View Full Version : Dalym-OUT

Pages : 1 2 [3]

bohs til i die
09/05/2006, 9:15 AM
So, is there any point building the proposed stand for the Shopping Centre end. Doubt it if that will be built now. Have the board mentioned anything about this? :confused:

the board sold the option on that back to the developer for a tidy lump sum 6 months ago. Came in handy when the revenue came knocking. We didnt get hit with a winding up order as a result.

09/05/2006, 12:05 PM
Oh right, I didn't hear about that, cheers :)

ConorE
10/05/2006, 12:33 PM
Ever walked from ashtown to castleknock village? That is some walk. The 37 goes nowhere near the proposed location. Hate to break this to you but the 38 goes straight to dalymount. You could have saved yourself a walk!

I used to live about half a mile from the toll plaza and I will be astounded if a ball is ever kicked there.

On a practical level the nearest bus stop to it is about a 15 minute walk away. No chance of an access road being built from the motorway so anyone driving will have to exit at the blanch roundabout and then negotiate traffic through castleknock village. Also the M50 is due to widen from a two lane to a three lane motorway which will impact on any plans for a stadium.

Seems boez have seen the euro signs and gone for it. At the very least they have ?2m which should clear their debts and keep them afloat for two seasons. Maybe this is the real reason?!!

In effect though they are being rewarded for their consistent failure to do anything with Dalymount. Take away the main stand and the ground is a disgrace. Says it all about boez. Too many unanswered questions though. What about the Albion Properties deal with the famous tramway end which has been closed for "health and safety" reasons for a decade now? What about the recent deal they signed with the Mater hospital? Have the local residents been consulted?

Had to laugh at the sun at the weekend saying they are going to be the chelsea of this league. Isnt the 27m they are getting spread out over 25 years?

I make no apologies I love Dalymount and it will be a very sad day for Irish football if this goes through. But hopefully it wont.........

http://www.joanburton.ie/?postid=375

To respond to your many inaccurate assumptions:

- There are about five lanes spanning the M50 beside the land we own.

- We will receive €26m the day we are handed the keys for our new 10k seater stadium. Anyone who doesn't realise that this will result in dominance is living on another planet.

- Our consistent failure to do anything with Dalmount includes the building of the best stand in the league in very recent times. You should know about the difficulties and expense of building stadiums. In case you have forgotten you have a half built blot on the landscape sitting out in Tallaght for years.

10/05/2006, 1:03 PM
To respond to your many inaccurate assumptions:

- There are about five lanes spanning the M50 beside the land we own.

- We will receive €26m the day we are handed the keys for our new 10k seater stadium. Anyone who doesn't realise that this will result in dominance is living on another planet.

- Our consistent failure to do anything with Dalmount includes the building of the best stand in the league in very recent times. You should know about the difficulties and expense of building stadiums. In case you have forgotten you have a half built blot on the landscape sitting out in Tallaght for years.

Inaccurate assumptions?? Since when do boez own land there? Accept your second point though I'll believe when I see it.

That stand was finally constructed in 1999 after decades of having a **** stand. What about the rest of the ground?

Try actually reading my post kid and he calls me silly???????

ConorE
11/05/2006, 6:24 AM
Inaccurate assumptions?? Since when do boez own land there? Accept your second point though I'll believe when I see it.

That stand was finally constructed in 1999 after decades of having a **** stand. What about the rest of the ground?

Try actually reading my post kid and he calls me silly???????

Own land?? Where did you get that from. I was responding to your notion that the expansion of the M50 would impact on our stadium building project. There is enough room as it stands to build three lanes due to the extra lanes in place for existing booths.

As I said, the rest of the ground proved difficult to develop while keeping a team competitive in the Premier over the past 5 years. Again, you should know about staduim development costs.

I did read your post ans as stated above, it's silly and inaccurate.

11/05/2006, 9:35 AM
Own land?? Where did you get that from. I was responding to your notion that the expansion of the M50 would impact on our stadium building project. There is enough room as it stands to build three lanes due to the extra lanes in place for existing booths.

As I said, the rest of the ground proved difficult to develop while keeping a team competitive in the Premier over the past 5 years. Again, you should know about staduim development costs.

I did read your post ans as stated above, it's silly and inaccurate.

Your quote" There are about five lanes spanning the M50 beside the land we own."

Over the last 5 years? What about the decades before that? There's enough inaccurracies in your own post to make your contributions "silly".

Take away the €27m in my post and the hard questions there are avoided so you can nit pick.

ConorE
11/05/2006, 11:20 AM
Your quote" There are about five lanes spanning the M50 beside the land we own."

Over the last 5 years? What about the decades before that? There's enough inaccurracies in your own post to make your contributions "silly".

Take away the €27m in my post and the hard questions there are avoided so you can nit pick.

Fair enough we don't own the land as of yet, however the builder we are doing business does own the land and the signed deal will pave the way for that land to be used for our stadium. Again, your not really in a position to mock about land ownership etc..

There are no inaccuracies in my post and no 'hard questions' in your post.

Notion of 3 lanes causing problems for our stadium - Inaccurate

Notion of us receiving 1m a year - Innacurate

Notion that we have been rewarded for consistent failure etc... - Inaccurate, we have been rewarded for the existence of the membership structure. A similar model that you have used 116 years later to save your club from death.

I actually hope Rovers get into Tallaght and believe that most Rovers fans have said fair play regarding our deal. Don't comfort yourself by thinking that this is luck, the people who found and set up our club allowed this to happen. We are now going to reap the benefit. Our respective positions are down to the individuals involved with our clubs all thoughout our histories.

Roverstillidie
11/05/2006, 12:32 PM
Fair enough we don't own the land as of yet, however the builder we are doing business does own the land and the signed deal will pave the way for that land to be used for our stadium. Again, your not really in a position to mock about land ownership etc..

Notion that we have been rewarded for consistent failure etc... - Inaccurate, we have been rewarded for the existence of the membership structure. A similar model that you have used 116 years later to save your club from death.

I actually hope Rovers get into Tallaght and believe that most Rovers fans have said fair play regarding our deal. Don't comfort yourself by thinking that this is luck, the people who found and set up our club allowed this to happen. We are now going to reap the benefit. Our respective positions are down to the individuals involved with our clubs all thoughout our histories.

ny isnt mocking anything, he is asking some relevant questions about the deal now the initial fanfare and euphoria has died down. the reality is the bozos are contradicting each other here on the finer points of the deal.

is the 27m going into property or the playing side? if it is the former, how are you going to doinate the league? was it not made very clear to membership NOT to expect a significant increase in the playing budget as a result of the deal?

are you are are you not getting 1m a year until the deal is done, repayable by bozos if it all falls through due to lack of pp on either end?

i think this is a fantastic deal for and by bohs. but cut the crap about foresight and how its down to your membership structure. you got lucky because a fan has made it in property and wants the site. this came about when you canvassed opinion about the commercial value of pox park in light of the groundshare idea.

you let dalymount literally collapse around you and only renovated the jodi for your membership to watch the game in comfort while away fans stood in the cold with no toilets, food or even lights. the kip is literally beyond repair so stop bullshνtting thats its part of some grand scheme of 115 years thought.

DvB
11/05/2006, 12:54 PM
Just a quick question to the bohs lads who know the details of this deal:
How big exactly is the actual site being handed over with the new stadum when completed? Is it merely the stadium or will it include surrounding lands to allow potential future development of any kind? Btw i dont mean the large areas that will be required for carparking!

Koh

11/05/2006, 12:57 PM
Isn't it 8 acres or so?

Incidentally, I think the Dalyer deal was down as being 5 acres? Where are those five acres?! The football pitch is about 1 acre, and I know there was very little room around the ground to expand (main reason why the 20000-seater stadium idea was rubbish) - so where are the other four acres? Do they own other ground elsewhere, or did I just misread the original deal?

11/05/2006, 1:42 PM

After admitting that he was wrong then he says "There are no inaccuracies in my post":D

Re the €27m if you actually read my post I asked whether this was spread over 25 years. I didnt suggest otherwise. No notions there.

Tell me exactly how the widening of the M50 wont impact on your proposed stadium. Remember I know the area very well as a former resident.

You have been rewarded for consistent failure. Totally accurate.

The hard questions which you have failed to answer are in my original post. Try reading it in total. I'm not mocking anyone about land ownership. If you cant get away from these "notions" you have and answer the questions posed then stay away.

CharlesThompson
11/05/2006, 2:10 PM
Just a quick question to the bohs lads who know the details of this deal:
How big exactly is the actual site being handed over with the new stadum when completed? Is it merely the stadium or will it include surrounding lands to allow potential future development of any kind? Btw i dont mean the large areas that will be required for carparking!

Koh

The site being handed over is 8.5 acres. The site being sold (Dalyount) is 5.07 acres. The developers are building a new 10,000 seater stadium with 290 car parking spaces and (10-15) coach parking spaces. There won't be much if any room left over for future development except to say that the stadium being built will be built in such a way as to allow for the ground to be expaned to 20,000 if the need ever arises (i.e. we'll all be dead then, but like our forefathers, this can be our gist to the future generations!)

PS I know you don't mean to include the car parking spaces as part of your question, but the info we have includes the car parking so I can't break it down for you.

monutdfc
11/05/2006, 2:15 PM
So there will be no youth/training facilities on the site?
Will the stadium incorporate a gym or the like?

11/05/2006, 2:18 PM
It looks as if the stadium, with a little parking, will completely fill the new site. It hasn't been confirmed yet if national toll roads will charge to give us our ball back. It might not be unreasonable for them to impose a quota if we're playing Drogheda. :p
With our expertise gleaned from the patent-pending Liffey Valley Fan Propulsion System (i.e., catapult), we should have no difficulty setting up a mechanical solution to this problem.

DvB
11/05/2006, 2:30 PM
The site being handed over is 8.5 acres. The site being sold (Dalyount) is 5.07 acres. The developers are building a new 10,000 seater stadium with 290 car parking spaces and (10-15) coach parking spaces. There won't be much if any room left over for future development except to say that the stadium being built will be built in such a way as to allow for the ground to be expaned to 20,000 if the need ever arises (i.e. we'll all be dead then, but like our forefathers, this can be our gist to the future generations!)

PS I know you don't mean to include the car parking spaces as part of your question, but the info we have includes the car parking so I can't break it down for you.

Thanks for that. Suprised at only 290 car parking spaces being proposed though.
I dont suppose its progressed to a stage where they have a general timeline as to how soon before an application can be made to Fingal County Council and indeed the application to Dublin City Council in relation to the rezoning of the Dalymount site? Or will this only follow after negotiations have concluded between the Board & the developer?

CharlesThompson
11/05/2006, 2:33 PM
Since you and ConorE seem to have gotten bogged down in the usual petty arguments between us lot an you lot, maybe I can answer some of your questions. I'm just being honest so don't get into symantics.

On a practical level the nearest bus stop to it is about a 15 minute walk away. No chance of an access road being built from the motorway so anyone driving will have to exit at the blanch roundabout and then negotiate traffic through castleknock village. Also the M50 is due to widen from a two lane to a three lane motorway which will impact on any plans for a stadium.

I would suggest that the expansion of the motorway will not affect the site at all as the site is right beside the toll booths which are possibly 5 - 6 lanes each in width and won't need to be widened in the future.

I can't foresee an access route from the toll booths either so yes people will have to use the existing access.

Seems boez have seen the euro signs and gone for it. At the very least they have ?2m which should clear their debts and keep them afloat for two seasons. Maybe this is the real reason?!!

In effect though they are being rewarded for their consistent failure to do anything with Dalymount. Take away the main stand and the ground is a disgrace. Says it all about boez. Too many unanswered questions though. What about the Albion Properties deal with the famous tramway end which has been closed for "health and safety" reasons for a decade now? What about the recent deal they signed with the Mater hospital? Have the local residents been consulted?

It's not the real reason most people have voted for the deal (to get €2m) although I do know at least one member who voted yes for these reasons.

I think for you to say that we are being 'rewarded' for the mistreatment of Dalymount Park is being a little bit rich. Bohs were given a grant to upgrade the stadium and used it to build the Jodi Stand. That is all the money that was available to do this. I also know that there were/are plans in the offing about upgrading the Connaught St side due to the car park money etc. which we hadn't been getting the full use benefit of until less than a year ago.

As ConorE states, we are in this position because we are a members club. You are in your situation because you weren't a members club. We are being 'rewarded' - as you so put it - because we are a members club and not because of anything else. We are moving because the members want to secure the long term future of our club, something I think that you as a Rovers fan should have a very good idea of.

Of course I would agree that the other three sides of Dalyer are in a shocking state of repair, but we have started losing money only over the last 5 years due to going from Semi Pro to FT Pro (similarly Rovers) and this has basically left us in the situation we are in.

Had to laugh at the sun at the weekend saying they are going to be the chelsea of this league. Isnt the 27m they are getting spread out over 25 years?

I make no apologies I love Dalymount and it will be a very sad day for Irish football if this goes through. But hopefully it wont.........

http://www.joanburton.ie/?postid=375

The remaining €25m will be handed to Bohs in one go once either the pp gets the go ahead or when the keys are swapped (not sure). Where you are getting the €1m per year is that in 12 months from now the developer is giving Bohs a refundable €1m and in every subsequent year this will be the case. As it is refundable, the money is not going to be touched except to put it into a high yeilding interest account.

Hope that clears up your questions.

CharlesThompson
11/05/2006, 2:37 PM
So there will be no youth/training facilities on the site?
Will the stadium incorporate a gym or the like?

No youth/training facilities on site, however I understand that the developer is taking an interest in sourcing land for us where we can develop it into a training centre, etc. details are a bit sketchy at this point.

There are plans to incorporate a small gym in the stadium, but as we can spec the stadium ourselves I'm not sure if this is something the club desire to have there instead of say, using the space for corporate entertainment, or something else.

Btw, love your ground! Especially drinking pints on the 'veranda' while watching the game. Great stuff!!

CharlesThompson
11/05/2006, 2:43 PM
Thanks for that. Suprised at only 290 car parking spaces being proposed though.
I dont suppose its progressed to a stage where they have a general timeline as to how soon before an application can be made to Fingal County Council and indeed the application to Dublin City Council in relation to the rezoning of the Dalymount site? Or will this only follow after negotiations have concluded between the Board & the developer?

Yep 290 is hardly a lot. I understand the SDCC implemented a minimum rule for Tallaght of something like 800 car parking spaces! Big difference!

In relation to the applications etc. I understand that the contracts are being signed this week. It makes no sense for either party to hang around so I would anticipate that the application will be winging its way to the offices of DCC in the immediate future while negotiations are continuing as to the final specifications of the stadium.

Our biggest problem will be the NIMBY's living in Castleknock. Already (the day after the annoucement) Joan Burton has been vocal about meeting our board about all sorts of details. While as a public representative she has every right to do so, the least she can do is to wait and see what the details are as we don't even know yet!

ConorE
11/05/2006, 2:46 PM
After admitting that he was wrong then he says "There are no inaccuracies in my post":D

Re the €27m if you actually read my post I asked whether this was spread over 25 years. I didnt suggest otherwise. No notions there.

Tell me exactly how the widening of the M50 wont impact on your proposed stadium. Remember I know the area very well as a former resident.

You have been rewarded for consistent failure. Totally accurate.

The hard questions which you have failed to answer are in my original post. Try reading it in total. I'm not mocking anyone about land ownership. If you cant get away from these "notions" you have and answer the questions posed then stay away.

By speaking in the third person alt least we now know that this is about playing for the crowd rather than actually engaging with the facts. Perhaps they are a little difficult to digest after 20 years on the streets? I don't blame you to be honest.

Quote: 'Isnt the 27m they are getting spread out over 25 years?'

I think most rational people would agree that this would qualify as a 'notion', and as I stated previously on several occasions...this is an inaccurate notion. I can't make it any clearer for you than that.

What 'consistent failure' are you refering to?

We bought our land and stuck with the membership structure which was seen by many as a ball and chain for us in terms of progress. This very structure meant that no individual could benefit from the sale of club land, ala you know where. Thus, the reason we are being rewarded is that we stuck with sound club ownership structures and not because of consistant failure as you seem to have dreamt up.

Roverstillidie
11/05/2006, 2:46 PM
Since you and ConorE seem to have gotten bogged down in the usual petty arguments between us lot an you lot,

Where you are getting the €1m per year is that in 12 months from now the developer is giving Bohs a refundable €1m and in every subsequent year this will be the case. As it is refundable, the money is not going to be touched except to put it into a high yeilding interest account.

you arent singing off the same sheet, thats the problem. we are trying to tease out what exactly is in the deal when you lot dont appear to know.

CharlesThompson
11/05/2006, 2:50 PM
I think ConorE - in fairness to him - was answering the assumption by NYHoop that we were getting €1m p.a. for 25 years after the deal has been concluded.

In any case, as I've stated, we get €2m now just for agreeing to the deal. In 12 months we get another €1m, then €1m 12 months after that and so on until the handover (or pp, not sure).

DvB
11/05/2006, 2:53 PM
Yep 290 is hardly a lot. I understand the SDCC implemented a minimum rule for Tallaght of something like 800 car parking spaces! Big difference!

In relation to the applications etc. I understand that the contracts are being signed this week. It makes no sense for either party to hang around so I would anticipate that the application will be winging its way to the offices of DCC in the immediate future while negotiations are continuing as to the final specifications of the stadium.

Our biggest problem will be the NIMBY's living in Castleknock. Already (the day after the annoucement) Joan Burton has been vocal about meeting our board about all sorts of details. While as a public representative she has every right to do so, the least she can do is to wait and see what the details are as we don't even know yet!

Trust me you havent met the real resistance yet, the residents associations in Castleknock are particularily influential due to 2 senior Planners in FCC, 2 Senior Execs in ABP and more than 1 or 2 TD's living in the area, if they manage to organise a sustained effort against such a development it'll be an uphill task. In an ideal world these people would step aside as soon as the applications are lodged due to the fact they can hardly be expected to look at them impartially, sadly however this will not be the case due to our archaic planning system. Yeasr of experience have taught me that to get a fair crack of the whip is highly unlikely.

Just had a quick look at FCC's development plan in relation to parking resuirements btw, according to Table 6.2 of the current development plan a parking requirement of 1 space per 3 seats is stated for Auditorium, Theatre, Cinema and stadia, obviousy in this instance theres not a hope in hell of meeting that standard, so straight away you can see the obstacles that will be brought to bear on this proposal.

I have to say due to the location ill be keeping my eye on this project very closely, should be an interesting bout!

Koh

D

11/05/2006, 3:09 PM
Thanks to charles thompson for responding properly. Must however note that future rational questions that would interest all EL fans could be construed as "inaccurate notions" or "playing to the crowd".

You're not wrong about your biggest problem.

Vitruvian Man
11/05/2006, 3:12 PM
you arent singing off the same sheet, thats the problem. we are trying to tease out what exactly is in the deal when you lot dont appear to know.

The sniping from yourself and NY Hoop is really getting pathetic at this stage I love your feeble attempts to imply that Bohs are getting screwed and the fans don't know it. Or maybe you guys are the experts since you've allowed yourselves to get rode so many times by your own club.

Just to indulge you slightly...
Milestone 1 = (Agreement of Deal.) - Bohs get 2 million Non-refundable deposit
Milestone 2 = (1 year from agreement) - Bohs get 1 Million Refundable deposit
milestone 3-5 = (Each year from year 1) - Bohs get 1 Million Refundable deposit
Milestone 4 (Completion of New Stadium) - Bohs get 27million minus deposits paid. Which can range from 24million to 0 million depending on how long it takes to build the stadium.

Optional Milestone 5 = (The planning collapses) - Bohs give back the refundable parts of the deposit.
Optional Milestone 6 = (If the deal has not progressed after 5 years) - Bohs have the option to cancel and renegotiate it - thus incentivising the builder to have the ground complete within 5 years.

As for the fine detail? Nobody knows the fine detail of the deal yet, not even the developers, as it has not been negotiated yet. We voted on a letter of offer which sets out some concrete parts of the deal and leaves others for thrashing out later. You can spin this as a bad thing if you want but it isn't.

The planning aspects, road widening, etc. are Andorry's problem. If they cannot achieve their side of the deal we can walk and keep their 2 million bob.

A final point. So Bohs didn't have the money to develop more than one side of our ground - big swing.

As far as I can see the only people who were rewarded for consistent failure were Shamrock Rovers. They got free land for their constant failure over almost 20 years, immediately p*ssed that away, and then got another free handout of a municipal stadium. The Bohs members have done the best they could with the money they had at all times, including this deal in AD2006 - this is more than can be said for many clubs in the league.

Any criticism from Rovers fans, the club with the absolute worst record on Football Stadiums in the country, should be treated with the contempt it deserves by Bohs fans. You had to stand on a broken down terrace - boo hoo, my heart bleeds for you, you poor baby.

PS
Real Madrid IS a members club.

Roverstillidie
11/05/2006, 3:23 PM
vitruvian, the only sniping is coming from the black and tan quarter. this is a hugely important issue for all football fans in the country, and we are asking a few simple questions about the ins and outs of the deal. who is criticising the deal? i certainly dont think you are being screwed as it stands, but we are getting dripfed the details.

if your response is 'you are rovers fans with no stadium you arent allowed ask these things' its a bizarrly childish attitude.

charles thompsin is at least trying to honestly answer the questions, you are just reverting to bitter gypo mode

11/05/2006, 3:26 PM
Must further note that same questions, which interest all EL fans, are now regarded as pathetic. And that charlesthompson seems to be the only boez fan here who can answer said questions without being petty.

Rovers fans can pose these questions because we have been through this. It is not "sniping". Personally I think its a tremendous deal ON PAPER. Long way to go though.

To indulge you: The fans didnt lose Milltown or Tallaght.

ConorE
11/05/2006, 3:34 PM
And that charlesthompson seems to be the only boez fan here who can answer said questions without being petty.

Rovers fans can pose these questions because we have been through this. It is not "sniping".

I wonder why pettyness and sniping came into it...

In effect though they are being rewarded for their consistent failure to do anything with Dalymount. Take away the main stand and the ground is a disgrace. Says it all about boez.

Oh, now I remember.

You've lost your way.

DvB
11/05/2006, 4:02 PM
No it isn't, it is important to Bohs. This is of no concern to anyone else as unlike other clubs this is an entirely private development and isn't using tax-payers money and it doesn't involve other clubs.

This is important to Bohs, that is it. Don't want to hear any nonsense like Mark O'Neill Cummins claiming that in a way we all own Dalymount. The 400 members of Bohemians who paid the fees this year own Dalymount.

Correct to an extent, with all due respect any resident of the Dublin 15 area is entitled to have an interest in any proposed development of this scale which potentially could have a negative impact on an already at breaking point road/travel infrastructure.

In fact i'd imagine the residents of D.7 will view a high density proposal for the Dalymount site equally with interest. Thats a large amount of people who may have zero interest in football who may want to obtain as much information as possible, so to try & claim this should be of no interest for anyone outside of the Bohs persuasion is a tad off the mark.

Roverstillidie
11/05/2006, 4:06 PM
No it isn't, it is important to Bohs. This is of no concern to anyone else as unlike other clubs this is an entirely private development and isn't using tax-payers money and it doesn't involve other clubs.

This is important to Bohs, that is it. Don't want to hear any nonsense like Mark O'Neill Cummins claiming that in a way we all own Dalymount. The 400 members of Bohemians who paid the fees this year own Dalymount.

for one if it goes ahead it affects the groundsharing agenda. that is of concern to all dublin teams fans.

you cant come out with the mantra "the home of irish football" every 2 minuites and then tell people its none of our business. and besides, a fan of which club started the thread....

didnt take long for the average bozo to become miserable again. go back to abusing your manager, leave this discussion to those of us with an interest in promoting the league and new ways to improve facilities

Roverstillidie
11/05/2006, 4:40 PM
When have I abused our manager (who isn't doing a good job by any stretch of the imagination, does that count as abuse?) and when have I repeatedly gone on about "the home of irish football"???

I think it is a bit rich for fans of clubs living on handouts to be having a go at Bohemians for such an enterprising move.

WE ARE NOT HAVING A GO YOU BITTER DIPSHνT. we are asking for clarity on certain aspects of the deal. if you dont want to share this info, log off.

scientific proof you cannot have an intelligent discussion about football on here without some d7 clown ruining it with whining.

Roverstillidie
11/05/2006, 4:55 PM
I rest my case.

how so, all you have done is direct the thread into Rovers v Bozos, rather than the questions at hand?

go back and stew on gypoweb ffs

Vitruvian Man
11/05/2006, 5:28 PM
how so, all you have done is direct the thread into Rovers v Bozos, rather than the questions at hand?

go back and stew on gypoweb ffs

If you are honest RTID you will admit that YOU (and to a lesser extent NY Hoop) started the Rovers V Bohs bickering.

Almost every post from you on this thread has a random dig or insult at Bohs/bohs fans not to mention loads of the l-know-it-all b*llocks you regularly come out with.

Now you are whinging when some of your own sh!t is thrown back at you - typical you I have to say.

Anybody who has asked a straight question has been given a straight answer or at least an attempt at a straight answer. But that's not good enough for you.

If you want a mesageboad insult-a-thon then fine, there's loads of ammo on Irelands Most Famous RUC-Lovin Homeless Hooligan Hoops. I'm sure the mods will shut the thread down in due course. If you want to discuss issues of interest to all football fans, as you claim you do, then stick to the topic.

And don't give me the " It's only football banter" crap either because you can give it but you can't take it.

Forever Dreamin
11/05/2006, 5:34 PM
Does anyone know what Bohs intend to do with the €27m - it would be great to see them build facilities like the astro park which would show off the club in a positive light and generate a regular revenue stream for the club (which could be used to finance the playing side). I trust that the members will not use any of the capital to try and buy success as it will only result in inflated wages and rapidly run down the clubs assets.

CharlesThompson
11/05/2006, 6:38 PM
Does anyone know what Bohs intend to do with the €27m - it would be great to see them build facilities like the astro park which would show off the club in a positive light and generate a regular revenue stream for the club (which could be used to finance the playing side). I trust that the members will not use any of the capital to try and buy success as it will only result in inflated wages and rapidly run down the clubs assets.

There is a lot of discussion around the 'spending' of this money (IF we get our hands on it) on the Bohs MB. There are many suggestions at this point as on how to spend the windfall, however I would seriously hope that the club do not start to pay players willy nilly exhorbitant wages if and when we do move to the new stadium.

Most of the suggestions seem to be around capital expenditure furthering our income streams and creating funds with which we can improve our squad in the years ahead. If you think about it, the annual expenditure for league winning sides in this league is probably about €2m. For Bohs to give ourselves a chance of winning the league (which most Bohs supporters want!) we will need to match what the likes of Shels, Cork, Drogheda are spending and bringing in a quality of coach that is just that bit more over what is currently coaching in the eL and players to match.

From our squad, there are probably only four players that would stand a chance of getting onto any of the aformentioned sides and Derry City IMO (Joxer, Farrelly - if he'd get his finger out of his hole! - Wardy and Kevin Hunt. In saying that we would have to also get rid of a plethora of players. Anyway, I digress.

To me the most important thing the club can do with some of the money is to start up an Academy, link it in with Blanchardstown IT and develop players ourselves who would also have a qualification if things didn't work out for them. The very best could be sold on to teams in bigger leagues and the best of the rest could be given contracts at Bohs.

You've probably guessed, but there is no real 'plan' as of yet and probably won't be. Suffice to say that of the downpayment of €2m a lot of that will do toward reducing our debt and God knows what else the board have lined up for the rest.

Vitruvian Man
11/05/2006, 7:56 PM

My answer to that question is that there is a pie in the sky element to all Bohs opinions on what we shoud do with the money. But at least when you have money you have options. I'll list out the options that are most popular with Bohs fans in order of how popular they are at the moment.

1. Become the Ajax of Ireland by investing the money in top quality youth structures and facilities eventually reaping the rewards on the pitch and making the money back in transfers. Dominate the league on and off over the long term.
2. Invest the money like an investment banker would, property, stocks and shares etc. Try to get a regular yeild off the lump sum which will be spent on trying to win trophies, running the football club and having a secure future.
3. Get in a load of top players and make the CL group stages. Then we will be the Rosenborg of Ireland who strangles everybody else and dominates like a colossos blah blah. (this one just refuses to die with some people)
4. P!ss around with the money signing players like Glen Crowe on even more undeserved wages than he is on now. Drive the wage spiral in the league ever higher so it damages all clubs around us. Win loads of trophies by having all the good players in the league and lord it over everybody else. And then when the money is gone, go back to the normal p!sspot existance we all have at the moment except in our hard-to-get-to ground in Blanch. In 20 years time, when property prices out there are high enough, do the same again and move to Athlone.

Personally speaking my dream would be option one but I would settle for option 2 without any arguements but knowing what I know about the Bohs board and the general members I reckon option 4 is a real possibility.

Forever Dreamin
11/05/2006, 8:01 PM
My answer to that question is that there is a pie in the sky element to all Bohs opinions on what we shoud do with the money. But at least when you have money you have options. I'll list out the options that are most popular with Bohs fans in order of how popular they are at the moment.

1. Become the Ajax of Ireland by investing the money in top quality youth structures and facilities eventually reaping the rewards on the pitch and making the money back in transfers. Dominate the league on and off over the long term.
2. Invest the money like an investment banker would, property, stocks and shares etc. Try to get a regular yeild off the lump sum which will be spent on trying to win trophies, running the football club and having a secure future.
3. Get in a load of top players and make the CL group stages. Then we will be the Rosenborg of Ireland who strangles everybody else and dominates like a colossos blah blah. (this one just refuses to die with some people)
4. P!ss around with the money signing players like Glen Crowe on even more undeserved wages than he is on now. Drive the wage spiral in the league ever higher so it damages all clubs around us. Win loads of trophies by having all the good players in the leage and lord it over everybody else. And then when the money is gone go back to the normal p!sspot existance we all have at the moment except in our hard to get to ground in Blanch. In 20 years time, when property prices out there are high enough, do the same again and move to Athlone.

Personally speaking my dream would be option one but I would settle for option 2 without any arguements but knowing what I know about the Bohs board and the general members I reckon option 4 is a real possibility.

Hopefully 1 or 2, option 4 will not only kill Bohs but kill the league if other clubs try to compete and forget reality! ANyway best of luck to Bohs

12/05/2006, 12:30 PM
Why are public stadiums in Ireland almost alwasy built far away from public transport? Other countries build next to train stations & such...

CharlesThompson
12/05/2006, 1:52 PM
Pete, the train station is about a 20 minute walk away surely that's not too far for people to walk? I'm not familiar with the bus infrastructure though, it seems that the 37 or 39 drops off about a 5 minute walk from the site. There are also a multitude of houses going up in the immediate vicinity of the site which you would imagine would need better public transport.

Let's not forget, this stadium will not be built for at least another 5 years (more if you listen to the Rovers supporters on this MB) - ample time for Dublin Bus to increase its service to the area. Not to forget that the proposed new Metro route is to stop at Porterstown - 5 minute walk from the site.

Yes access is an issue, but I feel it's being overplayed at the moment due to the fact that we will not be in Diswellstown for at least 5 years.

Forever Dreamin
12/05/2006, 1:55 PM
By the time the stadium is built there will be adequate public transport and the area will be just as built up as phibsboro is!!

12/05/2006, 2:18 PM
The nearest 37 stop is a 15 minute walk away. The nearest 39 stop is 25 minutes walk away unless you take a short cut and walk down the M50!! Despite the huge growth in the area over the years Dublin Bus were very slow to increase their service.

But as already been pointed out long way to go yet.

BTW Joan Burton is holding a public information meeting next thursday where the proposed new stadium will be one of the issues.

Bald Student
12/05/2006, 5:30 PM
1. Become the Ajax of Ireland by investing the money in top quality youth structures and facilities eventually reaping the rewards on the pitch and making the money back in transfers. Dominate the league on and off over the long term.I would be nervous about this point. How much of setting up a youth acadamy involves having cash and how much involves having the right people? Building a top training ground with all the facilities would be a help but would be no guarentee of underage success. The coaches, not the facilities, would be important here and I would be nervous of building a white elephant.

12/05/2006, 7:05 PM
I was reading the other day that Celtic, a club who have a pretty successful youth set up, invest about £1.5m a year in their youth set up and that's without any decent facilities to go along with them. Rangers on the other hand have top class facilities but lag behind Celtic in terms of youth development. You're completely correct Bald Student. Also the outlay of having either of both will soak up Bohs €26m in a decade or two. Bohs fans must remember our proximity to Britain and the fact that we live in the shadow of the EPL. They will not break this dominance and I think their hopes and dreams of future dominance based on an academy model are a bit pie in the sky.