View Full Version : Good luck to Shels
15/06/2006, 10:11 AM
As the Shels forum is quiet I'm starting this thread here. (Mods feel free to move).
Just to wish Shels good luck in their InterToto game in Lithuania on Sunday.
Should be easy win. Hope they get through couple of rounds at least & congest their season :)
15/06/2006, 10:51 AM
Should be easy win. Hope they get through couple of rounds at least & congest their season :)
its never easy going to teams like this
ill say the same thing i said about brian kennedy.......qualify or dont come home:)
15/06/2006, 10:53 AM
Good luck to the Lithuanians
15/06/2006, 11:19 AM
I think we will win this, a lose is unbearable to think about. Draw will be fine once it's a score draw. A scoreless draw could cost problems! However, I keep getting bad feelings about this fixture, we are expected to win, which is the norm for Irish clubs now. Therefore I can see a Hibs type result again :eek: :o :(
15/06/2006, 11:54 AM
Pity Neiler is out he could have brought his magic to the European stage 8)
Wonder will Nutsy go with a lone striker or play the Barrel and Jay together :?
Here is my preferred choice anywho:
___________________________Delaney________________ ________
___Heary___________Hawks__________Dillo__________S couse___
___Ryan____________Ndo____________Stuey_________Ol lie_____
________________Barrel________________Jayo________ _________
Though there are a no. of options he could use.
This one would be interesting to see ;) -> With Ndo playing in behind Jayo in the hole and putting Crawford in the middle and dropping Glen!
-OR-
Playing Rennie in front of the defence with Ndo and Stuey in front of him and Jayo with the lone striker roll!
15/06/2006, 12:32 PM
Good luck lads...
15/06/2006, 12:32 PM
What's the chances Nutsy will play a 4-5-1 with Crawford and Reynolds without Ndo? I find he always does something weird when it comes to European games. A lot of people seem to think Shels have this one in the bag. I'm cautiously optimistic. We still have little precedent of European success. I hope and think Shels can do it, but I don't expect anything. Also, if the rumours about wages are to be believed, who knows what effect this may have on morale.
Drogman.
15/06/2006, 12:37 PM
Agree with Dodge, good luck to the Lithuanians, should be handy enough for them.
15/06/2006, 12:46 PM
What's the chances Nutsy will play a 4-5-1 with Crawford and Reynolds without Ndo? I find he always does something weird when it comes to European games.Maybe he'll have a rather large wad on the Lithuanians to win at a decent price to recover some of the reputed €20k he's down in wages??:D :D
15/06/2006, 12:49 PM
thats the only reason i hope they win
Maynard
15/06/2006, 1:11 PM
Best of luck to Shels.
15/06/2006, 1:37 PM
Best of luck to Shels, hopes it a handy one nil win and they dont pop up on the radar for the next round and maybe catch teams unaware. Hope they do really well in the competition.
Shels are entitled to win - so long as they don't think as much themselves. The team suggested above - with its clear attacking intent - might seem a bit cavalier for an away game in Europe but I'd go with it, given the value of away goals. Assuming Shels get a score draw or better they should be fine.
CuanaD
15/06/2006, 2:37 PM
Jeez, Europe starting again already!
Best of luck to Shels:ball:
Vetra are 4th in Current Lithuanian 1st division (http://www.soccerway.com/national/lithuania/first) They just lost to leaders 4-1 at home!
Finished 4th in last seasons table (http://www.soccerway.com/national/lithuania/first/2005/) 35 points behind Ekranas who lost to Cork City.
No exucuses for not winning over 2 legs.
Lithuania may be summer season but I was surprised how Cork City fitter than in away leg last year.
15/06/2006, 7:00 PM
Best of luck Shels but we wont need any of it
Were going to make an example of Lithuanian football and humilate Vetra (or who ever it is).
Forza Shels !!!!!!!!!!!!!1
15/06/2006, 9:54 PM
Good luck to the Lithuanians
Agree with Dodge, good luck to the Lithuanians, should be handy enough for them.
I hope Shelbourne get stuffed
A Drogheda,a P**ricks and a Gypo - Theres a suprise :rolleyes:
Lads,jealousy is a terrible thing!
15/06/2006, 10:38 PM
good luck shels
Buller
15/06/2006, 10:46 PM
best of luck to shels, u's should make at least two rounds... but the Intertoto doesnt count for coefficients points does it?! ;)
higgins
15/06/2006, 10:54 PM
Vetra are 4th in Current Lithuanian 1st division (http://www.soccerway.com/national/lithuania/first) They just lost to leaders 4-1 at home!
Finished 4th in last seasons table (http://www.soccerway.com/national/lithuania/first/2005/) 35 points behind Ekranas who lost to Cork City.
No exucuses for not winning over 2 legs.
Lithuania may be summer season but I was surprised how Cork City fitter than in away leg last year.
Maybe the fact the Lithuanian team are favourites is something you should consider?
We are the UNSEEDED team and although I will travel in the morning and expect a win I dont think there is no excuse for not winning. Considering what rumours are around these days who knows what will happen. Shels have not really hit the standards they set for a few months before the Deportivo game. Theres been some awful displays this season.
Drogman.
16/06/2006, 8:12 AM
A Drogheda,a P**ricks and a Gypo - Theres a suprise :rolleyes:
Lads,jealousy is a terrible thing!
Jealous of what? We are in the UEFA cup and you's are in the Intertwo bob cup.
I don't like Shels and I don't go for this love in that all EL supporters seem to do when clubs are in Europe. As far as I'm concerned the team I want to see doing well in Europe is Drogheda Utd.
Maybe the fact the Lithuanian team are favourites is something you should consider?
Load of rubbish. I did not say you have to beat them away but if you cannot progress to round 2 will be letting the league down.
You were in the CL last season, Vetra were 30+ points worse than their CL & Uefa Cup entrants.
Billy Lord
16/06/2006, 11:20 AM
Vetra knocked Scottish side Hibs out two years ago at this stage, and went on to reach the third round. Could be tricky for Shels.
16/06/2006, 11:22 AM
Vetra knocked Scottish side Hibs out two years ago at this stage, and went on to reach the third round. Could be tricky for Shels.
Hibs had just gotten a new manager, were well out of season and were in confusion. Was a good feat for them of course, but Shels don't have the same excuse.
LeixlipRed
16/06/2006, 11:31 AM
Jealous of what? We are in the UEFA cup and you's are in the Intertwo bob cup.
I don't like Shels and I don't go for this love in that all EL supporters seem to do when clubs are in Europe. As far as I'm concerned the team I want to see doing well in Europe is Drogheda Utd.
Your ignorance astounds me. First of all, we'll never actually meet in Europe so how cheering on a fellow EL club could be damaging to Drogs I dont know. Secondly if Drogheda want to be the only team doing well in Europe then you had better look forward to playing in a awful lot of preliminary rounds because the only way EL football will improve its standing in Europe is if all the clubs do well and our coeffecient goes up. Personally i'll be supporting all EL teams in Europe this season. I'll be down in Dalyer to cheer on Drogheda as well.
As for the Pats and Bohs heads who will be cheering on the lithuanians, good luck with that lads
robbieos88
16/06/2006, 11:48 AM
Good luck lithuanians
LeixlipRed
16/06/2006, 11:50 AM
Good luck lithuanians
Someone already banged out that original masterpiece. But thanks for your input:rolleyes:
Philly
16/06/2006, 12:01 PM
Heres their site. Cool stand. http://www.fkvetra.lt/lt/stadionas.php
16/06/2006, 12:42 PM
Good luck to Shels
16/06/2006, 12:54 PM
As for the Pats and Bohs heads who will be cheering on the lithuanians, good luck with that lads
Cheers
Drogman.
16/06/2006, 12:59 PM
Your ignorance astounds me. First of all, we'll never actually meet in Europe so how cheering on a fellow EL club could be damaging to Drogs I dont know. Secondly if Drogheda want to be the only team doing well in Europe then you had better look forward to playing in a awful lot of preliminary rounds because the only way EL football will improve its standing in Europe is if all the clubs do well and our coeffecient goes up. Personally i'll be supporting all EL teams in Europe this season. I'll be down in Dalyer to cheer on Drogheda as well.
Boo hoo! Listen its nothing personal, just rivalry.
I don't like to see Shels winning, either in the league or Europe. Same can go for Bohs and Cork. Its just a thing I have.
coislaoi
16/06/2006, 1:12 PM
Good luck to Shels (all in the name of co-efficiency of course;) ).
LeixlipRed
16/06/2006, 1:14 PM
but in europe it makes no difference! in fact it helps when all Irish teams are winning! I'd never support another team in the league but in Europe I follow any team (except Longford ;) ) because it actually benefits Shels to have teams performing good in Europe
ColinR
16/06/2006, 1:21 PM
i was always under the impression that the co-efficient is not affected by the intertwo-bob cup, so accordingly i will allow my jealousy (!!) at the drogs not being in this competition affect my support in this tie - come on the lithuanians
LeixlipRed
16/06/2006, 1:24 PM
The intertoto cup doesnt effect coefficients but i was talking in generalities. Anyway, I'll be in Dalyer to cheer on the baldy midget and his troops in July. I'm the bigger man, see?? :D ;)
aido1895
17/06/2006, 4:12 PM
..............As far as I'm concerned the team I want to see doing well in Europe is Drogheda Utd.
Aye, the very best of luck in your 2 away games:rolleyes:
anto eile
17/06/2006, 6:41 PM
best of luck to vetra vilnius
anto eile
17/06/2006, 6:43 PM
I don't like Shels and I don't go for this love in that all EL supporters seem to do when clubs are in Europe.
well said.
supporting each other in wurope is pathetic and makes a mockery of our own rivalries.
milan fans dont support juve in europe.Barcelona fans dont support real madrid in europe.so why should we put aside our allegiances?? it makes light of our own clubs and league
well said.
supporting each other in wurope is pathetic and makes a mockery of our own rivalries.
milan fans dont support juve in europe.Barcelona fans dont support real madrid in europe.so why should we put aside our allegiances?? it makes light of our own clubs and league
Milan don't have to support Juve cos they don't have to worry about co-effients. We do. If you ever want any El team to move forward and qualify for group stages in Europe we need every team to do well every year. That is the only way we can move to become seeded and make it to the group stages.
Or do you just not care about Europe at all?? Cos if the 4 teams in Europe don't do well this year then we'll be moving backwards not towards the Group stages
anto eile
17/06/2006, 6:58 PM
i dont want shels or drogheda or cark in the group stages! you get millions from the CL group stages,money with which to dominate your domestic league.why would i want shels/cark etc winnig 10 leagues in a row?? rosenborg got into the group stages 14 years ago and dominated the norwegian league for 12 years straight. yeah it would be great if that happened in ireland alright.cop on ffs
i dont want shels or drogheda or cark in the group stages! you get millions from the CL group stages,money with which to dominate your domestic league.why would i want shels/cark etc winnig 10 leagues in a row?? rosenborg got into the group stages 14 years ago and dominated the norwegian league for 12 years straight. yeah it would be great if that happened in ireland alright.
I want any El team to get into the group stages. Preferably a few being of the same standard and being able to do it close enough to each other. Getting any team into the group stages will bring the EL huge exposure, draw sponsorship for the league and the clubs in it and draw new fans causing the league to grow. But obviously you can't see past your own team
cop on ffs
grow up and get over yourself.......i think you'l find the majority of fans would want the same to happen
LeixlipRed
17/06/2006, 8:08 PM
Agree with everything you're saying there micls. Anto eile doesnt seem to grasp the fact that qualification for the CL group stages could in fact bring money into the whole domestic game benefiting his club along the way. There are some occasions when rivalries can be removed. Especially when you arent competing against each other dirdctly or indirectly as is the case here. You can actually benefit from Shels, Drogs, etc success
17/06/2006, 9:20 PM
Lads,its an inferiority complex with these Shams!
18/06/2006, 5:14 AM
supporting each other in wurope is pathetic and makes a mockery of our own rivalries. milan fans dont support juve in europe.Barcelona fans dont support real madrid in europe.so why should we put aside our allegiances?? it makes light of our own clubs and league
That would be Bohs in our case obviously.
Barcelona and Real fans don't support each other in Europe, but support the other teams from their league who play in Europe. Same goes for every other country. As a Rovers fan, I can't support Bohs in Europe, but with them not playing, I can support everyone from our league when they play in Europe this year. :)
you get millions from the CL group stages,money with which to dominate your domestic league.why would i want shels/cark etc winnig 10 leagues in a row??
Rubbish!!!
When Shels got to the third round, the media were pising themselves over how much they'd get, and how the league would be a permanent walkover for Shels every year. The fact is, our league is one of the most competitive in Europe, with it often going to the last game before it's decided. Whereas in the bigger countries, the league is often won by 10+ points, several weeks early. You won't see Rosenborg-like domination here.
Sniffer
18/06/2006, 9:22 AM
i dont want shels or drogheda or cark in the group stages! you get millions from the CL group stages,money with which to dominate your domestic league.why would i want shels/cark etc winnig 10 leagues in a row?? rosenborg got into the group stages 14 years ago and dominated the norwegian league for 12 years straight. yeah it would be great if that happened in ireland alright.cop on ffs
:confused: So we'll all continue to swim in a stagnant pond full of inbreds in the hope that the Hoops can dominate that for eternity, and we'll somehow convince ourselves that we don't need to improve; everything in the smelly pond is hunky dory. Who needs European football, who needs growth and improvement in playing standards and facilities, your club don't even have a ground at the moment; doesn't matter because with your attitude we can all go back to playing in the Phoenix Park.
18/06/2006, 12:23 PM
Vetra Vilnius 11 - 8 Draw 11 - 5 Shelbourne 13 - 8
18/06/2006, 12:31 PM
Best of luck Shels, they should win both games in my opinion.
Gareth
18/06/2006, 1:18 PM
Live Updates for the Shels game here:
http://www.shelbournefc.ie/matchzone/matchzone.php?matchid=9148
Kick off 4pm :)
18/06/2006, 2:34 PM
Best of luck Shels but we wont need any of it
Were going to make an example of Lithuanian football and humilate Vetra (or who ever it is).
Didn't ye say that about a certain team from Malta a few years back? ;)
Complacency is a very dangerous fellow