View Full Version : Famous fans?
27/07/2006, 10:59 AM
He made a big deal about parading the World Championship trophy around Old Trafford and Celtic Park. If he's such a big Shamrock fan why didn't he carry the trophy around your home gr- ohhhh...... never mind...
Yet another chip.
I saw Morgan on numerous occasions at the RDS. He went to Belfield cos of his fear of crowds!
CHF never had fans let alone famous ones:D
27/07/2006, 11:08 AM
Well one day when Mocrac are one of Irelands most famous bands Dublin City's ex support will be able to mention their famous fellow fan.
Aint that right Maynard??
27/07/2006, 11:15 AM
Yet another chip.... CHF never had fans let alone famous ones:D
irony defined
I saw Morgan on numerous occasions at the RDS. He went to Belfield cos of his fear of crowds!Thats was just the song. He used to go to loads of games involving all clubs, but there's not doubting he was a UCD fan
27/07/2006, 11:37 AM
Tom Humphries is fond of the odd mention of his Bohsness. I've never seen him at a match.
There is a theory that he has been staying away from Dalymount, and indulging in an orgy of GAA, as part of an extremely subtle and sophisticated Farrelly Out protest.
27/07/2006, 11:42 AM
Tiernan is definately the funniest comic around.
He was originally from Navan but went to school in Garbaly (sp.) in Ballinasloe. Hector (cant spell 2nd name!!) went there aswell and now they're good friends.
Think he went there for his leaving cert (Tiernan) because he did so badly in his inter/got thrown out of St. Pats in Navan depending on which story is correct. At any rate he's great.
Pat Ingoldsby used to go to Dalymount I believe. Mary Lou McDonald was at a few games coming up to the Euro elections but I haven't seen her since (or before for that matter). Yer man that does the weather on TV3 calls himself a Bohs fan but I've never seen him at Dalyer, though having said that I probably wouldn't recognise him in a crowd.
John Brutal was at some of our Euro games in the double year wearing a Bohs scarf.
Chris Kamara ;) is a proud bohs fan too! :D
27/07/2006, 11:44 AM
LOL at the Derry and Harps fans fighting over Dana. :D
BrayUnknowns
27/07/2006, 11:51 AM
RTE Radio host Des Cahill, TD Liz McManus, TV3 Sports Presenter Dave Kelly, Phil Coulter can also be seen at a lot of our matches. Damien Duff as someone mentioned earlier.
Also any time Paul McShane, Darren Randolph, James and Kevin O'Connor, Clive Clarke, Barry Roche, Graham Ward and Paul Heffernan are back from from England they can be seen down in the Carlisle.
Shelbourne's very own Jason Byrne is also a very big bray supporter and is down there when ever he gets a chance.
monutdfc
27/07/2006, 11:55 AM
Politicians don't count - they'd go to the opening of an envelope if it got their face in front of enough of a crowd.
CharlesThompson
27/07/2006, 11:57 AM
Yer man that does the weather on TV3 calls himself a Bohs fan but I've never seen him at Dalyer, though having said that I probably wouldn't recognise him in a crowd.
Martin King. Definately seen him at a few games for the Bohs although not too many recently. Surprise, surprise. I've not seen to many people (full stop) at Dalyer recently!
27/07/2006, 11:59 AM
Colin Farrell
Are you on drugs. Farrell was a regular in the shed for bohs homegames as a youngfella
27/07/2006, 12:01 PM
Surgery needed for the massive chip on your shoulder.
Isnt tiernan, the unfunniest comic around, from navan???
Charlie O'Connor TD is a Rovers fan as is Maureen O'Hara. Dermot Morgan RIP was a Hoop too.
Ken Doherty's first Rovers game was against Fram in the UEFA Cup in 1982.
Don't forget your special friend (http://www.thebohs.com/features_eL_preview6.htm) :D
27/07/2006, 12:06 PM
Are you on drugs. Farrell was a regular in the shed as a youngfella
As were most Rovers fans from 1988 to 1990.
27/07/2006, 12:12 PM
As were most Rovers fans from 1988 to 1990.
What? On Drugs? I suppose it was the heydey of Acid house.
27/07/2006, 12:23 PM
Paul McGinley's a Hoop to as is, ahem, George Murphy. Colin Farrell, despite gypo moaning, is a member of Hoops SC and a fully signed up Ultra (he has a scarf ;) )
And Dermot Morgan was a regular Hoop long before UCD were even a glint in the League's eye. Then there's the usual suspects - Maureen O'Hara, Colm Meaney and of course Rats from Paths to Freedom.
27/07/2006, 12:32 PM
Anyway Rovers fans in general are famous.
Or should that be INFAMOUS?
:p
Drumcondra Red
27/07/2006, 1:19 PM
Aslan!!!
BrayUnknowns
27/07/2006, 1:23 PM
True enough but her and the ex-husband (if stories are to believed !) are down quite a bit and have done over the years....
BrayUnknowns
27/07/2006, 1:26 PM
Kerr worked in UCD as a lab technician, but he's definitely a Pat's man.
Dave Fanning is a UCD fan. Jimmy Magee is often at games too. He said Belfield is his favourite ground.
That's what happens to ya when ya go senile ! :D
27/07/2006, 2:20 PM
Kerr worked in UCD as a lab technician, but he's definitely a Pat's man.
Dave Fanning is a UCD fan. Jimmy Magee is often at games too. He said Belfield is his favourite ground.
That's as maybe but Jimmy is a nailed on Hoop and speaking of RTÉ's sports department - Con Murphy, Stephen Alkin and the legendary Phillip Green (and White) are all Hoops too.
bluemovie
27/07/2006, 2:20 PM
I love the liberal use of "he's a big fan" for people who have attended one or two games.
Man Utd's John O'Shea attends Blues games occasionally (although he's more into the hurling). He was also one of a 300 strong Blues contingent in the Des Kelly stand for the crucial relegation-decider in Dalyer last November.
Several of the Waterford hurlers go to some of our home games - Dan Shanahan, John Mullane. Paul Flynn used to play for us.
27/07/2006, 2:56 PM
That's as maybe but Jimmy is a nailed on Hoop
Another hoop to appear in a Bohs audio visual production then eh?
I also thought Dave Fanning was a Rovers fan. I heard him waxing lyrical about boyhood trips to Milltown one night on the wireless. Maybe he hasn't been since then and switched his allegiance to UCD, his brother works there anyway.
27/07/2006, 3:06 PM
I also thought Dave Fanning was a Rovers fan. I heard him waxing lyrical about boyhood trips to Milltown one night on the wireless. Maybe he hasn't been since then and switched his allegiance to UCD, his brother works there anyway.
Fanning is a UCD fan, he's always going on about us on the radio. He was slagging some Rovers fan on Monday or Tuesday. He's regularly at games in Belfield too.
manic da hoop
27/07/2006, 3:09 PM
That young fella that writes for The Tribune used to go to quite a few Rovers matches. He's obviously found something better to do with his time since...
That's as maybe but Jimmy is a nailed on Hoop and speaking of RTÉ's sports department - Con Murphy, Stephen Alkin and the legendary Phillip Green (and White) are all Hoops too.
Alkins is a Pats man. 100% on this. his brother goes to every game. Magee doesn't follow anybody but has said he has a soft spot for Pats because of his son playing for us (said it at some after dinner thing I was at a few years ago (not football releted). Agree Green was a legend
27/07/2006, 3:11 PM
colin farrell defo is a shams fan. i remember him talkin about em a good few times b4 he became proper famous
27/07/2006, 3:14 PM
Isn't Fiona Looney of the Gerry Ryan show a big Rovers fat. Remember her mentioning it on many occasions.
27/07/2006, 3:30 PM
Another hoop to appear in a Bohs audio visual production then eh?
Jimmy would appear in a Leni Riefenstahl film if he thought it'd get him on the telly and appearing in a Bohs production is on a par with the Nazis. ;)
sonofstan
27/07/2006, 3:33 PM
Isn't Fiona Looney of the Gerry Ryan show a big Rovers fat.
that's a bit mean
27/07/2006, 3:50 PM
that's a bit mean
Oops. I certainly wouldn't kick her out of the sack.
27/07/2006, 4:16 PM
Oops. I certainly wouldn't kick her out of the sack.
You could hardly miss:D
Stephen Alkin claimed to me before that he was a Rovers fan. Jimmy Magee's son Paul played for Rovers in the 70s.
Pat Kenny follows Manchester United.
Des Cahill follows Cuala and anything BUT Manchester United!
people I've actually seen at games over the years - who are vaguely famous..
Jim Beglin
Colm Meaney
The bloke who is Dr Ed in 'The Clinic'
The bloke who is the Drogs fan in 'Love is the Drug' (he's not a drogs fan btw)
The bloke who wrote Fr Ted(he is a dROGS fan btw)
a few ppl frm now thankfully obscure bands
27/07/2006, 6:03 PM
iirc - Dermot Morgan did a lot of fundraising stuff for UCD in the past - he was defo a College Man.
Dermot Gallagher (Premiership referee) - is a Hoops man though - grew up in Ringsend.
You could hardly miss:D
Stephen Alkin claimed to me before that he was a Rovers fan. Jimmy Magee's son Paul played for Rovers in the 70s.
So basically, anyone who works for RTE is a lying **** ;)
town73
27/07/2006, 6:28 PM
http://www.derrycityfc.net/images/drwho.jpg
The one on the left!
David Tennant
27/07/2006, 7:52 PM
Fanning is a UCD fan
100% true. Saw him at Belfield many times.
harry crumb
27/07/2006, 8:55 PM
Cork City
Most famous fan is probably Bishop John Buckley. :)
Paddyfield
27/07/2006, 10:01 PM
Isnt tiernan, the unfunniest comic around, from navan???
Yes and yes. He live's in Salthill in Galway since the ealy 1990's
Soper
27/07/2006, 10:11 PM
Is your man John Creedon a Cawrk fan?
27/07/2006, 10:14 PM
Is your man John Creedon a Cawrk fan?
Ye he is.
red bellied
27/07/2006, 10:17 PM
Adrian Eames from RTE Radio is a Sligo Rovers supporter, does an article in the club programme as well.
BohsFans
28/07/2006, 12:12 AM
Well,I don't know who put him up to that,probably a relation of the producer or looking for support know that he's sh*te like bohs
He's not a bohs fan -FACT!
Also he didn't even know we play summer football in Ireland :eek:
BohsFans
28/07/2006, 12:25 AM
George Murphy.
There is absolutely no way you could call him a proper supporter.
He was at Bohs - rovers last alright, but he's one of these, "if I was to support anyone it would be them"
28/07/2006, 8:09 AM
colin farrell defo is a shams fan. i remember him talkin about em a good few times b4 he became proper famous
Are you sure he wasn't just getting "in character" for his part in Intermission? :p
28/07/2006, 8:52 AM
Adrian Eames from RTE Radio is a Sligo Rovers supporter, does an article in the club programme as well.
Are you trying to get him sacked from RTE or something?
He'll have to cover 20 GAA matches now as his punishment. :D
manic da hoop
28/07/2006, 8:59 AM
Con Murphy - RTE Radio - is a Rovers fan. His Dad is a former director.
28/07/2006, 9:17 AM
Almost forgot. Dennis The Menace - Bohs Fan!
28/07/2006, 9:34 AM
So basically, anyone who works for RTE is a lying **** ;)
Spot on. They did claim to care for our league after all!
Raheen
28/07/2006, 10:36 AM
Top the City list if you can :
POLITICS :
John Hume, Nobel Prize Winner, DCFC Club President.
Martin McGuinness, MP
Mitchel McLaughlin, MLA, Sinn Fein General Secretary
Mark Durkin, MP, SDLP Leader (occassional fan).
Dana, MEP (used to go to games).
MUSIC
Phil Coulter, (former Club President)
The Undertones (have played gigs for the club / DCFC cover to 'My Perfect Cousin')
Dana (see above :) )
RELIGION
Former Archbishop Edward Daly (well known for his role during the Troubles).
OTHERS
- David Tennant : Current Dr Who. Came to watch us whilst filming about his ancestors in Derry.
- I believe Billy Connolly has watched us play before (he has family in Derry).
- I'd love to believe that Nadine Coyle is a fan of the club :D
No doubt there's more that other City fans can fill in.
Didn't Clifford Forsyth the former UUP MP once play for Derry City. Won an IFA Cup medal in the old days if I remember correctly?
28/07/2006, 10:37 AM
Almost forgot. Dennis The Menace - Bohs Fan!
He's an LTFC fan! ;)