View Full Version : England World Cup discussion

Pages : [1] 2 3 4 5 6

15/02/2006, 10:56 AM
This is the only thread for discussions on the English team. Read the Forum Info (http://www.foot.ie/showthread.php?t=30435) before posting.

Any other threads started about England will be merged or deleted. Any posts which the moderators feel break rules will be deleted.

You know what not to discuss and warnings will be sent to posters who don't comply.

I'll be checking this thread 2 or 3 times a day and at the first sign of trouble it will be closed until further notice. So cmon lads, cop on.

The Legend
15/02/2006, 11:28 PM
So, this is for english people/fans living in Ireland?

16/02/2006, 9:27 AM
This thread is for anybody who wants to talk sensibly about the English football team.

Soper
20/02/2006, 4:10 PM
Who do you all think should be in the final squad?

20/02/2006, 4:30 PM
robinson
james
green

carragher
ferdinand
campbell
terry
woodgate
neville
cole
bridge

king
beckham
gerrard
lampard
cole
parker
carrick
hargreaves

owen
rooney
defoe
crouch

will there be a similar thread about brazil ,italy germany etc?

21/02/2006, 4:07 PM
will there be a similar thread about brazil ,italy germany etc?
No cos people don't have personal problems with Brazilian, Italian or German history. I think it's very clear why this has to be done. There is no chance that people will bring their political opinions into a football discussion about those countries.

23/02/2006, 4:06 PM
I think England will win the World Cup. Owen and Rooney up front, Beckham performing near his best again this season and a solid back line. Also, team spirit will be high after the Eriksson shenanagins.

raytown red
23/02/2006, 6:35 PM
I think England will win the World Cup. Owen and Rooney up front, Beckham performing near his best again this season and a solid back line. Also, team spirit will be high after the Eriksson shenanagins.

Think you could be definately right, as there no top country playin well at the moment. if they get their left side problem sorted!! i think wright philips should be given a chance. wat does everybody else think?

23/02/2006, 7:53 PM
I don't think so. Has barely played for Chelsea this season. It's a shame because Mourinho has ruined his chances. If the World Cup was last summer he would have been in the starting XI no bother, but now he's struggling to make the squad.

24/02/2006, 2:12 PM
I don't think so. Has barely played for Chelsea this season. It's a shame because Mourinho has ruined his chances. If the World Cup was last summer he would have been in the starting XI no bother, but now he's struggling to make the squad.
I agree. As a Chelsea fan, I was really excited about SWP joining and despite playing well when he gets his chance, I don't think he's good enough to play week in, week out in a full strength Chelsea team.

He was a big fish at Man City but now he's in a bigger goldfish bowl. He's more of an individual rather than a team-player, imo.

01/03/2006, 3:44 PM
I'm worried this year. I think they could win it.

But from what I read in the Times this morning Paraguay might be tougher than they think, and T&T got a win last night. Will watch highlights of Wales vs Paraguay later from two points of interest.

01/03/2006, 5:53 PM
The England-Uruguay match is live on BBC tonight at 7.55pm, for those interested.

renovater
01/03/2006, 10:37 PM
After to night game it would be true to say that Chelsea Boy Joe Cole has got the thumbs up to play left side were England seem to be having a problem to fill.
He has got the suport from his manager and named Man of the match And saved English Blushes
By the way Frank S.W.P plays on the right side Josie feels he down the pecking order.However you could have said the same about D duff Who got Man Of the Match for Ireland Joe Cole took a leaf out of the Duffer book and he flying so may be will give josie a chance because I believe Sean will turn good yet.
Just May be Next Tuesday his night.
So we will wait and See.
Good luck to England in the world Cup As our country Cusions which we have alot in common We should lend a hand as we do every other sat, following there
Clubs. I have no doubt they will make a last 4. Who no they even might win it.

padzer
02/03/2006, 1:54 PM
They havent got a hope of winning the World Cup. Not with that stockin Rio Ferdinand in the team. Did anyone see him last night? He must have ballsed things up at least 4 times. He is so over-rated its unbelievable. Carragher should get the nod ahead of him. And as for Beckham, forget about him, he cant take on a player or tackle for that matter. Last night his so called "expertise" in crossing the ball failed him aswell. Captain fantastic? I dont think so. He should have got a red card for that tackle from behind, could have done some serious damage to the Uruguayan midfielder. Wright-Phillips did alright when he came on, at least he has some pace and took on the left full every time he could, and he set up the winner. I know it was a friendly and "you cant read too much into these games" but the players on the pitch are playing for a place in the first team not just a seat on the plane to Germany.

They are 6/1 second favourites with Paddypower. Might as well make that 100/1.

13/04/2006, 2:51 PM
I would have matthew etherington on the squad. Has played all but 1 (i think) league games for west ham down the left this season, and has done a brilliant job at it too.

13/04/2006, 5:14 PM
I would have matthew etherington on the squad. Has played all but 1 (i think) league games for west ham down the left this season, and has done a brilliant job at it too.
He is an excellent player and a definie future England international, imo, but I think at this moment in time there are better options available.

14/04/2006, 1:16 PM
I think England squad should look like this:

GOALKEEPERS

Paul Robinson
David James
Robert Green

DEFENDERS

Gary Neville
Rio Ferdinand
John Terry
Ashley Cole
Jamie Carragher
Wayne Bridge
Sol Campbell

MIDFIELDERS

David Beckham
Frank Lampard
Steven Gerrard
Joe Cole
Kevin Nolan
Shaun Wright-Phillips
Stuart Downing
Ledley King

STRIKERS

Michael Owen
Wayne Rooney
Darren Bent
Peter Crouch
Jermain Defoe

15/04/2006, 12:38 PM
My England XI

GK: Robinson
RB: G. Neville
LB: Bridge
CB: Carragher
CB: Terry
RM: Gerrard
LM: A.Cole
CM: Lampard
CM: Parker
S: Rooney
S: Owen

I know this is assuming that all players are match fit, but thats the side I'd go with if I were England manager. I think England are going to lose it because of Eriksson's inability to see past his 'chosen ones'.

Seriously Beckham hasnt performed in an England shirt in four years and I think its pretty obvious that Rooney doesn't respect him as captain, and I'd be willing to wager that the likes of Gerrard, Terry and Carragher don't either.
I'd put Gerrard out there to spread the ball around, and so leaving Lampard to get forward as much as possible, with Scott Parker cleaning up behind him. I chose Ashley Cole on the left for three reasons. He has pace and can cross a ball, so he has the ability, and I don't think Joe Cole is up to scratch against top class players.

In defence then I'd have Wayne Bridge in there so I could him interchange with Ashley Cole going up the wing, with the other dropping back to defend. And I'd drop that lame duck Rio Ferdinand altogether, probably even from the squad, and throw the MUCH better and more versatile Jamie Carragher in to partner Terry. Since Beckham is out of the team I'd have to pick a new captain and I'd just about go with Gerrard over Terry, although either would be a good fit

stojkovic
15/04/2006, 1:30 PM
jebus,
Agree with you on Ferdinand. Not only do I not rate him but I think that Terry needs a partner like Carvalho/Gallas and the only Englishman who fits the bill is Carra. Don't agree about Beckham. I agree he's muck but Sven won't drop his captain as Goldenballs picks the team.

England will do ok - Quarters at least maybe semis depending on the quality of opposition. Their starting XI is good but the back up is not. LF is a problem as both Ashley and Bridge are injured or will not be 100% match fit. Same applies to Owen - who is 3rd choice Crouch/Bent.

The midfield quartet of Becks/Stevie/Lamps and Joe Cole is unbalanced. Cole is right footed and Becks will drift into the middle like he did in '04. Stevie G and Lamps (whats he done recently though) are both quality but are two alike. All four are attack minded with no holding player. Most obvious player to lose out would be Becks with Gerard on the right and someone like Kevin Nolan in the middle as per your team. But Sven wont drop Beckham.

Commentators are comparing them to the 66 team with the 3 Chelsea players being compared to the 3 West Ham players of '66.

Also Liverpool are European Champions and Arsenal are in the Semis this year. HOW MANY ENGLISH PLAYERS PLAYED IN THOSE GAMES ?

Just hope it's a good tourny unlike '02 and '04.

15/04/2006, 1:48 PM
Don't think Beckham should be dropped. The reason, I think, for his poor England performances was that he was playing in the middle of the park for Real. He has being playing excellent for them this season on the right and I think he performance for England will improve this summer.

who is 3rd choice Crouch/Bent.

I think it should depend on who is unavailable. If Owen can't play, then Bent should come in, although he hasn't proven himself against top defences(2 goals against top 6). If Rooney can't play then Crouch would be the obvious replacement to play with Owen, which worked well in the US last summer.

15/04/2006, 2:09 PM
I think it should depend on who is unavailable. If Owen can't play, then Bent should come in, although he hasn't proven himself against top defences(2 goals against top 6). If Rooney can't play then Crouch would be the obvious replacement to play with Owen, which worked well in the US last summer.

Agree on what you say, but I'd have Defoe in instead of Owen if he isn't available. A Rooney/Crouch partnership just wouldn't work in my opinion

15/04/2006, 4:48 PM
but I'd have Defoe in instead of Owen if he isn't available.
I personally would prefer Defoe but I think that regular football and form is important leading up to major championships.

30/04/2006, 11:52 PM
Well they're f***ed now. Maybe with a more sensible manager, leaving Rooney till the knockout stages as the group is easy enough, but after the last World Cup Ericsson will probably play Rooney mid-way through the group stages. If if Rooney isn't 100% by the knockout stages he is still worth a starting place as he is the most naturally gifted player in the world, alongside Ronaldinho and Messi.

30/04/2006, 11:57 PM
All hope for Rooney mightn't be lost. I was listening to the radio today and they said how Dave Nugent of Preston came off the bench for them today just 6 weeks and 2 days after he broke his metatarsal.

01/05/2006, 12:01 AM
But is it the same bone that Rooney broke in Euro 2004 or would that even make a difference?

Metrostars
01/05/2006, 1:28 PM
But is it the same bone that Rooney broke in Euro 2004 or would that even make a difference?

Not the same, he broke his 4th metatarsal bone in Euro 2004 and his 5th metatarsal bone on Saturday. Or vice-versa I dunno. Either way it took him 3 months last time to get back playing again.

He will not be playing in the World Cup.

FarBeag
02/05/2006, 10:06 AM
He will not be playing in the World Cup.

Oh what a shame:)

02/05/2006, 12:46 PM
Yeah it is a shame.Any football fan wants to see the best players from all the teams play and I for one will be dissappointed if he does'nt play.

M@ttitude
02/05/2006, 5:10 PM
I feel bad now having prayed for Rooney to break his leg before the world cup (foot, close enough), I also included Gerrard in that prayer even though im a Liverpool fan(he'd be healed by september)..

But now I keep hearing English people saying how they would have won the World Cup had this not have happened. I hope now that he does come back fit and bangs in a hattrick against Paraguay so he's definetely back to his best, so they can throw it all away in the quarters with their finest team.

Is their anyone in foot.ie land who is brainwashed by Sky Sports this time into thinking England should win easily on paper? Coz they wont win on grass imo.

02/05/2006, 6:04 PM
I feel bad now having prayed for Rooney to break his leg before the world cup (foot, close enough)...
Karma... :D

But now I keep hearing English people saying how they would have won the World Cup had this not have happened.
In fairness, after every competition, I keep hearing English people saying how they would have won the /competition had /excuse not have happened.

Is their anyone in foot.ie land who is brainwashed by Sky Sports this time into thinking England should win easily on paper? Coz they wont win on grass imo.
No one wins on grass easily, except maybe Brazil.

Look at the Dutch - always fantastic on paper, always a big fight in the squad - not enough grass perhaps... ;)

England are a decent team. If Greece can win the Euros, England can win the World Cup. They just probably won't.

02/05/2006, 7:01 PM
I also included Gerrard in that prayer even though im a Liverpool fan(he'd be healed by september)..

02/05/2006, 8:20 PM

I agree. Why anyone would want two good players out of a world cup were not even in is beyond me. I couldn't care less who wins I just want to see the best players in the world play the best football

02/05/2006, 8:27 PM
I think England did have a great chance of winning it. very solid at the back and three of the best passers in the world in midfield supplying Rooney and Owen up front there was every reason for them to be hopefull. without Rooney well thats a different kettle of metacarsials all together

beautifulrock
02/05/2006, 8:46 PM
I definately want to see Rooney play in the world cup, a class act that could/would light up the comprtition.

As for Englands chances QF's no more. Contrary to popular belief I do not believe they have a solid defence. They are not even sure who the best centre partnership is yet. Will it be Rio and Terry, probably but Terrys lack of pace and not being "minded" by Makele will be shown up. As for Rio, his lack of concentration will be a factor. On the left will Ashley Cole be fit, Neville on the right will be fine I guess.

03/05/2006, 12:12 PM
He's a huge loss, there's no doubt about that. It'll be interesting to see who comes forward as a replacement and remember that Owen is not out of the woods yet. He complained about pain in his foot after the weekend only to be told that is to be expected...we'll see.

I personally think Robbie Fowler might be a dark horse, a proven goalscorer who is looking the sharpest I've seen him in years and I think he's a better option than most. He wasn't exactly overflowing in praise for Eriksson in his autobiography though so it might be a bit of a long shot.

03/05/2006, 12:30 PM
I personally think Robbie Fowler might be a dark horse,
I'll lay you 500/1 (min bet €50 to be piad up front)

England have very little chance of the world cup. They have no left footed player in the squad if Cole and Bridge aren't back. Their midfielders have not worked together despite 3/4 years of trying and now their only genuine world class player is banjaxed.

Can England wina world cup with this team?

-----------------Robinson---------------------
Neville - Ferdinand - Terry - Bridge/ A. Cole
Beckham - Gerard - Lampard - J. Cole
-------Crouch ----- Owen----------------

I don't think so

03/05/2006, 12:57 PM
I'll lay you 500/1 (min bet €50 to be piad up front)

Tempting and I appreciate the offer ;) but if I was going to put money on it, it wouldn't be that much. Did you not see the last sentence of my last post. He might be dark horse but it would still be unlikely I think and I need to have a small sniff of a chance before I part with any money.:D

Aldini98
03/05/2006, 1:13 PM
Its great he wont be playing. They wouldn't have won it anyway, their odds of 6-1 are a joke !

03/05/2006, 2:15 PM
Rooney is an unreal talent and with him I reckon England could very well have won it. Without him they are ordinary.
They would have beaten Portugal in the Euros if he hadn't got injured.

M@ttitude
03/05/2006, 8:44 PM
I didnt see this thread or realise the rules before I started a different one, delete it if may be..

I do hope Rooney plays, I really do, I want England to have a full strength team. No Excuses. I want to find out if they can actually beat the likes of France and Brazil, or brush aside the likes of Switzerland like we couldn't!! I am definetely glad they are there and I will enjoy their games most im sure.

Saint Tom
04/05/2006, 2:59 PM
would not be able to handle england winning it.

They are full of themselves at the best of times without the possibility of back to back european club champions, present rugby world champions and then world cup winners?? the world would never hear the end of their "great sporting achievements"

04/05/2006, 4:29 PM
Thread merged.

I think England have a good chance. I honestly don't believ having/not having Wayne Rooney will make much difference.

04/05/2006, 7:17 PM
would not be able to handle england winning it.

They are full of themselves at the best of times without the possibility of back to back european club champions, present rugby world champions and then world cup winners?? the world would never hear the end of their "great sporting achievements"
Said it before and i'll say it again, If you dont like it then dont listen to their media.

FarBeag
04/05/2006, 10:37 PM
Said it before and i'll say it again, If you dont like it then dont listen to their media.

What if i don’t want to listen to it? Have i got a choice? Its visible everywhere you go. There is even a picture of Rooney's foot on some of the bus stop waiting areas ffs.

Its no skin of my nose if England win the world cup, life goes on, but at the same time it will put a big smile on my face if they go out in the quarter final or sooner .They have a good team and the best of luck to them. .Come on Brazil

04/05/2006, 11:22 PM
its not the fault of the English that their media is so prominent here

05/05/2006, 9:09 AM
its not the fault of the English that their media is so prominent here
Eh...did you check his location?

05/05/2006, 9:30 AM
Well in that case what does he expect! I'm sure we would be the same if we won the damn thing,If he doesnt like it then move.

FarBeag
05/05/2006, 1:08 PM
Well in that case what does he expect! I'm sure we would be the same if we won the damn thing,If he doesnt like it then move.

No problems chief.Will pack up tomorrow,leave the job,take the kids out of school and then try and convince the wife.

M@ttitude
05/05/2006, 7:12 PM
,If he doesnt like it then move.

07/05/2006, 11:15 AM
He's good, but extremely over-rated. Maybe in a few years?
Have you ever seen the boy play:confused: He is without any doubt one of the most naturally gifted players in the world today and will go on to be one of the best players of all time.

I think England have a good chance. I honestly don't believe having/not having Wayne Rooney will make much difference.
I actually think that this could help England if Sven plays his cards right. If Rooney is replaced directly with another striker, more than likely Crouch, then they have been weakened severely and have no chance of winning the World Cup. However, if Sven changes tactics and uses a 4-5-1 formation with Carrick in the holding role. This will give the team more balance, shape and solidity. It would also allow Gerrard and Lampard to support Owen up-front.