View Full Version : Stephen Lally QUITS
I'm a bit shocked, though he looked as much himself last night after the game. I think managers generally deserve two seasons but we've undoubtedly underachieved badly so far this season. Apparently Goughie is caretaker boss but we need a proper manager asap. Anyone's guess.
27/05/2006, 12:54 PM
Anyone's guess.Just joking:D. Not meaning to troll here but glad to see Lally's gone cos he was not doing the best this season, especially considering the squad he had.
Trainee
27/05/2006, 12:59 PM
Alan Gough is caretaker manager till Galway united find someone
Any Idea Who next managr will be
TheLedge
27/05/2006, 1:09 PM
Probably Tony effing Mannion!!!
The future is bright! :rolleyes:
he was overheard last night alright saying to Nick Leeson that he had enough and couldnt handle it any longer.
Next manager? who knows? I'd go for Ronan Coleman, hes doing a great job with the GUST nightowls team:)
Best of luck to Stephen in whatever the future holds for him. Nice man, but it proves that the step up for junior football managers to the eircom league is to great and we need a manager with experience at senior level football.
Probably Tony effing Mannion!!!
The future is bright! :rolleyes:
Tony is just after taking the managers job for the mayo league team so it wont be him, hopefully
Patrick Dunne
27/05/2006, 1:12 PM
Jim Noone and Alan Gough are caretaker managers for next Friday nights game against Shamrock Rovers.
Stephen Lally is a decent man who gave 110% to the job. Ultimately he was let down by the squad.
I would like to wish Lal all the best in the future. He remains a United legend and his short stint in this tough job has seen him go up in my estimation.
I hope to see him in Terryland in Friday night. He deserves a good reception from the United supporters.
PD.
He certainly didn't get the best out of the players. I dunno whose fault that was.
I actually saw the conversation he had with Nick Leeson but thought little of it since. The sending off was very hard on him I suppose.
I feel sorry for Lal. What price Pat Dolan having an interest? What price the board having any interest in him? He is very much a package deal - excuse the pun - but his record as a manager is first-class. Dunno if he has any interest in management though now.
27/05/2006, 1:32 PM
Pat Dolan would win us the league,especially with the squad we have.Having said that his wages are enormous and ive heard he looks for a share in the clubs profits?
Best of luck to Lally, a really nice guy but just couldn't get it to work out.I hope he is at Terryland Friday,i'd love to give him a warm reception with the rest of Section A.
Onwards and upwards now,it's do or die this year and the league is all we have to concentrate on.
It's not Llaly's fault some of the players atitude is up their arse!Sort it out lads!
Tir Oilean
27/05/2006, 1:34 PM
My money is on Pat Dolan. Didnt he say at one stage he'd like to come to Galway? I think that if he wanted the job the club would drum up the cash. I think that Lal did give it his all and he was definitely passionate about the club. Players have to hold up their hands and say they didnt do him justice. Having said that we need a top class manager at this stage considering the criteria for promotion next season...... It's looking grim.
I'd love to see Dolan arrive. Whats his position at limerick at the moment? His wages are high but would be worth it. If hes looking for shares of profits it wouldnt be much! He is also working for setanta so he wouldnt be around much for training and whatever else.
Patrick Dunne
27/05/2006, 1:38 PM
Our record over the past three seasons is dire - first division mediocrity.
We are out of both FAI Cup and League Cup - both will be taken into account
under the weightings for entry into next years "Premiership".
We have to get 100% in our final exam.
Dolan would be my favourite. However, under no circumstances will any manager get a share in the "profits" or exert an inordinate amount of control over the day-to-day running of the club.
27/05/2006, 1:40 PM
I think it's a prett simple senario
-win league=Super league 07
-Don't win league=:(
having a high profile manager would help with enter to the premiership but more importantly hopefully get the best out of each individual in the club
Patrick Dunne
27/05/2006, 1:44 PM
It won't be a local, thats for sure.
or anyone at the club being promoted to the position
Tir Oilean
27/05/2006, 1:50 PM
He wants a share of the profits!!??? Are you having a laugh There are no profitable clubs in EL as far as I know. Plus if he wants a deal like that he'll surely have to take the bad times with the good and cough up when a loss is made!!:)
Demoshield
27/05/2006, 1:53 PM
former Derry City and Finn Harps boss Gavin Dykes. The 38 year old former FAI Cup winning captain with his home town club Sligo Rovers will be in the running ??????????
The Legend that is Mark Herrick ????????
Hopefully it will be big Pat Dolan.
To be honest there are not that many experienced options out there.
Dolan has no role whatever in Limerick.
I'm surprised that there isn't an anti-Dolan feeling expressed at all. Personally I'd be a fan of him anyway as a manager.
True Pa about our dismal Cup runs but off the pitch we're well on track for the Premiership (sic).
former Derry City and Finn Harps boss Gavin Dykes
under contract at castlebar celtic and a very poor record in the league
I'm surprised that there isn't an anti-Dolan feeling expressed at all
there never is until he leaves the club he was working for!:)
Patrick Dunne
27/05/2006, 2:04 PM
Not a hope in hell.
Mark Herrick could be a possible future manager, but not at the moment.
Full statements from both GUFC and Lal on www.galwayunitedfc.ie now.
Stephen is to be commended on the manner of his departure and the respect he has shown to the club and its supporters. He has left the club in a better position than when he came in.
ya Stephen does deserve a lot of credit for what he has done, it is hard to tell why it didnt work after all the work he put into it, the team was given a fantastic pre season but obviously we need an experienced manager to get the best out of a good squad which isnt performing.
Patrick, why do you think Gavin Dykes is such a no no, im not saying it should be him but he does want to get back into Eircom League football, so he isnt the last possibility.Its hard to see anyone else who would want and is good enough for it.
Patrick Dunne
27/05/2006, 2:23 PM
Dykes track record is poor and he has a reputation as a Keelyesque mercenary. He has achieved little at Harps (except almost bankrupt the club) or Derry City.
The supporters of Sligo Rovers and Finn Harps would have very low opinions of him - perhaps sligoman or GalwayHarps could will us in with more information.
The opportuntity to give him relentless verbal abuse if he were to fail would almost be worth it, though !
27/05/2006, 2:28 PM
Realistically have we any chance of getting Pat Dolan?
Is he an option to the club?
Im glad PD that it won't be anyone local.
Dykes has less of a chance than I have, although we generally have few Dykes down the Dyke road :)
Patrick Dunne
27/05/2006, 2:36 PM
GUFC will be advertising for a replacement, as per the press release. You can be sure that we will have a wide selection of applications - no doubt some will be from the UK.
Paddyfield
27/05/2006, 2:52 PM
Stepehen Lally has maroon blood flowing through his veins. He was one of a few players to be awarded a testimonial by the Club. In his playing career, he won FAI Cup, League Cup, Shield and First Division Champions medals, He was Club captain. He played in Europe for the Club on numerous occassions. He scored many goals for the Club. He is a legend. He did a very honourable thing by quitting. Above all, he is a family man in every sense and a true gentlreman.
Lal, thanks for the memories.
You are a Galway United :ball: L E G E N D :ball:
Patrick Dunne
27/05/2006, 2:54 PM
Sean Connor also claims to be a Sligo Rovers legend.
In an interview with the Sligo Champion, he claimed "If you cut me, I bleed red".
Olander
27/05/2006, 3:39 PM
i would like to thanks stephen for all the time and effort he put into the club, and doing the honourable thing and not dragging it on like some other managers did
thanks stephen :ball: good luck in the future with whatever you do
27/05/2006, 3:58 PM
Realistically have we any chance of getting Pat Dolan?
Is he an option to the club?
Im glad PD that it won't be anyone local.
in a word Conor H, No. Ashton is the man for ye lads but theres someone at the very top of ye're club who has his hands in too many pies.
27/05/2006, 4:02 PM
Who's Ashton gael353?
Would he be good?
27/05/2006, 4:09 PM
Who's Ashton gael353?
Would he be good?
Yer former player Stuart Ashton, not sure if he'll be good but its a case of cutting cloth to measure here.
why do you think that Dolan isn't the option?
Patrick Dunne
27/05/2006, 4:44 PM
Dolan has always said that he would love to return to the club he
supported as a boy, and played for.
I'm sure that both sides could come to an arrangement. However, there may be other candidates that GUFC would like to interview in relation to the managerial position.
Stuart Ashton would be one the better Irish-based possible candidates. His U-21 track record with Cork City is excellent and he
is a former United player. Against that, he has never managed at senior level.
27/05/2006, 5:25 PM
Dolan has no role whatever in Limerick.
Seems to come to a lot of our games though, and has a residence in Limerick also...but you could be right.
"However, there may be other candidates that GUFC would like to interview in relation to the managerial position."
Your language is becoming more management-speak (pardon the pun) with every passing day Pa!
Patrick Dunne
27/05/2006, 6:24 PM
Am going out for a few pints now, JW. Expect more GUISA style anti-club ramblings later. Corporate scum !
I think Gavin Dykes would be the perfect choice for Galway United.
From a Harps (or anyone else in the first division) point of view!
Dolan's a great manager, but seems to have a habit to leave total chaos in his wake. Would cost serious bucks and has a reputation as a control freak and already has quite a few TV commitments. He may have a soft spot for GU, but he says that about everybody!
JC_GUFC
27/05/2006, 9:34 PM
Fair play to Lally he did a decent job but ultimately couldn't get the best out of the players, whether that's his fault or the players fault remains to be seen but at least he had a dignified end to his short spell as manager.
As for a replacement whoever suggested Gavin Dykes must have a very short memory. He is possibly one of the worst managers in the history of the league and on top of that he is a complete and utter ****.
Ask any Sligo or Harps fans about him...
Realistic possibilites would be:
Pat Dolan
David Jeffreys
Sven Goran Eriksson (after the WC)
or my favourite Showaddy Roddy Collins :D
Seriously though there don't seem to be many options out there - we really do need an experienced manager to take us out of the division.
thescoringgoals
27/05/2006, 10:21 PM
a true legend and he will be remembered fondly by everyone at the club,but as i said in a post before the athlone game as a manager i just didnt think he was up to it at this level,when i wrote that post i never thought 2 days later he would be gone.
i heard during the week a member of his family isnt well so was a distraction for him lately obviously,im not going into further detail,privacy etc.
i texted someone this evening when i heard it and said jokingly that dolan would get it,now all ye guys are talking bout it,weird.
id like to manage them,i won the e.l and got to the 3rd round of c.l qualfying with the club on championship manager for the p.c;),thats my footie c.v anyway:cool: .
next friday night should be very interesting now,a must win game without a manager,id like to think its not really must win though,still plenly of time left to go on a run,keep the faith.
27/05/2006, 10:41 PM
Gavin Dykes?:D. Don't get me started on that *****, ye can do way better than him lads, seriously!
27/05/2006, 10:52 PM
what about Jim McGeogh(sp?) the former waterford united manager, whats he up to nowadays?
He was doing a good job at Larne, but left them a good few months back. He's got a good record, but is quite old and is totally bonkers apparently. Marbles McGeogh they call him....
I wouldn't worry too much- there will be plenty of applicants. The trick is to pick the best one, which is no mean task in itself.
27/05/2006, 11:04 PM
I have 100% faith in Nick and who he'll choose as the next manager
27/05/2006, 11:05 PM
Felix Healy?
Not joking here but what's the odds on Roddy Collins applying for the job?
I have 100% faith in Nick and who he'll choose as the next managerNick's the commercial manager aint he? He hardly picks the new manager?:confused:.
Gaillimh Al
28/05/2006, 8:06 AM
Not just the commercial manager anymore, promoted to General Manger or something so will definetly have a say in who comes next.
Stephen Lally, absolute legend of a player and great servant to the club. Have a photo at home of me and a friend with the FAI CUP taken in his house. Top man. He gave his all and unfortunately it wasnt good enough but please lets not rush into appointing the new manager. If it takes 2 or 3 weeks so be it, just make sure we get the right man for the job. Hopefully this decision might give the player the kick up the hole they deserve. All this talk about a great squad and all that has to start turning into performances and if they don't(or can't) put in a passionate, footballing display against Rovers, then it doesn't bode well for the rest of the year. Would imagine some of the applicants would be there on Friday night, so pull the finger out.......PLEASE
28/05/2006, 11:51 AM
Whoever made the comment about Sean Connor's blood being red,well he aint lying.
Anyway as for the next Galway manager,Dont get Dykes.
He was apparently the man who put the doubt into Raf's mind about staying at Rovers and ultimitly him singing for Galway.Ye think that is a good thing, but if he was the manager ye would be making no progress on the work(if he did any) that Lally done.He would just bring in more Sligo rejectsand cripple the clubs finances.
As much as I dont like Galway,I would hate to see Dykes in charge of ye.
28/05/2006, 11:51 AM
Why not change your jerseys to green and get Sir Bobby Robson - he'll think he's managing Ireland.
29/05/2006, 8:19 AM
I cant believe you are missing the most obvious contender of all......John Gill....am surprised his nephew hasnt been trolling here telling u all to hire him coz he is the best manager in the world ever....FACT!
Was surprised to see that Lally had left....do u think he would like a job in Monaghan....our Under 16, Under 14 and Under 12 girls need a manager!
Who are you talking about here "but theres someone at the very top of ye're club who has his hands in too many pies".
I havent had a chance to post all weekend but i would like to thank Stephen for all he has done in the last 16 months he gave the job his best shot and I feel he was badly let down this season by some of the squad.I also feel he's authority had been totally undermined by the totally botched up appointement of our football consultant and the way it was handled.
The club has to learn from its mistakes and move on and appoint a manager as quickly as possible and we have one under our noses forget Dolers & Roddy Collins Goughy is the man for me.