno had players beat their predictions, Numero Uno saw a 7 point increase for running back Ronnie Brown ala Schumi but derekskings 2 point increase for Hines Ward (to trail 14-8) counters that a bit.

T&C Allstars saw the Pittsburgh defence outperform expectations by six points while it as bad news for me as Chris Chambers came in 3 below the prediction.

I'll post another update on Sunday night when there'll only be a handful of games left.

Aberdonian Stu
10/09/2006, 11:06 PM
Match up latest:

First team mention in comment's score is first.

Inchicore Saints (Dodge) looking good against my Belfield Bullets.
Latest Score(LS): 61-52

Newbridge Wagons could yet pull off the big upset though they trail Smashey's Bulldogs.
LS: 39-50

Boys in Blue (Schumi) all over Clifford's Clippers thanks in large part to Frank Gore.
LS: 67-52

Numero Uno are cruising past derekskings
LS: 58-37

Dublin Northsiders (Karlos) have a reasonably big deficit to overcome against T&C Allstars but have the advantage 3 players with games yet to start
LS: 25-39

Bashers Badgers look safe enough against (BC) Eagles Abú
LS:39-11

Final scores on Tuesday morning.

Clifford
11/09/2006, 8:46 AM
Got to be happy this morning, 65 bleedin points and three still to play. The Boys in Blue must have some line up. Come on Santana Moss, bring it on.

11/09/2006, 1:36 PM
The Boys in Blue must have some line up.

I got lucky with Frank Gore getting two TDs. I'd be screwed without those points.

11/09/2006, 7:14 PM
I should be win the first game, ubless Lamont Jordan gets 19 points tonight. had a bit of fun watching the game and hearing about a TD for such and such trying to figure out if he was on my team or the opposition

Aberdonian Stu
11/09/2006, 7:57 PM
Yes it would take nothing short of a miracle for me to pull this one out.

Aberdonian Stu
12/09/2006, 9:46 AM
Week one results:

Inchicore Saints 71
Belfield Bullets 53

Smasheys Bulldogs 58
Newbridge Wagons 42

Boys in Blue 80
Clifford's Clippers 69

Numero Uno 64
derekskings 37

T&C Allstars 54
Dublin Northsiders 56

Bashers Badgers 63
(BC) Eagles Abú 24

Week two fixtures:
Favourite in italics.

Belfield Bullets vs Newbridge Wagons
Inchicore Saints vs Bashers Badgers
Clifford's Clippers vs Smasheys Bulldogs
derekskings vs Boys in Blue
Dublin Northsiders vs Numero Uno
(BC) Eagles Abú vs T&C Allstars

Karlos
12/09/2006, 1:18 PM
I had an epic battle with T&C Allstars - only finally went into the lead half way through the 4th quarter last night.

Great fun all weekend watching the scores coming in.

Clifford
18/09/2006, 5:38 PM
Right another exciting night last night. As far as I can see I was lucky to come in two points higher than Bulldogs, but with similar points to last week I've got to be pleased.

Everyone else happy?

Aberdonian Stu
18/09/2006, 5:40 PM
With just the Steelers-Jags game to go here's the latest:

My clash with Newbridge Wagons see me hold a 61 point lead going into the game but 5 of the Wagons play tonight as opposed to my sole player so a comeback isn't out of the question.

A touchdown by kicker Ryan Longwell helped Bashers Badgers beat the Inchicore Saints 72-54 with neither side having players in tonight's game.

Cliffords Clippers match with Smasheys Bulldogs is also done and dusted with a narrow 2 point win for the Clippers.

Boys in Blue hold a 6 point lead over derekskings going into tonight with both teams having one player in action.

Dublin Northsiders have already secured victory over Numero Uno on a scoreline of 74-58.

Finally the T&C Allstars need a passable performance from the Steelers D to overcome a 3 point deficit against (BC) Eagles Abú who have no players yet to play.

Karlos
18/09/2006, 9:37 PM
I was actually surprised I scored so highly. I only caught a bit of the Dolphins - Bills game yesterday and had Culpepper as my starting QB so was full sure I had fecked it up seeing as Losman is one of my backups.

Was pleasantly surprised this morning when I saw all the results and the peromances of my players! LT is delivering big time for me!

Really enjoying it so far lads :)

Clifford
25/09/2006, 10:34 PM
Was struggling last night til Eli woke up and EJ got a bit of a run going. Good work by Cin defense for me.

Everyone else happy?

Aberdonian Stu
25/09/2006, 10:56 PM
Poor poor performance by most of my teams this week. I wasn't able to manage them as I was at Oktoberfest.

Clifford
25/09/2006, 11:10 PM
That's no excuse, blindly drunk in a corner with some buxom bint is no excuse!!

Glad you made it home safe. Hope all went well.

Karlos
26/09/2006, 3:30 AM
I'd a shocking week with both of my teams but the bye week for some of my players really contributed to it. Fingers crossed this is the only week I'll be without San Diego's LT.

Great fun all the same again :)

26/09/2006, 4:13 AM
That's no excuse, blindly drunk in a corner with some buxom bint is no excuse!!

Indeed, its a goal for many of us

Aberdonian Stu
26/09/2006, 10:19 AM
The fatigue from the holiday is only really starting to kick in now. I'm shattered!

Clifford
02/10/2006, 9:10 AM
Morning all,

Really enjoyed the 4 games last night. Go Santana Moss you beauty...

Jaysus T&C some points for you this week, in the 90's.

Aberdonian Stu
02/10/2006, 11:14 AM
And Schumi's gone to 4 and 0.

I need LJ Smith to have a good day today if I'm to avoid my third defeat of the season.

02/10/2006, 1:08 PM
Nightmare for me last night. Have 3 fantasy teams and all lost heavily, with low scores for me.

02/10/2006, 1:12 PM
And Schumi's gone to 4 and 0.25 points from the Atlanta defence.:cool:

Aberdonian Stu
02/10/2006, 2:51 PM
With the exception of my nfl.com teams, where I continue to make inspired/lucky selections, I've had a bad week all round.

The likely downfall of Mr Warner will probably cost me in the DCU Saints internal league (never mind this one) although I will probably move to 4 and 0 in that tomorrow.

Real ale Madrid
02/10/2006, 11:18 PM
25 points from the Atlanta defence.:cool:

Yeah - kick me while I'm down why dont you? :( :D

On a technical query - I was not allowed to take Tiki Barber out of the lineout when i went to change the team last Thursday. Any idea why? It came up with three different errors - cant remember what it said. Wouldnt make a difference anyway. Really enjoying the league - despite bing the worst player by a mile!

Aberdonian Stu
03/10/2006, 7:45 AM
You should have been able to on Thursday. Probably a glitch.

Clifford
03/10/2006, 10:52 AM
Not being funny or anything but was it cos you had filled his position already - ie was it like for like?

I've a dilema this weekend it appears. Two of my running backs are on bye weeks. It won't let me play with a second TE or WR and I don't want to trade either of my RB's that are not playing obviously. Am I right in thinking this or am I missing some way round this or am I just destined to go in one man short?

03/10/2006, 11:03 AM
yeah, you'll be one man short. I thought I had made changes but it obviously didn't save or something. Ah well...

03/10/2006, 12:28 PM
And Schumi's gone to 4 and 0.
Only just in the end, Brett Favre got -2 points last night and I only won by a point.

Aberdonian Stu
03/10/2006, 2:06 PM
Well LJ Smith let me down. I watched the highlights on nfl.com and he was 4 yards away from getting me a game winning TD!

As for the mix and match dilemmas people are having that's part of the beauty of fantasy football because have to be careful who you drop yet risk playing down a man.

In my team's internal league I have the outright lead with a perfect 4 and 0 record but I only have one QB and his name is Kurt Warner (who is not going to start next week and likely to be benched for the forseeable future).

So I face some tricky calls on how to address this situation.

Real ale Madrid
03/10/2006, 3:30 PM
[QUOTE=Clifford;545259]Not being funny or anything but was it cos you had filled his position already - ie was it like for like?

QUOTE]

All i wanted to do was put Julius Jones in the line-up instead of Tiki Barber who was on a bye , a RB for another one- and it wouldnt let me do that. Jones ran for 122 yards Sunday and i lost by a point:(

Probably a glitch - but a bit disapointed - only really getting the hang of it now. Desperately need a win next week.

Clifford
03/10/2006, 4:13 PM
Jaysus that's harsh then Real Ale. Same thing happened my bro I think, but he held on for a win anyway.

Aberdonian Stu
06/10/2006, 11:39 AM
Guys I need some advice for one of my other teams.

I've been offered Shaun Alexander for Lawrence Maroney. Prior to last Sunday this was a no-brainer but now it has me pondering.

Any thoughts?

06/10/2006, 1:43 PM
I'd keep Maroney tbh

Clifford
09/10/2006, 11:23 PM
God damn pesky Jackonsville click when I play their biggest fan, shoot! :eek: at the defense alone.

Well done NW, a severe beating indeed.

Boys in Blue hung on in a cracker it looks like, how everyone else doin?

Aberdonian Stu
10/10/2006, 1:08 PM
Matt Stover had a quiet day when I need him to have an average day so the answer is "not good". Now 1-4 in this league compared to a 5-0 record in the DCU Saints league. I'm also setting the pace in one IAFL league with a 5-0 record and am second in another on 4-1.

So basically the cream of foot.ie is kicking my ass.

10/10/2006, 1:38 PM
Doing OK in this one but 4-1 on the Pats one. Was losing going into Monday nights game but Baltimore's defence gave me the win by 1 point (in a low scoring contest)

Real ale Madrid
10/10/2006, 1:40 PM
I'm 0-5.:o

Clifford
10/10/2006, 3:14 PM
Just noticed the brother is up against Newbridge wagons this week and Jacksonville have a bye weekend. Grrrrrrr. Ha ha, how you think it will go?

Aberdonian Stu
10/10/2006, 3:31 PM
All the Wagons starters bar the D are on byes, including the non-Jacksonville players. They are extremely limited on the bench so I think this could be VERY one-sided.

11/10/2006, 12:01 AM
I totally forgot about the bye week:o I believe I'm going to get my ass kicked.

Clifford
11/10/2006, 12:18 AM
Ha ha, thought as much, why oh why did I get you this week just gone. Oh well.

Must say it's making my Sundays super fun, thanks to the instigator(s) again.

11/10/2006, 12:31 AM
Ha ha, thought as much, why oh why did I get you this week just gone. Oh well.

Must say it's making my Sundays super fun, thanks to the instigator(s) again.
It's great fun. I put all my eggs in the one basket. Went with the heart over the head, but it worked last week Clifford, huh?:D Had to make some roster moves this week, so I don't get walloped to badly.

Was at the game itself and took my brother, who was visiting from Oz. Jacksonville really hammered the Jets in this one. Lost a middle linebacker for the season, so that's going to hurt the 'D', for the fantasy league.

11/10/2006, 7:31 AM
yeah good fun watching it and trying to remember which players are against you this week.

Clifford
11/10/2006, 8:48 AM
Do ya get to many of them Strange I? Always seems to be good noise with the Jags fans. Some buzz indeed ya lucky so and so. I'd luv it.

Those changes put a new perspective on it all right, good wheeling and dealing.

11/10/2006, 1:53 PM
Do ya get to many of them Strange I? Always seems to be good noise with the Jags fans. Some buzz indeed ya lucky so and so. I'd luv it.

Those changes put a new perspective on it all right, good wheeling and dealing.

Yeah, I go to all of them as I have season tickets for the Jags. Normally It's me and the missus, but she had to get the boot this week with my Bro being in town. He's a big soccer fan, but he thought this was a blast. Great atmosphere and lots of stuff going on in and around the stadium. We go there early and tailgate(Barbeque and drink copius amounts of beer) and make a day of it.

Real ale Madrid
16/10/2006, 2:49 PM
Just like to post that I scored a whopping 81 points in week 6!!:)

....but still lost:(

On the plus side i put €20 on Tampa bay to beat cinncinnatti at 12/5:cool:

16/10/2006, 2:56 PM
I got 80 points and lost by a single point! Stoopid Torrie Holt

Clifford
16/10/2006, 3:25 PM
Some very heavy scoring this week. I only nabbed a paltry 38 points so far, but 2 big players tonight to come and it looks as though a win is on the way - fingers crossed.

16/10/2006, 5:48 PM
I'm three points behind going into tonights game, with two receivers on a bye-week, but my opponent has Grossman for the Bears and I have the Bears tight end! I need Grossman to have a 'mare' and my tight end needs to have a TD thrown by someone else or rush for a TD. He also has the Bears running back going tonight, so I think I'm SOOL. Ah well, maybe next week.