View Full Version : Westport United FC

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 [12] 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37

threefivetwo
10/05/2007, 4:57 PM
without 8 of your first choice players??? if you look at how succesful the celtic underage setup is ye must b gettin worried, some serious players there that would get on any team n da super league!!! their underage setup and quality of the teams is somethin to admire!! een though i don't like saying it!!

quay heart
10/05/2007, 9:41 PM
without 8 of your first choice players??? if you look at how succesful the celtic underage setup is ye must b gettin worried, some serious players there that would get on any team n da super league!!! their underage setup and quality of the teams is somethin to admire!! een though i don't like saying it!!

your correct.what chance do we have when the people in charge wouldnt know a football if it hit them between the two eyes..

renovater
13/05/2007, 7:21 PM
your correct.what chance do we have when the people in charge would know a football if it hit them between the two eyes..
Must ask the question apart from always knocking Westport do you manage any of there under age teams?
you should try to be more positive, I understand there are times when certain people need there heads knock together,but do you think its time you should deliver what you can contribute to the game.

14/05/2007, 7:01 AM
renovater,I've moved your question into the "Advice on the Rules of the Game" thread where the Ref will I'm sure give you an official answer.

Thunderblaster
19/05/2007, 10:49 AM
I heard that the lads had a superb 5-0 win in Partry with Vinny, Cam, Flawless, Spiderman and the returning Louisburgh Lion all netting. Also, I noted that Razor made another comeback and his past EL experience will prove to be invaluable. Welcome aboard to Johnny O'Brien from Corrib Rangers, famous for outplaying Danny Scahill in 2005 when Westport United played Corrib Rangers. Lets hope that he has a successful playing spell for Westport United.

Thunderblaster
19/05/2007, 10:52 AM
Did I hear that a prominent Westport United supporter was seen hoisting a Castlebar Celtic flag at his place of work??:eek: Loved to have seen the reaction when he was asked to implement that particular task.:D

Thunderblaster
20/05/2007, 8:51 AM
3-0 against Ballyheane and played some sharp football. Vinny, Louisburgh Lion and Brian Fahy netted. Very impressed with Johnny O'Brien in the middle of the park. Very much a clone of Danny Scahill. I have a nickname for him to be inducted into the Hall of Names!! Makelele, because he likes to break up attacks in the middle of the park!!:D

Ballina Town
20/05/2007, 9:55 AM
Bring him down to Belleek next Sunday.We'l put him in his place

gnasher
21/05/2007, 7:37 AM
Bring him down to Belleek next Sunday.We'l put him in his place

Ooooh Ballina, did your lipstick fall out of your handbag?
We'll bring down Ukelele as well if you want to play with him too :D

threefivetwo
21/05/2007, 12:49 PM
johnny o brien has no commitment and will let ye down on many occasions. all the talkin ye do about celtic bringing in players and payin managers and giving them cars and what are ye doin now????????at least celtic got a manager with qualifications and experience thats worth the money!!!! ye are jealous of celtic who did it right i just wish that everyone would shut up on about what celtic are doing when ye are doin it yourselves, it's the way forward!!! not tryin to be a w#*ker lads sorry but just thought i'd say it!!

swinfordfc
21/05/2007, 1:20 PM
i wish to make a small comment - i know the westport manager and i think he does have the coaching to be a top manager and from i see at the moment - westport are flying - last season was first season and he still won the AIB Cup - i think the super league is theirs this year

quay heart
21/05/2007, 3:00 PM
johnny o brien has no commitment and will let ye down on many occasions. all the talkin ye do about celtic bringing in players and payin managers and giving them cars and what are ye doin now????????at least celtic got a manager with qualifications and experience thats worth the money!!!! ye are jealous of celtic who did it right i just wish that everyone would shut up on about what celtic are doing when ye are doin it yourselves, it's the way forward!!! not tryin to be a w#*ker lads sorry but just thought i'd say it!!

dont know anything about obrien lad but ten out of ten with the rest.

Thunderblaster
21/05/2007, 7:45 PM
I heard that the Gaffer got his Youth Cert on Saturday. Well done to him.

Closing Time
24/05/2007, 11:44 AM
3-0 against Ballyheane and played some sharp football. Vinny, Louisburgh Lion and Brian Fahy netted. Very impressed with Johnny O'Brien in the middle of the park. Very much a clone of Danny Scahill. I have a nickname for him to be inducted into the Hall of Names!! Makelele, because he likes to break up attacks in the middle of the park!!:D

Is that the same Johnny O'Brien that played with Celtic for a few seasons.

Closing Time
24/05/2007, 11:49 AM
i wish to make a small comment - i know the westport manager and i think he does have the coaching to be a top manager and from i see at the moment - westport are flying - last season was first season and he still won the AIB Cup - i think the super league is theirs this year
I cannot see anyone touching Westport for the league this year. Maybe Celtic depending if Dykes can or will use the youth players. Ballina will put up a good fight but if you take Duffy out of the team they are very average when they meet quality sides.

Thunderblaster
24/05/2007, 10:25 PM

This guy came from Corrib Rangers.

Closing Time
25/05/2007, 1:02 AM
This guy came from Corrib Rangers.

So if Peter Burke signs for Celtic and I was asked if he played for Ballyheane I would say he came from Westport Utd.

quay heart
26/05/2007, 4:40 PM
I heard that the Gaffer got his Youth Cert on Saturday. Well done to him.

fair play to him considering he didnt have to do his kickstarts like everyone else...:mad:
also tb is it true dan fallon and torphy gone to celtic ?

renovater
27/05/2007, 6:47 PM
I think the Ballyheane game was a closer game than the score line suggest. after all Westport scored in the first 5min next goal came in the 62 min.the rest is history.
Well today they went back to winning ways with 5-1 win over crossmolina away.
it there first time to beat them in 4 attempts.
At lease they should be out of any relegation battles. and look for ward next year with the return of the Prodigal Son

renovater
27/05/2007, 6:51 PM
So if Peter Burke signs for Celtic and I was asked if he played for Ballyheane I would say he came from Westport Utd.
You can take the bog from the man, but you can't take the man from the bog.
if you translate.He will always be Ballyheane!!

the grape vine
28/05/2007, 8:21 AM
if you translate.He will always be Ballyheane!!

maybe so ,but he wins a few things with westport, i couldn't see him wanting to go back to b/heane to play in a team where he is the main man and has to carry the whole team, i bet his back isn't sore playing with westport..

galwayhoop
28/05/2007, 1:33 PM
fair play to him considering he didnt have to do his kickstarts like everyone else...:mad:

if you play 5 years eircom league you don't need to do kickstart 1 or 2. he is hardly benefiting from some major conspiricy or anything.

also the experience gained from playing at the top domestic level would outweight that gained from doing courses which are aimed at training coaches of children from 7 to 12 yrs old!

gazza2
28/05/2007, 2:01 PM
Kick Start 1 + 2 would be off no benefit to him to go back and do.

I heard he is looking at starting his Uefa B badge (Level 2) in the next few months as well but has to work around fixtures and stuff like that with Westport.

terrier
28/05/2007, 5:02 PM
[QUOTE=Thunderblaster;671180]Westport United has shouted a serious warning to Super League contenders on Saturday evening after wiping the floor with Glenhest Rovers on a 6-1 scoreline.

someone forgot to tell ballina !!!!!

Thunderblaster
28/05/2007, 8:07 PM

As per any ex or current Eircom League footballer with 5+ years experience.

also tb is it true dan fallon and torphy gone to celtic ?

100% accurate. They were free agents at the end of the season and they were entitled to join any club they deemed fit within the rules of the SFAI. These two players have every right to progress to a higher level.

Thunderblaster
28/05/2007, 8:11 PM
someone forgot to tell ballina !!!!!

The wind spoiled the game. Had a good goal disallowed. Gave away a silly penalty. Missed Makelele as he had a christening or a wedding in Galway. Some players were not let play with Ballina's high tempo pressing game with tough tackles. At the end of the day, the Elvery's Mayo Super League title was never won on the 27th May!!;):D

Thunderblaster
28/05/2007, 8:13 PM
Kick Start 1 + 2 would be off no benefit to him to go back and do.

I heard he is looking at starting his Uefa B badge (Level 2) in the next few months as well but has to work around fixtures and stuff like that with Westport.

Now that is real ambition!!:D:D:D

Thunderblaster
28/05/2007, 8:16 PM

Who is famous for this particular quote??:eek: I can see this on the national curriculum for the Junior Cert next year!!:D:D

Cannon Balls
28/05/2007, 8:37 PM
The wind spoiled the game. Had a good goal disallowed. Gave away a silly penalty. Missed Makelele as he had a christening or a wedding in Galway. Some players were not let play with Ballina's high tempo pressing game with tough tackles. At the end of the day, the Elvery's Mayo Super League title was never won on the 27th May!!;):D

Great game to watch, dont think the wind spoiled it at all, Westport and Ballina games are always entertaining and this one was no different. Dont think makelele would have made any difference, Quinn was superb for Ballina. The tackles were flying in from both sides but the game wasn't a dirty one. Ballina wanted it more, and were value for the win. As for the goal disallowed, it was tight but thats what linesmen are there for. The town had a very close call off the line in the first half also.

gunner1
29/05/2007, 12:07 PM
Who is famous for this particular quote??:eek: I can see this on the national curriculum for the Junior Cert next year!!:D:D

Seamus Mac an Tailleur, a musician and Gaelic scholar living in Southern California. He performs in a group called "An Fior Bhlas".
Willy Clancy on Traditional Irish Music
Tom Standeven wrote: "I well recall that day in July, 1962, in Miltown Malbay, Co. Clare when John Vesey asked Willie Clancy his opinion on Irish traditional music and how it should be played."

Willie Clancy: "The standards are set! As far as fiddle playing goes, you can ask anyone all over Ireland and he will refer you to Sligo. Can you pass the master, Michael Coleman? I haven't many of his records but I heard quite a few and it is the "Ceol Draoichta" as is said in West Clare—the "fairy music"—that's what I think of Michael Coleman's music.

The pipes, of course, is another instrument, but they are (the fiddle and pipes) first cousins. The flute is a grand instrument, too. If I were asked to choose my favorite instruments to do justice to Irish music, I pick the uilleann pipes, the fiddle, and the concert flute. I don't know what you boys think, but those are my three. I won't say anything hard against the other instruments, but those are the three to do justice to it.

"Micín" Coleman, as they called him, I think, was the "boss." Some fellows have tried to improve on it or change it but by God, they never will, nor I hope......

Now, we have the piper, Patrick Touhey, the American, Chicago, but we are proud to say that he was horn in Loughrea, Co. Galway, went to America at the age of four years. I had some records of "Patsy." He was a "citeog" (left-handed) like m'self, but, by God, I think no better man ever handled the chanter.

We have two men here today, John Vesey, ... and who is my other friend here?"

John: "Tom Standeven."

Willie: "By God, they uphold the prestige of the Old Country in every corner of the world. We are very proud to have them here in Miltown."

John: "Thank you, Mr. Clancy. It is a pleasure to meet you and to hear a man play the pipes like you play them. Not alone does he play the pipes but he plays a wonderful fiddle, and he is a traditional man all the way down the line, and hates to hear the Irish music spoiled as some of our friends are spoiling it today. 'Tin pan alley' boys."

Willie: "I heard a man say something one time, and I think it was very wise: he says that jazz was the folk music of the Negro before it became "tin pan alleyed". That is what is happening to our Irish music today - that's a very sad case. You have men taking up their fiddles and just because they got a classical knowledge of the fiddle, they try to apply that classical knowledge to folk music which is a sacrilege. They can play Italian* music too, but they try to put Italian touches into the traditional Irish fiddle, and it's a catastrophe, in my opinion!"

* (NOTE: i.e., "classical", the old term for which was "Italian"—FJT)

John: "Mr. Clancy, I thank you for your comment on that particular point."

Willie: (In answer to a question from Tom on the origins of Irish music) "Well, like most folk musics, it comes from the soil. What people sang when cutting the hay and cutting the turf, their sorrows and joys. It is not something you get from somebody who came back from the U.S.A., or came hack from England; it isn't a borrowed thing. It is something that Mother Nature gave us and unfortunately, some have gone astray from it."

John: "Is that the way it should be kept?"

Willie: "Good God, of course! Can anyone copy from Mother Nature?"

John: "Would you like to see it kept that way?"

Willie: "By God, there is no more staunch a supporter than I for that! ' I don't like to see it given the "new look." When that happens, God help us!"

John: "You say yourself that they are trying to give it a new look today,are they?"

Willie: "Well, they are, but it is not in ignorance or on purpose—because I don't blame the people so much from the cities. You know you can take the man from the bog but not the bog from the man or something like that.
enjoy

Closing Time
31/05/2007, 6:45 PM

Whats the story with your meeting last night. Anything to do with your best youth players wanting to come to Celtic?

gunner1
02/06/2007, 2:31 AM
I think the Ballyheane game was a closer game than the score line suggest. after all Westport scored in the first 5min next goal came in the 62 min.the rest is history.
Well today they went back to winning ways with 5-1 win over crossmolina away.
it there first time to beat them in 4 attempts.
At lease they should be out of any relegation battles. and look for ward next year with the return of the Prodigal Son

was the cup game closer than you think??????????????????????????
4-nil,and i believe the ref was easy on 1 or 2 players:p

renovater
02/06/2007, 7:02 PM
will leave the ref out of it, he has a job to do. he may not get all his decissions right,nor do players alike.
However the game it self was awell deserved victory for Westport.
And a little man like Robert Coyne wants to get his house in order:mad:

renovater
02/06/2007, 7:08 PM
maybe so ,but he wins a few things with westport, i couldn't see him wanting to go back to b/Keane to play in a team where he is the main man and has to carry the whole team, i bet his back isn't sore playing with westport..
Dont kid yourself no one man is bigger than a club, he certainly played his part,carry the team no.
I think that has being proven all ready base on results.but he would be welcome back and he would be addition to any team:)

Thunderblaster
02/06/2007, 9:04 PM
Whats the story with your meeting last night. Anything to do with your best youth players wanting to come to Celtic?

Nope and the contents of the meeting are not going public either. Very sensitive stuff.

Thunderblaster
02/06/2007, 9:07 PM

Wasn't at the game but I heard that Westport just wiped the floor with Ballyheane with the Gaffer and the Louisburgh Lion netting, the latter getting a hat trick. Lovejoy made his comeback. Cannot comment on the referee.

Thunderblaster
02/06/2007, 9:21 PM
A coaching session with the U.14s in McConville Park had to be cancelled today because of broken glass on the pitch and the splinters were lethal. This place is allegedly the site of drinking parties and whoever performed this action must examine his/her actions for this disgraceful act.

Thunderblaster
20/06/2007, 9:11 PM
Good to see the boys roll on. Beat Ballina Town 2-0 with the Gaffer and the Louisburgh Lion netting; scraped past Snugboro 2-1 with the Gaffer and Keano scoring; waltzed past Kiltimagh/Knock United 5-1 with Spiderman getting a brace, Vinny, Louisburgh Lion and the Gaffer polishing off. Last but not least, Kenno and Makelele both scoring in the 2-1 win over Claremorris on Sunday, the latter's first goal since coming from Corrib Rangers.

Thunderblaster
20/06/2007, 9:12 PM
Nice to see David Horkan back for the red and black.

Thunderblaster
20/06/2007, 9:13 PM
Westport United Underage Presentation Night in the Castlecourt Hotel, Westport on Sunday at 6:00. All are welcome to attend.

Closing Time
23/06/2007, 9:25 AM
Westport United Underage Presentation Night in the Castlecourt Hotel, Westport on Sunday at 6:00. All are welcome to attend.

Did Westport win anything last year or is players of the year awards etc.

gunner1
25/06/2007, 2:02 AM

Another early night ken?????

Thunderblaster
25/06/2007, 9:07 PM
Did Westport win anything last year or is players of the year awards etc.

Primarily individual awards. Westport United U.14B won the Dalton Inn U.14 League South unbeaten and the U.11s won the Aaron McDonnell tournament in Ballina.

Thunderblaster
25/06/2007, 9:09 PM
Another early night

Depends who is doing the night shift!!;):D

Thunderblaster
25/06/2007, 9:11 PM
Beat Manulla 3-2 in a tempermental game of football with the Gaffer, Spiderman and Flawless netting. Heard that the B team were outstanding in their 6-0 win over S&F United.

gunner1
26/06/2007, 2:03 AM
Depends who is doing the night shift!!;):D

so it was an early night,, 2 awards?????

Closing Time
26/06/2007, 9:22 PM
Primarily individual awards. Westport United U.14B won the Dalton Inn U.14 League South unbeaten and the U.11s won the Aaron McDonnell tournament in Ballina.

A disappointing season for you then. Any chance of sliverware this season. Ballina look good for the U-12 & U-14 titles. I wonder can they bring home a Connacht title in these age groups?

Closing Time
26/06/2007, 9:24 PM

Your U-16 team had a good win over Ballina last night. Were you at the game or have a report?

Thunderblaster
27/06/2007, 10:33 PM
A disappointing season for you then. Any chance of sliverware this season. Ballina look good for the U-12 & U-14 titles. I wonder can they bring home a Connacht title in these age groups?

Westport United have not dominated in the trophy stakes in underage football for over ten years now. Ballina Town to win a Connacht Cup? To be realistic, you should gauge your side against Castlebar Celtic, Mervue United and Salthill Devon. If your team is stronger that all three and consistently beating teams of that standard, you have a great chance. Also you need a bit of luck. Sadly for Westport, I don't think we are up to that level to win the competition.

Thunderblaster
27/06/2007, 10:36 PM
Your U-16 team had a good win over Ballina last night. Were you at the game or have a report?

There weren't too many clear cut chances in the game. Westport over played their killer passes. Apart from the goal, the best chance in the game came from Sean Rocliffe, who headed over the bar.