View Full Version : Dalym-OUT
05/05/2006, 1:27 PM
According to Fintan Cassidy on the Shels web Dean Delaney was in Tolka last night after the game.
And your goalkeeper being in your stadium after a game has what to do with Bohs selling Dalymount?:confused:
higgins
05/05/2006, 1:31 PM
According to Fintan Cassidy on the Shels web Dean Delaney was in Tolka last night after the game.
Thats Classic!!!
I can also confirm Jason Byrne was spotted around the dressing room areas about 7:50 ...
Dricky
05/05/2006, 1:36 PM
I live on the 37 & 39 route (much closer to city centre) & never get the 37 as takes wide scenic route through Blackhourse avenue. The is no comparison with the 37 & 39 & Castleknock Village is major traffic bkackspot with no room for bus lanes.
Agreed, The 37 is on of those routes that p!ss you off on a regular basis.
With more regular trains and the Dart going out the Maynooth way couldn't Bohs arrange shuttle buses from the station, it's not like they won't have the money.
05/05/2006, 1:52 PM
Ah bollicks :p
John was also there :D
Feck that anyway :o
05/05/2006, 2:01 PM
What bus or train goes out that way? What's the best way to get there from, say, town?
The maynooth train from Connolly to the new Ashtown station will be within walking distance
the 37 bus from hawkins st. will go past the main entrance and I'm sure there will be feeder services to the new housing complexes which are sprouting up all around there. in the opposite direstion the 38 and 39 will also leave you within walking/feeder bus distance. as it stands I've to get a 39 to hanlons corner and walk up to phibsboro so this is deffo good news 4 me. say we are blanch bohs say we are blanch bohs
el punter
05/05/2006, 2:16 PM
Its a good deal but you do get that sickening feeling when you think about it.
Dalymount RIP :(
Have to agree....I know its great for the game and all that, but jesus it's very sad to think about Dalymount being an apartment block or whatever.
Ronnie
05/05/2006, 2:23 PM
Buses eh? Far from buses we were reared, we walked, barefoot through the countryside to watch Jackie Jameson in his pomp, bloody 21st century wimps can't handle a bit of hardship. Get out your high nellie, with one on the bar and one on the back and away with ya!
05/05/2006, 2:50 PM
I voted against, but I'm not going to knock the proposal now that it's democratically decided.
However, there's a lot of work to be done on transport and access, leaving aside planning and zoning, if this stadium is to work.
A 39 inwards to Hanlon's Corner is a different proposition entirely to a 39 outwards at 6.45 on a Friday night.
Someone who has some say in this (and there were plenty of experts at the meeting last night) needs to stand for a while during a weekday anywhere by the single lane between the Cabra Garda Station and the Ashtown roundabout. From here begins what is surely one of the most congested roads network on the island.
At present, as mentioned on the Bohs board, the most realistic transport solution is a fast-loading human catapult from Liffey Valley.
observer
05/05/2006, 2:53 PM
While I am really sad that Dalymount will be gone for nostalgic reasons, no club could turn down such a deal.
Cannot help comparing this to the sale of Milltown which lined the pockets of a few and spelled disaster for Rovers.
This deal secures Boh's future and guarantees success (will now be the Chelsea of L of I ). Supporters rule OK.
05/05/2006, 3:01 PM
It guarentees nothng...
Its already Guaranted us €2m that will clear our debts and keep us in good shape for quite a while regardless of whether or not we get the stadium which IMO its practically gauranteed we will. so I think your jumping to the wrong conclusion
Seagull
05/05/2006, 3:09 PM
Sorry to see Dalymount go but good luck to Bohs in what they're doing. Could yous ship the Jodi stand out to Bray since yous are finished with it??
Will be strange to travel through Phibsboro and not have the big floodlights there :(
Hopefully location-wise it's good for Bohs fans so that they can still get there and maybe attract a few more people from the new area.
Best of luck.
el punter
05/05/2006, 3:27 PM
Sorry to see Dalymount go but good luck to Bohs in what they're doing. Could yous ship the Jodi stand out to Bray since yous are finished with it??
I imagine parts of the ground could certainly be recycled...a lot of seats there which could be installed in a different ground?
And of course, the pitch....it has to be auctioned in square yards so we can all have a bit of Dalymount growing in our back gardens! YES I AM SERIOUS
05/05/2006, 3:33 PM
.it has to be auctioned in square yards so we can all have a bit of Dalymount growing in our back gardens! YES I AM SERIOUS
I'm With you on that buddy
Gonna take a chisel down there for the last game a get a bit of the shed end terracing it will go well with the lump of the KOP Ive got
monutdfc
05/05/2006, 3:46 PM
My cousin who is a Chelsea season ticket holder has seats from the old stand at Stamford Bridge on his patio. The club sold them off to fans.
They're the old-fashioned cast-iron ones with wooden seat and seat back.
monutdfc
05/05/2006, 3:46 PM
And of course, the pitch....it has to be auctioned in square yards so we can all have a bit of Dalymount growing in our back gardens! YES I AM SERIOUS
The penalty spot should be presented to Barry :D :D :D
el punter
05/05/2006, 3:55 PM
Gonna take a chisel down there for the last game
If you get in the ground with a chisel I'm going to have to start believing what the Rovers fans post up here about Bohs security arrangements :)
05/05/2006, 4:09 PM
So long as we're not the last team to play in Dalyer, it's fine by me!
Though the thought of a thousand Bohs fans in the ground armed with chisels is alomst as disturbing as it is hilarious!
I imagine parts of the ground could certainly be recycled...a lot of seats there which could be installed in a different ground?
I think if building a 10m+ stadium could at least use new seats. :eek:
el punter
05/05/2006, 4:40 PM
I think if building a 10m+ stadium could at least use new seats. :eek:
Not in the new stadium ya stocking...to pass on to some other club that could do with picking up some seating on the cheap. Or to take inspiration from Chelsea and use as patio furniture
and I think it's very doubtful that the new stadium will hold 10 million
(sorry one from the Totti joke book)
LFC in Exile
05/05/2006, 5:18 PM
Whats all this nonsense about the time it takes to get to th enew ground from the city centre? Who travels to matches from the city centre? Very few peoplelive in the city centre - the important thing is car access and parking etc. A greenfield site provides scope for parking facilities. Giving up a 10k stadium and €26m because some lad wants to be on a bus route don't make sense.....:)
05/05/2006, 6:12 PM
good deal overall but crap location !!
05/05/2006, 6:21 PM
Very few peoplelive in the city centre - the important thing is car access and parking etc.
The city centre is a way point. For many of us, travelling across Dublin involves a changeover in the city centre. For away Dublin fans, this concerns us and that will concern Bohs because they'll be expecting their best crowds to come from facing the other big Dublin clubs.
05/05/2006, 6:41 PM
The penalty spot should be presented to Barry :D :D :D
I know your messing but that would be a fab gesture
05/05/2006, 6:43 PM
If you get in the ground with a chisel I'm going to have to start believing what the Rovers fans post up here about Bohs security arrangements :)
Got into Anfield with a kango hammer security smegurity :D :D
05/05/2006, 11:47 PM
The city centre is a way point. For many of us, travelling across Dublin involves a changeover in the city centre. For away Dublin fans, this concerns us and that will concern Bohs because they'll be expecting their best crowds to come from facing the other big Dublin clubs.
Exactly. I travel from Foxrock for every game, which involves a 46A into town and then a 78A (to Richmond), a walk (to Dalyer) or a whatever bus or a walk out to Tolka. By the time I get into town, it's about 6:30, so there's a big difference between a ten minute walk once I get off my bus and a trip to Connolly, waiting half an hour on a train, spending 15 minutes on it and then walking 15 minutes to some random ex-field.
sonofstan
06/05/2006, 12:09 AM
and then walking 15 minutes to some random ex-field. if you're going to go to all that trouble, I'd head for the right ex- field; with your random method, it could be years before you see a Bohs/ UCD match again
el punter
06/05/2006, 12:10 AM
Exactly. I travel from Foxrock for every game, which involves a 46A into town and then a 78A (to Richmond), a walk (to Dalyer) or a whatever bus or a walk out to Tolka. By the time I get into town, it's about 6:30, so there's a big difference between a ten minute walk once I get off my bus and a trip to Connolly, waiting half an hour on a train, spending 15 minutes on it and then walking 15 minutes to some random ex-field.
If you can afford to live in Foxrock you should be getting a taxi out to Castleknock for each game :p
06/05/2006, 12:11 AM
Worst that's going to happen is I'll get to share some locals' tins!
el - I work in Foxrock. Big difference!
Roverstillidie
06/05/2006, 2:07 AM
first up, fair play to bohs, seems on the face of it a great deal, people getting hot and bothered about public transport 4+ years before its built? get real. unfortunatly its a reward for the failure of BFC to do anything with the dump other than build the members a stand while us away fans stood in the cold without even a working jacks for comfort, but life rewards the filth really.
but can any poxer who was at the meeting confirm or deny that the official line form the board is the 27m will be invested in property etc
to defend the clubs long term interests and despite some wet dreams will not be spent on the football side?
06/05/2006, 9:14 AM
Whats all this nonsense about the time it takes to get to th enew ground from the city centre? Who travels to matches from the city centre? Very few peoplelive in the city centre - the important thing is car access and parking etc. A greenfield site provides scope for parking facilities. Giving up a 10k stadium and €26m because some lad wants to be on a bus route don't make sense.....:)
When do Bohs Play? Answer Fridays
Where are most humans on Fridays? At Work
Where do many Dubliners work? The City Centre
Pretty obvious point I would have thought!
floatinghoop
06/05/2006, 9:46 AM
first up, fair play to bohs, seems on the face of it a great deal, people getting hot and bothered about public transport 4+ years before its built? get real. unfortunatly its a reward for the failure of BFC to do anything with the dump other than build the members a stand while us away fans stood in the cold without even a working jacks for comfort, but life rewards the filth really.
but can any poxer who was at the meeting confirm or deny that the official line form the board is the 27m will be invested in property etc
to defend the clubs long term interests and despite some wet dreams will not be spent on the football side?
This seems to be a key issue. 27m could generate a reasonable amount of income to help them on a day to day basis into the future, gambling it on instant success in the hopes of winning a Champions League jackpot or some such thing would seem pretty foolish to me. But the people responsible for cutting this deal seem like sensible people so I reckon Bohs fans can rest easy on that score.
Would property be the right thing to invest in? My bet is that this bubble market may go pop soon, in which case this deal will come to be seen as even better than people are making out now.
Hope this works out, the LoI needs a strong BFC
CharlesThompson
06/05/2006, 10:15 AM
RTID - the only mention of how to spend money at the meeting was reserved for the €2m which will be used to clear our debt. The major worry for the membership regarding the further €1m annual payments - which are refundable should the project not proceed - was that this money would be used to spend on anything(!). In fact the board are not going to touch the €1m refundable deposits and instead bank them and see what kind of interest they can generate which can be spent.
CTID - While I agree that access is of concern to everybody, I think that the pro's for this outweigh the cons considerably. Not only this but being still in the heartland of the Bohs support, moving out this direction will open up the possibility of incorporating areas such as Lucan, Leixlip, Celbridge, Maynooth into our catchment area as well as moving the club closer to those already living in Dunboyne, Clonee, Ratoath etc.
Not forgetting that a lot of people go home before the matches a considerable number of supporters will be travelling in the opposite direction to the traffic coming from the City Centre.
Dr.Nightdub
06/05/2006, 10:36 AM
CT, access from areas like Lucan, Leixlip, Celbridge and Maynooth would have to be either via the toll bridge then around by Blanch or through Lucan village and around by the back road to Clonsilla. Either option is a traffic nightmare at Friday teatime.
Realistically, your main catchment area is gonna be around Blanch and surrounding areas and then you're talking about the slowest bus routes on the planet. WAR won't thank me for reminding him of it, and personally I still shudder at the memory, but the one time we got a 39 it took an hour and a half to get into town - on a Saturday morning!
Dr.Nightdub
06/05/2006, 10:47 AM
From this morning's Indo:
Dublin's soccer landscape to change in ground merry-go-round
Saturday May 6th 2006
BOHEMIANS' move to Castleknock has set the ball rolling on a process that will see the landscape of soccer in the capital change hugely over the coming years and the issue of where they will play their football in the future is one that is playing on all six clubs presently.
The FAI will meet with the board of Bohemians over the coming ten days to discuss the future, but the move obviously puts pay to any possible redevelopment of Dalymount Park.
The government have made no secret that they wish to only develop two stadia in Dublin with Tallaght being one of them and the fact that Bohemians will now not need any funding from the Department of Sport could be good news for St Patrick's Athletic.
The Bohemians meeting on Thursday was not the only one in the capital, as in Inchicore, the supporters group 'Pat's for Richmond' met to discuss the future of Richmond Park.
They have voiced concern about moving away from the venue and with 1,400 names put to a recent petition they have a growing support. They will now begin lobbying local politicians and are due to meet with the FAI in the coming weeks also to discuss what options are available to them.
The St Pat's board have already explored the possibility of expanded Richmond Park, with the cost of such a project to be in the region of €7.3million, increasing the capacity to 5,700. Government funding though is far from guaranteed and with that kind of money not available to the club at present, some complicated negotiations are set for the coming months.
The one stadium that the government has committed to is Tallaght, but presently work remains stalled, pending a date in the High Court. That is fixed for Monday, where local GAA club, Thomas Davis, will be seeking a judicial review into the stadium remaining a soccer-only venue.
That leaves Shamrock Rovers still sharing Tolka Park with Shelbourne and after Thursday's events they could be partners for the foreseeable future, but not necessarily in Drumcondra. Shelbourne's insistence that they will not share with Bohemians in Castleknock, would appear to leave them with little alternative but to relocate to Tallaght.
One thing that is for sure is that UCD will be moving across their campus to the Belfield Bowl within the next year, but with Dublin City looking for a groundshare partner also, there promises to be plenty of negotiations in the coming months.
© Copyright Unison.ie
Incidentally, the figure of €7.3m quoted for upgrading Richmond is wrong - our Board said the cost would be €4.3m for all four sides to be all-seated and covered, with a capacity of 5700, plus an extra €1.5m to incorporate corporate facilities, bar, shops, etc. We've asked them to show us this estimate.
hoopy
06/05/2006, 11:26 AM
Shams fans must be green with Envy because of this deal ?
I wouldn't say envious. Bohs rightly had to go for this deal even with a few nagging doubts(planning permission, access to the ground etc).However once we get into Tallaght I would be surprised if anyone but Cork got bigger gates than us so things would take care of themselves.
Incidentally, the figure of €7.3m quoted for upgrading Richmond is wrong - our Board said the cost would be €4.3m for all four sides to be all-seated and covered, with a capacity of 5700, plus an extra €1.5m to incorporate corporate facilities, bar, shops, etc. We've asked them to show us this estimate.
The only problem i would say is that the longer yout the costs will continue to rise. Also its unlikely those estimates were 100% accurate so could change when the finer details are discussed if ye got the green light.
Could shels share Dalymount in the next few years while Bohs wait for the their stadium to be build?
Wouldn't be a bad investment for Bohs to buy land surrounding their stadium for future gain. Having discussions with members on how to spend 20-30m is unheard of in irish sport.
06/05/2006, 11:40 AM
CT, access from areas like Lucan, Leixlip, Celbridge and Maynooth would have to be either via the toll bridge then around by Blanch or through Lucan village and around by the back road to Clonsilla. Either option is a traffic nightmare at Friday teatime.
Realistically, your main catchment area is gonna be around Blanch and surrounding areas and then you're talking about the slowest bus routes on the planet. WAR won't thank me for reminding him of it, and personally I still shudder at the memory, but the one time we got a 39 it took an hour and a half to get into town - on a Saturday morning!
An hour and half:eek: try it on a monday morning at about 7:30 wont get near town till about 10am thank god i got my car taxed and insured this week ..bye bye 39 bus
06/05/2006, 11:41 AM
Would imagine Shels would like something more longterm than 3 years.
06/05/2006, 12:04 PM
upgrade to what kind of standard ?
Roverstillidie
06/05/2006, 12:44 PM
Tallaght seems to have gove very Quiet Hoopy whats the score with the Ground ? Those GAA Clubs dont look like they are going to give up without a fight !
they are in the high court on monday, so with a bit of luck, the judge will tell them to sling their hooks.
aido_b
06/05/2006, 12:54 PM
I live on the 37 & 39 route (much closer to city centre) & never get the 37 as takes wide scenic route through Blackhourse avenue. The is no comparison with the 37 & 39 & Castleknock Village is major traffic bkackspot with no room for bus lanes.
Now dont be complaining about that! Because of that scenic route i get dropped off outside my house!
LFC in Exile
06/05/2006, 3:11 PM
Where do many Dubliners work? The City Centre
Pretty obvious point I would have thought!
Where do Bohs fans work? They don't
Pretty obvious point I would have thought! :)
Couldn't resist. Are you telling me that most fans in Dublin travel to matches using public transport or on shank's mare? :confused: Maybe - but I think potential and current fans would rather travel to Carpenterstown with excellent facilities than remain in a crumbling Dalymount. I just don't think we'll agree on the traffic, travel arrangemnts of most fans. :cool:
CharlesThompson
07/05/2006, 12:46 PM
It is when you are coming out of town, but when you are going against the traffic it's not bad at all. I travel in from Leixlip on Friday nights to Dalyer and if I drive it takes me only 25 minutes by the time I'm parked. Anyone from Lucan can start out the Strawberry beds road and take the turn which brings you up past the right hand side of Castleknock G.C. - no traffic. From Leixlip, Celbridge, Maynooth take the Captains Hill in Leixlip, to Westmanstown, past Luttrelstown G.C and you're there in 15 - 20 minutes - again no traffic.
I agree, Blanchardstown and the rest of D15 is going to be our main area for support, but the move - if it happens just opens up all those other areas for potential support.
In relation to bus routes and travel. Currently - most home games - I get the train to Drumcondra - it takes me 15 - 20 minutes to walk from their to Hedigans for my pre match pint and another 5 minutes to walk to Dalyer from there. It will be easier to sell it to potential supporters from the aforementioned areas (leixlip, Maynooth) who already on the train line as the walking distance from Clonsilla to the new site is still only 20 minutes.
As for the buses, the area in question is one of the fastet growing suburbs in the country and I would suggest that by the time the stadium is built (5-6 years taking planning into consideration) that the area will be better served by Dublin Bus. Also speaking with members of the Board it seems that buses will be laid on by the club to get supporters from our traditional areas to the matches on Friday nights. We will have a number of coach parking spaces at the new stadium.
08/05/2006, 12:14 PM
The maynooth train from Connolly to the new Ashtown station will be within walking distance
the 37 bus from hawkins st. will go past the main entrance and I'm sure there will be feeder services to the new housing complexes which are sprouting up all around there. in the opposite direstion the 38 and 39 will also leave you within walking/feeder bus distance. as it stands I've to get a 39 to hanlons corner and walk up to phibsboro so this is deffo good news 4 me. say we are blanch bohs say we are blanch bohs
Ever walked from ashtown to castleknock village? That is some walk. The 37 goes nowhere near the proposed location. Hate to break this to you but the 38 goes straight to dalymount. You could have saved yourself a walk!
I used to live about half a mile from the toll plaza and I will be astounded if a ball is ever kicked there.
On a practical level the nearest bus stop to it is about a 15 minute walk away. No chance of an access road being built from the motorway so anyone driving will have to exit at the blanch roundabout and then negotiate traffic through castleknock village. Also the M50 is due to widen from a two lane to a three lane motorway which will impact on any plans for a stadium.
Seems boez have seen the euro signs and gone for it. At the very least they have ?2m which should clear their debts and keep them afloat for two seasons. Maybe this is the real reason?!!
In effect though they are being rewarded for their consistent failure to do anything with Dalymount. Take away the main stand and the ground is a disgrace. Says it all about boez. Too many unanswered questions though. What about the Albion Properties deal with the famous tramway end which has been closed for "health and safety" reasons for a decade now? What about the recent deal they signed with the Mater hospital? Have the local residents been consulted?
Had to laugh at the sun at the weekend saying they are going to be the chelsea of this league. Isnt the 27m they are getting spread out over 25 years?
I make no apologies I love Dalymount and it will be a very sad day for Irish football if this goes through. But hopefully it wont.........
http://www.joanburton.ie/?postid=375
08/05/2006, 1:48 PM
Had to laugh at the sun at the weekend saying they are going to be the chelsea of this league. Isnt the 27m they are getting spread out over 25 years?
No, it's not.
08/05/2006, 3:43 PM
Hate to break this to you but the 38 goes straight to dalymount. You could have saved yourself a walk!
You dont Say. Except for the fact that I live in Hartstown and its about a 3 mile walk to the nearest 38 bus stop :rolleyes:
08/05/2006, 4:26 PM
You dont Say. Except for the fact that I live in Hartstown and its about a 3 mile walk to the nearest 38 bus stop :rolleyes:
Hate that.
08/05/2006, 7:39 PM
So, is there any point building the proposed stand for the Shopping Centre end. Doubt it if that will be built now. Have the board mentioned anything about this? :confused: