View Full Version : Darron Gibson

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 [62] 63 64 65 66 67 68

brine3
16/10/2013, 5:57 PM
Waters dried out the pitch?

SwanVsDalton
16/10/2013, 6:40 PM
The next boss might not fancy him at all, especially if he remains out of favour at Stoke. Hendrick will be back from injury over the next few weeks and will present another option. Having said that, I'd say the majority would see Whelan's experience as valuable alongside McCarthy.

Bring back Keith Andrews!

Aside from that it does represent any number from Hendrick, David Meyler and Stephen Quinn to get in there. They'd have to fancy their chances of putting Whelan under pressure, particularly if he isn't getting a game.

DannyInvincible
16/10/2013, 6:42 PM
Hopefully nobody will ever question Gibson's commitment for Ireland again. The guy injured himself going full out for his country in a nothing match.

King acknowledged the same: http://www.thescore.ie/darron-gibson-season-cruciate-knee-injury-1132443-Oct2013/

He played against Germany and maybe people will say he came back too soon but I don’t know, I think he was fit and ready to play. He played for his club before he came in.

I feel very bad for him because he did give everything he had. He’s a fine talent and he really, really could be one of the players that Ireland could build around in the coming years depending on the way they play

Maybe if we didn't play football on a rugby pitch, then these things would be less likely to happen.

I was wondering what the huge yellow patch down the north end was all about myself. When was the last rugby game on the pitch, by the way? Could it have been a factor? To be honest, it's hard to gauge as it just looks like he placed his landing foot in an awkward position before his weight came down on it.

http://s3.thejournal.ie/media/2013/10/gibson-4.gif

Wouldn't the pitch be re-laid anyway after a rugby game with an upcoming football international?

Actually, on second thoughts, I'm blaming Charlie!

16/10/2013, 6:49 PM
It seemed like a good idea at the time :(

16/10/2013, 7:22 PM
Actually, on second thoughts, I'm blaming Charlie!

http://musicscene.ie/musicScene/wp-content/uploads/2013/09/Roger-Waters-The-Wall-Aviva-18-09-13-9826.jpg

gastric
16/10/2013, 11:26 PM
I don't believe there have been any rugby games on the pitch this season. Cruciate ligament injuries are the curse of the AFL and are often very innocuous. Gibson has two choices, the traditional way which would certainly keep him out of the game for a year or he could undergo LARS treatment, which is new and revolutionary and can have players back in three months playing. There was initial scepticism about LARS treatment, but the AFL players who have had it seem to cope fine with it. The actual damage done determines the best way forward.

liamoo11
17/10/2013, 8:43 AM
He was in some pain the poor guy, he had his hands wrapped around one of the other Irish player's feet for comfort. Cruciate injuries amongst soccer players seem relatively uncommon these days, compared to Gaelic Footballers where it seems a serious issue for some reason.

It's a long road back for him but hopefully he comes back strong. There are no silver linings really but at least he won't miss anything significant as far as we're concerned. James Mac should be more assured of his place in the Everton midfield as well but I'm just clutching at straws now really.

Unfortunately not in female sport over 3 times more likely to do your cruciate and have other knee injuries than males. Men are *******s

liamoo11
17/10/2013, 8:50 AM
I don't believe there have been any rugby games on the pitch this season. Cruciate ligament injuries are the curse of the AFL and are often very innocuous. Gibson has two choices, the traditional way which would certainly keep him out of the game for a year or he could undergo LARS treatment, which is new and revolutionary and can have players back in three months playing. There was initial scepticism about LARS treatment, but the AFL players who have had it seem to cope fine with it. The actual damage done determines the best way forward.

The LARs is artificial so you can push the rehab full on from early while the traditional hamstring/patella tendon repair needs healing time and rehab has to be more conservative to respect the biological principles of healing. The big question with the LARs is the abscence of proprioceptive feedback that an artificial structure will provide compared to an organic structure which has propriocetive receptors whose job it is to help the knee reposition itself to prevent injuries.

DeLorean
18/10/2013, 8:04 AM
Martinez seemed very upbeat about the injury, saying that they had feared the worst initially... the worst presumably being a year out. He said the basic structure of the knee is perfect. He seems to have more or less written of this season though but was confident that he'd return with no repercussions.

DannyInvincible
25/10/2013, 11:13 AM
Positive news on the Gibson injury front: http://www.irishexaminer.com/sport/soccer/oneill-meets-headhunters-247486.html

Everton boss Roberto Martinez has offered an upbeat assessment of the outcome of Tuesday’s operation on Darron Gibson’s knee following the anterior cruciate ligament injury he sustained against Kazakhstan.

“The surgery was really successful,” said the Toffees boss. “So we are starting to count the days down now on Darron to come back. The news there is all positive.”

I thought that sort of injury would keep a player out for months, but we can expect Darron to be back in days? Not all that precise, but I'm guessing Martinez means around a month or two surely?

25/10/2013, 11:55 AM
As Martinez is a very positive fellow sometimes it's hard to tell, but hardly a matter of days. Possibly it just means the operation went well and he has just ripped off the '270 days to go' sheet to reveal '269 days to go'.
The scans before the operation revealed that the structure of the knee was fine and the operation was just going to be straightforward surgery. Maybe there are different prognoses for different types of ACL injuries.

25/10/2013, 12:00 PM
My understanding is that many ACL injuries are complicated by damage to the meniscus and other knee ligaments and that greatly extends recovery time. As it's just a clean ACL injury he should be back quicker, but it would be a major surprise if he's training in anything less than 3-4 months.

DannyInvincible
19/12/2013, 5:00 PM
According to Neil O'Riordan on Twitte (https://twitter.com/noriordan/status/413652933138333696)r, O'Neill has been having difficulty trying to get in touch with Gibson.

O'Neill says he wants to speak to Darron GIbson but hasn't been able to get hold of him.

Predator
19/12/2013, 10:23 PM
It's amazing to think that, in an age where means of communication have increased dramatically, Darron Gibson can't be reached.

20/12/2013, 8:21 AM
If that's true, I don't know why O'Neill has to make public his poor communication skills.

TheOneWhoKnocks
13/01/2014, 9:22 PM
http://www.liverpoolecho.co.uk/sport/football/football-news/everton-fc-hopeful-darron-gibson-6490004

Gibson ahead in his recovery.

It would be great if he can come back for those three games at the end of the season and be as fit as a fiddle for the qualifiers in September. An Ireland midfield with Gibson is a far more attractive proposition than a midfield with Whelan.

DeLorean
08/02/2014, 4:42 PM
Martinez expects him to play again this season, if only just (http://m.evertonfc.com/news/archive/2014/02/08/kone-amp-gibson-to-play-this-season)

mark12345
09/02/2014, 4:00 PM
http://www.liverpoolecho.co.uk/sport/football/football-news/everton-fc-hopeful-darron-gibson-6490004

Gibson ahead in his recovery.

It would be great if he can come back for those three games at the end of the season and be as fit as a fiddle for the qualifiers in September. An Ireland midfield with Gibson is a far more attractive proposition than a midfield with Whelan.

Agreed. But how much playing time is he going to get now in a blue shirt. Who can you see him displacing in the Everton midfield? McCarthy? Barkley? Barry?

TheOneWhoKnocks
09/02/2014, 4:10 PM
Agreed. But how much playing time is he going to get now in a blue shirt. Who can you see him displacing in the Everton midfield? McCarthy? Barkley? Barry?

There's a good chance that one of them won't be at Everton next season. Barkley will probably move to a bigger team for £50m and Barry is 33 and linked with a free transfer move to Arsenal in the summer. Any of those 3 players could get injured at any time too and that would open up more space for Gibson.

Point taken though. Between his injury record and the form of their other midfielders, he would not be guaranteed a place in the team for sure.

28/02/2014, 12:55 PM
Small update from Martinez on Gibson. No development on what he said before, basically confirming Gibson is still on course to maybe make the final league games: http://www.independent.ie/sport/soccer/gibson-back-in-ireland-frame-for-summer-friendlies-after-fast-recovery-30048830.html

DeLorean
17/04/2014, 1:39 PM
Gibson in phenomenal return (http://www.irishexaminer.com/sport/soccer/gibson-in-phenomenal-return-265538.html)

17/04/2014, 4:05 PM
"We never expected Darron to be back with is before the season ends"

Eminence Grise
06/05/2014, 3:53 PM
The Irish Times reported a few minutes ago that Darron is back training with the Everton first team squad. Might be in with a shout for Sunday's match against Hull.

http://www.irishtimes.com/sport/soccer/english-soccer/darron-gibson-back-with-everton-first-team-1.1785517

06/05/2014, 4:02 PM
I'd forgotten about him, he almost entered the Ian Harte zone.

18/05/2014, 1:58 PM
Martinez believes Gibson will be a huge influence next season as he makes his comeback from injury: http://www.liverpoolecho.co.uk/sport/football/football-news/everton-fc-roberto-martinez-believes-7134918

TheOneWhoKnocks
17/07/2014, 1:11 PM
Potentially bad news for Shane Duffy and Darron Gibson..

http://prosoccertalk.nbcsports.com/2014/07/16/everton-in-pursuit-of-bosnia-herzegovina-midfielder-muhamed-besic/

"Besic’s presence could, however, spell trouble for Darron Gibson, who is recovering from knee ligament damage suffered last October. While most feel the Republic of Ireland international will remain at Everton there are whispers that Besic’s presence, and Burnley’s interest, could prompt the sale of Gibson.

Additional value for Besic comes in his ability to play as a center-back where he’ll provide added depth to Phil Jagielka, Sylvain Distin, John Stones and Shane Duffy."

17/07/2014, 1:16 PM
With Duffy waiting in the wings, it would seem there’s little need for Besic except that transfer rumors continue to rage over Stones. Given Martinez’ nurturing of Stones, selling the 20-year-old feels highly unlikely. Adding Besic, however, does provide cover.

17/07/2014, 1:24 PM
Everton in EL this year, will need as much cover as possible. Besic would be more a cover for Barry / McCarthy although can play centre half and at £4m its a nice bit of business if it comes to pass.

Olé Olé
17/07/2014, 2:48 PM
Is Besic even that good? He's playing in Hungary. I didn't see him in action during the World Cup, I will admit. But, this craic whereby we see a club make a signing in a position in which there's an Irish as a disaster is a tad unfair.

Jan Kromkamp and Josemi anyone?

Irwin3
17/07/2014, 10:45 PM
Potentially bad news for Shane Duffy and Darron Gibson..

http://prosoccertalk.nbcsports.com/2014/07/16/everton-in-pursuit-of-bosnia-herzegovina-midfielder-muhamed-besic/

"Besic’s presence could, however, spell trouble for Darron Gibson, who is recovering from knee ligament damage suffered last October. While most feel the Republic of Ireland international will remain at Everton there are whispers that Besic’s presence, and Burnley’s interest, could prompt the sale of Gibson.

Additional value for Besic comes in his ability to play as a center-back where he’ll provide added depth to Phil Jagielka, Sylvain Distin, John Stones and Shane Duffy."

Seems unlikely to be honest. Why would Burnley in their fight for survival risk signing a player with a dreadful injury-record who would be their highest-earner? Also Everton only have 3 cms plus youngsters at the moment so they could do with keeping all 3 and signing another one for the long season ahead.

The last two things Martinez has had to say about Gibson:

"Darron has been a big miss for us. He has not been forgotten internally. I know when you don't play as a player you get a little bit out of the limelight but I'm very excited about Darron's contribution next season. He's exactly the type of midfielder we need. Gareth Barry and James McCarthy have been fantastic but we could have done with Darron being fit and ready. He is looking sharp. He wanted to be involved in the final game of the season but we would have been taking a little bit of a risk to do that, but I'm pleased to say he will start pre-season in great condition and ready to fight."

"The three players are at different stages of fitness. Darron Gibson I consider to be fully fit. He has worked really well over the Summer. We are really happy with his progress."

Those of you with long memories will remember that there were bogus links of Gibson to the championship prior to his move to Everton. One of the clubs linked was Burnley. This new 'rumour' might well be a rehash.

As far as I can tell it comes from here http://www.evertonrumours.co.uk/everton-rumours/evertonrumours11788.php

Whispers, indeed.

Olé Olé
17/07/2014, 11:16 PM
Well said. From what I can see, Besic plays in the Hungarian league and, on the assumption that he did quite well at the World Cup, international tournaments are not a very accurate barometer for relatively unknown players. That's not to say Martinez has signed him on the World Cup solely without having scouted him quite thoroughly before putting his hand in Kenwright's very tight pocket. But it's fairly ludicrous to insinuate that he's going to push two Irish players down the pecking order and out the door, an insinuation made exponentially defeatist by the fact that the two players in question play in completely different positions.

Irwin3
21/07/2014, 4:09 PM
Gibson hopefully makes comeback appearance tomorrow against Tranmere. I hope that this is the beginning of a new era and he can go a long stretch now without succumbing to any more major injuries and he will hopefully play a big part for us in the next qualifying campaign.

Here's what Martinez has had to say:

"Darron Gibson (http://www.evertonfc.com/player-profile/darron-gibson) is fully fit and he looks a refreshed, regenerated player," Martinez told evertontv. "He's been training in an impressive, impressive way and I would expect him to be involved like the rest of the squad."

http://www.evertonfc.com/news/archive/2014/07/21/gibson-set-to-return

back of the net
23/07/2014, 10:46 AM
http://www1.skysports.com/football/news/11671/9391505/premier-league-darron-gibson-makes-everton-comeback-after-nine-months-out-with-cruciate-injury

Olé Olé
23/07/2014, 1:15 PM
That Muhamed Besic transfer to Everton appears to have stalled. Doesn't make much of a difference to Darron either way. He has to establish himself as McCarthy's partner over Barry anyway. He's making plenty positive moves and Martinez is making plenty positive sounds.

Still great that he's only 26. This is 'big season' territory for him at club and international level and he's starting as he needs to go on.

dr_peepee
23/07/2014, 4:50 PM
Take Martinez's sound bites with a pinch of salt. He repeatedly waxed lyrical about McGeady last year, but it didn't translate into starts.

23/07/2014, 5:01 PM
Ya but didnt you know, he was managing Mcgeadys fitness etc etc...<interject here CD>

He does it for all players. Have you ever heard him say anything bad? Its a good motivational tool, thats all it is. Sure he would be starting about 25 players if you read into his comments meaning gametime.

24/07/2014, 11:53 PM
For christ's sake Paul, you know full well I never said that.

25/07/2014, 11:06 AM
No you said this, whats funny if it was me you and your cronies would have found these straight away in reply:

" I'd say a lot of it has to do with the fact he's still working towards full match fitness (his pre-season started in January) and can't play three games in a week.
There's no sense bringing him on when you're 3-0 up if he needs the recovery time....You have to let players rest. He hasn't had a proper break in almost 18 months,..he needs to be managed for the crucial fixtures coming up."

you also said this nonsense in rebuke to me, when i said not to be getting carried away and arsenal were in prime position for 5th. Who was right again, in fact loads of posts i found this to be the case, i should do a collage:

At home, one of whom they've already beaten away. Arsenal have an easier run-in, but they've also only won one game in six in the league. I think both sides will drop points and Arsenal look more likely to drop silly points.

It's one game, Paul, postpone the victory dance. Everton fans and Martinez have both been very positive about his contribution so far. I'd say a lot of it has to do with the fact he's still working towards full match fitness (his pre-season started in January) and can't play three games in a week.
There's no sense bringing him on when you're 3-0 up if he needs the recovery time.

You have to let players rest. He hasn't had a proper break in almost 18 months, he'll be stuffed by the summer e needs to be managed for the crucial fixtures coming up.

25/07/2014, 11:31 AM
Fair enough, didn't realise I'd been so loose with my language, but I think my point was fairly clear was that the reason he wasn't playing many games is because he wasn't fit.

25/07/2014, 12:27 PM
For christ's sake Paul, you know full well I never said that.

what was that. :P

only messing fair play for apologising and acknowledging your mistake.I forgive you.

Do you think he will play many games and start many games now CD, that original post and the one above suggests you do?

Irwin3
14/08/2014, 6:41 PM
More nice words from Martinez on Gibson:

“Darron is quite a different midfielder, he’s that sort of playmaker and for me he is one of the best passers in the league.”

”It has been a very frustrating time since he got injured. But he has shown some good flashes during pre-season but we must make sure we are patient enough to allow him to recover fully and if we can get him fully fit it will be a massive, massive boost for the squad.”

http://www.squawka.com/news/roberto-martinez-darron-gibsons-return-will-be-a-massive-boost-for-everton/158341

With Gibson again being precautionarily rested in the last friendly against Paderborn (another poor 3-1 defeat, McGeady played most of the game, McCarthy cameo) last week, I wouldn't be surprised if we don't see him for Everton until the europe league (18/9) or the carling cup (24/9) games next month. Possibly on the bench before that, but I can't see him starting before then. It'll be interesting to see if he's involved in our games next month. I wouldn't be surprised if he isn't.

For Everton's sake, hopefully Coleman, Lukaku and Mirallas are ready for Leicester on Saturday.

14/08/2014, 8:09 PM
I read Martinez as saying that Darren was one of the best píssers in the league,
I suspect it's time to upgrade my lenses to compensate.

Irwin3
20/08/2014, 1:41 PM
I read Martinez as saying that Darren was one of the best píssers in the league,
I suspect it's time to upgrade my lenses to compensate.

Feast your eyes on this.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ajaDJ3Wch9M

20/08/2014, 2:26 PM
Gibson is unlikely to feature in the forthcoming internationals as Martinez is slowing his comeback to ensure he doesn't break down: http://www.independent.ie/sport/soccer/european-championships/gibsons-ireland-hopes-fade-as-martinez-delays-his-comeback-30521482.html

He'll be trying to get him to defect to Scotland next.

TheOneWhoKnocks
22/08/2014, 2:59 PM
Everton allegedly bringing in Mo Diame. No, really.

30/08/2014, 4:11 PM
Gibson on the bench this evening for Everton, McCarthy and McGeady start

liamoo11
30/08/2014, 8:13 PM
Gibson is unlikely to feature in the forthcoming internationals as Martinez is slowing his comeback to ensure he doesn't break down: http://www.independent.ie/sport/soccer/european-championships/gibsons-ireland-hopes-fade-as-martinez-delays-his-comeback-30521482.html

He'll be trying to get him to defect to Scotland next.

Delighted to see Martinez has not succeeded in keeping gibson out of the international games. He talks alot of nonsense at times

TheOneWhoKnocks
30/08/2014, 8:20 PM
Delighted to see Martinez has not succeeded in keeping gibson out of the international games. He talks alot of nonsense at times

His wife is Scottish. It must have been her putting him up to it.

liamoo11
30/08/2014, 8:31 PM
By the way how bad was Barry today. If he keeps gibson out Everton will have no chance of making europe this year

30/08/2014, 11:16 PM
I would be inclined to side with Martinez on this one.