View Full Version : More clubs to follow Dublin City?

Pages : 1 [2]

21/07/2006, 12:28 AM
Yeah but if I had my way there'd be a law against stating the bleeding obvious too

joema
21/07/2006, 12:29 AM
They wanted to see us go bust and instead it has happened to them!

is this post polite and sensible enough for the moderators?

Even so, ye still cant take the fact that Dublin City were a better football team than Shamrock Rovers hence all the posts - ye felt bitter because they relegated ye. If it was simply becasue they wanted ye to go bust how come all the posts ye make towards Dublin City are not all about that issue?

21/07/2006, 12:31 AM
When CHF or whatever ye want to call them were in the el they were better than your team.

:D :D :D

See below:

Shamrock Rovers 30-15 Home Farm

Who was better? Who folded? The answers are obvious.

nshoop
21/07/2006, 12:33 AM
Even so, ye still cant take the fact that Dublin City were a better football team than Shamrock Rovers hence all the posts - ye felt bitter because they relegated ye. If it was simply becasue they wanted ye to go bust how come all the posts ye make towards Dublin City are not all about that issue?

All my posts about home farm were the same-i have no sympathy for them because of the sudden hatred they found for us and because they wanted us out of existence,i think thats fair.

joema
21/07/2006, 12:40 AM
Im not talking about your posts in particular but Rovers fans in general - I think you will agree that not all of the posts directed towards Dub City were about them slagging ye while ye were in examinership!

Dub City relegated Rovers - imo they were better

21/07/2006, 12:41 AM
:D :D :D

See below:

Shamrock Rovers 30-15 Home Farm

Who was better? Who folded? The answers are obvious.

Who inflicted the blemish of relegation on your once clean record?

4tothefloor
21/07/2006, 1:02 AM
buckley park? it's nowhere near best stadium in first division,it's a kip,as i said before!
So if Buckley Park isn't the best ground in the first division, what is? Terryland? Shamrock Rovers home ground I suppose........oh wait, ye don't have a ground. Glass houses and all that..... ;)

nshoop
21/07/2006, 1:24 AM
So if Buckley Park isn't the best ground in the first division, what is? Terryland? Shamrock Rovers home ground I suppose........oh wait, ye don't have a ground. Glass houses and all that..... ;)

Cobh is better-stand behind goal,seating/terracing on one side,a good sized terrace on the other,dundalk is as good if not better,terryland is as good

21/07/2006, 7:42 AM
I keep seeing ominous statements about the place in light of the Dublin City affair about clubs "following Dublin City". Can anyone name any names or give any details about any club in such dire straits regarding finances aside from Shels?
To bring this back on topic (Christ another way to tell the schools have broken up - traffic on the roads gets better, traffic on tinternet get's shíte)...

I think it's inevitable that other clubs will get into difficulties as the revenue audits work their way round and calculate the tax on all the "expense" payments.

bigmac
21/07/2006, 9:04 AM
they took a hating to us because roddy came to us

Isn't this a bit of an oxymoron? Everyone who really hated Rovers was delighted that Roddy had gone there!

Redzer
21/07/2006, 9:06 AM
It was on Ocean FM this morning that Finn Harps announced to their shareholders that they are loosing 5K a week.
For a club who made a profit in the last 3 seasons, this is really serious for them.

Clones Road Cas
21/07/2006, 9:09 AM
With the attendances they're getting, I can't see Monaghan United around for much longer!

Blah Blah Blah Blah Blah

An imaginative club makes money in other ways. The only thing that would get us out of the EL would be a decision we dont want to be there anymore.

21/07/2006, 9:57 AM
If Mons could get another 200 or so through the gate for thier home games they would start to build up into quite a good club!!!

monutdfc
21/07/2006, 10:34 AM
If Mons could get another 200 or so through the gate for thier home games they would start to build up into quite a good club!!!
Success breeds success. We have been bottom 2 for the past 3 seasons and looking like making it a fourth. It is hard to encourage people to come out and support an unsuccessful team.

But like the Kilkenny City fan described with his club, we have a strong infrastructure - a very successful schoolboy set-up, a new ladies team who are thriving (despite a recent blip in results) and an U-21 side from the wider local area for who we have high hopes. We own our ground, are virtually debt-free and we cut our cloth to fit.
And although it is hard to get punters through the gates, the local business and wider community are very supportive, and as someone once posted here before it is impossible to go through Monaghan without being sold a lotto ticket :D

Hopefully with some success for the senior side we can build on the infrastructure that is there, get that 200 more through the gate and build on it.

Passive
21/07/2006, 10:34 AM
Dublin City may have been a better team than post-examinership Rovers but it is clear that their club was trading recklessly and buying success by building up massive debts. There's nothing to be proud of in that.

They're dead, we're alive - that's the result that matters.

Ozymandias
21/07/2006, 10:46 AM
Monaghan and Kilkenny have gone about the LOI club differently to others..there clubs are very much community based and all the money is ploughed into the grounds and infrastructure.....kilkenny have now turned the corner where they can concentrate on the team as buckley park is a good set up ..monaghan are almost there.. the people that run these clubs and have known efectively no success should be commended as they are every bit as passionate as city rovers bohs,derry fans etc.....These clubs will continue because they are important to the local communities fin terms of youth development and the whole development of the game in their respective areas...other clubs are driven by success and are drawn into large debts in order to get it...If success comes to monaghan or kilkenny it will be from investment in youth and development as much as by money....fair play to ye lads the league is a better place because of ye...ye offer much more thatn DCFC did and are important to the league

Juz the Hoop
21/07/2006, 10:47 AM
Dublin City may have been a better team than post-examinership Rovers but it is clear that their club was trading recklessly and buying success by building up massive debts. There's nothing to be proud of in that.

They're dead, we're alive - that's the result that matters.

exactly. While ive sympathy for one chf fan the rest and seery I have none.

Seery saw us as going dead and he tried to twist the knife in to us.

a) In 2004 we were going to play in dalymount and them in tolka. However a comprimise was found and 3 clubs agreed that we would be in tolka and ICBINHFEF would be in Dalmount. Adrieene declined as he said "Tolka is nearer our catchment area"

b) The Roddy thing which he was like a broken record on

c) Examinership The CHF Fans were repaetedly going on about how we should be thrown out etc. Obviously these noises were being started by him.

They deserved to beat us on the pitch no question but its down to the above why a lot of our fans are posting comments. He who laughs last laughs longest I suppose.

JUZ

Passive
21/07/2006, 11:04 AM
Back to the original thread topic. In the long term other clubs will follow "Dublin City" out of the league but the only reason they will do so is because of bad management. Any club that lives within their means and runs themselves professional does not have to worry.

It's hugely ironic for "Dublin City" people to be warning the rest of us that we too might be expunged from the league - the only reason they went under was because they were engaged in reckless trading.

Imagine a company that were spending multiples of their earnings and running up debts all over town. That company then, rightly, goes broke and out of business. Should other businessmen worry? Of course not, if they are running their companies properly they have nothing to worry about.

Football isn't what put "Dublin City" out of business, reckless trading was.

Ronan Seery should be banned from Irish football for a very long time for this debacle he has thrust onto our league.

21/07/2006, 12:49 PM
It is in its third century.
Founded 1905, no?

21/07/2006, 1:23 PM
Should other businessmen worry? Of course not, if they are running their companies properly they have nothing to worry about.
That's a big 'if' in a lot of cases though. If clubs continue spending as they are, some will go bust.

manic da hoop
21/07/2006, 1:45 PM
If clubs continue spending as they are, some will go bust.

Good, let them kill themselves then. As long as the fans are in charge at Rovers we have nothing to worry about in that regard. The only reason any club goes to the wall from here on in will be due to the fans of that club keeping their heads buried firmly in the sand. It's up to supporters of all clubs to learn from the experiences of Rovers and CHF and make a stand if they are in any way concerned about the way their club is being run. If they fail to do that then they loose their right to survive.

bohs til i die
21/07/2006, 1:48 PM
Imagine a company that were spending multiples of their earnings and running up debts all over town. That company then, rightly, goes broke and out of business. Should other businessmen worry? Of course not, if they are running their companies properly they have nothing to worry about.

you have a very short memory. 12 months ago Rovers had debts of about €2,500,000 build up by reckless trading over a sustained period of time, longer then Dublin City have been in business, and this is on top of wasting millions of tax payers money given to Rovers in grants for that hovel in Tallaght.

Rovers shafted a lot of companies and the revenue commissioners for a few million [I seem to recall the lsit was printed in a daily national newspaper].

TommyT
21/07/2006, 2:40 PM
Dublin City's lack of support made them a unique case.

TOLKA is the best ground in the First Division.

21/07/2006, 11:00 PM
well officially 1901, but that a revisionist date. The gates at milltown said 1899, so thats when it was.
Ah well - we're still older than you. Newbie. :p

[Mods - feel free to split to get back on topic, incidentally!]

21/07/2006, 11:04 PM
Dublin City's lack of support made them a unique case.

TOLKA is the best ground in the First Division.

That's beacuse it belongs to a PREMIER Division club.

21/07/2006, 11:33 PM
It belongs to a building contractor, doesn't it?

joema
22/07/2006, 12:36 AM
It belongs to a building contractor, doesn't it?

Sharp, as usual

manic da hoop
22/07/2006, 12:57 PM
That's beacuse it belongs to a PREMIER Division club.

Yeah, and who owns 'your' ground, nice and all as it is?

I hear GUFC pay 2.5K a month to rent it.