View Full Version : UCD...aaaaah!

06/05/2006, 4:54 PM
this is a game we should be winning..and were losing!

C'mon lads!

06/05/2006, 4:55 PM
2-0 I know, **** sake lads, buck up!

We are ****e away from home:mad:.

06/05/2006, 5:13 PM
Half time now. Radio said Turner is the best in midfield and McNamara is playing well in defence. Judge came off injured in the 38th min, McT replaced him. McT is up front with Mansaram and commentator said they have yet to click.

06/05/2006, 5:29 PM
McNamara taken off injured at half time. McKenzie on in his place. If Keith O'Dwyer's comments are anything to go by, we're playing ****e:mad:.

06/05/2006, 5:47 PM
3-0 now and Flash sent off for 2nd yellow. Well done U.C.D.

Rovers need to waken the **** up, yer ****e away from home! Fix it.

hamish
06/05/2006, 5:55 PM
Hard luck Sligoman. Dead serious, I'm not smirking at or slagging you but that scoreline really is a surprise amigo.
Then again, UCD were never, ever pushovers but 3-0 FFS?.:eek:
Were/are Rovers understrength for the game?

06/05/2006, 5:58 PM
Were/are Rovers understrength for the game?Nope, not that I know of. Our best defender and a striker were injured and both came off before half time(but we were 2-0 down at that stage). Then we were down to 10 men with 30 mins left.

Losing to UCD 3-0 is a ****ing disgrace, I can't wait to hear what fans at the match have to say about the game and if it was as bad as been made out on radio:(.

06/05/2006, 6:13 PM
3-0 final score. Conceded another goal from set pieces:o, we have to work on them!:(.

06/05/2006, 6:40 PM
You were terrible. A woeful performance. We were all over you and looked very comfortable in spite of not playing particularly amazing. Even when we beat Bray 4-1 they put in a good shift and had chances. You had one good chance at the end after we were 3-0 up. We ourselves had ample opportunity to score a 4th if not a 5th. The 3rd goal was a set piece wide left rolled to the edge of the box which McWalter blasted into the top corner.

06/05/2006, 6:43 PM
You were terrible. A woeful performance. We were all over you and looked very comfortable in spite of not playing particularly amazing. Even when we beat Bray 4-1 they put in a good shift and had chances. You had one good chance at the end after we were 3-0 up. We ourselves had ample opportunity to score a 4th if not a 5th. The 3rd goal was a set piece wide left rolled to the edge of the box which McWalter blasted into the top corner.Thanks for the compliments:o.

My excuse is, we're not good travellers:p. Was their many Rovers fans there?

hamish
06/05/2006, 6:43 PM
You were terrible. A woeful performance. We were all over you and looked very comfortable in spite of not playing particularly amazing. Even when we beat Bray 4-1 they put in a good shift and had chances. You had one good chance at the end after we were 3-0 up. We ourselves had ample opportunity to score a 4th if not a 5th. The 3rd goal was a set piece wide left rolled to the edge of the box which McWalter blasted into the top corner.

As I said to Sligoman, above, Poor Student - UCD were always a hard side to beat - regardless what position/division they're in. When I was with Athlone, a visit to Belfield wa always marked as a "toughie".

I'd hate, though,to see Rovers in trouble either. Have a soft spot for them, despite Sligoman's constant cruelty to me.:p :D

06/05/2006, 6:45 PM
When I was with Athlone, a visit to Belfield wa always marked as a "toughie".That's because ye were Athlone, we're Sligo Rovers though so it's different:p.

06/05/2006, 6:47 PM
Thanks for the compliments.

My excuse is, we're not good travellers:p. Was their many Rovers fans there?

Just telling it like it is.:o Honestly what struck me most was your poorness rather than our greatness. Schumi counted 500 at the game in total. I'd say you had 100 at least. Probably more but I can't tell down the other end of the stand. You weren't very vocal for obvious reasons. Kenna our left back kept getting booed as he was the lad fouled for the red card. Didn't see any reason why he was booed myself. Bad tackle, second booking. Still, with Longford, Bray and Waterford, I wouldn't be getting too worried about this season.;)

06/05/2006, 7:50 PM
i am!

06/05/2006, 11:57 PM
Was their many Rovers fans there?
Meh. One of our officials was asking about Sligo's away following, and he was told it was generally very (relatively) poor this season. Poor Student's guesstimate wouldn't be far out. Those who were there were booing Conor Kenna (no 3) for some reason - he was fouled for the sending off (and Brian Shortall was fouled several other times) - utterly stupid to be booing him 'cos Sligo deserved a couple of bookings and it was unlucky one lad picked up two.

07/05/2006, 12:05 AM
An unacceptable, unforgiveable performance from a professional squad with a professional coach. For the third game in a row we conceded a goal from a set piece (well actulaay two goals) and teams playing us must feel each corner is as good as a penalty kick. An embarassing performance and with the exception of Keith Foy and Liam Burns, we looked fit for mid-table in Division One. A coach who was inspired enough to bring on a substitute in added time against Pats and cost us two points couldn't see that it was only the generosity of the ref that left Manseran on the pitch in the first half and that any kind of a tackle would result in another yellow. Inevitably, we played the last 30 with ten men. It seems to me that, until we can get a proper midfield, we should play 3-1-4-2 to offer some protection to the midfield and encourage O'Grady and Curran to bomb forward with the confidence that someone is protecting the back three. At the moment, the only decent ball forward is being provided by Keith Foy. In the light of the home performances, one can only hope that this performance was an aberration but the watching Pauk Doolin must have left wondering how he is going to get his lads up for what must appear a simple trip to The Farmers Field.
Support was probably 3/1 for Rovers in a sparse attendance.

07/05/2006, 12:07 AM
Support was probably 3/1 for Rovers
No it wasn't. UCD usually have about 400 home fans, and there's no reason why that wasn't the case today. 400 UCD, fans, 100 Sligo fans. A Sligo official - as noted earlier - said Sligo's away support was poor this season. Poor does not equate to 400, unfortunately. It's a common misconception at Belfield that everyone's supporting the away team if they're not wearing a jersy, but that alas doesn't make it true...

07/05/2006, 12:16 AM
There wasn't 400 fans ther in all !!!!!!!!!

07/05/2006, 12:23 AM
There were 500, give or take a few.

07/05/2006, 12:32 AM
Schumi counted a hair under 500, so 500's about right. 400 is definately off - I would know from the look of the ground. There were no more than 150 Sligo fans, and probably not even that.

1 9 2 8
07/05/2006, 3:28 AM
. Over all that was the worst display since DOR. No pride or passion what ever happened too "as long as I'm here all players will give 100%" BTW UCDD's no. 3 is a cheat.

pineapple stu get off your high horse 100 away fans is still a 100 more then you will bring to the Showgrounds. Enjoy the LSL next year.

07/05/2006, 11:19 AM
ok so its a really poor performence but its not a disgrace....ucd are a good side and have a years more experience in the premier division....its a very disappointing result and performence alright but lets put things in perspective......before we used to lose to them in the 1st division....:}

we arent going to stroll along all season in this league picking up points every week...we will get hammered occassionaly[doesnt everyone] and i know you dont expect it to happen vrs ucd but lessons will be learned...eventually we will stop conceding from free kicks:rolleyes:

07/05/2006, 11:35 AM
When I was with Athlone, a visit to Belfield was always marked as a "toughie".

That's because ye were Athlone, we're Sligo Rovers though so it's different:p.
Sligo Rovers: previous 6 years in the First Division
UCD: past 11 years in Premier, bar 1
Also, you havn't beaten us in 25 years or something in the league. What made you think you were favourites? Also, Sligoman we've beaten Bray 4-1 and yous 3-0 at home, drawn with Cork and outplayed Shels in Belfield. Easy place to come to- don't make me laugh.

07/05/2006, 11:43 AM
pineapple stu get off your high horse 100 away fans is still a 100 more then you will bring to the Showgrounds. Enjoy the LSL next year.

Thank god this crowd will not be in the Top league next year we never seem to beat them.
I think the two above posts displays the ignorance that is shown by most Eircom League fans towards UCD. One of the only things used in discussions between UCD fans and other teams fans is that we have f*ck all support- very sad if you don't mind me saying so. And everyone seems to assume that becasue we are a small club with limited fans means that we can't play football. UCD are a well established Premier Divison side and have had more good seasons than bad in the top flight. I can't see any reason why people think UCD will be relegated this season other than an opinion based on prejudice against a small club.

07/05/2006, 11:53 AM
everyone thinks dc and ucd will go down because they will be sent down

07/05/2006, 11:55 AM
everyone thinks dc and ucd will go down because they will be sent down
If you read my last sentence you will get my point.

07/05/2006, 12:12 PM
Cant see UCD being sent down really.

07/05/2006, 12:31 PM
It's important to remember tha league standings are pivital to qualify for the elite league.UCD would be easy to relegate if they finished in the bottom 3 but if they're mid table it will be harder to send them down.
The common misconception that GUFC are "certs" for next years elite league is rubbish.:rolleyes:
If we keep playing the way we are we wont be in it next year at all.However top 2 should see us into the league.Sligo will definitely qualify next year provising yee don't finish in the bottom 2....which yee won't.

07/05/2006, 12:45 PM
BTW UCDD's no. 3 is a cheat.
No he's not. A lot of Sligo fans are just ignorant and bad losers, as this thread shows. Sligo were happy to kick our players at any stage possible, as witnessed by the fact that our physio was on the pitch at least three or four times during the game.

100 away fans is still a 100 more then you will bring to the Showgrounds. Enjoy the LSL next year.
Nobody said otherwise. It was a good (if quiet) travelling crowd, and fair dues to youz. There's no need to exaggerate though. What we said was that Sligo fans were clearly talking rubbish about (a) the crowd and (b) the number of Sligo fans there. One of your own officials said your away support was very poor this season. Though I suppose you know different...

UCD won't be relegated this season because there's a fairly solid legal challenge if the FAI try anything and there's two people associated with the club who run their own solicitor firms. And yez may drop the idiotically condescending attitude towards us when Sligo have spent 11 of the last 12 seasons in the Premier.

07/05/2006, 1:01 PM
Agree with stu there with a lot of what he is saying i dont see how we think that we "should" be beating UCD . they are a lot more experienced than us

07/05/2006, 1:56 PM
There was was an awful of lot of Rovers fan there with no colours including myself, there was no way 502 at that game 400 - 450 Max.

So, you, who visits Belfield once in a blue moon, reckon you can count the crowd better than Scumi who does it every home game quite meticulously? We know the capacity of our stand and we know how to gauge the people standing around the fences. In the odd dull game where there's been a particularly boring period I've counted the people standing around the pitch from my seat and there can be 3 or 4 times more than I'd have guess, and that's being without being able to see the corners on both sides of the stand. The ratio of Sligo fans to others was 1:1 at best unless you are claiming you brought close to 300 fans.

07/05/2006, 2:10 PM
Fight Fight Fight :D

07/05/2006, 3:05 PM
Yes i can count too ! :cool:

So you contend Schumi's headcount on the basis of your own personal headcount?

07/05/2006, 3:36 PM
Where the F**K have i said UCD could never play football ? Idiot !!It was a general statement aimed at most Eircom League fans, which I said in the first sentence.
By the way you will be relegated there was no more than 450 at the match and i would say near to 200 Rovers fans, we dont need that in the top flight of our national league !
So you're one of the many idiots around the country who thinks that how good a team is has got nothing to do with playing in the top division of a national league. Sour grapes that you lost 3-0 to a team with less resources than yourselves?

07/05/2006, 3:37 PM
Why are you asking that question when i have said already that there was 400-450 at the game ! like are you boys all dropouts or what ? :confused:
Because you havn't any proof that there was 400-450 at the game other than looking around the ground from your seat in the stands and estimating the attendence.

07/05/2006, 3:59 PM
Why are you asking that question when i have said already that there was 400-450 at the game ! like are you boys all dropouts or what ? :confused:

Just because you say something is so, does not make it so. I asked you, did you perform a detailed headcount like Schumi?

I had no colours on me yesterday so i was probably counted as a UCD Fan by you clowns :o

07/05/2006, 3:59 PM
So you're one of the many idiots around the country who thinks that how good a team is has got nothing to do with playing in the top division of a national league. ?

In fairness he could say that you're one of the minority of idiots around the country who think that the likes of UCD ,CHF etc should be in the top flight next year?:confused:
Im just saying...not taking sides.

07/05/2006, 4:02 PM
In fairness he could say that you're one of the minority of idiots around the country who think that the likes of UCD ,CHF etc should be in the top flight next year?:confused:
Im just saying...not taking sides.
Why shouldn't we be in the top flight next year? We've proven we are good enough and are a mid-table side at worst. F*ck all this marketability sh!te.

07/05/2006, 4:06 PM
Why shouldn't we be in the top flight next year? We've proven we are good enough and are a mid-table side at worst. F*ck all this marketability sh!te.

He isn't saying that. He is saying that anyone could call someone who disagrees with something they hold to be true or right as a "minority of idiots".

07/05/2006, 4:07 PM
I think it's important all factors be taken into consideration....if you read my prvious posts i did say league standings were vital.Marketability is just one factor.They're is many others as you know.Im not going to argue with you on it.Ive made my feelings known about the subject before and i don't feel like another onslaught of whining from UCD fans.:rolleyes:

07/05/2006, 4:10 PM
He isn't saying that. He is saying that anyone could call someone who disagrees with something they hold to be true or right as a "minority of idiots".
Thank you.
Lads if yee do well in the league ye have very strong chance of been in the elite league.
What is this legal case yere intending on bringing against the FAI.Is it in conjunction with CHF?:confused:

07/05/2006, 4:15 PM
My mistake then.

07/05/2006, 4:20 PM
Ive made my feelings known about the subject before and i don't sell like another onslaught of whining from UCD fans.:rolleyes:

You have to admit, for a club with allegedly no fans, we can bring quite a whinging onslaught when need be.;)

ConorH, I completely agree with what you're saying. Pete Mahon has been saying it to the lads all season, go out there and finish high and make it unjustifiable to relegate us. Conversely, Galway, a club allegedly favoured by the process, are doing themselves no favours with only 2 wins so far this season. That said, UCD could easily drop to the bottom three and we'd then see what the process is made of. To be honest, I met one eL chairman (who I believe is helping drive the Elite League) along with Pineapple Stu earlier this season and he told us that ideally in his personal preference league placing would be just one criteria totally equal to ground, fanbase etc. So if you lacked on all those, your league position would not save you. Who knows? We still have a vote to go. Also, this is totally off topic and only being discussed due to the petulant retort of a Sligo fan.

07/05/2006, 4:21 PM
I think it's important all factors be taken into consideration....if you read my prvious posts i did say league standings were vital.
I didn't mean it to across as you were the one I was giving out about.

07/05/2006, 6:47 PM
i'd say the guesstimate of 500 was probably right but there was 150+ rovers fans. fair play to ucd on their style of football, kept passing throughout, even shels were lumping balls into the corners last week. that was comfortably our worst performance since 2004. absolutely no1 could be happy with their contribution. no closing down, stupid mistakes&bad decisions throughout. even though mcwalter's two goals were crackers there might as well have been no defenders around cos he was allowed two free shots from 25 yards. we had our 1st shot on target in after bout 75mins. defending from set pieces was shockin, perhaps the players need to be more cynical and make sure they have a healthy chunk of their man's jersey. although most ppl might question the pride in the jersey yesterday i doubt any would question the commitment of players like foy, peers or hughes(who have been superb so far but these guys weren't their usual selves yesterday. i genuinely believe the schedule has the players juiced.

on the subject of conor kenna, it's not his fault mansaram got sent off it's the ref's. it was a free but it wasn't that bad from flash, it would warrant a 1st yellow but a ref with common sense wouldn't have sent him off&the ref didn't even see it nor did the b*tch on da line cos she didn't flag. perhaps conor should invest in some new shin guards if that tackle hurt him so much. kenna did deserve every bit of booing he got for his dive a few mins later, i was bout 2 metres away from it so don't dare try to defend him ucd fans. later on he made gestures towards our fans&started smirking&laughin at us as well. i havent sed a bad word about ucd bar this guy so i'd disappointed if ye treid to defend him

07/05/2006, 8:04 PM
About the Kenna incident/sending off; was it 2 yellows or straight red and if two yellows are Sligo fans angry about 1 or both?

07/05/2006, 8:05 PM
About the Kenna incident/sending off; was it 2 yellows or straight red and if two yellows are Sligo fans angry about 1 or both?It was two yellows...

07/05/2006, 8:16 PM
What is this legal case yere intending on bringing against the FAI.Is it in conjunction with CHF?:confused:
It's just general legal problems with the proposed structure. UEFA statutes basically say that they will not support any structure which aims to screw over smaller sides. A league structure which chooses sides based on factors such as attendances and marketability clearly falls within the remit of the structures UEFA are talking about. The FAI are members of UEFA so, you would imagine, must be guided by its statutes. Therefore any club which gets screwed over by the FAI should have recourse to complain to UEFA that the FAI were not acting in accordance with UEFA statutes. That's before we get to potential legal cases against the FAI from players, managers, etc. whose wages are cut from Premier Division wages to First Division wages on the basis of the FAI acting outside its remit.

Red4Eva - I've defended Kenna in this thread and will continue to do so. He's played 73 games for the club and no away fans have ever had a problem with him, and I've never seen any evidence of him diving. Sligo's challenges were quite physical throughout the match, as I noted earlier. I was surprised when the red card was issued, but I think Sligo fans' reactions is standard own-team bias (and I note that that can be levelled at me too...).

07/05/2006, 8:36 PM
No, it was clearly stated elsewhere that schumi counted.

MarkyH
07/05/2006, 9:10 PM
I would say there were in around 450 at the game. 500 at most. 150 rovers fans, 200 ucd fans and maybe 100 neutrals.

We were well off the pace and ucd thoroughly deseved their win. Losing to cork and derry is one thing but it is worrying if we are losing games so easily to mid table teams:(

No one I spoke to was surprised at all about mansaram being sent off. He really should have been taken off before he was sent off.

Sean Conor was extremely quiet considering how badly his team was playing. By contrast I wouldn't like to see what Pete Mahon if his team were losing 3-0, the look on some of the subsitutes faces as he roared at the ucd players in the last ten minutes was priceless (I was standing near the ucd dugout in the 2nd half);)