View Full Version : Stephen Lally QUITS

Pages : 1 [2]

Tir Oilean
29/05/2006, 9:04 AM
Lest you forget GUFCT Goughie wants to retire fully and he hasn't given much thought to coaching according to his interview in the first programme this season. Also he has no experience. I'd prefer an outsider. For too many seasons now we've had local management with no success, time to start thinking outside of the box. But agree with you it has to be soon.

29/05/2006, 9:10 AM
Goughie would be a disaster.
We need to get somebody like Dolan or from england who doesn't know the players that will come in and give them a kick up the arse!
Attitude is the only problem IMO.The last 2 managers have been local and haven't really delievered.
As pd said before we need yo get 100% in our final exam.It's imperative we pick someone who will deliever.

Trainee
29/05/2006, 9:37 AM
It can be only one Irish Person for the Job Pat Dolan
anyone else would be not be good enough

Lets hpoe if Dolan Cant take the job that Nick will use his enghlish contacts to get a decent english manger.

we need a manager in place by July 1st so the new manager can get rid of the players that are not good enough and bring new players durning the tranfer window.

29/05/2006, 9:41 AM
Pat Dolan lads.Ask any St. Pats or Cork Fan and they will soon tell you why not. Bringing in someone fro across the pond is not exactly proved a great success as they wouldnt know the el scene.

Why not send to China for a man who did a very good job here before and would not be afraid to take on the egos we have at this club.

I still think goughy has the right credentials and also wouldnt be afraid to kick ass.

29/05/2006, 9:47 AM
Has Goughie got any coaching badges? I personally think this would be a disasterous move. What the club needs is some outside influence, someone who isn't buddy buddy with the players and would have no problem telling them whats what.

Trainee
29/05/2006, 9:57 AM
The problem with Alan is he knows the players too well, and he has no experience

will he able to tell some of the players that they are not good enough, and let them go?

I still think Pat Doaln would be able to attract better players to terryland that goughy would

29/05/2006, 10:06 AM
Has Goughie got any coaching badges? I personally think this would be a disasterous move. What the club needs is some outside influence, someone who isn't buddy buddy with the players and would have no problem telling them whats what.

Nail on the head there Terry.
We need someone to come in who has no idea or doesn't care who they are and let them know what's what.
Somebody who can get the likes of Murphy playing.Gougie has no credentials at this point of time and is doing fine as captain.
Although i do agree with gufct on one thing.An English manager mightn't be that familiar with the EL scene,but that wouldn't deter me form picking him if i thought he was good enough.
Everyone knows that it's pretty much a requirement to win the league.Dolan is a proven mastermind for getting players to perform to their best.If the club think they can afford to take Dolan,considerig we will play premier league next year then i think we should go for him.

geezer
29/05/2006, 10:44 AM
there is so much at stake now, we need someone with all that bluster to get in and kick ass and get inside the minds of this bunch of players. They are the best treated players ever at the club. Lal done what he could and can hold his head up high and was honest and decent. I wish him well

Tir Oilean
29/05/2006, 12:01 PM
OK Dolan is fans favourite. But let's say he doesn't apply. Who else would people consider for the hot seat? Goughie's a non runner afaik he won't be interested, as has been mentioned above he has no experience. One thing is for sure it won't make as many headlines as Nick's appointment did!!:D :D

29/05/2006, 12:27 PM
If we were to get Dolan though the other teams in the league would really start ****ing themselves.
We're 3rd as it stands,only lost once and then we all of a sudden have the best manager in Irealnd.:)

That's of course if we get him.

corbyeire
29/05/2006, 12:44 PM
someone outside the club has to come in - the palsy thing is part of the problem - needs to be cut out - no locals really

dont think gough would be up to it either way

and we are all agreed - this needs to happen quickly

29/05/2006, 2:40 PM
be the best manager in Ireland . He has been unemployed for a year and a half and is currently the main man on setanta.

Goughy would be able to draw the line between Players and himself if he was made manager he is totally Professional in everything he does and knows the game here inside out.

corbyeire
29/05/2006, 2:44 PM
ill just agree to disagree with you here on goughie

29/05/2006, 2:52 PM
be the best manager in Ireland . He has been unemployed for a year and a half and is currently the main man on setanta.

Goughy would be able to draw the line between Players and himself if he was made manager he is totally Professional in everything he does and knows the game here inside out.

Bull!

Pat Dolan is unemployed because of his wage demands,for no other reason.
How is he the best manager?
Am well he built the league winning Cork side,did very well with Pats and saved a woeful Waterford side form inevitable relegation last year.
But you think Goughie would be better?:confused:
That's a disastrous move.A player/manager?
A manager with no coaching expertise?
Goughie is a good captain and goalkeeper and that's it.We need a manager who has no connections with the players and no favourites.
Appointing Gough as manager would be one of the worst decisions ever made by the club.
i can't see a sudden burst of passion and enthusiasm form the players by appointing Gough as manager.

Patrick Dunne
29/05/2006, 3:04 PM
GUFC have been underachieving for ten years. The time for what I term
mickey-mousing is over. An untried local coach would be a complete disaster.

Dolan has a great track record. There are very few other Irish candidates of similar calibre. An ex-pro from the UK who has coaching qualifications and is desperate to achieve success as a launch pad for his career could be the way to go.

There are several ex-Irish internationals who have worked as coaches in the UK. John Sheridan, Kieran O'Regan, Alan McLoughlin are examples off the top of my head. This is the calibre of the person I would be looking at.

29/05/2006, 6:35 PM
When ever Rovers seem to get a managre from across the water it seems to pay off for us..Willie McStay,Lawrie Sanchez and now Sean Connor.
I think this would be the best option to take as they will know players in England and Scotland that can come in and do a job professionaly.Also they wont be afraid of getting rid of locals who arent pulling their weight( and there are a few of them at Galway).

JW.
29/05/2006, 7:53 PM
I totally disagree with you Tommy about Goughie/Dolan. Goughie would be a bad choice in my view.
I know your no Dolan lover but he has a tremendous record as a manager. He did brilliantly at Pat's, well at Cork and performed something of a miracle in his role in Waterford. He consistently gets the best out of players. We'd also improve at set-pieces, which are hugely important at this level and we were shocking in this regard in Athlone.
Galway United have designs on being the best team in Ireland and the calibre of whomever we get should accord with this.

corbyeire
30/05/2006, 9:34 AM
jesus now that you mention it we were terrible at set pieces the other night

30/05/2006, 10:15 AM
we have conceeded were from set pieces. Moving Fran to left back was a mistake and Nigel should have started at Right full against Athlone.

Tribesman
30/05/2006, 2:21 PM
Nigel didn't start against Athlone because he had a poor game against
Monaghan two weeks earlier. Would of thought Keane or O'Donnell would come into the rb spot at some stage.

Why are we so bad at set pieces? With Gough and Clery back there
you would think we would be better organised, we just switch off at set pieces.

30/05/2006, 3:45 PM
was there we played zonal marking which meant no one could be blamed as your marking space rather than man marking.

30/05/2006, 6:41 PM
Pat Dolan is in Monaghan tonight.....will quiz him bout whether he is taking the job with u lot will I??

30/05/2006, 7:37 PM
You better of quizzed him Magicme!!:o :D

31/05/2006, 11:39 AM
I didnt get the chance to chat to him about this matter but I was talking to someone who had been asking him about the Galway Job and he said that he wasnt interested. He was happy with his work with Setanta. Sorry!

monutdfc
31/05/2006, 11:46 AM
AFAIK he was scouting for Limerick ahead of their game against us on Friday. He also met the Dundalk general manager for lunch on his way up, sparking rumours round Dundalk.

corbyeire
31/05/2006, 11:51 AM
read something about dundalk as well - think it was 11 a side or aertel

31/05/2006, 12:33 PM
I'm starting to wonder is it the Dolan magic that's causing Limerick's excellent run?:confused:

31/05/2006, 1:11 PM
Pat would like to spend a few hours being worshipped by you!!!!!!

31/05/2006, 1:27 PM
It's a wonder John Gill hasn't released a statement about the vacancy!

31/05/2006, 1:33 PM
Pat would like to spend a few hours being worshipped by you!!!!!!

:rolleyes: Ya good one gufct.

GalwayFrancis
31/05/2006, 3:24 PM
here lads try and keep it on topic and not to turn this into a slagging match

galwaygirl
31/05/2006, 3:42 PM
here lads try and keep it on topic and not to turn this into a slagging match

hear hear Francis.

Thanks for everything Stephen and best wishes for the future in whatever your next venture will be....

31/05/2006, 3:59 PM
only some innocent fun.

JW.
31/05/2006, 4:10 PM
You were way over the top Tommy and it's time for ya to cool down a bit.
:))
No Dolan so it seems; I was looking forward to us becoming the "Tribal Aww-me".

31/05/2006, 4:14 PM
Johnny if your down!!!!!!!!!!!!

JW.
31/05/2006, 4:19 PM
You'll get the books first :)

31/05/2006, 4:34 PM
Why not send to China for a man who did a very good job here before and would not be afraid to take on the egos we have at this club.

oh please do lads. i'd probably die cos i doubt i'd stop laughin for a month or 2 if that imbecile ever worked in irish football again. hope ye don't give it to someone local. dolan or shoddy would draw in an extra 250-300 for a first few games but neither of em are viable options, dolan cos of setanta&roddy cos he's roddy. yer kinda lucky da timing of lally quitin cos only one game until late june so whoever will have a wee while to settle at least

Galwayexile
31/05/2006, 6:10 PM
Thanx stephen lally for the work you did for UTD. Its a shame dolan wouldnt come to UTD as he would be a good option afterall he was bred just down the road in adrahen.

A good option would be that irish american manager larne have whom used to be manager of waterford Utd.

01/06/2006, 1:37 AM
A good option would be that irish american manager larne have whom used to be manager of waterford Utd.

a) He left Larne a few months back.
b) He's really old. Seriously.
c) He's bonkers apparently.

Seems to be a good manager all the same.

Paddyfield
06/06/2006, 5:39 PM
When ever Rovers seem to get a managre from across the water it seems to pay off for us..Willie McStay,Lawrie Sanchez and now Sean Connor.

I thought Sean Connor is from Belfast and not "across the water".

06/06/2006, 7:23 PM
very true paddy, but you know what i mean....learnt his trade across the water....

07/06/2006, 7:50 AM
very true paddy, but you know what i mean....learnt his trade across the water....

Isn't this his first managers job? I thought he was involved in the PRO section of birmingham city :confused:

Redzer
07/06/2006, 2:19 PM
Isn't this his first managers job? I thought he was involved in the PRO section of birmingham city :confused:
Sean came to Sligo in September 2005 having previously coached with Lafayettes Swampcats, Ilkeston Town and Leek Town. He also served his time in the commercial side of the game, with Birmingham City.

Patrick Dunne
07/06/2006, 2:33 PM
He also played for Port Vale, according to himself.

I played for Manchester United, when I was ten. My cousin is Superman.

Redzer
07/06/2006, 3:56 PM
I played for Manchester United, when I was ten. My cousin is Superman.
Well maybe you can get him to manage ye. It will take bit of krypton to get ye lads going.:D

07/06/2006, 4:19 PM
.... My cousin is Superman.

is this him at our game v dublin city?

corbyeire
10/06/2006, 4:15 PM
nice pic!