View Full Version : Famous fans?
28/07/2006, 11:00 AM
Seems there's a major infestation of hoops at the nerve centre of the nation's consciousness, despite recent foot.ie protestations (mostly aimed at disowning one individual). Do they all sit together in the RTE canteen, singing Build Me Up?
28/07/2006, 11:45 AM
Seems there's a major infestation of hoops at the nerve centre of the nation's consciousness, despite recent foot.ie protestations (mostly aimed at disowning one individual). Do they all sit together in the RTE canteen, singing Build Me Up?
No, we just run the place. ;)
28/07/2006, 11:52 AM
The canteen?
28/07/2006, 12:07 PM
Yeah the aul wan who serves the mash with the cig hannging out of her mouth is a rovers fan!
28/07/2006, 3:58 PM
Didn't Clifford Forsyth the former UUP MP once play for Derry City. Won an IFA Cup medal in the old days if I remember correctly?
Nell McCafferty " Good Evening Sisters" is also a Derry City fan!
Roverstillidie
28/07/2006, 4:21 PM
Almost forgot. Dennis The Menace - Bohs Fan!
tis a sorry state of affairs when you are claiming a fictional cartoon charachter as a fan :D
but i note shels have yet to claim anyone of note.
not even z list ffs
tis a sorry state of affairs when you are claiming a fictional cartoon charachter as a fan :D
but i note shels have yet to claim anyone of note.
not even z list ffs
As pointed out earlier Aslan are Shels fans
The drummer from the Sultans of Ping. Met him after a gig one time in Whelans. Big Cork City fan.
28/07/2006, 5:52 PM
The drummer from the Sultans of Ping. Met him after a gig one time in Whelans. Big Cork City fan.
GROUPIE!!! ;) :D
28/07/2006, 6:58 PM
and there's more he used to edit the Fanzine!
sonofstan
28/07/2006, 9:20 PM
that's pretty much how I think of Colin Farrell
harry crumb
28/07/2006, 11:11 PM
From media,
Tony O'Donoghue
John Creedon
Daire O'Brien(guy off Setanta)
Whole RED FM sports team
A lot of 96 FM
Soper
28/07/2006, 11:49 PM
Daire O'Brien said on tv that he was a Liverpool 'supporter'.
joema
29/07/2006, 12:07 AM
Are you thinking of the "comedian":rolleyes: or the lad from setanta? I know that the setanta guy said he was a Cork City fan anyway
Harry Crumb, who does Tony O'Donoghue support/ Where is he from?
harry crumb
29/07/2006, 12:31 AM
Supports both teams.
harry crumb
29/07/2006, 12:33 AM
Are you thinking of the "comedian":rolleyes: or the lad from setanta? I know that the setanta guy said he was a Cork City fan anyway
Harry Crumb, who does Tony O'Donoghue support/ Where is he from?
Hes from Cork.
Hes the sports editor of RTÉ.
joema
29/07/2006, 12:37 AM
Hes from Cork.
Hes the sports editor of RTÉ.
Never knew he was from Cork, tbh he didnt seem to be the biggest city or el fan when he was interviewing Rico last Thursday - tbh he seemed ignorant
Joe Strummer
29/07/2006, 12:39 AM
Big Dec - Rovers - Enough Said
Deromot Morgan - Rovers. He wrote a song about Rovers leaving Milltown on primetime?? With all the KRAM committee.
ASLAN - Depends on the drugs or where they are playing, - So far Pats- Rovers - Bohs as I said depending on what side of the city Christy is playing in
Damien Duff - If The Pimp Devlin tells him to show up at two dog’s having a dump he will do it, Duff couldn’t give a flying Fu*k about Irish football.
Phil Coulter - Lives in Bray , so as punishment goes to watch that shower - also suspected of owning butchers shop in Shankill shopping ctr. (Ron Eyre The Spitting Image Of Him)
Des Cahill - Whatever is the flavour of the month, see him at Rovers games in RDS and Bray, But will lick the hole off the GAA at all times.
Soper
29/07/2006, 12:44 AM
I meant the guy off Setanta.He said it on prime time.
red bellied
29/07/2006, 10:55 PM
Eamon Sweeney wrote their is only One Red Army and he knows what it is to be a LOI supporter. I gave what I considered including him now three genuine supporters for the club I supported. Reviewing this thread has lead to the conclusion some of the contributors seem to be given misleading information on their famous supporters.
alabama rover
30/07/2006, 3:15 AM
Kim Bassinger is a Hoop!
30/07/2006, 10:29 AM
Yeah imagine claiming a fictional character as a fan...
Rats from Paths to Freedom.
30/07/2006, 6:22 PM
Supports both teams.
funny:rolleyes:
31/07/2006, 12:57 AM
Top the City list if you can :
POLITICS :
John Hume, Nobel Prize Winner, DCFC Club President.
Martin McGuinness, MP
Mitchel McLaughlin, MLA, Sinn Fein General Secretary
Mark Durkin, MP, SDLP Leader (occassional fan).
Dana, MEP (used to go to games).
Eamon Mccann - Politician, Author, Environmentalist & Political Comentator.
MUSIC
Phil Coulter, (former Club President)
The Undertones (have played gigs for the club / DCFC cover to 'My Perfect Cousin')
Dana (see above :) )
RELIGION
Former Archbishop Edward Daly : religious leader, Author, & prominent role during the Troubles.
OTHERS
- Nell McCafferty : Author & professional Feminist !
- David Tennant : Current Dr Who. Came to watch us whilst filming about his ancestors in Derry.
- I believe Billy Connolly has watched us play before (he has family in Derry).
- I'd love to believe that Nadine Coyle is a fan of the club :D
No doubt there's more that other City fans can fill in.
Updated City list.
Looks like no other club comes close - even after resorting to dubious claims ! :D
bigmac
31/07/2006, 12:04 PM
- David Tennant : Current Dr Who. Came to watch us whilst filming about his ancestors in Derry.
- I believe Billy Connolly has watched us play before (he has family in Derry).
Die-hard fans so :rolleyes:
31/07/2006, 12:38 PM
I love the way everyone is a die-hard Rovers fan whose family went to Milltown for generations! :D
As mentioned before, Dave Fanning is a UCD fan. He used to be at most home games when we played at 3:15 on Sundays - think he popped in on his way home from 2TV. Don't see him as much lately, but he's there often enough.
Dermot Morgan was a UCD fan. I think he'd agreed with CTID to do a column for the programme before he passed away. Would have loved to get him doing a fanzine column! :D
Jimmy Magee lives up in Kilmacud and is a regular at games. Was talking to him once and he, of course, knew that the person beside him (UCD official) was a Czechoslovak table tennis international in 1937 and happened to have Czech money in his wallet from his most recent trip abroad. Bought a fanzine too. Nice man. :)
Bray Wanderers - Damien Duff, I've seen him at 3 games (2 this season)
Duffer's not a Bray fan - he's good mates with Robbie Doyle since their days at Blackburn together. He was at a fair few UCD games when Doyler played for us.
Brian de Salvo is a Bray fan mainly, but says he supports any team who try to play football, and is often seen in Belfield.
I think Con Houlihan was often in Belfield as well.
I think we'd walk the list for famous players though!
31/07/2006, 12:41 PM
Not for league players you wouldn't
31/07/2006, 12:49 PM
For famous non-footballing people then. ;)
Former head of CIÉ (Tod Andrews), Presidential candidate (Brian Lenihan), convicted criminal (Ollie Byrne), Triple Crown winner (Hugo MacNeill), Sam Maguire winners at the time they were playing for us (Jason Sherlock and Kevin Moran), Sky broadcaster (Paul Dempsey) and many others.
31/07/2006, 1:11 PM
Die-hard fans so :rolleyes:
To be fair, it's difficult to get to many games when you live in California/England, and have fairly hectic work schedules. I can imagine the dilemma he faced over our game against you yesterday :
David Tennant : 'Hmmm - spend Sunday evening defeating the Cybermen whilst spending some quality time with Billie Piper, or spend the whole day getting to and from Derry to watch City destroy the only team in Ireland worse equipped to play football than the Daleks. Hmmmm..."
Any famous Waterford supporters to share with us Bigmac ? Or is your club determined to instead court fame through being the first side to not win a single game in the premier
31/07/2006, 1:16 PM
I love the way everyone is a die-hard Rovers fan whose family went to Milltown for generations! :D
As mentioned before, Dave Fanning is a UCD fan. He used to be at most home games when we played at 3:15 on Sundays - think he popped in on his way home from 2TV. Don't see him as much lately, but he's there often enough.
Dermot Morgan was a UCD fan. I think he'd agreed with CTID to do a column for the programme before he passed away. Would have loved to get him doing a fanzine column! :D
Jimmy Magee lives up in Kilmacud and is a regular at games. Was talking to him once and he, of course, knew that the person beside him (UCD official) was a Czechoslovak table tennis international in 1937 and happened to have Czech money in his wallet from his most recent trip abroad. Bought a fanzine too. Nice man. :)
Duffer's not a Bray fan - he's good mates with Robbie Doyle since their days at Blackburn together. He was at a fair few UCD games when Doyler played for us.
Brian de Salvo is a Bray fan mainly, but says he supports any team who try to play football, and is often seen in Belfield.
I think Con Houlihan was often in Belfield as well.
Morgan was also a Rovers fan.
Houlihan was partial to Pats and often gave them a mention in the old Irish Press.
bigmac
31/07/2006, 1:31 PM
Any famous Waterford supporters to share with us Bigmac ?
Supporters or famous people who once attended a match?
Student Mullet
31/07/2006, 1:37 PM
Morgan was also a Rovers fan.
Houlihan was partial to Pats and often gave them a mention in the old Irish Press.
KOHFor a Rovers fan he was in Belfield an awfull lot and refered to himself as a UCD fan in at least one radio interview which I remember. Bit it's an unimportant argument in any case.
31/07/2006, 2:51 PM
For famous non-footballing people then. ;)
Former head of CIÉ (Tod Andrews), Presidential candidate (Brian Lenihan), convicted criminal (Ollie Byrne), Triple Crown winner (Hugo MacNeill), Sam Maguire winners at the time they were playing for us (Jason Sherlock and Kevin Moran), Sky broadcaster (Paul Dempsey) and many others.
You forgot Socrates.....
:p :D
Rocky27
31/07/2006, 3:40 PM
Ray Kennedy from Sky News Ireland is a massive Shels fan.
31/07/2006, 3:50 PM
Supporters or famous people who once attended a match?
Regail me with either of the very short lists.......
bigmac
31/07/2006, 4:15 PM
Regail me with either of the very short lists.......
Jeez, take a chill pill, just find it amusing that any time someone famous shows up at a Derry match they're claimed as a fan - even going so far as to fight with Finn Harps over which club Dana supports.
If I was listing the same criteria as you I'd probably have Keith Barry, Martin Cullen, Val Doonican, Brendan Bowyer, Anna Manahan (Tony Award winner in case you don't know), Gilbert O'Sullivan - all of whom have probably been at a Utd match at some stage in their lives. Why not Mick McCarthy while I'm at it - sure his family is from Waterford County. :rolleyes:
31/07/2006, 4:16 PM
Gilbert O'Sullivan?
bigmac
31/07/2006, 4:19 PM
Gilbert O'Sullivan?
you don't know who he is or you didn't knbow he was from Waterford?
31/07/2006, 4:53 PM
Jeez, take a chill pill, just find it amusing that any time someone famous shows up at a Derry match they're claimed as a fan - even going so far as to fight with Finn Harps over which club Dana supports.
If I was listing the same criteria as you I'd probably have Keith Barry, Martin Cullen, Val Doonican, Brendan Bowyer, Anna Manahan (Tony Award winner in case you don't know), Gilbert O'Sullivan - all of whom have probably been at a Utd match at some stage in their lives. Why not Mick McCarthy while I'm at it - sure his family is from Waterford County. :rolleyes:
The Harps fans were the ones who were fighting over Dana. She only showed up to their Cup Final to glad-hand some electoral support anyway.
Only one name on the list I gave was a 'probably' - Billy Connolly - and that was just to cover myself. I'd happily bet money that he's been to a fair few Derry games (he's a relation of former Club President Phil Coulter, and I used to see him in Derry quite a bit as he has relatives living behind our house there).
The rest of the Derry list were people who are mostly regulars (Daly, McGuinness, McCann) , those with very busy lives who go when they can (Undertones, Hume) and those who aren't regulars but do still go. Guessing the names of people who've set foot in Waterford Town is not the same thing.
31/07/2006, 5:00 PM
you don't know who he is or you didn't knbow he was from Waterford?
Sorry, simultaneous post. He was the only famous Waterfordian I could think of!
Dr.Nightdub
31/07/2006, 7:51 PM
Farrell's not (just because his Da played for you)
He's a member of the Hoops SC.
So what? They'll take anyone. ;)
Dana?? Your some craic Steve. I think you'll find he was having a laugh.
If Dana supports Harps after the stick she got at the Cup Final with her shameless self-promotion then she has some thick skin! Jeez she got some grief. On a side note, the day after we lost the Cup Final, a few of us were on the tear in Jackson's Hotel drowning the sorrows. We met Dana in the car park as we were leaving and she came over and asked us would we vote for her when she seen our Harps colours. One of the lads told her he would if she sang her Eurovision winning song for him. So there we are, standing in a car park, hammered on a Monday afternoon with Dana singing to a drunken Harps fan!
By the way - is that the lead singer of Razorlight with Doctor Who? :)
harpskid
31/07/2006, 11:16 PM
The Harps fans were the ones who were fighting over Dana. She only showed up to their Cup Final to glad-hand some electoral support anyway.
Jesus man, keep yer hair on! I was only takin teh **** - yer quite welcome to the aul bag! :ball:
01/08/2006, 9:49 AM
So what? They'll take anyone. ;)
No, only hardcore, dyed-in-the-wool Hoops are welcome in Hoops SC. ;)