View Full Version : FAI Cup draw-Tomorrow(Wednesday)
27/06/2006, 1:28 PM
At last!
There will be a double header of FAI Cup draws at the Guinness Store House, Gravity Bar in Dublin on Wednesday evening. The draws for the third round of the FAI Cup and the first round of the WFAI (women's) Cup will take place.
The FAI Cup was blown wide open with the elimination of both of last year's finalists Drogheda United and Cork City while recently crowned A.U.L Premier Division "A" Champions Killester United are the only non league team left in the last 16 of the competition.
The draws are due to begin at 5:30pm although there is no confirmation yet of TV coverage.
http://irishfootballonline.com/news_story.php?newsid=4823
27/06/2006, 5:58 PM
At 5:30?! Sure there's no chance of live coverage then. What great marketing. And the FAI are the people we are supposed to hand over the league to because, inter alia, they are in the best position to market it (to paraphrase Genesis). :rolleyes:
Time for the FAI to cop on to themselves. Draw on Monday evening straight after a round of games. End of story. Fresh in people's minds, some either/ors to make the replays more interesting and the Cup doesn't get forgotten about.
el punter
27/06/2006, 10:21 PM
We're on the FAI's media distribution list at Walk The Chalk and haven't heard diddly squat about it. Perhaps its a meant to be a secret draw.
27/06/2006, 10:26 PM
At home to Killester Utd will do nicely... :) I would assume that the WFAI Cup draw will be on first and then the main draw will be on live on Six-One news...?
harpskid
28/06/2006, 12:09 AM
Stu, the draw is on live on the six one news on RTE. As far as I know, they put 5.30 on that so as to get everyone in on time and get them seated by the time RTE go across.
That's what they did last time 'round anyway
28/06/2006, 10:28 AM
Hopefully Killester/longford away :cool:
28/06/2006, 10:57 AM
bohemians home or away will do us nicely:p
28/06/2006, 12:33 PM
Stu, the draw is on live on the six one news on RTE. As far as I know, they put 5.30 on that so as to get everyone in on time and get them seated by the time RTE go across.
That's what they did last time 'round anyway
Fair enough - confirmed on the FAI alleged website as well. Still utterly stupid to leave the CUp hanging for so long after the Second Round.
Sligo at home for me. They're beeeruuutal. :)
28/06/2006, 5:46 PM
almost time...;)
Roverstillidie
28/06/2006, 5:53 PM
Rovers v Bohs!?!
what did we tell yiz?
Rovers - Bohs
Shels - Derry
Some nice games! :)
Non League Killester got Dublin City at home.
28/06/2006, 5:53 PM
Major ties:
Shels vs. Derry
Shams vs. Bohs!
Killester vs. Dublin
Sligo vs. Bray
Harps vs. Athlone
(all i can remember)
28/06/2006, 5:55 PM
Harps v Athlone
UCD v Limerick
Killester United v Dublin City
Pats v Dundalk
Rovers v Bohs
Shels v Derry
Sligo v Bray
Waterford v Longford
Killester-Dub City
Waterford-Longford
28/06/2006, 5:57 PM
Rovers v boez the big one. Bring it on! Shels at home as well so game might be on sunday.
Expect ridiculous amount of "security":rolleyes:
higgins
28/06/2006, 6:02 PM
Rovers v boez the big one. Bring it on! Shels at home as well so game might be on sunday.
Expect ridiculous amount of "security":rolleyes:
Maybe for the Rovers and Bohs fans its the big one!!
9th in the Premier plays 2nd in the 1st Division :eek:
Far more interest in the top of the table clash Shels v Derry I would think
28/06/2006, 6:02 PM
Handy Draw against first division opposition. just what the dr. ordered
28/06/2006, 6:04 PM
Away to Shels in the cup for the third year in a row.... :rolleyes:
Maybe for the Rovers and Bohs fans its the big one!!
9th in the Premier plays 2nd in the 1st Division :eek:
Far more interest in the top of the table clash Shels v Derry I would think
I'm sure you're attendance will prove that:rolleyes:
28/06/2006, 6:07 PM
Good draw for us. No offence meant to Limerick but a home draw avoiding Shels and Derry is as good as you could hope for. Will the Bohs-Rovers match be bigger than recently with it being the only one (barring a replay) of the year?
sfc red
28/06/2006, 6:09 PM
If Farrelly is still in charge, Rovers v Bohs will be an absolute circus...
I just posted almost that exact same post on the City MB :eek:
higgins
28/06/2006, 6:18 PM
:rolleyes: Nobody cares about Shelbourne, nobody cared about Shelbourne, and nobody will ever care about Shelbourne.
Considering the amount of Shels topics on your message board over the past few years it seems a lot of your fans do care about Shelbourne.
Can we not go one year without playing Shels in the early stages!
28/06/2006, 7:23 PM
Great comeback there :rolleyes:
Just had a look at Aertel, no surprises in what the headline on page 220 is :cool:
Not to mention it's on the front page of the RTÉ Website
Quite simply the biggest domestic club fixture in this country - always has been - always will be
Buile Shuibhne
28/06/2006, 7:33 PM
The FAI have an opinion on the top tie:
http://www.fai.ie/index.php?option=com_content&task=view&id=693
28/06/2006, 7:37 PM
as do http://www.breakingnews.ie/
6:49 PM Soccer - Shels face Derry in FAI cup
derry/shels fans which game do ye think will draw a bigger crowd??
Ive no doubt the Derry shels game will be the better footballing game but crowd wise id say the bohs-rovers tie will be the tie of the round. If it was in the brandywell it might be a different story
B-Stand
28/06/2006, 7:43 PM
Bohs v Rovers. Bring it on! The biggest game, the biggest rivalry, nothing else compares.
Hopefully the spoofer will be history by then and we will actually have a team to compete
28/06/2006, 8:06 PM
derry/shels fans which game do ye think will draw a bigger crowd??
City v Shels will be the biggest and best MATCH, Bohs v Rovers will have the biggest and "bitterest" ATTENDANCE.
Student Mullet
28/06/2006, 8:50 PM
Great comeback there :rolleyes:
Just had a look at Aertel, no surprises in what the headline on page 220 is :cool:
What?? Aertel and www.fai.ie contradict each other? What's the world coming to when these two relyable information sources can't agree.
BohsFans
28/06/2006, 9:32 PM
Thank Hunt Bohs are the away side!
Wouldn't fancy paying that security bill. ;)
TheOwl
28/06/2006, 10:33 PM
Oh what a petty arguement - BTW I bet my schlong is bigger than any of yours :p
28/06/2006, 11:18 PM
Who to go through then? Possibly...
Harps v Athlone - Athlone after a replay
UCD v Limerick - UCD with a narrow win
Killester United v Dublin City - Think Dublin City have too much
Pats v Dundalk - Pat's
Rovers v Bohs - Tough one. Rovers maybe slight favourites. Form in the First Division doesn't mean a huge amount though as there's a distinct gap between the two.
Shels v Derry - Derry after a replay? Another very tight one.
Sligo v Bray - Sligo
Waterford v Longford - Longford, possibly after a replay though
Derek
28/06/2006, 11:31 PM
Killester United V Dublin City
That's a real pain in the backside for me, I follow Dublin City all over the place and am in the process of setting up schoolboy football for Killester United.
What a disaster, although I know who I want to win.
Rovers v Bohs - Tough one. Rovers maybe slight favourites. Form in the First Division doesn't mean a huge amount though
Current form of the First Division is the last thing I want the game decided on...:)
29/06/2006, 12:06 AM
Let's see what the media headlines will be, I am sure that Bohs v Rovers will be the tie that gets the most attention, and I am sure that Bohs v Rovers will be the tie that gets the premium television coverage.
Yes, you're right. It will be on the main headlines on the front page - for off the field incidents!!
thomas
29/06/2006, 12:08 AM
Current form of the First Division is the last thing I want the game decided on...:)
The gas thing is Killester have a big club house and more people attending their games than dublin city.
I once played for KUFC, when we wore green and white hoops, but some b@stard has changed their strip to a Milan rip off.
29/06/2006, 12:17 AM
I wouldn't be surprised if KUFC do them and they have the top scorer in the competition :p :) :ball:
29/06/2006, 12:27 AM
Draw:
Harps v Athlone
UCD v Limerick
Killester United v Home Farm
Pats v Dundalk
Rovers v Bohs
Shels v Derry
Sligo v Bray
Waterford v Longford
Predictions:
Harps
Limerick
Killester
Pats
Impossible
Derry
Bray
Longford
29/06/2006, 2:38 AM
I think it is too early to be predicting results - it is still two months until the ties will be played!
29/06/2006, 3:30 AM
I once played for KUFC, when we wore green and white hoops, but some b@stard has changed their strip to a Milan rip off.
What? As opposed to the Celtic rip off?.
:p
Battery Rover
29/06/2006, 6:48 AM
Harps v Athlone
Not a bad for us even though we would have liked a home draw as it would have been possibly the last FAI Cup game in St Mels and the thought of another ass breaking journey to Ballybofey for what will be the fourth time this season when the cup is played.
But at least the beer is good and the Harps lads are a sound bunch.
Bray Head
29/06/2006, 7:58 AM
It's an FAI cup match so they (FAI) will pay the security and deduct it from both clubs share of the gate. Less money for both clubs.
placid casual
29/06/2006, 8:52 AM
Rovers v Bohs!?!
good.
our brothers across europe will want to attend this game no doubt.
and the turnstiles at tolka will spin like a politicians PR man.
hope we can find a goalscorer and get some bulk in midfield by then
29/06/2006, 9:49 AM
No, it's a Bohs tribute, a la Longford :D
Drumcondra Red
29/06/2006, 9:57 AM
I think we're due a cup win over Derry by now, possibly the winner of this match will go on to win the cup...
Roverstillidie
29/06/2006, 10:00 AM
Shams would need to play the game of their life and Bohs would need to play well they would need to play like they are playing at the moment and then maybe throw in a couple of poor ref desicions then and only then Shams may have a chance of upsetting the big boys from the premier. I Suppose thats the magic of the cup to see if the likes of first division teams can pull of a shock result against stronger opposition. Best of Luck to you guys
what are you talking about?
not even the most hardened/deluded gypo belives any of that. have a skim through gypoweb, they have the game lost already.
we have lost once all season. they are at their lowest ebb in years. the only thing they have is the higher division they are just about in
the game of Rovers life? you pillock
Roverstillidie
29/06/2006, 10:03 AM
eeeehhhhh, its a cup game.
you pay half the bill indirectly :confused:
29/06/2006, 10:08 AM
Quite simply the biggest domestic club fixture in this country - always has been - always will be
Fully endorsed. :D
Which game will have the highest attendance? Which game will capture the imagination of the public? Which game will garner the most media attention? Which game actually means something?