View Full Version : Rico threatens to throw toys from pram
Having listened to the recording, I think Rico let himself down bigtime. Lots of "fat arses", "ridden rock solid", "bo...fat cats", even one "fcuking" - but absolutely no long words. The mask has finally slipped. ;)
Hmm - I'd say that in such circumstances of extreme adversity his verbal dexterity and propensity for verbosity deserted him somewhat :p
Seriously though - he is totally out of order here. Stokes is a rotten ref - no argument there- Pats fan or not, and by the way he does Pats NO favours at all when reffing our games. The handball he didn't give in the Cork game is the exception that proves the rule. If Rico had called him incompetent that would be one thing, to hint(and he did a lot more than hint) that he's part of some grand conspiracy against Cork is off the wall. BTW I notice in the papers today that Damien says he has no problem with Stokes. So which is it ? If he is corrupt(and thats basically what Richardson seemed to be saying after the game) then why doesn't he have a problem with him. ? I've always thought Richardson was a bluffer and a spoofer. If he gets away with this then its basically open season for any manager to say whatever he likes about whoever he likes.
Roy O'Donovan did not have attempted retaliation - he did retaliate and headbutted him. No contact was made.
Danny Murphy punched Keith Fahey after the Setanta Cup finalWhile this retaliation was inexcusable so was the racial abuse.
Only conspiracy in the Setanta cup was Kelly deciding to ref the Cork Drogs game in Cork at short notice. Ridiculous thing to say, refs do not just make the dcision to ref a game cos they feel like it.
If he gets away with this then its basically open season for any manager to say whatever he likes about whoever he likes.He won't esape punishment, thus adding further fuel to his flames of a conspiracy, they're all against us I tell ya, all of them.
iceman
30/05/2006, 9:56 PM
Originally Posted by Celdrog
Only conspiracy in the Setanta cup was Kelly deciding to ref the Cork Drogs game in Cork at short notice.
Ridiculous thing to say, refs do not just make the dcision to ref a game cos they feel like it.
Kelly was down as 4th official , the nominated ref took sick , Kelly should have ran the line and the senior assistant taken charge. It looks as if Kelly pulled rank.
Roverstillidie
30/05/2006, 11:08 PM
imagine having rank pulled on you by a maggot like kelly. lowest of the low
derrymac
30/05/2006, 11:38 PM
I think you have to remember that Stokes is just crap.. not biased, just crap. i mean, during the Setanta cup, Derry vs Linfield at the Brandywell. the Linfield goalkeeper and defender collide and Stokes gives a free kick to Linfield. Farren was about 6 yards away.
Most eircom league refs are crap... they are not full time professionals and as the game here becomes more professional, we need the refereeing to improve as well otherwise inept reffereeing decisions will only produce a laughing stock of a match which will convince the barstoolers that they are right not to watch local matches
31/05/2006, 12:55 AM
A point often emphasized to me by a former ref is that eircom League officials are not necessarily the best Irish football has to offer, but rather the pick of a subset comprising those with sufficiently generous terms of employment to pursue a career in refereeing.
In other words, if your boss doesn't permit you to knock off early every Friday afternoon, you're not going to get too far.
refjohn
31/05/2006, 9:04 AM
Originally Posted by Celdrog
[I]
Kelly was down as 4th official , the nominated ref took sick , Kelly should have ran the line and the senior assistant taken charge. It looks as if Kelly pulled rank.
Not true - FIFA dictates that FIFA referees DO NOT run lines unless in exceptional circumstances - e.g. the assistant goes injured during the game. According to FIFA rules then there were 2 choices - get another official of Eircom League referee status or move the FIFA official to the middle and then put a lower official as 4th official which is what the Setanta committee chose to do.
31/05/2006, 9:17 AM
Not true - FIFA dictates that FIFA referees DO NOT run lines unless in exceptional circumstances - e.g. the assistant goes injured during the game. According to FIFA rules then there were 2 choices - get another official of Eircom League referee status or move the FIFA official to the middle and then put a lower official as 4th official which is what the Setanta committee chose to do.
So, FIFA are also in on this anti-Cork conspiracy! :D
I think Razor might be right!
....they're all against us I tell ya, all of them. :rolleyes:
The Good Son
31/05/2006, 9:54 AM
So, FIFA are also in on this anti-Cork conspiracy! :D
Correct me if I'm wrong but, refjohn was pointing out that Kelly followed correct FIFA procedure. Using your logic this surely means that there is an anti-drogheda conspiracy as they would be the ones who would be seen to have a problem with a Cork ref for the match involving City. So yes I concur with Superhoops there is indeed an anti-Drogheda conspiracy in FIFA, then again I wouldn't be too worried Superhoops it's only teams of significance have conspiracies against them, Bray have nothing to worry about.
31/05/2006, 10:19 AM
Correct me if I'm wrong but, refjohn was pointing out that Kelly followed correct FIFA procedure. Using your logic this surely means that there is an anti-drogheda conspiracy as they would be the ones who would be seen to have a problem with a Cork ref for the match involving City. So yes I concur with Superhoops there is indeed an anti-Drogheda conspiracy in FIFA, then again I wouldn't be too worried Superhoops it's only teams of significance have conspiracies against them, Bray have nothing to worry about.
Sorry, I really should try and remember the old saying about sarcasm!
My understanding is that Cork do not like having Kelly refereeing their games at all.
Team of signficance, Drogheda? (One FAI Cup and one Setanta Cup). :confused:
31/05/2006, 10:34 AM
My understanding is that Cork do not like having Kelly refereeing their games at all. As was mentioned with the Stokes - Pats thing earlier I think Alan tries to over compensate although he did give us a soft pen aganst Galway in the Cup last year but did someone mention the exception that proveth the rule.
ColinR
31/05/2006, 10:51 AM
Team of signficance, Drogheda? (One FAI Cup and one Setanta Cup). :confused:
Apparently FIFA have been trying to keep us down all these years :D
31/05/2006, 11:24 AM
Just to let you know lads in the cold light of day .... there is really good support for Rico on this issue from City fans and from the wider public, with alot of people saying he was dead right to say it and that it should have said before now. I referred to this eariler about it being the image of powers that be. Not saying anything on it only that it can be observed.
Some people commenting on this here and elsewhere might not be aware of their own clubs opinion on this, i say this because of a number of calls made showing support, obviously its not the official line from clubs but is not going to happen. One or two calls from quarters that would raise an eyebrow or two but its actually good to see to be honest.
The interview has been transcribed, quoted and referred to in alot of newpapers recently, in some papers that never report on eL stories. It was available to all to subscribe to the INW news feed.
Lads, if some positive comes of this, then in my opinion it'll have be worth doing !!
Roverstillidie
31/05/2006, 11:55 AM
Just to let you know lads in the cold light of day .... there is really good support for Rico on this issue from City fans and from the wider public, with alot of people saying he was dead right to say it and that it should have said before now. I referred to this eariler about it being the image of powers that be. Not saying anything on it only that it can be observed.
Some people commenting on this here and elsewhere might not be aware of their own clubs opinion on this, i say this because of a number of calls made showing support, obviously its not the official line from clubs but is not going to happen. One or two calls from quarters that would raise an eyebrow or two but its actually good to see to be honest.
The interview has been transcribed, quoted and referred to in alot of newpapers recently, in some papers that never report on eL stories. It was available to all to subscribe to the INW news feed.
Lads, if some positive comes of this, then in my opinion it'll have be worth doing !!
with respect face he hasnt got wide public support for the allegation that there is an anti-cork refereeing conspiracy. not even close.
we all agree that the standard of referreeing is poor, but anti-cork? give over, its tedious already.
31/05/2006, 12:30 PM
One very apt saying comes to mind listening to that clip of Richardson spouting on about a "Conspiracy"
Better to keep your mouth closed and be thought a fool than to open it and remove all doubt
Celdrog
31/05/2006, 1:07 PM
While this retaliation was inexcusable so was the racial abuse.
The latest in a string of Cork fans to spout on about "racial abuse".
Please enlighten us as to what was said to Danny Murphy and by whom.
Could you also provide proof as to any claim you make
31/05/2006, 1:16 PM
Apparently FIFA have been trying to keep us down all these years :D
Well, whether it was them or not - somebody's been making a bloody good job of it for years....! :p
The latest in a string of Cork fans to spout on about "racial abuse".
Please enlighten us as to what was said to Danny Murphy and by whom.
Could you also provide proof as to any claim you make
I don't want to take this thread off topic but I would imagine if you are familiar with the "string" of Cork fans allegations of racial abuse against Fahey then you know the details.
Its especially suprised me with regard to Fahey himself the boy having such a pristine and unblemished record within the game.
observer
31/05/2006, 1:46 PM
Face have you totally lost the run of yourself with comments like "support for Rico", and " If good comes out of it".
Rico acted like a spoilt brat and a thug and no one can draw any other conclusion from his behaviour. The only thing out of it should be a new dressingroom door for Flancare Park. :(
Neither door nor apology has arrived yet by the way.
aido1895
31/05/2006, 1:52 PM
I don't want to take this thread off topic but I would imagine if you are familiar with the "string" of Cork fans allegations of racial abuse against Fahey then you know the details.
Its especially suprised me with regard to Fahey himself the boy having such a pristine and unblemished record within the game.
You did when you brought racial abuse up ! Either provide details/proof or even show us where a player was charged with such an offense or stop talking through your hole.
31/05/2006, 2:01 PM
Pete on Pat Fenlon encroaching last season whilst banned.....a tad less serious than Ricos accusations imo:
On the pitch seems to be clear breech of the ban. Recently comments from the League threatening supporters & clubs will mea nothing if Fenlon not punished properly.
Points deduction would not be fair but at a minimum think hes due 2-3k fine & 8 match ban.
If i was Fenlons employer i'd be furious but Ollie probably didn't see as he should have been serving a ban too
So, how much of a fine for Rico's outburst Pete?? and how many games should he be banned for??
More Pete, on the same topic:
I think he'll have to be banned from stadiums on matchdays or else prevented from travelling with the team as he clearly can't control himself. Passion is good but needs to show example to players.No more passionate Rico in stadia then Pete eh?
From Patsh about the Shels Derry game last season...how ironic...
What were they were moaning about now? (besides the fact that Stokes didn't ensure they won the game)
Pete again...the irony is absolutely killing me here...
When the league is threatening supporters for almost any action these days will have to show example by coming down hard on a manager.
AFace on Fenlon being fined and banned for mouthing off during a game:
All seems standard enough which is not great really ..... but the main thing is still pending ...... remember, they shouldn't be made an example of. They should just be punished accordingly and fittingly, The league needs to stamp this kinda thing out asap !!Jesus...the irony the irony...
Back to Pete...lets hope City fans will not be so half hearted when Rico apologises:
Some credit for the apology but seems a bit half hearted.
If a City staff member did something similar City fans would debate a statement better than that.
Patsh's attitude towards managers who are outspoken but apologise for it later:
Sickening hypocritical bullsh*t from Nuttsy, who hopes to slither his way out of this again.
Ban the f*cker for the rest of the season at least.
And finally. more Cork opinion from Patsh (http://www.foot.ie/showthread.php?t=28135&highlight=fenlon)
Quite funny, but all rather sad and two faced methinks.
aido1895
31/05/2006, 2:12 PM
Quite funny, but all rather sad and two faced methinks.
Nail on the head MrSoap !
Did anyone expect the majority of Cork fans to be two faced on this subject ? I know I didnt.
Excellent research Joe, double standards me thinks alright.
I think the general consensus of City fans that i've spoken to think Rico went too far and theres no doubt he'll be punished
You did when you brought racial abuse up ! Either provide details/proof or even show us where a player was charged with such an offense or stop talking through your hole.The tape from the recording device Danny Murphy had on him at the time i'm afraid was destroyed by the Dublin mafia in their bid to once again undermine Cork City FC. Disgraceful.:D
aido1895
31/05/2006, 2:48 PM
The tape from the recording device Danny Murphy had on him at the time i'm afraid was destroyed by the Dublin mafia in their bid to once again undermine Cork City FC. Disgraceful.:D
Ah fair enough so ;)
31/05/2006, 5:55 PM
.....but all rather sad and two faced methinks.
JS, great post, says it all really.
Definitely POM, even POTY. :ball: :)
JS, great post, says it all really.
Definitely POM, even POTY. :ball: :)
It might have made more sense if he hadn't used most of the quotes of someone who hasn't even posted on the topic to call it two-faced.
Can I ask if all the shels fans( Mr Joe Soap?) were calling for lengthy fines and bans when the above incidents happened?? Theyre not being two faced on this thread by any chance?
Dan Connor says he never touched Behan
Oh well thats sorted so,Dan would never lie,being the saint that he is;) :rolleyes:
Celdrog
31/05/2006, 7:39 PM
Excellent research Joe, double standards me thinks alright.
I think the general consensus of City fans that i've spoken to think Rico went too far and theres no doubt he'll be punished
The tape from the recording device Danny Murphy had on him at the time i'm afraid was destroyed by the Dublin mafia in their bid to once again undermine Cork City FC. Disgraceful.:D
So you have no idea what was allegedly said in the form of racist abuse to Danny Murphy
This allegation (quite serious) surfaced when it was apparent that Murphy was heading for a ban, something which now forms part of Rico's rant.
Not one Cork fan can tell me what was said (presumably because nothing racist was said to him). Danny Murphy in his "women and children" rant also made no reference to it.
You are quite happy to say there was racist abuse but cannot provide what was said, so please stop whinging about Drogs players with your lies, and concentrate on defending the indefensible (Rico)
Celdrog
31/05/2006, 7:42 PM
Oh well thats sorted so,Dan would never lie,being the saint that he is;) :rolleyes:
Mick Devine told Rico that he never touched the Lonford player so that must be true also.
Point here is that Mr Richardson publicly stated that Dan headbutted Denis Behan, what evidence has he - what Behan told him. Personally I would love him to prove this allegation in court.
BohsFans
31/05/2006, 8:12 PM
Patsh's attitude towards managers who are outspoken but apologise for it later:
And finally. more Cork opinion from Patsh (http://www.foot.ie/showthread.php?t=28135&highlight=fenlon)
Where is that red neck idiot these days anyway?
You'd almost miss the ****e he comes out with. :p
Nice to see selective quoting - My comments on Fenlon were baded on him breaking a touchline ban for the 2nd time that season. If you can;t see the difference then no point to debating.
I've no problem with Rico getting a fine as long as its fair & consistent.
Rico should apologise to Longford Town for allowing the door fall off the hinges & pay the cost of fixing.
Roverstillidie
31/05/2006, 8:25 PM
Rico should apologise to Longford Town for allowing the door fall off the hinges & pay the cost of fixing.
you wouldnt let anyone away with that sort of talk yourself pete....
Dr.Nightdub
31/05/2006, 9:33 PM
I'm just surprised he hasn't claimed that the door attacked his foot. If you're gonna let paranoid conspiracy theories loose on the world, you may as well throw in a spot of paranormal activity to spice it up. It'd make as much sense as the rest of what he came out with.
31/05/2006, 11:28 PM
Neither door nor apology has arrived yet by the way.
If it were up to me, then Longford town could stick it up their jacksie for all i care for the complete and utter búllshít about the door (i know it was their fans, and not the club) .... all i'll say is that next time i'd be looking for photographic evidence before i'll believe any of that búllshít from them again.
The fúcking knives were out for Rico alright, whatever argument they had has been completely diluted now as far as i'm concerned, bunch of moany fúcking kunts, spinning yarns sad fúckers .... this thread is in its 7th page and crutched up with that compelte and utter tripe.
Patience is definitely something you’d want to have lots putting up with this shíte .... pathetic.
31/05/2006, 11:44 PM
Nice to see selective quoting
Selective quoting at its best ...... FFS !!! :(
That is complete and utter búllshít behaviour imo ...... i'd agree Rico should take whats coming to him, he was out of order but because its out of character it sounded alot worse.
The door ..... see the post above. And i swear i wont give a fúcking inch in the future after that búllshít. Talk of twisted out of proportion so its unrecognisable !! Tripe
The degree of effort put in to try and distort what actually happened, i swear to god ..... having to listen to the level of shíte sometimes is very trying.
pól-dcfc
31/05/2006, 11:48 PM
Jesus A face, bit strong on it there?
Face facts Rico deserves whatever is coming to him after his disgraceful comments. Imagine if it had have been Pat Devlin, or any other manager for that matter. Big a big enough man to admit you'd be baying for blood.
31/05/2006, 11:54 PM
The degree of effort put in to try and distort what actually happened, i swear to god ..... having to listen to the level of shíte sometimes is very trying.
Hello is that a Mr Pot? We have a Mr Black on the phone, first name Kettle
01/06/2006, 12:12 AM
Jesus A face, bit strong on it there?
Face facts Rico deserves whatever is coming to him after his disgraceful comments. Imagine if it had have been Pat Devlin, or any other manager for that matter. Big a big enough man to admit you'd be baying for blood.
I would and you know i would !!
IF ... If there wasn't any substance to what hes actually saying (not the conspiracy angle obviously) but there are glaring problems.
Rico will be made an example of and thats fair enough. But imo opinion, every fúcker in this league is in a glass house at some stage or another.
The new league proposals .... nothing, NOTHING is even mentioned about the reffing standards or efforts to improve it, only a month ago there was a thread on here debating the merits of full time refs, why couldn't any money be thrown at that side of the game ?? Ref are actually unaccountable at the moment for the most part ... who in gods name can that work??
Go back 5-6 years ago a ref would get dropped to the first division or forfeit expenses for a few games, now there is nothing ?? :eek: How can you use video evidence in one game and not in another, for two incidents would clearly highlight the misgivings on a decision while they are being compared on their likeness in the review itself ??
What i am saying here is there should at least be balance in the debate, e.g. Drogs fans a few months ago giving out about sendings off and there clearly was concern and they were not on their own when it was deemed it needed to be looked at .... yet now in two incidents involving them where they have benefited (not their fault i know) they take a completely different angle on it (their fans do anyway, at least theres some common sense up there from other quarters) and being honest, while you might think i am biased, those two incidents are unreal imo (Oh yeah i forget City fans aren't allowed an opinion about these now :rolleyes: ).
Celdrog
01/06/2006, 4:31 AM
Drogs fans a few months ago giving out about sendings off and there clearly was concern and they were not on their own when it was deemed it needed to be looked at .... yet now in two incidents involving them where they have benefited (not their fault i know) they take a completely different angle on it (their fans do anyway,
A Face - are you secretly Rico because your last couple of posts have the air of a Rico rant.
So we gave out about sendings off given by a Cork ref in a match involving Cork, in err Cork.
What decisions have we got. Dan Connor not getting what O'Donovan got, video evidence not being used - there was no camera at our game. How can Setanta review the incident, one word against another. In O'Donovans case they used video evidence to back up what the ref had said.
In Dan's case they backed up what the ref had said.
What was the second incident we benefitted from?
Not being allowed another keeper for the Linfield match. We won
Not getting the Riverside for the final. We won
Fabio's goal in Limerick being disallowed. It was offside
Fabio's goal in Drogheda being disallowed and him being booked for handball. He did
You don't see us losing the plot over the above
And why should we form part of a Dublin conspiracy. Contrary to the belief of most Cork fans we are not from Dublin, nor the greater Dublin area. We are a provincial town in Louth.
Face facts - it was a penalty in Longford. The keeper denied a goalscoring chance = red card. How many times have we seen this week " I saw the incident several times on video". Stokes had to make a decision in a split second and he did. Correctly, incompetently or whatever, it was certainly not part of a Dublin conspiracy to ride Cork rock solid.
Drop the mask - take your signature out of code and give us your opinion
So you have no idea what was allegedly said in the form of racist abuse to Danny MurphyOh I do know exactly what was allegedly said but Fahey will escape because its one players word against anothers and obviously Fahey will deny saying it. Murphy obviously told someone cos it was all over the City MB and I don't necessarily think the phrase could have been used in a "women and children" address. I mean it was obviously pretty bad to get a normally quiet and reserved player like Murphy to lose the plot like he did.;)
As for Connor well he was just lucky there was no camera cos if there was then he'd have been done but there wasn't, so what can you do?
Its a bit much for us as EL fans to be expecting cameras at all matches when up to a while ago we had almost none.
SeanDrog
01/06/2006, 8:35 AM
well I think Drogheda United should look at the offical Cork City mb and then consult their solicitors as lthat is libel to blacken a players name like that, so I hope all the posters have ample proof.
01/06/2006, 9:11 AM
Haha!
You must have been one of those hysterical Drogs fans calling for City to be disqualified from next years Setanta.
Sad.
01/06/2006, 9:14 AM
If it were up to me, then Longford town could stick it up their jacksie for all i care for the complete and utter búllshít about the door (i know it was their fans, and not the club) .... all i'll say is that next time i'd be looking for photographic evidence before i'll believe any of that búllshít from them again. . But this 'kicking in of doors' seems to be an inherent problem with Cork City managers who don't get their own way. I remember Pat Dolan did the same in Inchicore or Tolka a couple of seasons ago....Maybe its part of their contractual obligation...although most managers simply have to conduct 'civil' interviews...
The fúcking knives were out for Rico alright, whatever argument they had has been completely diluted now as far as i'm concerned, bunch of moany fúcking kunts, spinning yarns sad fúckers .... this thread is in its 7th page and crutched up with that compelte and utter tripe.
Patience is definitely something you’d want to have lots putting up with this shíte .... pathetic.Ah change your name to Baby Face will ya....your club is a huge embarrassment at present because of Richardson and everybody is going to have a go, just like you would, and have done in the past. Stop moaning and take it like a man...:p
SeanDrog
01/06/2006, 9:36 AM
not hyterical at all. If someone was stating on a public messageboard that I was a racist without any real proof outside of hearsay then I would take legal action - and IMO Keith Fahy should take the same coarse.
If you disagree so be it (wouldn't expect any other reaction from a Cork supporter tbh.
Manager loses game in dogdy circumstances, team in poor form, manager not happy & looking to blame some one so has a rant post match. Not the first or last time this has or will happen. Rico gets more publicity as he is more high profile. End of story.
pól-dcfc
01/06/2006, 10:02 AM
But when the rant includes allegations of an anti-Cork Dublin-based conspiracy, the issue needs to be addressed at length. The man needs to be taught some sense. For God's sake youse were playing Longford, hardly your typical Dublin team.
The facts of the matter are, Rico hasn't performed in the transfer market this season (perhaps no funds were made available), the remains of last years team aren't performing very well, and Rico wants to shift the blame onto the "fatcats" in Dublin. It's your classic avoidance tactic.
monzo
01/06/2006, 10:15 AM
I don't remember Rico threatening to resign when Kevin Doyle tripped over thin air and got a Harps player sent off early in his last game for Cork........
Indeed! Also Doyle's dive against us in the first match of last season was pretty obvious, yet the ref awarded a penalty
Wiseguy
01/06/2006, 11:25 AM
Kicking down a door is thuggish and disgraceful behaviour.If any fan done it they would be arrested and charged with criminal damage and rightly so.CCFC & Rico should have apologised for this and put it right and i don't know what they are trying to achieve by letting it drag out.
The accusations he made are a disgrace and TBH he should know better than to make those kind of allegations.It's one thing saying the ref didn't have a good game or whatever but accusing him and others of conspiring against Cork is just idiocy and is a sign of a man feeling the pressure.It's common knowledge that officials in the EL are a complete joke and every team has been on the bad end of poor decisions but to say that they favour Dublin teams is complete crap.
CCFC & Rico have left themselves open for serious punishment and if CCFC get a huge fine and Rico gets a lenghty ban then what will he have achieved.Their is no way that the powers that be can this slide.
01/06/2006, 12:10 PM
Kicking down a door is thuggish and disgraceful behaviour.
Was the door kicked down ?? Simple question ...... should be a simple answer.
pól-dcfc
01/06/2006, 12:14 PM
I was wondering that myself.
Where did the door-kicking originate from? Whether or not he did it is irrelevant to the post-match interview though, which is still dispicible.