View Full Version : More clubs to follow Dublin City?

20/07/2006, 5:33 PM
I keep seeing ominous statements about the place in light of the Dublin City affair about clubs "following Dublin City". Can anyone name any names or give any details about any club in such dire straits regarding finances aside from Shels?

1 9 2 8
20/07/2006, 5:38 PM
Finn Harps?

20/07/2006, 5:39 PM
They seem to have seen what way the wind is blowing and adjusted their expenditure accordingly before they ran into big trouble. Don't see how they will "follow Dublin City".

20/07/2006, 5:48 PM
AFAICS Harps seem to tackling their problems head on so are probably in better condition than most. WOuldn't expect Shels to go tbh

20/07/2006, 5:57 PM
With the attendances they're getting, I can't see Monaghan United around for much longer!

20/07/2006, 6:01 PM
With the attendances they're getting, I can't see Monaghan United around for much longer!

They may not have many fans but they have a good set up and don't spend beyond their means. This is what I am on about. Does anyone actually know anything about a club on their last legs or are these ominous statements being thrown about with little weight behind them.

passerrby
20/07/2006, 6:05 PM
I think that clubs may end up walking away from LOI football not just because of financial reasons.

20/07/2006, 6:07 PM
Dublin City didn't have a fanbase to bail them out.

I'm sure they won't be the last to get into financial difficulties, but I would be surprised if any clubs actually go to the wall in the short-term.

Patrick Dunne
20/07/2006, 6:12 PM
In the event of a crisis, most of the other clubs would be able to
rally 50 - 100 people together to help out.

This route to safety wasn't available to Dublin City.

20/07/2006, 6:12 PM
I think that clubs may end up walking away from LOI football not just because of financial reasons.

Something you know, passerrby?

20/07/2006, 6:19 PM
Something you know, passerrby?
Presumably a reference to the clubs who don't get into the Super-duper Premiership taking their ball and going home at the end of the season.....

passerrby
20/07/2006, 6:22 PM
No but ive met a lot of chairmen/owners/investers over the years and you can see it in there faces why bother what with licensing slowly trying to strangle the clubs ,poor attendances (all over) poor leadership etc

20/07/2006, 6:22 PM
Well, I'll add that I heard the vaguest of rumours that Kildare County will resign from the league considering themselves a failed experiment. Otherwise I don't know anything about clubs stepping down or being so close to going to the wall. It's almost as if people want to over exaggerate the league's problems, they're bad enough as it is without inventing negative PR.

Philly
20/07/2006, 7:01 PM
Doubt that's true at all Poor Student. Its tough for a new club to find their feet in this league, especially when the league itself hasn't got anywhere to put its feet...

20/07/2006, 7:08 PM
Info (http://www.foot.ie/showpost.php?p=496510&postcount=130) I posted a wihle back from club accounts.

Dublin City stand out like a sore thumb.

Philly
20/07/2006, 7:18 PM
Kildare County31-Oct-05 (132,580) 44,874 Profit

Yay we made a profit!!

Battery Rover
20/07/2006, 7:58 PM
Can Kilkenny City survive on the crowds they are attracting to matches? The have had even less than DC at times and there big crowds aren't anything special either.

I know we made a huge loss last year and have entirely restructued the committee because it was the only way to survive. Now have 10 big business men at the top with sub committees underneath given specific roles.

We have also set up structures with the schoolboy leagues in the midlands and one of the businessmen is on the committee of that also. This will bring players from the underage ranks through.It will be a long hard road for us but at least we have statred and we are keeping a strict budget. Others will have to follow the long road eventually

I believe about €3000 per week of a team budget and training once maybe twice a week to cut costs further. Considering the amount others are spending I wouldnt think we are in the top 6 spenders.

joema
20/07/2006, 8:21 PM
Can Kilkenny City survive on the crowds they are attracting to matches? The have had even less than DC at times and there big crowds aren't anything special either.

I know we made a huge loss last year and have entirely restructued the committee because it was the only way to survive. Now have 10 big business men at the top with sub committees underneath given specific roles.

We have also set up structures with the schoolboy leagues in the midlands and one of the businessmen is on the committee of that also. This will bring players from the underage ranks through.It will be a long hard road for us but at least we have statred and we are keeping a strict budget. Others will have to follow the long road eventually

I believe about €3000 per week of a team budget and training once maybe twice a week to cut costs further. Considering the amount others are spending I wouldnt think we are in the top 6 spenders.

Im a Kikenny fan and we will be fine - we dont get big crowds but we have the lowest wage budget in the league and cut corners wherever we can - (eg we dont even turn on the floodlights until the ref starts to complain :) and as a result have little or no debt.

Also we own Buckley Park 100%(one of if not the best stadium in the first div and a lot better than some premier stadiums)

Also Kilkenny has huge potential - just look at how well we have done in the Oscar Traynor over the years and for the first time ever our u21 set up includes some excellent local players.

We used to get very decent support when we were going well and had a few local players - at the moment our team is very young - almost certain it is the youngest team in the entire el. But in 2 or 3 seasons (probobly longer) we could be doing quite well for ourselves again.

Finally, Delaney has stated that there will be a place for us in the new setup - cant find source but he said something along the lines of the league needs strong teams in Cork, Dublin, Limerick, Galway and Kilkenny - "afterall it is a City"

Battery Rover
20/07/2006, 8:25 PM
I really hope we are all still going at the end of the season Joema. But can you please signpost your ground always drive by it:)

20/07/2006, 8:30 PM
Finally, Delaney has stated that there will be a place for us in the new setup
He said that to everyone. That's part of the reason it got voted in.

nshoop
20/07/2006, 8:30 PM
Also we own Buckley Park 100%(one of if not the best stadium in the first div and a lot better than some premier stadiums)

"

Buckley park is a kip bar the stand behind the goal and you'd struggle to find it

20/07/2006, 8:35 PM
Shams fans commenting on Stadiums again.....tut tut!!!!

20/07/2006, 8:44 PM
But can you please signpost your ground always drive by it:)

^ :D

I have to say I was pleasantly surprised by Buckley Park once it was found

nshoop
20/07/2006, 8:44 PM
Shams fans commenting on Stadiums again.....tut tut!!!!

Sorry what club do you represent?

20/07/2006, 8:46 PM
Sligo, newbie. ;)

Buckley Park is signposted. However, a signpost for the signpost would be nice.

nshoop
20/07/2006, 8:49 PM
Sligo, newbie. ;)

Buckley Park is signposted. However, a signpost for the signpost would be nice.

I thought so but he has home farm as his avatar,doesn't he?,and don't call me a newbie,newbie(ucd)

Battery Rover
20/07/2006, 8:56 PM
Buckley Park is signposted. However, a signpost for the signpost would be nice

:D :D :)

joema
20/07/2006, 9:10 PM
Buckley park is a kip bar the stand behind the goal and you'd struggle to find it

Jaysus ye Shams have to have something to moan about. If you think its a kip you must have very high standards and at the moment the New Stand is more than adequate - Im sure you will agree.

Sorry what club do you represent?

Very witty - do you write your own stuff? And anyway why does that matter?? At the end of the day he is an el fan, simple as that. Also why are all ye Rovers fans so bothered by Dub City?? If you look through the Dub City threads they are dominated by smug Rovers fans having a pop - maybe ye are so interested in Dub City because they were a better team than ye??

On the sign posting issue our hands are tied at the moment: The local council will not allow signs other than theirs to be put up.

He said that to everyone. That's part of the reason it got voted in.

Yeah your right. Still though Im confident we will be part of the new setup

nshoop
20/07/2006, 9:23 PM
. Also why are all ye Rovers fans so bothered by Dub City?? If you look through the Dub City threads they are dominated by smug Rovers fans having a pop - maybe ye are so interested in Dub City because they were a better team than ye??

Because the delight they took in seeing us in examinership and going down,they took a hating to us because roddy came to us,anyway they were a waste of space as you and everyone else knows,good riddance to them!

joema
20/07/2006, 9:34 PM
Because the delight they took in seeing us in examinership and going down,they took a hating to us because roddy came to us,anyway they were a waste of space as you and everyone else knows,good riddance to them!

Fair enough they were a waste and I think its good they are gone even though Im gutted for their fans but I still believe ye are bothered by Dub City because they were better than ye - just like Cork fans traditionally hate Shels fans but now hate the Drogs becasue they are their main rivals and have put one over them in two Cup Finals.

And why dont you respond to the rest of my previous post??

nshoop
20/07/2006, 9:41 PM
Fair enough they were a waste and I think its good they are gone even though Im gutted for their fans but I still believe ye are bothered by Dub City because they were better than ye - just like Cork fans traditionally hate Shels fans but now hate the Drogs becasue they are their main rivals and have put one over them in two Cup Finals.

And why dont you respond to the rest of my previous post??

What,better on the pitch,alright they were i suppose cause they bet us over two legs.I couldn't give a sh*te,where are they now,we are still in existence,what does their win count for now? and what other part of post,buckley park? it's nowhere near best stadium in first division,it's a kip,as i said before!

Roverstillidie
20/07/2006, 9:47 PM
back in the real world, i think CHF were way above and beyond anyone else in terms of real debt and more importantly, debt to turnover.

i cant see it being repeated in the same quick fashion.

joema
20/07/2006, 9:54 PM
What,better on the pitch,alright they were i suppose cause they bet us over two legs.I couldn't give a sh*te,where are they now,we are still in existence,what does their win count for now? and what other part of post,buckley park? it's nowhere near best stadium in first division,it's a kip,as i said before!

I completley disagree with you with regards to Bickley and as a fan am actually quite proud of it, but your entitled to your opinion.

Roverstillidie, I agree

Btw there will be a feature on Dub City tonight on TV3 Sports Tonight

joema
20/07/2006, 9:55 PM
Not trying to stir here but what does CHF stand for?

20/07/2006, 9:56 PM
don't call me a newbie,newbie(ucd)
Come back to me when your club is in its third century, newbie. ;)

Roverstillidie
20/07/2006, 9:56 PM
continuity home farm.

nshoop
20/07/2006, 9:59 PM
I completley disagree with you with regards to Bickley and as a fan am actually quite proud of it, but your entitled to your opinion.

Roverstillidie, I agree

Btw there will be a feature on Dub City tonight on TV3 Sports Tonight

If they put a new stand along one side of the ground,it would greatly improve the stadium and atmosphere,it can be quite empty and eery!

joema
20/07/2006, 10:05 PM
If they put a new stand along one side of the ground,it would greatly improve the stadium and atmosphere,it can be quite empty and eery!

The only way you can improve the atmosphere is by attracting fans. And a new stand is not a priority, the new and old stands are more than enough considering our attendances, to build another stand would be stupid to say the least. Also Buckley is not finished yet - we are moving the shop, dressing rooms and office to under the new stand. We are alos going to upgrade facilities for the disabled

nshoop
20/07/2006, 10:06 PM
Come back to me when your club is in its third century, newbie. ;)

Don't attract too much attention,yous aren't much more wanted or useful than home farm,yous were only along a few years and people got fed up with yous.Just keep supplying the odd good player and we wont complain :D

20/07/2006, 11:14 PM
I thought that Buckley Park was a nice ground when I visited it, probably the best I've been in this season I'd say.

nshoop
20/07/2006, 11:19 PM
I thought that Buckley Park was a nice ground when I visited it, probably the best I've been in this season I'd say.

When did yous play there?

20/07/2006, 11:20 PM
When did yous play there?In the cup.

nshoop
20/07/2006, 11:23 PM
Fair enough,as I said the stand behind the goal is grand,it's just the rest of the ground is a bit run down

harpskid
20/07/2006, 11:51 PM
The only way you can improve the atmosphere is by attracting fans.

Harps travelled last term for a cup game and were told to stop singing and beating the drum - for God's sake, get a grip!

Also, that wasn't the first such occurence at Buckley Park...

nshoop
20/07/2006, 11:55 PM
Harps travelled last term for a cup game and were told to stop singing and beating the drum - for God's sake, get a grip!

Thats funny because when we went there the only noise from them was a few kids and a drum,it became a pain in the head after ten minutes!

20/07/2006, 11:56 PM
maybe ye are so interested in Dub City because they were a better team than ye??

:D :D

As of now, we don't just have the best record in our league, we also have the best record in the country, leading Drogheda on GD. :D

joema
21/07/2006, 12:13 AM

What are you on about -"get a grip" - I think the fact that ye were asked to be quiet is tottaly embarrassing and had nothing to do with me or the other fans

Nshoop said we should get a new stand to improve atmosphere, I responded by pointing out the obvious - to make atmosphere you need fans - we dont have that many!

nshoop
21/07/2006, 12:16 AM
Fair point

joema
21/07/2006, 12:18 AM
:D :D

As of now, we don't just have the best record in our league, we also have the best record in the country, leading Drogheda on GD. :D

So what? When Dub City or CHF or whatever ye want to call them were in the el they were better than your team, if they werent why are ye so bothered by them? If you look through the Dub City posts they are full of Rovers fans comments - other teams fans dont seem as bothered by Dub City as ye. Funny that

nshoop
21/07/2006, 12:22 AM
They wanted to see us go bust and instead it has happened to them!

is this post polite and sensible enough for the moderators?