View Full Version : Dublin City Fold

Pages : 1 2 [3] 4 5

19/07/2006, 9:11 PM
...we also beat them 3-0 a few weeks ago.

Was gonna point that out but didn't want to throw ORA under the bus :D

19/07/2006, 9:15 PM
I feel terrible for the fans of Dublin City:( , I honestly can't imagine what I'd do if that happened to Bray. Also feel sorry for players and staff, hopefully they can land on their feet.

19/07/2006, 9:16 PM
Was gonna point that out but didn't want to throw ORA under the bus :DI`ve already got my coat on & I`m waiting outside for the taxi.....

Its been a long week:)

19/07/2006, 9:19 PM
I feel terrible for the fans of Dublin City:( , I honestly can't imagine what I'd do if that happened to Bray. Also feel sorry for players and staff, hopefully they can land on their feet.

I see where you're coming from to a degree, but how attached can you get to a 5 year old "experiment" ? :confused:

Its been a long week
But a great week all the same!!

Red&White
19/07/2006, 9:19 PM
Just felt it should be pointed out...!

nshoop
19/07/2006, 9:22 PM
I see where you're coming from to a degree, but how attached can you get to a 5 year old "experiment" ? :confused:

But a great week all the same!!

Tell that to a lot of single mothers:D

Red&White
19/07/2006, 9:24 PM
Tell that to a lot of single mothers:D
Just beat me to it!

TommyT
19/07/2006, 9:27 PM
I think one of the Cork teams once went bust mid season. Pretty sure they weren't the only ones.

As for Dublin City, it's great news. They were always just a stick for the league's knockers to beat us with. I'd love to see someone buy dublincityfc.com and stick a load of quotes from Seery and his apologists on it.

The ones I feel most sorry for are Cobh, we deserved to be relegated but they were denied a shot at the premier by that **** take of a club.

Blue Man
19/07/2006, 9:29 PM
someone give me a club.5ft 10ins goalkeeper,20 yr old,2 league appearances in the promotion season,3 bench appearances this season.cant believe what has happened.there was absolutely no inkling that something like this was coming.now over 35 players are without clubs.

nshoop
19/07/2006, 9:31 PM
true!(tommyt's post)

Derek
19/07/2006, 9:43 PM

tell that to my 10 year old son, he started crying when he heard. As I said before when you follow a team you follow a team. I didnt know any of the bagage that came with Dublin City until I started supporting them, not all people who support a team have done a university degree in the history of the LOI as you must have done based on your knowledge of the irish game.

Ringo
19/07/2006, 9:45 PM
I know the girlfriend of one of their players. She was telling me on Saturday how he had always been paid on time and he didn't have a clue how they did it but the players were always happy enough as the pay kept coming. They didn't seem to have an inkling of what's coming. I feel sorry for all the fans and players involved. I guess there's a few lads looking for a club now.

Rocky always made sure the players were paid & that has to be to his credit. i know a lot of people don't like Rocky, but I’m proud to call him a friend. He has put his own money into the club & he is the biggest loser in money terms. It was me that instigated the deal with Carroll's. As a Director of Carroll's I have put money into the club, but we didn't bank roll it. I’ve had over 4 years of fantastic craic & fun, I’ve met fantastic people in particular those that post here. Unfortunately probably a lot more teams will go the same way. Slan Dublin City. Thanks for the memories:)

19/07/2006, 9:51 PM
someone give me a club.5ft 10ins goalkeeper,20 yr old,2 league appearances in the promotion season,3 bench appearances this season.cant believe what has happened.there was absolutely no inkling that something like this was coming.now over 35 players are without clubs.
Commiserations, kiddo. Thanks for all your efforts on behalf of the fans, I always thought you showed a lot of bottle and no little ability when thrust into the action, no matter how little preparation you'd had. I take it from what you're saying that the club never failed to honour the players' pay-packets during your tenure at DC?

Blue Man
19/07/2006, 9:58 PM
Commiserations, kiddo. Thanks for all your efforts on behalf of the fans, I always thought you showed a lot of bottle and no little ability when thrust into the action, no matter how little preparation you'd had. I take it from what you're saying that the club never failed to honour the players' pay-packets during your tenure at DC?

absolutely nothing was said and players were always paid on time no matter what the circumstances were.players never had to complain about payments unlike other clubs.it just leaves us all with a sense of confusion because nobody knows what the next step is going to be

19/07/2006, 10:02 PM
tell that to my 10 year old son, he started crying when he heard. As I said before when you follow a team you follow a team. I didnt know any of the bagage that came with Dublin City until I started supporting them, not all people who support a team have done a university degree in the history of the LOI as you must have done based on your knowledge of the irish game.

I was just asking a question FFS!! :eek:

Look I know you're real emotional right now :rolleyes: but there was no need for the "university" jibe.

anto eile
19/07/2006, 10:03 PM
Come support Shels. Bring your drum.

and go thru the same folding crap twice in one season?:)

good riddance to homefarm.
NO to franchise football

19/07/2006, 10:06 PM
We have won a league title off the pitch before and it was ****e, and this happens and it's even worse!

anto eile
19/07/2006, 10:09 PM

you missed out/ignored a huge chunk of football culture in not knowing your history..

19/07/2006, 10:19 PM
comiserations to the fans and the players of the former club.

As for the solution - the only course of action has been taken - the full expunging of the club's League record - it happened with Maidstone, Aldershot, Leeds City and Accrington.

So the Shels lot can stop whinging - as said before - someone gets burnt - a full expunging of a club's record is the usual course of action.

19/07/2006, 10:23 PM
Has Ollie got an appeal against the point deductions in the pipeline yet?

Top scorer list needs updating too.

sfc red
19/07/2006, 10:25 PM
My heart goes out to all the fans of Dublin City FC.

I will always remember you for relegating the homeless scum.

The Rovers fans on here say "you are not a real club", obviously to them you have to have won trophies in the stone age, brag about it ever since and have people afraid to bring their families to your games to qualify for that privilege.

At least you guys bowed out in the Premier Division, unlike the green and white history book.

:ball:

19/07/2006, 10:26 PM
Has Ollie got an appeal against the point deductions in the pipeline yet?

Top scorer list needs updating too.

I reckon we won't hear the last of this, sure we won the league in the courts before.

19/07/2006, 10:28 PM
I was talking to a couple of Killester players this evening to see if they have heard anythin about this yet regarding their cup game, they just hope they get a biggy in the next providing that they don't have to play Monaghan?!

19/07/2006, 10:42 PM
Well Dublin City are gone it begs the question who will be next?

Speranza
19/07/2006, 10:49 PM
I also wish to wishes to fans of Dublin City who were constantly the butt of jokes on this and other sites. At the end of the day we are all Eircom league fans and a rarity, I have no love for Seery, Dublin City and especially not for the filthbag Keely but I have a lot of respect for the small hardcore of Vikings. Fair play lads

nshoop
19/07/2006, 10:52 PM
agreed

19/07/2006, 10:54 PM
Well any Dublin City fans are welcome in Belfield any time they want to visit. Just bring your scarves and colours you'll blend right in!

Roverstillidie
19/07/2006, 10:55 PM
are they gone as a football club full stop just an EL side?

nshoop
19/07/2006, 10:56 PM
Are yous moving to the belfield bowl for next season?

19/07/2006, 10:57 PM
Are yous moving to the belfield bowl for next season?

Yes the Nou Campus will open for the 2007 season for soccer :D

19/07/2006, 10:58 PM
are they gone as a football club full stop just an EL side?
Totally as I understand from the statement issued after the emergency EL meeting held this afternoon.

nshoop
19/07/2006, 10:59 PM
Yes the Nou Campus will open for the 2007 season for soccer :D

ucd fans happy or sad?

19/07/2006, 11:03 PM
ucd fans happy or sad?

About Dublin City going? Well honestly don't like to see any clubs leave during a season gives the EL a bad name , gives the bar stoolers another stick to beat us with. Begs the question though which club will bite the dust next?
We might end up with a one division eighteen team league being run by the FAI if too many more go the way of Dublin City.

19/07/2006, 11:06 PM
ucd fans happy or sad?
Well I'm sad as Belfield Park has been the home of UCD AFC since I began supporting them 10 years ago. I have many great memories of the ground and despite what some travelling support thought it was a nice ground. Also the playing surface was one of the best in the league. I remain to be convinced that the Bowl will be any better than Belfield Park as work still has to be done(I think) to get it up to the standard that Belfield Park is at, at the moment. Also sharing the pitch with the rugby club will deteriate its condition.

19/07/2006, 11:08 PM
If UCD could somehow build up a support amongst its student base, which has got to be possible (though I don't see it happening) then they would be a fantastic addition to the league. As it stands I don't think that they bring anything to Irish football.

Well it's clear that you are too young to remember Dave Tilson and EOin Mullen who were developed into EL players at UCD and later played for Bohs. That's what we bring to the League not to mention educating young fellas who might not otherwise get third level education and setting them up for life after football , before their careers begin in earnest.
The student base is a dead duck as regards support. Summer soccer has killed that idea off permanently.
Better chance of getting support from the local suburbs and work has been done on this very point over the past number of years. Soccer camps run during the summer of attracted kids and their parents to matches. Core support is growing. Drop in average gates is largely down to massive drop in visiting support at UCD this season.

Aaron
19/07/2006, 11:14 PM
Well it's clear that you are too young to remember Dave Tilson and EOin Mullen who were developed into EL players at UCD and later played for Bohs. That's what we bring to the League not to mention educating young fellas who might not otherwise get third level education and setting them up for life after football , before their careers begin in earnest.
The student base is a dead duck as regards support. Better chance of getting support from the local suburbs and work has been done on this very point over the past number of years. Soccer camps run during the summer of attracted kids and their parents to matches. Core support is growing. Drop in average gates is largely down to massive drop in visiting support at UCD this season.

I agree, you gave us Clive Delaney, Ciaran Martyn, Pat Jennings. Three quality players. I was reading an old programme and the squad UCD had then, if you put that team back together now they wud be challenging for europe. The players were inexperienced then but have come on great now.

19/07/2006, 11:14 PM
give back all points removed, they were won on the pitch, not off it!!!

Couldn't agree more -where were you in 2001/2002, you could have told that to the FAI!

Always knew it would end like this for Seery's Continuity Home Farm, just surprised that the end happened so quickly. Although the fact that this hasn't even been a major story in the sports bulletins this evening shows that maybe the signs were there but nobody really cared.

The good news for the league is that this was surely a one-off. The only way this would happen again is if there was another club with financial difficulties, a history of overspending for short-term success, no ground, no great tradition in the area they play in, a small but unquestioning fanbase and 99.99% owed by one person....

Hmmmm...:cool:

19/07/2006, 11:19 PM
About Belfield Park I am sad. I have been attending games there since 1981 and as has been pointed out one of the best playing surfaces. One possible upside of sharing with Rugby. We might end up the only team able to play on that surface :D

19/07/2006, 11:23 PM
I agree, you gave us , Ciaran Martyn
they gave him his education,but the streets of Sligo is where he learned how to play.;)

Aaron
19/07/2006, 11:25 PM
they gave him his education,but the streets of Sligo is where he learned how to play

Do they have good coaches on the streets of sligo aswell??:D :D

19/07/2006, 11:26 PM
Ciaran Martyn played for UCD in Europe in 2000. I don't thing Strandhill Road FC ever played in Europe! :D

19/07/2006, 11:38 PM
Always knew it would end like this for Seery's Continuity Home Farm, just surprised that the end happened so quickly.

Depressing for the very few DC fans I suppose, but as above - we all knew it was inevitable, perhaps it is because it is surprising that's bringing the gloaters and bitter reactions out of the woodwork.

It's like the death of the last Pope, everyone knew it was goign to happen shortly enough and had pre-prepared their reactions to the demise.

20/07/2006, 12:08 AM
Do they have good coaches on the streets of sligo aswell??

the best....;)

Ciaran Martyn played for UCD in Europe in 2000. I don't thing Strandhill Road FC ever played in Europe! :D
no such team as Strandhill Road FC.
Get your facts right before coming on here.......:D

Roverstillidie
20/07/2006, 12:36 AM
Couldn't agree more -where were you in 2001/2002, you could have told that to the FAI!

Always knew it would end like this for Seery's Continuity Home Farm, just surprised that the end happened so quickly. Although the fact that this hasn't even been a major story in the sports bulletins this evening shows that maybe the signs were there but nobody really cared.

The good news for the league is that this was surely a one-off. The only way this would happen again is if there was another club with financial difficulties, a history of overspending for short-term success, no ground, no great tradition in the area they play in, a small but unquestioning fanbase and 99.99% owed by one person....

to be fair, when we were doing CRO watch a few months ago a few clued in hoopers predicted the end would be this soon. the auditors report was posted here before and sounded the bells, but no-one cared because they knew this day was coming.

it was an experiment in franchise that failed. it really frustrates me that rocky didnt decide to try and help an existing side. imagine rovers with the carrolls backing.... ego and debt are a bad mix.

alabama rover
20/07/2006, 12:44 AM
that's true. Home Farm never had much catchment potential in the wider Mayo area

or any other area!

20/07/2006, 12:54 AM
Awful PR for the league, shows what a joke it is. LOL at rovers fans glee. I', sure I'd be the same.

In Dublin Citys last ever official league game, they relegated Rovers. For that alone they'll have a special place in my heart.

If the franchises are all going bust are Cork City next? Probably not. Wonder will the Shels fans still not believe the "rumours" despite them being right about Dublin City.

Bad news for the league, bad news for Shels and Bohs. Bad news for Lee Roche who signed for them last week and will now be known as a club killer.

Good news for Derry and Rovers (and probably Limerick and/or Waterford too) and any club doing things right

Hope their fans stick around the league. Hope Seery never comes near football again. If he's allowed back in by a club the way Cork invited Kilcoyne back, the FAI should resign enmasse

20/07/2006, 1:07 AM
So, where's Keely off to next?:D.

Aaron
20/07/2006, 1:09 AM
So, where's Keely off to next?.

The Dole:D :D

joema
20/07/2006, 2:44 AM
I think in the long term this is good for the el. But still Im gutted for the DC fans - hope they stay around the league.

Btw whoever said that UCD bring nothing to the league must have been on drugs when they posted that

20/07/2006, 2:49 AM
I had some great times watching the games and will never forget sending Rovers down to the dungeon of the LOI.

We survived relegation. Promotion crippled you.

might just concentrate on my junior soccer.

Home Farm are a junior soccer side, and a highly respected and formidable one at that level. They will win leagues and cups there.

I feel terrible for the fans of Dublin City

How many fans are we talking about here?? 5, 10, 15?? :confused:

The ones I feel most sorry for are Cobh, we deserved to be relegated but they were denied a shot at the premier by that **** take of a club.

The tragedy of it all, is that we would have kept our place in the Premier Division had this happened 6 months ago, so there would have been a 12-team league.

Home Farm, a long-established, and highly successful club at junior football, were once a club that spotted great players that went on to fame and fortune elsewhere, both at home and abroad, and at international level, Ronnie Whelan being one of the more recent examples. They were never a much-loved club, but when they renamed their LOI side in 2000, in a cynical fashion under a commercial title, they lost any respect and credibility they had gained before. Even with the name change, the club's operations remained the same at every level, from the fan base, to their record on the field, even up to the club colours, and therefore could not be recognised as a brand new club, as others wanted to do, making their demise as a LOI club inevitable.

As they were due to play Home Farm at Dalymount on November 17 this year, UCD will finish the season one week earlier than everyone else after Week 32 of the current campaign. Killester are expected to receive a bye into the FAI Cup quarter-finals, as a result of Home Farm's demise at LOI level.