View Full Version : UCD...aaaaah!

Pages : 1 [2]

07/05/2006, 9:17 PM
He's played 73 games for the club and no away fans have ever had a problem with him, and I've never seen any evidence of him diving.

i never said anythin about what in those other games but i know what he did yesterday and i can only assume you didn't what i saw

Bravo
08/05/2006, 5:59 AM
The performance against UCD was the worst I have seen in a Long Long time. Not one tried, no one they were like a bunch of mercenaries playing for a wage and not an ounce of passion for the club. I felt sorry for Connors & would say he felt extremely let down by the team. UCD well deserved their 3 points, Rovers gave them to much time, didn’t push forward & conceded possession easily & UCD punished them for it, they were like a bunch of lads on the pi55 all week and after having a big feed from the Bistro, they couldn’t move and couldn’t be arsed! Paul Doolin & Tony Cousins were in the stand & I would say they slept soundly on Saturday night!!

Redzer
08/05/2006, 9:45 AM
Fair play to UCD, totally outplayed us all over the pitch. Our best player by a long shot was Foy. Not only did he cover his own area, but he did Faz's job as well.
About Kenna, not only did he pretend his leg was broke with the Mansarem incident, he also got McT booked, again pretending an injury. Totall disgraceful behavour. If any player touched him he was off rolling on the ground. He was also trying to get the Sligo fans going by putting up his fist to us, and then trying to cover it up by pretending he was urging on his team.

bambi
08/05/2006, 12:10 PM
Ah now come on. You can all give it but you cant take it! He didn't do anything offensive even tho ye were shouting, "Wait til you come to the showgrounds" and the like. McT could have been sent off for his challenge, and Kenna wasn't involved in that one. He made no attempt for the ball as our centre half tried to shield the ball through to our keeper and McT must've thought he was Mr T by milling in to our two players.

Mansaram should have been sent off just before half time for his late challenge when he was already booked but the ref said one more and your gone and Mansaram duly obliged with a stupid late tackle again (albeit not the worst tackle your likely to see), so the ref had no choice.

08/05/2006, 12:26 PM
Yes as was clearly Stated before ! :rolleyes: :D
That guesstimate was in relation to the number of away fans, not the crowd. :rolleyes:

I would say there were in around 450 at the game. 500 at most. 150 rovers fans, 200 ucd fans and maybe 100 neutrals.
100 neutrals? How'd you work that one out?!

08/05/2006, 12:38 PM
The question re neutrals was to MarkH.

08/05/2006, 12:48 PM
I wasn't questioning your right to reply; I was just saying it was a pointless post given that you were directly replying to me about neutral fans whereas it was MarkH who had brought the issue up.

Student Mullet
08/05/2006, 2:27 PM
Lads,
Bickering over the attendance figures is childish. I say that to both UCD and Sligo fans.

Fivesilver
08/05/2006, 3:11 PM
With you on that one - it's not as if people are arguing over whether there were 45,000 or 50,000 at the game.:D

08/05/2006, 3:34 PM
Have to admit, I found it amusing when it got down to 450 vs 500. :)

red bellied
08/05/2006, 4:24 PM
LOI attendances are pathetic but that one is a joke teams like UCD have to ask themselves is it really worth it. What is the point if there seems to be no interest from the local area or even the student population.

08/05/2006, 4:41 PM
What's the point when you can't beat us in Belfield in the league for 25 years?

Bald Student
08/05/2006, 4:42 PM
LOI attendances are pathetic but that one is a joke teams like UCD have to ask themselves is it really worth it. What is the point if there seems to be no interest from the local area or even the student population.Because football is first a participation sport and second a spectator sport. We have well over 1,000 players (which I understand makes us the biggest adult club in europe) and we provide a cereer path all the way up to U21 international level for the best of them. You can't say that the student population takes no interest when that many of them take to the field every week.

red bellied
08/05/2006, 5:00 PM
Well where was your 1000 players Saturday night, to be in a top flight league you need some sort of fanbase UCD dont have one never did and never will. Where do they actually draw the few that do go.

First thing about being a Rovers supporter there is always interest bout the place either good or bad. I can safely say ye are hardly the talk of the town up there. I know that some of ye are fairly committed to the cause but if the club tomorrow was to drop out of the league no one in the local area would really give a ****.

Bald Student
08/05/2006, 5:06 PM
Well where was your 1000 players Saturday night
I presume the majority were studying for today's exams but that's neither here not there.

to be in a top flight league you need some sort of fanbaseTo be in the top flight you need a team capable of competing in the top flight. Everything else is window dressing.

08/05/2006, 5:29 PM
Well where was your 1000 players Saturday night
You looking to sign them?

red bellied
08/05/2006, 5:40 PM
No but ye could pay them extra in their grant to become season ticket holders!

08/05/2006, 5:43 PM
to be in a top flight league you need some sort of fanbase UCD dont have one never did and never will.

We've spent practically all of the last decade in the top flight. We know and have what it takes.

Bald Student
08/05/2006, 6:55 PM
I can understand the point you're making Goliath but I think you're playing down UCD's significance by comparing us to Dub City, a club which is a few years old and without any home ground or area. Also you play up the other clubs a bit by saying that they have a huge place in the community of their respective areas. Some do, most don't.

The bottom line is my mind is that there is no one model of what a club should be. You could pick a set of criteria and say that Sligo is a better club because you have a bigger ground and higher crowds. I could pick a different set of criteria and say UCD is better because we have a bigger astro park and better training facilities. At the end of the day, this is a football league and these things are judged on the pitch. We're level on points with just under a third of the season gone and we'll see how things pan out over the whole season.

08/05/2006, 11:24 PM
would you not agree that this is because you have a huge poulation of lads to draw from as well as outside talent, who will play because you can aid their education and they might aswell take the opportunity as they are enrolled in the school!
No really. Any club can set up a link with a college. Some have. You're effectively making the point that we have a huge pool of players to choose from because we can sign players as well as play the ones we have. Sure that's the same as any other club.

and also have been blessed with some fantastic managers over the years, pete mahon another in a long line.
Actually, that's not true. We had Doc O'Neill and Theo Dunne from 1979 to 1999, when the Doc died. Obviously they did well. Martin Moran was manager from 1999 to 2001 and, despite getting us to Europe playing some superb football, has gotten mixed reviews (I think he did a good job). Then we had Doolin, who was crap. And now we have Pete. Four managers (excluding Dermot Keely's eight games) in 26 years is hardly a long line.

I can't have much admiration for what I term a team that isn't "REAL", such as yerselves and dub city. look at the other eircom league clubs, thay have a huge place in the community of their respective areas, as with most clubs worldwide.
What would you term a "real" team? There were 11 players out there on Saturday, which seems a good definition of a "real" team. They were good enough to beat your team - does that make you not "real"? Does a club have to have a large fanbase to be "real"? Do you think Kilkenny City, Monaghan United, Kildare County, Athlone Town or Cobh Ramblers have a huge place in the community? Do you think Longford Town, Waterford United or Shelbourne have a huge place in the community?

You'd be surprised how many people - especially kids - around the area would at least name UCD as their local side, even if they followed English football mainly. I hear it all the time.