View Full Version : Derry v Cork - Live Updates from Walk The Chalk

el punter
20/05/2006, 6:50 PM
We're going to try out doing live updates on some of the games lads.

Click here (http://www.bet-central.com/liveupdates/eircom/derryvcork200506.htm) to see them, and let us know what you think!

Cheers

pól-dcfc
20/05/2006, 7:03 PM
It's on Radio Foyle online.

http://www.bbc.co.uk/northernireland/radiofoyle/

Even though it says it isn't it is.

iceman
20/05/2006, 7:23 PM
This one is usually good for latest scores
http://www.xscores.com/LiveScore.do

20/05/2006, 7:24 PM
http://www.derrycityfc.net/liveupdate.php?matchid=17

This one is hard to beat.

pól-dcfc
20/05/2006, 7:35 PM
Derry 1 - 0 Cork

S O'Flynn.

Bit of a flukey one by the sounds of it. From a corner, Cork player headed it out, it slapped Steveo and went in.

20/05/2006, 7:40 PM
Bit of a flukey one by the sounds of it. From a corner, Cork player headed it out, it slapped Steveo and went in.

Don't care if it went in off his @rse :D

Roverstillidie
20/05/2006, 7:45 PM
half time one nil to the bottle throwers. not a great game, paddy mccourt is having a stormer. cork look very poor

very lucky own goal

20/05/2006, 7:46 PM
It was an own goal, it's on Setanta, ball headed away by a Cork player and it hit a team mate's head and goes in. Great goal - goal of the month :D

pól-dcfc
20/05/2006, 7:48 PM
Radio Foyle reported it as a Steveo goal. Even better if it was an OG :D

20/05/2006, 7:55 PM
half time one nil to the bottle throwers.

Ye've lost me :confused:

20/05/2006, 8:06 PM
Paul Hegarty sent off at half time !!

pól-dcfc
20/05/2006, 8:07 PM
2 - 0! Great from Pat. Martyn scored it.

aido1895
20/05/2006, 8:11 PM
Derry 1 - 0 Cork

S O'Flynn.

Very apt given whats happened over the past few days ;)

Heres hoping for a draw !

20/05/2006, 8:13 PM
Very apt given whats happened over the past few days

What happened ?? :confused:

pól-dcfc
20/05/2006, 8:16 PM
Steveo was in court for assault.

2 year suspended sentance and a E6000 fine.

Was while he was at youse I think it happened.

pól-dcfc
20/05/2006, 8:46 PM
Full time. Come on city!

Cork did not sound very convincing at all.

20/05/2006, 8:46 PM
Result

2-0 Derry - fantastic result for them!

20/05/2006, 10:18 PM
Full time. Come on city!

Cork did not sound very convincing at all.

Aiy they dont !! :o
Its obviously still all to play for but we do need a few things to fall into place, i wouldn't say that we are a bad team at all, but we definitely need to sort out one or two positions

Red&White
20/05/2006, 10:23 PM
Cork seemed to come up to play for the draw. They time wasted at every opportunity in the first half and got their just desserts. When they played, they did look a good side, but overall the Derry midfield controlled the game- Brennan and Martyn both had excellent games, Molloy only just passed fit for the game and wasn't quite up to his usual standard.
Oh, and Pat McCourt taking the **** out of Georgie and running rings around him...:D

iceman
20/05/2006, 10:27 PM
Pat McCourt taking the **** out of Georgie and running rings around him...:D

:D :D Would'nt think Georgie took that too well .

Dassa
20/05/2006, 10:32 PM
Pat seems to have played well, if derry didnt have competive fixtures he may have found himself in USa. good result for DCFC well done.

Red&White
20/05/2006, 10:38 PM
:D :D Would'nt think Georgie took that too well .
It's always fun to see Pat skin players, but it's doubly better when it's Darling Georgina.

Dassa
20/05/2006, 10:40 PM
what sort of crowd was there, was it on tv?

Red&White
20/05/2006, 10:43 PM
Good crowd, I'd say above 2500- Cork brought about 30-40 down, their support was severely hit by Heinekin Cup final, and end of year exams, and yes it was on TV.

Dazzy
20/05/2006, 11:11 PM
Around about 3000 at it, Main stand full except for around down the Cork end 250-400 far side!

Red&White
20/05/2006, 11:17 PM
Highlights here: http://www.corktrophycentre.com/highlights/derry200506.zip

From Cork City Forums.

pól-dcfc
20/05/2006, 11:23 PM
Bit of wishfull thinking at the start of those highlights.

Cork City 2 - 0 Derry City

21/05/2006, 12:55 AM
Good crowd, I'd say above 2500- Cork brought about 30-40 down, their support was severely hit by Heinekin Cup final, and end of year exams, and yes it was on TV.

It was all the reshuffling of the fixture aswell .... alot of people had booked b&bs online and then they changed the date, thats not going to help .... complete let down after last years game in the Brandy.

soccerc
21/05/2006, 2:28 AM
Aiy they dont !! :o
Its obviously still all to play for but we do need a few things to fall into place, i wouldn't say that we are a bad team at all, but we definitely need to sort out one or two positions

Back home now, was in longford only to find out pats game off so drove to derry to see Cork well beaten. U need a backbone!

Red&White
21/05/2006, 2:45 AM
It was all the reshuffling of the fixture aswell .... alot of people had booked b&bs online and then they changed the date, thats not going to help .... complete let down after last years game in the Brandy.
Well at least you can make it up on your second trip up later on in the year. :)

hoopy
21/05/2006, 10:03 AM
The three in midfield doesn't suit Cork and I'm very surprised that such an advocate of wingers in Rico is playing this way. For me O'Brien is just getting in the way and Cork can't move the ball around as well as they can because of this system. Funniest moment of the game had to be Oman (injured as usual) nearly crying like a child trying to get the ball put out,"I can't even run"!!

Speranza
21/05/2006, 1:10 PM
Hegarty was sent off at half time. Hegarty was roaring at the ref and up steps Rico trying to complain too, he (Rico) then said something to Hegsy and they went out of sight into the tunnel. Few moments later stewards run in so I assume there was a scrap in there.

I don't think it would be unfair to say we outclassed Cork last night. Our midfield was incredible and I'm sure Barry Molloy will allow Joe Gamble out of his pocket to attend the Chile match. That's the second City vs Cork match that Molloy has bossed Gamble but he doesn't get any credit or attnetion.

It looked as if Rico forgot to play two forwards last night as they were awful up front and Georgie's no show behind them didn't help.

Important win for us and delighted to keep our home record going.

Sniffer
21/05/2006, 1:14 PM
Derry were the dogs b******s last night, tried to play the game the way it should be, Martyn is some player. love the type of midfielder who's always trying to get forward and score.

21/05/2006, 1:58 PM
half time one nil to the bottle throwers.

What the fcuk's that all about RTID....? :confused: :mad:

21/05/2006, 2:00 PM
Back home now, was in longford only to find out pats game off so drove to derry to see Cork well beaten. U need a backbone!

Good man Soccer C ! Hope you felt the game was worthwhile.

Cork looked very, very average last night. Only one shot on-target that I can recall, and their midfield was anonymous. With another trip north at the end of the season, they'll need to sharpen-up a lot between now and then.

Gareth
21/05/2006, 3:15 PM
Derry City just cogged my entire updates!!! I am not too happy about that.

21/05/2006, 4:10 PM
No shame in losing to Derry but i think our left midfield needs a final resolution at this stage. George and Joe are the best central midfield pairing.
Joey is wasted out there and assuming he doesn't put George out there, he already has loads of options for the second wing spot.
Woods, ColinT, Lordan soon, Sullivan, Softic.
Bite the bullet Rico, Joeys a centre-mid.

Roverstillidie
21/05/2006, 7:52 PM
What the fcuk's that all about RTID....? :confused: :mad:

its a quite oft used name (in dublin at least) for the inhabitanats of derry.

constant rioting and all that

21/05/2006, 8:50 PM
its a quite oft used name (in dublin at least) for the inhabitanats of derry.

constant rioting and all that
Coming from a Rovers fan that shows a sense of humour at least.

Such a shame we don't have to put up with your sartorially challenged lot fighting with each other in the stands this season.

Roverstillidie
21/05/2006, 9:10 PM
Coming from a Rovers fan that shows a sense of humour at least.

Such a shame we don't have to put up with your sartorially challenged lot fighting with each other in the stands this season.

Its not that long ago that practically every visiting side to the bradywell got bricks pinged at them, now is it.....:rolleyes:

21/05/2006, 9:18 PM
Why bother provoking such arguments RTID?
Cos that is what you're doing.

Roverstillidie
21/05/2006, 9:20 PM
Why bother provoking such arguments RTID?
Cos that is what you're doing.

if the derry lads have a problem with the name im sure they will say so. otherwise what are you doing?

21/05/2006, 9:21 PM
Cleaning up the idiocy.
Haven't you got a Bohs fan to wind up somewhere?
Be gone.

Roverstillidie
21/05/2006, 9:29 PM
Cleaning up the idiocy.
Haven't you got a Bohs fan to wind up somewhere?
Be gone.

no, they are too busy having a civil war on gypo web to play with.

Speranza
21/05/2006, 10:03 PM
Its not that long ago that practically every visiting side to the bradywell got bricks pinged at them, now is it.....

You, my Burberry/Stone Island loving friend are a master in the art of exageration or more accuratly bull****! Your method of arguing by resorting to lies when you are wrong doesn't warrant a response really.

Anyway back to the real debate - City for the league? On last nights performance we are a cut above the rest.

21/05/2006, 10:22 PM
so far this season derry were the most impressive side we played&prior to that game i hadn't expected them to do as well as last year but i defo do now. prob the most complete team even though they don't have best squad. martyn&especially mccourt were brilliant. if that was the 1st time u saw cork play in a while u wouldn't think they were any better than mid table. cork&drogs need to bring ppl in&shels need to get their act together but if none of this happens derry have as good a chance as any1 of winning it

Roverstillidie
21/05/2006, 10:27 PM
You, my Burberry/Stone Island loving friend are a master in the art of exageration or more accuratly bull****! Your method of arguing by resorting to lies when you are wrong doesn't warrant a response really.

twice my bus has been attacked by stonethrowers, one incident of which was discussed here, and apologised for by DCFC fans.

twice. me personally. no bull**** there speranza!

Gareth
21/05/2006, 10:33 PM
RTID to the best of my knowledge has a fine dress sense, and I have never seen him donned in any burberry.

Roverstillidie
21/05/2006, 10:38 PM
RTID to the best of my knowledge has a fine dress sense, and I have never seen him donned in any burberry.

why thank you gareth. i am a handsome dapper chappie really.

i like the fact that the speranza responded to my generalisation with an indignant generalisation of his own :rolleyes:

22/05/2006, 12:51 AM

Jebus, fair play for travelling ... its an extra few hours onto the journey.

Well at least you can make it up on your second trip up later on in the year. :)

Dunno, we have it all wrapped up by then y'see !! ;)