View Full Version : FAI Cup draw-Tomorrow(Wednesday)

Pages : 1 [2]

placid casual
29/06/2006, 10:33 AM
while its patently ovbious which game means more to the fans, and will have a decent enough attendence I think its a valid point made by both derry & sheilas fans that the eventual winner of the cup could come from the winner of their tie.
neither bohs nor rovers will come within an ass's roar of the fai cup final.

bohs til i die
29/06/2006, 12:20 PM
eeeehhhhh, its a cup game.

you pay half the bill indirectly :confused:

not really. the gate is split, so Bohs get 40%

29/06/2006, 12:31 PM
I think it is too early to be predicting results - it is still two months until the ties will be played!
Ah yeah - bit of craic though!

Harsh on Killester though - two rounds of the FAI Cup (their first ever?) and all they get is Wayside and Dublin City.

Roverstillidie
29/06/2006, 12:50 PM
not really. the gate is split, so Bohs get 40%

you get 40% after costs :rolleyes:

you are slower than the average bozo to be fair.

ConorE
29/06/2006, 12:52 PM
Considering the amount of Shels topics on your message board over the past few years it seems a lot of your fans do care about Shelbourne.

Is this you admitting that you are a regular reader of the Bohs MB?

Don't confuse 'caring' about Shelbourne with wanting Shelbourne to do the decent thing and lie down and die.

sfc red
29/06/2006, 1:32 PM
There will be more people at the Shels and Derry game there for the football, than the Top of Division One -v- Bottom of Premier encounter.

higgins
29/06/2006, 1:41 PM
eleven-a-side call it worng I guess :)

http://www.eleven-a-side.com/faicup/irish_soccer_detail.asp?newsid=23236

Crowd may be bigger at the Rovers Bohs game, but that will have a lot to do with the fact its your one and only encounter for the season.

Shels v Derry is the bigger game, I have no doubts about that.

as for the results in both,
Shels to win at home. we beat them 1-0 last time at home and the 1-1 in the setanta was a last min goal from Derry that willo let slip through his hands, we've had the better of Derry at home this season (eventually !!! :) )

Bohs to win easily. Rovers are in the first division for a reason and your not even top of a very poor division. You needed Killkenny to miss a peno the other night to get a 0-0 and I cant see any reason why your team can progress past even a bad Bohs team. One off cup game and all that but when I look at the teams sheets of both teams it seems to spell out Bohs every time...

29/06/2006, 1:45 PM
There will be more people at the Shels and Derry game there for the football, than the Top of Division One -v- Bottom of Premier encounter.

How do you intend working that one out? A simple questionnaire? Anyone not in colours is not "there for the football" maybe?

The fact is that more people will attend Rovers/Bohs than any other 3rd round game. Derby games and bitter rivalries have their own special attraction all across the world. Mind you, it's not a concept that Shels need to understand anytime soon.

stickyjoe
29/06/2006, 2:04 PM
Going by Bohs and Rovers recent attendences hopefully this "tie of the round" manages to get a crowd of 4 figures

Roverstillidie
29/06/2006, 2:25 PM
Going by Bohs and Rovers recent attendences hopefully this "tie of the round" manages to get a crowd of 4 figures

im sure it will considering our last 2 cup meetings got 12,000 and 8,000

i dont know what the discussion is about, the derry v shels game is the 'football' tie of the round due to respective league placings, but the dublin derby is the headline grabber because, well, its the dublin derby.

29/06/2006, 2:51 PM
Anyone not in colours is not "there for the football" maybe?

I imagine there'll be plenty at Shamrock vs. Bohemian who won't be wearing colours and won't be there for the football either...:p

Roverstillidie
29/06/2006, 3:02 PM
Ah the blind romance of the Cup :D , fare play to ye ! I hope you put it up to them, would be a great scalp for Shams if you could do it. But there is a serious step up from First division level you are used to playing and the premier division but on a one off occasion if everything falls right you may just have a chance of creating a bit of a shock. Remember the likes of Burton Albion and how they lived their dream last year ! Best of luck

am i getting patronised by a bog rover? :confused:

we have been in the 1st ten minutes ffs. you were there nearly 10 years. we are hardly used to it.

would it be classed as a 'shock' if we did them?

and anyone who uses romance in the context of a Rovers v pox game is either on a wind up or a different planet

29/06/2006, 3:09 PM
Cups are for losers :(

29/06/2006, 3:15 PM
Cups are for losers :(

45 years now is it?! :p

BohsFans
29/06/2006, 4:17 PM

wrong there homeless. :rolleyes:

FAI take their cut and then 60/40 to home/away team.

Pay YOUR "security" bill out of your 60%. :p

29/06/2006, 4:42 PM
what are you talking about?

not even the most hardened/deluded gypo belives any of that. have a skim through gypoweb, they have the game lost already.

we have lost once all season. they are at their lowest ebb in years. the only thing they have is the higher division they are just about in

i've seen boths bohs&shams recently(galway v shams & bohs v us) and even though bohs fans would be disgusted with their performance against us i wouldn't give shams a hope in hell if they played like they did against galway. a lot can change between now&then but if i was betting on it i'd have my money on bohs

Roverstillidie
29/06/2006, 5:04 PM
Ah jesus man not trying to wind you up, you are coming across as being very insecure :D , look what ever you hang ups are if you go out and play your game against them and take your chances will then you may do it. Of course it is romantic to see a team from a lower division coming to play well one of the leading lights of the eircom league.

I think you need a reality check go and watch a premier divison game and then first division game, that should sort you out :D . As you know Bohs are not playing well if you believe and get stuck in you may just do it. I suppose The Shams directors are probably hoping the game goes to a replay so you can get a big pay day at a premier divison ground, will it would make financial sense but as keeping with what i was saying for the romance of the Cup go out an do your best and you never know. One thing for sure this home game you will have more than a few hundred at your game which would be welcome by any club in the ame position.

anyone who calls the bores a 'leading light of the EL' and thinks we get a few hundred at games is on a wind up. clueless.

higgins
29/06/2006, 5:35 PM
I thought your last home game was 300 and your last away game was 200 ??
Id call that a couple of hundred...
No use pretending otherwise.

and before you go down the road of shels have no fans,
I know!!!

29/06/2006, 5:59 PM
Ah jesus man not trying to wind you up, you are coming across as being very insecure , look what ever you hang ups are if you go out and play your game against them and take your chances will then you may do it. Of course it is romantic to see a team from a lower division coming to play well one of the leading lights of the eircom league.

I think you need a reality check go and watch a premier divison game and then first division game, that should sort you out . As you know Bohs are not playing well if you believe and get stuck in you may just do it. I suppose The Shams directors are probably hoping the game goes to a replay so you can get a big pay day at a premier divison ground, will it would make financial sense but as keeping with what i was saying for the romance of the Cup go out an do your best and you never know. One thing for sure this home game you will have more than a few hundred at your game which would be welcome by any club in the ame position.

:D:D:D

29/06/2006, 6:17 PM
I think you need a reality check go and watch a premier divison game and then first division game, that should sort you out :D .

Limerick, Cobh, and ourselves, are better sides than the bottom 6 in the other division.

I suppose The Shams directors are probably hoping the game goes to a replay so you can get a big pay day at a premier divison ground, will it would make financial sense but as keeping with what i was saying for the romance of the Cup go out an do your best and you never know.

A Rovers-Bohs game is not romance. It's blood-and-guts, car-crash football, the only LOI fixture where form does not count. And no, we don't need a replay. We played 20 times at Dalymount last season, so we're sick of the place.

29/06/2006, 6:19 PM
Limerick, Cobh, and ourselves, are better sides than the bottom 6 in the other division.

History says you're wrong. Promoted sides rarely do well.

29/06/2006, 7:17 PM
anyone who calls the bores a 'leading light of the EL' and thinks we get a few hundred at games is on a wind up. clueless.
Keep it up Rogue Trader. You're killin' him! :D

29/06/2006, 7:41 PM
Would I be right in saying that hardly any of this Rovers side have been involved in this derby before?!

Philo
29/06/2006, 8:05 PM
Would I be right in saying that hardly any of this Rovers side have been involved in this derby before?!

I'm sure they'll get the general idea very quickly.

29/06/2006, 9:20 PM

A Rovers-Bohs game is not romance. It's blood-and-guts, car-crash football, the only LOI fixture where form does not count. And no, we don't need a replay.

Stop biting to him....he's not used to being in a higher division or dealing with the prospect of a big derby, bless..

He should be more concerned with filling a 14 seater bus to a *big* premier division match on Friday than fishing at Rovers fans.

Derek
29/06/2006, 9:30 PM

So that's how you ended up in the first division, you are better than the bottom of the premier. Dream on.

Roverstillidie
30/06/2006, 12:05 AM
So that's how you ended up in the first division, you are better than the bottom of the premier. Dream on.

on the pitch where did we finish....

Derek
30/06/2006, 12:36 AM
on the pitch where did we finish....
OK, I was just having a go. dont get many chances

alabama rover
30/06/2006, 4:13 AM

What's your point exactly.... There will be more people at the Rovers-Bohs game for better reasons than that! We get football every week.......

bohs til i die
30/06/2006, 6:51 AM
eleven-a-side call it worng I guess :)

http://www.eleven-a-side.com/faicup/irish_soccer_detail.asp?newsid=23236

Crowd may be bigger at the Rovers Bohs game, but that will have a lot to do with the fact its your one and only encounter for the season.

Shels v Derry is the bigger game, I have no doubts about that.

as for the results in both,
Shels to win at home. we beat them 1-0 last time at home and the 1-1 in the setanta was a last min goal from Derry that willo let slip through his hands, we've had the better of Derry at home this season (eventually !!! :) )

Bohs to win easily. Rovers are in the first division for a reason and your not even top of a very poor division. You needed Killkenny to miss a peno the other night to get a 0-0 and I cant see any reason why your team can progress past even a bad Bohs team. One off cup game and all that but when I look at the teams sheets of both teams it seems to spell out Bohs every time...

Shels v Derry is bigger because its 2 of the top 4.

Bohs v Rovers is bigger because it'll have the biggest crowd of the round, it'll be the headline grabber in the week leading up to the game because of its once off nature this year. This will be Shels /Derry 5th time this season I think.

Bohs v Rovers will be the most unique fixture in this league for a long time. One fallen giant against one sliding backwards giant. It might well be the one and only time there is a derby between Bohs and Rovers with the teams in different divisions. For that reason it gives it something extra that Shels v Derry wont have simply because of the number of times you have played Derry this season.

bohs til i die
30/06/2006, 6:54 AM

bullsh1t. When Shels played Derry in 2004, in the middle of Shelbourne's two games with Deportivo, there was 800-1000 at the same fixture.

There will be no more then 2000 at the Shels v Derry game. I'd be surprised if there is less then 4000 at the Bohs v Rovers game.

There is no more then a few hundred who cause the trouble.

bohs til i die
30/06/2006, 6:57 AM

this is how it works .....

1. The gate is counted and the tickets counted.

2. The FAI get 7.5% of the total gate receipts

3. Of the remainder, the away team gets 40%

4. The home team get the renmainder

5. The home team pay the expenses from the share of the gate that they keep

I know this because I have an involvement with the ticketing at Bohs and have seen the gate split on at least 8 occasions in the past few years. The away teams cut is taken from the gate before any home team expenses.

bohs til i die
30/06/2006, 6:59 AM
im sure it will considering our last 2 cup meetings got 12,000 and 8,000

i dont know what the discussion is about, the derry v shels game is the 'football' tie of the round due to respective league placings, but the dublin derby is the headline grabber because, well, its the dublin derby.

Rovers v Bohs in October 2002 had a crowd of about 5000

Bohs v Rovers in April 2001 had a crowd of about 8000

B-Stand
30/06/2006, 7:39 AM
One fallen giant against one sliding backwards giant.

Brilliant :D

30/06/2006, 9:53 AM
There is no more then a few hundred who cause the trouble.

That's alright so :rolleyes: ............once they keep it orderly :rolleyes:

Dublin12
30/06/2006, 11:00 AM
When is the Bohs/Rovers game?

30/06/2006, 12:16 PM
Crowd may be bigger at the Rovers Bohs game. Shels v Derry is the bigger game, I have no doubts about that.

Despite the media concentrating on the World Cup, there was some coverage of the cup draw in the papers yesterday. One national newspaper devoted 7 paragraphs of it to our game, and 1 paragraph to Shels and Derry. It's clear which one is the bigger game in the general public's eyes.

Rovers are in the first division for a reason

We're in the first division by default.

30/06/2006, 1:33 PM
We're in the first division by default.

Yeah, it was Roddy Collins and Tony Maguire's default. ;)

higgins
30/06/2006, 1:38 PM
You were not good enough for a top 6 finish in the Premier last season.

Your now 2nd in the 1st Division and have sold off a good few of your better players and yet you think your better then the bottom 6 in the premier :rolleyes:

Its crazy how some people can't let go of the past...

30/06/2006, 2:04 PM
this is how it works .....

1. The gate is counted and the tickets counted.

2. The FAI get 7.5% of the total gate receipts

3. Of the remainder, the away team gets 40%

4. The home team get the renmainder

5. The home team pay the expenses from the share of the gate that they keep

I know this because I have an involvement with the ticketing at Bohs and have seen the gate split on at least 8 occasions in the past few years. The away teams cut is taken from the gate before any home team expenses.

You're forgetting Carlsberg's cut.

30/06/2006, 2:29 PM

This quote is brought to you by the John Delaney Premiership Experience. :D

03/07/2006, 12:24 AM
on the pitch where did we finish....and off the pitch ye cheated so deserved to be relegated. Get over it!

thomas
03/07/2006, 2:17 AM
and off the pitch ye cheated so deserved to be relegated. Get over it!

Nobody cheated. Everything Rovers did was within the law. There has never been an explanation of the points deduction from the FAI, which at the time seemed to be purely based on points the club had ammassed to that point in time.

The fake excuse at the time was that the accounts were the same for two year but thats not the case.

24/08/2006, 2:49 AM
Anyone want to change their predictions?

Red&White
24/08/2006, 7:08 AM
all this talk about shels v derry and gippos v rovers in the cup is grand but, the tie of the round has to be killester v the super vikings. irish rail are laying on a dart special to get us to killester.and the beechcomber is showing it live on big screen to those without tickets.
Hmmmm