View Full Version : Champions League Final

Pages : 1 [2] 3 4

Karlos
17/05/2006, 11:17 PM
I can forgive the ref for not playing advantage with Lehmann's foul and it was the linesman that flagged for the blatent dive which led to the goal. Other than that nothing the ref did really affected the outcome of the game, that I can remember.

I agree on both goal issue but disagree on the ref effect on the game. It's disppointing to see players come through from behind as Marquez did on Henry and not even get booked. The laws state that that type of challenge is a red card - you can't do it. I'm not saying I agree with it but it's the law and you expect the refereee to at the very least do his job as he did honestly and fairly for the Lehmann incident.

He got so many discisions wrong and that does effect the game in my opinion. :)

Karlos
17/05/2006, 11:21 PM
Didn't think Henry played that well tbh. Had a great chance in either half but wouldn't pick him in the top 5 Arsenal players on the night...

On his own upfront with 10 men he caused Barca's defence more problems than they've had in the whole competition. He made Puyol & Marquez look like schoolboys at almost every opportunity. The run with pace and power, down the sideline where he skipped past Marquez and Puyol was majestic :)

I may be mistaken but it also loked like he picked up the man of the match award when he collected his medal.

Karlos
17/05/2006, 11:42 PM
I'm sure it will go un-noticed that I wanted to comment on the disgusting antics of Edmilson after the Lehmann incident. As I said, the descision is not an issue but this reation was awful to witness and a terrible example to set.

Again you'd expect the referree to do his job with regard to what the guidelines is on this type of behaviour. It was particulary unsavoury to witness it in a major final. :o

17/05/2006, 11:54 PM
I haven't seen anyone question the fairness of the result.

I think Arsenal had little or no choice but to resort to a more defensive play for ahem.....70 minutes.

Even with how they had to play, they still created those 4 or 5 direct chances on goal aginst what looked like a very poor Barca defence. Valdes was the only stand out player in the defence. Nobody can convince me that Barca's performance against a ten man Arsenal has shown them as far superior. Anything but in my eyes. For the 20 minutes that both teams were 11 v 11, the game was even.

I hope we get to see the two play again 11 v 11 as it was truely shaping up to be a classic.

No-one queried it here, but I can see the headlines and people reminiscing in the future about 'the game Arsenal should've won':)

That's not a poor Barca defence..four goals conceded in Europe and previous to last week, 6 clean sheets in a row in the league and Valdes picking up the best keeper award for the second season in a row. Anyway, Arsenal should've kept the ball (they are decent on the ground) and pushed further away from their own penalty box. Eto'o was two yards out by the time he hit the ball and Belletti practically on the goal-line. Let Ronaldinho et al try their intricate work from further out, shooting from further out, but mostly keep the ball. Barca created the chance that changed the game after 20 minutes. Lehmann deserved to go, so Arsenal lost the right to play an even 11 v 11 game (despite ITV's insistance to the contrary).

Barca only used the 10 man advantage effectively with 9 minutes to go. That's a gleaming example of how poor their own performance was by their own standards.

You see I would see this as how good Barca are. They will get through, be it after one minute against 10 or after 65 minutes. Somewhere and at sometime in the period they will put it together and there's usually no stopping it when it does happen. They need not to hammer down the door for an hour to succeed.

The majority of the team. The bench. The manager. The formation. Barca have all these working. They can win both ugly and spectacularly. Too many people billed this as Henry v. Ronaldinho. Yet neither had any real prolonged impact on the game.

The real reason why Barcelona are so good in my opinion is not because of Ronaldinho, but what is supporting him. He didn't have to play well. Did many think Larsson be the crucial key before the game? Belletti? Eto'o? By their link up play you can see how good and how in-tune they are with each other. Without Ronaldinho anywhere near them.

Ronaldinho is the star player, but is not why Barcelona are doing so well and not why the future looks bright for Barcelona to dominate. Can you say the same about Henry and Arsenal?

18/05/2006, 12:07 AM
I'm sure it will go un-noticed that I wanted to comment on the disgusting antics of Edmilson after the Lehmann incident. As I said, the descision is not an issue but this reation was awful to witness and a terrible example to set.

Again you'd expect the referree to do his job with regard to what the guidelines is on this type of behaviour. It was particulary unsavoury to witness it in a major final. :o
In fairness, it's a regular thing in football outside of Ireland and England. I've seen Ronaldinho do it a few times.

Karlos
18/05/2006, 12:10 AM
Ronaldinho is the star player, but is not why Barcelona are doing so well and not why the future looks bright for Barcelona to dominate. Can you say the same about Henry and Arsenal?

Absolutetly...one look at the average age & the performances the Arsenal players out there tonight confirms what Arsenal's future looks like. The likes of Fabregas, Senderos, Flamini, Eboue and even Walcott are the future of the club. Henry is a prolific goalscorer and an amazing player but I've never subscribed to the one man team concept as others do about Ronaldinho as you highlighted. Before him people talked that same crap about Vieria & Adams, - even questioned it when the likes of Anelka, Overmars & Petit went but everytime Arsenal picked themselves up and achieved something. Despite no silverware this season, the achievements of this young team in Europe has been magnificent and will stand to them in the future.

People shouldn't forget that Arsenal played with 10 men for the majority of this game against arguably one of the best teams in the world. I don't believe Barca would have contolled the game any better in the same situation against Arsenal considering how difficult they made it for themselves tonght for long periods with a man advantage.

I stll don't believe Barca showed any overall superiority over Arsenal tonight other than the fact they won the game and fair play for that. :)

Karlos
18/05/2006, 12:12 AM
In fairness, it's a regular thing in football outside of Ireland and England. I've seen Ronaldinho do it a few times.

Still doesn't excuse it however. It's been highlighted to referees by FIFA for a very good reason and should be acted on as directed.

Karlos
18/05/2006, 12:14 AM
You see I would see this as how good Barca are. They will get through, be it after one minute against 10 or after 65 minutes. Somewhere and at sometime in the period they will put it together and there's usually no stopping it when it does happen. They need not to hammer down the door for an hour to succeed.

They need not to hammer down the door for an hour to succeed.

Sorry I missed this earlier

Are you really suggesting that they should be giving up 4 or 5 clear chances to 10 men opponents in the process. I can't fathom how that somehow highlights their class. I'm not doubting they can put it together at any time but what we witnessed tonight wasn't what you are suggesting. I understand the concept of being patient but in my coaching manual that doesn't include defending poorly in the process :)

Karlos
18/05/2006, 12:32 AM
Frank Rijkaard, Barcelona coach

Arsenal did a great job, without any doubt. It wasn't easy and that didn't surprise me. I said beforehand that the Champions League final is special and unique and that you don't have a favourite, just two good teams. Arsenal started well, we less so, but then we began to get back into it. The red card changed the game dramatically and it was a pity in that sense. Arsenal went backwards and started to defend and they still played very well. Víctor Valdés once again played a decisive role. He saved us at a crucial moment with the stop from Thierry Henry. He contributed to the victory and I like that. You need the team, and when each and every part of it does its job you have more strength. All that counts is that FC Barcelona are the 2006 UEFA Champions League winners. The first thing I am thinking of is all our fans and the joy this gives them. We must all be grateful that we can live these moments with Barcelona.

Arsène Wenger, Arsenal manager

The red card was the most important part of the game but we still played well and had two or three good chances to score a second. And when you don't do that, the last 20 minutes are going to be difficult. Congratulations to Barcelona and to my players for a magnificent European season and a great game tonight. When Jens Lehmann got sent off, that left us with 70 minutes to play with ten against eleven, against a team that retains the ball very well. I don't think we could have done much more. I want to thank my players who were absolutely magnificent. They were heroes but they were not rewarded. I will work with them to turn this frustration into success, but they deserve massive credit - as do Barcelona.

Marked Man
18/05/2006, 4:13 AM
Then there was also the continual fouling & diving from other players that went unpunished including the likes of Ronaldinho.

)

Don't forget the amazing tumbling spinning Henry while you're at it.

ColinR
18/05/2006, 6:33 AM
i've certainly no love for arsenal, and at the start last night wanted barca to win, but in the end i was really hoping for an arsenal equaliser.

if barca are the best club team in the world, then its a bad state of affairs for football - i thought they were awful. they lost all their shape in the second half and resorted to 'middlesboro' style football and larsson came to their rescue.

arsenal, i thought were amazing, brilliant defending with 10 men, henry despite his miss was absolute class ( i used to be one who said he never showed up in a big match ;) ) , and toure was my man of the match. They ripped barca to shreds on the counter, and looked more likely to score until the equaliser. hard luck gunners.

one point no-one seems to have mentioned - should eboue have got a second yellow if the ref had have realised he dived for the free?

oh and deco - still a diving git!

18/05/2006, 6:47 AM
I have some sympathy for Arsenal....it would have been personally unbelieveable for Sol Campbell to scvore the winner in a CL final after his year of hell, and theres no doubting Henry deserved a medal for just being Henry.

However, I don't think I could have taken the smug, smarmy grin that would have been on Ashley Coles face. To say I hate him is an insult to those I truly hate. He is a smarmy obnoxious excuse for a human being.Why did Wenger pick him ahead of Flamini?? I remember an interview with the great Arswipe, sorry Arsene earlier in the season where he stated that only players fit to play a full match should be on the bench...If that was the case, Cole and Flamini should have been left out, or Flamini should have started. He's done a great job for them throughout the CL, and to be dropped for the final for a toerag like Cole beggared belief.Glad Cole got a roasting from whoever attacked him.

18/05/2006, 7:26 AM
Regarding Henry's comments I'm delighted that on one channel he highlighted the impact of Larsson over the established stars. I wonder now will patronising ****s like Gary Lineker still think that he mightn't have cut it in the Premiership? Well done Henrik, a true great. 2 European finals, 2 major performances.

Very disappointed for Arsenal but compared to the pain I felt after dropping points in Tel Aviv, and other Ireland matches it's not too bad. In a way, as an Arsenal fan, I got far more than I ever expected from Europe this season and last night was exciting for me regardless. Under the circumstances they put in a great shift and passed the ball brilliantly at times.

I said above that Arsenal WOULD get chances & it was down to whether they took them. They did get them but didn't take them. I also thought that Barce were vulnerable from set pieces. But I was totally wrong about Valdes -he was excellent for Barca.

Arsenal nearly got away with it but it wasn't to be. Regarding Eboue's dive, at one point I asked myself was this the night that I finally got rewarded for suffering Eric Gerets' dive in Brussels in '81. Karma and all that.

Sadly I think Arsenal may have to wait an awful long time to get a shot at the CL final again, unless Henry stays. Last night suggested to me that he might though.

Regrading the ref: I think he should have let the goal stand but it's very hard to fault him for it. I do agree with Henry though that Barcelona could have had more yellows & marking Henry when you're already booked is a different proposition. In this way he had an effect on the game. But if Henry is to be genuinely critical, he should admit that if he had been more clinical the cup was Arsenal's. In that context however you can see why he was so frustrated after the game.

18/05/2006, 7:51 AM
I really thought Arsenal were a credit to their supporters last night, they were outstanding in the face of adversity. I thought Toure was brilliant but the whole team worked their socks off and were truely exhausted at the end. I wanted Barca to win but in the end I felt sorry for Arsenal for the effort they put in.

I must say I didn't really agree with Henry's comments (or outburst) after the final whistle but he's entitled to speak his mind and he was closer to the action than me I suppose.

The sending off was 100% accurate IMO, it was a professional foul and a clear goalscoring oportunity so there was only ever going to be one outcome.

Have to also say, I watched it on ITV and the commentator (can't remember who he was-probably Tyldsley) was an absolute joke and was doing my head in. I remember one incident in the 2nd half while Arsenal were still leading when Ronaldhino sidefooted that chance back the way it came from and his comments were "Best player in the world??....you're having a laugh!"

18/05/2006, 7:58 AM
I don't think he did commit one, though. I think the fact that Barca scored anyway meant that no clear cut scoring chance was prevented, which I think is effectively the definition of a professional foul.
It was a professional foul. :)

18/05/2006, 8:07 AM
Seconds before Barcelona equalised David Pleat said "the sight is in end". I think I knew what he meant though. I have to admit that much as I dislike Tyldesly's perpetual jingoism I enjoyed listening to Pleat.

18/05/2006, 8:13 AM
On his own upfront with 10 men he caused Barca's defence more problems than they've had in the whole competition. He made Puyol & Marquez look like schoolboys at almost every opportunity. The run with pace and power, down the sideline where he skipped past Marquez and Puyol was majestic :)
Yes it was but he didn't get 3 other touches of the ball in the second half. Not his fault obviously as Arsenal defended far too deeply IMO

I may be mistaken but it also loked like he picked up the man of the match award when he collected his medal.Eto'o got it. I'd have given it to Deco.

18/05/2006, 8:16 AM
The sending off was one of the only decisions the ref got right all night, he was fcuking terrible other than that, plenty of bad decisions for both sides.

The better team won on the night, Arsenal just kept getting deeper and deeper as the match went on, the 3 subs Barca made turned the game on it's head.

Not as entertaining as i expected but still not the worst game of football ever. The big players never really turned up, Henry and Ronnie were both very poor, i was seriously impressed with Inesta (spelling) when he came on.

18/05/2006, 8:35 AM
I think this was Hauges weakest CL match this season. BUT: That is only because the mistakes made had the worst possible consequences. I honestly don't think there were more mistakes made in this game than in any other game.

1) Send-off/advantage: When the incident occurs, the Barca player is outside and to the side of the penalty area, and an Arsenal defender is on his way into the penalty area. I don't think Hauge even registered that an advantage could follow, and chose to blow quickly to avoid any incidents around the free kick and send-off. In hindsight, an obvious bad decision, but understandable. After he had made the error, I think explaining, apologizing and calming the players down before administering the send-off and free kick was wise. No need to give cautions for dissent when you know you've made a match changing mistake. It took quite some time to restart the match because Arsenal had to substitute a player for a goalkeeper. You can hardly blame Hauge for that.

2) Free kick before Arsenal goal. Bad decision by Holvik. He was fooled, unfortunately. No yellow. Amusingly, Sundet (who was the one appointed to replace Borgan) had a much better (in fact excellent!) day on the job than Hauges regular assistant.

3) Cautions. Hauge penalized persistent dangerous sliding tackles (very wet and slippery grass) with cautions. I thought that was OK. Larsson caution is obvious. Henry was first on the ball, but dangerous tackle.

4) Deco dive. There is contact, but he dives. No caution, no free kick. Correct decision.

5) Off-side before the equalizer: I honestly couldn't tell from the replays. Play is extremely quick, and I prefer the AR to keep his flag down if uncertain.

6) General decision-making: Very good. Let the players play if possible, was not fooled by cries for free kicks or dives except for the situation leading to the first goal.

7) Man management: Good. Cool, non-confronting and quiet. Could have chosen to dish out cards for dissent, chose not to. Handled the last 72 minutes (plus 7 minutes added time) well.

8) Positioning: Well posistioned for most decisions. Narrow, modern-style diagonal that puts him close to incidents in front of the penalty area, which led to good decisions.

Over all, a quite standard game for a good referee, where he is unlucky that his glitches came at the wrong times.

18/05/2006, 8:40 AM
Sending off was correct and the whistle had been blown before the ball reached Giuly so no problems there.
As Karlos said I did think the ref was very inconsistent in his decisions. Barca players were getting away with tackles Arsenal players were getting booked for. Puyol came through the back of Henry at one stage and because Henry didn't act like he'd been shot in the chest no card was produced. Henry then goes in for a tackle wins the ball, Van Bommell catches Henry late and then rolls and gets him booked, crazy stuff. Surely if yer man is good enough for the CL final then he'd be off to the World Cup. :confused:
Henry showed his brilliance at times last night but his finishing should have seen them home and dry and it didn't, Ronaldinho was ordinary and at times didn't look all that interested. Larsson was the difference.
Would like to see the 1st Barca goal in slow motion and see if Etoo was offside.Disgrace anyone but Ljungberg getting MOTM last night, he ran himself into the ground, immense.

18/05/2006, 8:47 AM
Not as entertaining as i expected but still not the worst game of football ever.
It started really well, wide open, quality passing etc.

But once Lehmann got sent off I thought it remained a compelling game, just in a different way. I thought Arsenal reacted brilliantly to the adverse circumstances. It became a totally different type of contest & Arsenal really threw the gauntlet down to Barcelona. My mate was there & he commented that even when the rain came there was hardly a case of a miscontrol all night. Fabregas' ability to protect the ball under pressure is amazing, especially for one so young.

Remarkably few offsides all night too. Whatever about Eto's goal being offside (I'm not sure it was despite UK TV) but Arsenal were unlucky in the sense that it'd be given as offside 8 times out of 10. It's the kind of decision that always seems to go AGAINST Ireland.

18/05/2006, 9:01 AM
I thought Arsenal reacted brilliantly to the adverse circumstances. It became a totally different type of contest & Arsenal really threw the gauntlet down to Barcelona. My mate was there & he commented that even when the rain came there was hardly a case of a miscontrol all night.
Barca would argue that Barca reacted brilliantly to going a goal down (when they should've been one up) by continuing to play their passing, probing game. Nobody has mentioned Alumunia's brilliant save from Eto in the first half (when eto'o turned Campbell brilliantly)

Whatever about Eto's goal being offside (I'm not sure it was despite UK TV)
In fairness Sky paused it and he was just level. All their panel said he was onside "Yeah, even as a Gooner... its onside" was Merson's comment.

I thought Toure was Arsenal's best player (by a mile) but overall I'd give MOTM to Deco. I disagree with those who say Fabregas had a good game. Thought he was anonymous for long periods. No doubt his time will come though

18/05/2006, 9:14 AM
Barca would argue that Barca reacted brilliantly to going a goal down (when they should've been one up) by continuing to play their passing, probing game.
My point was more that it remained a really compelling game. I think it was Geysir who said above that it was a worthy final, and I agree. It wasn't like the FA Cup Final, or last season's final, but I thought there was quality all over the place. Barcelona didn't panic and their substitutions made the difference.

Almunia's save was excellent alright, and his handling through the second half was impeccable & very reassuring for his defenders. I wouldn't fault him for being beaten at his near post for Eto's goal & I think he was a bit unlucky for the winner, though his positioning was definitely questionable. I felt sorry for him.

Just a thought: with all the stuff going on in Italy, what chance of Vieira returning to Hiughbury?

18/05/2006, 9:19 AM
I cant believe that everybody is slagging the ref and not mentioning Lehmann. The guy is a cheat and he got his just rewards last night. He tried to stop a guy scoring a legit goal in a champions league final by fowling him. I think the ref should have sent off Lehmann and given the goal. That would have been fair as that was a great piece of play by barca. It was Ronaldinhios only positive impact on the game.

There is no doubt that the incident changed the game but a lot of the Arsenal players and manager are hinting that somehow the ref was not on their side. The ref bottled the game in my view but he did not effect the result of the game in favour of Barca. Henrys comments about ETo and Ronaldinhio after the game saying they were not proper players or proper people was bang out of order an in my view he was sore after the game and should have kept his comments to himself. In relation to comparisons to Roy Keane, I think Keane usually had comments about his own players after a game so that comparison is not fair to Keane.

If we are to judge Ronaldinhio on one game last night well then there are numerous examples of Henry not playing well in a big match. He was pretty crap in the Ireland match in Paris in 2004. Ronaldinhio was rubbish last night Larsson was absolutely top class but my man of the match if possible is Iniesta. Even though he only played a half he was fantastic.

All in all a game that could have been so much more if it had not been for Lehmann and is abilitly to cheat. Lets get one clear it is him that ruined the game as a spectacle not the ref as was said by ITV and Sky Sports.

18/05/2006, 9:21 AM
Just a thought: with all the stuff going on in Italy, what chance of Vieira returning to Hiughbury?[/QUOTE]

not a chance as it was Wenger who let him go so that the likes of Fabregas could grow in the midfield . Wenger was of the view that to keep Viera would hold him back as he needed matches and the time was right for Fabregas.

18/05/2006, 9:39 AM
All in all a game that could have been so much more if it had not been for Lehmann and is abilitly to cheat. Lets get one clear it is him that ruined the game as a spectacle not the ref as was said by ITV and Sky Sports.

Agreed. No one forced Lehmann to commit the professional foul. He got himself sent off or as SKy said "sacrificed himself for the cause:eek: "
As ever the pundits, as ex-players, blame the referee. Lehmann deliberately as last man back pulled down the forward - sending off.

The Arsenal goal - I am not sure if there wasn't some contact with the Arsenal defender but the linesman gave it anyway, not the ref.

We all look for a scapecoat after a defeat - and it's usually the ref. Most of the questions to the Arsenal players after the game from the UK press were "Did the ref cost you the game ?" The answer to that was, no Lehmann did. I thought his replacement could have done better for both Barca goals.

I really enjoyed the game. No sure it would have turned in to the classic people say it would if it remained 11 vs 11. If it stays 0-0 for a while both teams become afraid of commiting mistakes and become cautious.

Henrik got Celtic though to the group stage because Barca won so even now he still weaves his magic for them.

18/05/2006, 10:03 AM
I thought Lehmann committed himself to get the ball but Eto was too quick, so saying that he was cheating is extreme. As an ex-keeper I can tell you categorically that it's easy to bring a guy down even when you're doing your damndest to get the ball. He made a split second decision to dive at Eto's feet & it cost him. It was hardly premeditated. Lehmann has done nothing in his career to endear himself to opposition fans, especially Spurs fans, but what happened last night was just one of those things that happens goalies. It was no more cheating than Petr Cech's foul in last year's CL semi at Anfield.

Edit: I'd concede however that once it was obvious that he had missed the ball & bringing Eto down was inevitable I think he made sure it was outside the box. No question it merited a red card, but cheating? No more than tugging a guy's jersey from behind is cheating. Eboue's dive was far more of a cheat.

Tell me honestly Neil, is your dislike of Lehmann (which I understand) directing your opinion on this? If it was Shay Given would it have been one of those things that can happen a 'keeper or the actions of a cheat?

18/05/2006, 10:25 AM
In fairness he grabbed Eto by the ankle. It wasn't just momentum carrying him into him.

Oh and I like Lehmann by the way and thought his after match interview was excellent

18/05/2006, 10:26 AM
On the punditry last night, the bar I was in (Fitzsimon's in Temple Bar) had Sky Sports on and all Andy Gray kept harping on (and on, and on, and..) for the entire first half was how "the referee has ruined this as a spectacle by not allowing the goal". Not mentioning any of the play, or how the game was progressing. Oh, and for those who watched the build up on Sky Sports, there were 20 other players involved in the game, not just Ronaldinho and Henry

Roadend
18/05/2006, 10:33 AM
Andy Gray is a godawful pundit, absolutely terrible. He was biased beyond reason last night. Alas flicking over to RTE for post, half-time and post match comments really was a waste of time. Dunphy (Who obviously never watches spanish football) calling E'to overated? Barca a one man team? Talking about Bellini at right back for Barca. The man is a clown.

18/05/2006, 10:34 AM
I am just a wee bit suspicious of Stuttgart's attempt to compare emotions and decisions to a number of Ireland's heartbreaking football moments
Do you and Karlos take it in shifts? :)
But I couldn't help contrasting Rijkaard's patient response to that of Van Gaal's panic attack with the opposition down to 10 men. Rijkaard embodies the classic Dutch approach.
As much a turning point as Larsson's entry was, so too was the exit of the substituted Van Bommel on the hour.
Deco looks almost a reformed player, only one blatant dive.

18/05/2006, 10:36 AM
I accept most of the criticisms of Henry's after match comments, but two comments he made (which I've slightly reconfigured) I agree with:

The so-called stars were overshadowed by Larsson's contribution, who those in the know (such as Henry) have always recognised as class.

If Puyol & Marquez had been booked it'd have made Henry's task easier.

18/05/2006, 10:42 AM
On the punditry last night, the bar I was in (Fitzsimon's in Temple Bar) had Sky Sports on and all Andy Gray kept harping on (and on, and on, and..) for the entire first half was how "the referee has ruined this as a spectacle by not allowing the goal".

50% of all Andy Gray's commentaries consist of harping on about the referee, no matter what the game.

I thought Henry's comments about Ronaldinho were interesting - hardly the comments of someone on his way to Barca. Strangely, if Arsenal had won I'd say he would definitely have left the club. Now he has unfinished business and there's a greater possibility of him staying.

18/05/2006, 10:45 AM
In fairness he grabbed Eto by the ankle. It wasn't just momentum carrying him into him.

Oh and I like Lehmann by the way and thought his after match interview was excellent

Yeah, I concede that I think he made sure he took Eto down (again, something I can say from experience, it's something you just do) but I think he'd probably have brought him down anyway. Still, it was split-second rash judgment, not outright cheating. Goalkeepers are the players far more exposed to a straight red card than any other, sometimes harshly, sometimes not. Lehmann's red card was not harsh. In fairness to Lehmann , he was out very quickly, not many forwards are as quick as Eto, but yes, it was obviously an error of judgment.

I thought the interview was excellent too.

Junior
18/05/2006, 10:49 AM
Enjoyed it myself, especially Henkes contribution and the icing on the cake was Henry giving him a special mention in the post match interview!!

Flicked between ITV ans Sky and both sets of commentators drove me nuts!

- Arsenal played extremely well and Its hard to take when you hold out for 75mins but end up losing. Toure, Gilberto, Hleb & Llunberg put in good shifts but generally they all played well with 10 men.

- Henry played well in spurts but missed 2 one on ones which was critical. His booking was wrong but he should look at bit harder at his own contribution.

- Lehamanns challenge was shocking - Im sure Barca would have preferred a 1-0 lead and 11 v 11 (decision was to arsenals benefit). Effectively it was a2 footed tackle outside the area. If an outfield player had done it, goal scoring opportunity or not - he would have been off.

- The freekick award was incorrect for Eboue's dive. In fact by the letter of the law Eboue should have been sent off for a 2nd booking. (decision was to arsenals benefit).

- Eto'o's goal was declared onside by Sky Pundits - He looked level but as Stuttgart says it could easily not have been given as you do see week in week out.

- With regards Henrys comments on the Ref. I think Karlos said they where bang on the nail. "The ref should have been wearing a Barcelona shirt"?? Really? I have to disagree, the ref had an average game. Lehmanns indiscipline, Henrys poor finishing were well above the ref in terms of who should take the blame for Arsenals defeat- if anything the ref gave them a helping hand on the key decisions.

18/05/2006, 10:55 AM

I agree, Lehmann's interviews and comments are usually laid back, interesting and intelligent, even humorous. It's in contrast to the type of character you might think he is from some of his on field OTT emotions.

Alumina's save from Eto was superb. Even with the help of slow motion the deflection was just about perceptable.

18/05/2006, 10:58 AM
I

Tell me honestly Neil, is your dislike of Lehmann (which I understand) directing your opinion on this? If it was Shay Given would it have been one of those things that can happen a 'keeper or the actions of a cheat?

If Shay Given had of done it I would have been very angry with him and I would have blamed him for the incident rather than blame the ref. It seems that players blame refs rather than fellow players. Thats why the comparison with Roy Keane earlier was not accurate as i think rightly or wrongly Keane blames his own players and himself for mistakes made in games rather than the referees. This is after the game I must say, there is nobody better at "talking" to the ref during a game than keane.

18/05/2006, 11:04 AM
I think Eto'o made sure Lehmann took him down, he released the ball rather than shot and kept running in a straight line. At this point Lehmann had already dived to stop the (anticipated) shot, and it was too late to get out of the away.

Roadend
18/05/2006, 11:21 AM
I think Eto'o made sure Lehmann took him down, he released the ball rather than shot and kept running in a straight line. At this point Lehmann had already dived to stop the (anticipated) shot, and it was too late to get out of the away.

I'm afraid not, Its quite clear in the replay that Lehman grabbed his foot after missing the ball. Eto'o was away had he not done that.

ColinR
18/05/2006, 11:32 AM
At this point Lehmann had already dived to stop the (anticipated) shot, and it was too late to get out of the away.

then surely had he saved that shot he would have received a red card for handball outisde the box anyway

18/05/2006, 11:53 AM
The referees bad decision was blowing the whistle too soon on Lehmanns foul - once he blew the whistle had no choice but to send him off. However it was Lehmanns deliberate foul which forced the refs hand. No foul would have meant no need for ref to make bad decision.

I thought Henry was very poor especially the missed chance at 1-0. World Clas players have to produce it at the highest level & he fluffed it when he had that chance. Much easier to score when playing Sunderland.

Barca deserved to win. I think if Etos goal had been allowed & Arsenal still at 11 men would have created the space behind the Arsenal defence for them to expose.

I always wondered if Larsson was actually nay good as the SPL hardly a challenge but he has impressed when seen him for Barcelona this year.

In the end the Barcelona substitutes won the game.

RTE commentary was ok but anytime i flicked over to Sky Andy Gray was in full moan mood. :eek:

18/05/2006, 12:11 PM
i feel a bit cheated that barca won with two jammy goals, second one a pure mishap by a known donkey beletti

as a neutral the clever skillfull football was played by arsenal

Ron never turned up so us neutrals were left feeling shortchanged by the whole thing

18/05/2006, 12:13 PM
First barca goal couldn't be called Jammy. great play and a class finish. Winner obviously a bit lucky

18/05/2006, 12:17 PM
theres a brilliant etoo's angle view of the 1st one and almunia clearly gifts him the inside post - criminal goalkeeping

id kill someone if they did that in astro - etoo just passed it in, didnt even need to shoot

"use your hands almunia!" :D

18/05/2006, 12:27 PM
Who was the first Arsenal player booked by the way? (Not Henry - think it was Eboue?) He was fairly lucky to stay on the pitch too - nasty challenge with studs up nowhere near the ball.

Almunia was fairly poor for both goals - beaten at his near post and through his legs. Arsenal should have kept Graham Stack instead! :)

18/05/2006, 12:35 PM
Cop on wws, it was a good finish at a tight angle, he switched to his right foot to shape up for a shot across goal but dragged into the near corner.
It would have been correct to say that Barca can win without Ronaldinho playing well while Henry could star and still lose.
However, don't think Henry was as brilliant as made out by some.
Was lively in the first twenty minutes but still missed given the chance (well maybe he created the chance aswell). Wasn't in the game much after that imo.
Ronaldinho had a very quiet night though his pass for the sending off was sweet.
Delighted for Larsson.
Got one season at a shot of proper glory and took it.
Well deserved.

18/05/2006, 12:40 PM
Actually, on the commentary, I was watching the match in the Montrose last night, and they had both RTÉ and Sky Sports on. RTÉ was a whole five seconds ahead of Sky, but the main telly was Sky and the sound was on the Sky version. So you'd be watching Sky, watching Ronaldinho lining up a free-kick and then remember you could look at the RTÉ telly to see what he did with it while he was still lining it up on Sky! Moved seats after half-time to watch RTÉ, but you could still hear everyone else in the bar reacting five seconds later to what we'd already seen. Wierd...

Junior
18/05/2006, 12:44 PM
Who was the first Arsenal player booked by the way? (Not Henry - think it was Eboue?) He was fairly lucky to stay on the pitch too - nasty challenge with studs up nowhere near the ball.

Yep Eboue - same guy who dived shortly afterwards to win the freekick resulting Arsenals goal..............lucky to stay on the pitch IMO.

I always wondered if Larsson was actually nay good as the SPL hardly a challenge but he has impressed when seen him for Barcelona this year.

Has scored a couple in a Uefa Cup final as well as a semi final winner + the numerous goals in CL games for Celtic. - His class was never in any doubt through my admittedly green tinted specs!!

18/05/2006, 12:45 PM
That happens in every telly on McCurtain Street in Cork.
Must be an extra Sky connection or something cos its a good 3 or 4 seconds behind.
I doubt Larry got his ticket anyway unfortunately.
Meant to have been thousands looking for them at crazy prices.

18/05/2006, 12:52 PM
Actually, on the commentary, I was watching the match in the Montrose last night, and they had both RTÉ and Sky Sports on. RTÉ was a whole five seconds ahead of Sky, but the main telly was Sky and the sound was on the Sky version. So you'd be watching Sky, watching Ronaldinho lining up a free-kick and then remember you could look at the RTÉ telly to see what he did with it while he was still lining it up on Sky! Moved seats after half-time to watch RTÉ, but you could still hear everyone else in the bar reacting five seconds later to what we'd already seen. Wierd...

Yeah it happens on most TVs. The digital signal is about 5 seconds slower than the normal signal. At home If I watch RTE through the digital tv its about 5 seconds behind the the RTE through the normal TV.]]

Oh by the way Arsenal now have the lovely record of losing in all 3 European Finals, Champions Cup, Cup Winnners Cup and Uefa Cup.

Finally I do have to laugh at Henry saying he never saw ETo for the whole night etc etc. Well he must have bad eyesight cause Eto was at the centre of Lehmann getting sent off and he managed to score a goal something Henry failed to do.