View Full Version : England World Cup discussion

Pages : 1 [2] 3 4 5 6

07/05/2006, 7:14 PM
It would also allow Gerrard and Lampard to support Owen up-front.
That would be a dream combination in midfield.

08/05/2006, 9:49 AM
Svens really lost the plot now....here (http://www.unison.ie/breakingnews/index.php3?ca=94&si=91352)

08/05/2006, 1:05 PM
Svens really lost the plot now....here (http://www.unison.ie/breakingnews/index.php3?ca=94&si=91352)
Can't access it. Anybody what to give me the gist of it?

08/05/2006, 1:48 PM
Squad in full
* - denotes Uncapped Player:

GOALKEEPERS
Paul Robinson (Spurs)
David James (Manchester City)
Robert Green (Norwich City)

DEFENDERS
Gary Neville (Manchester United)
Rio Ferdinand (Manchester United)
John Terry (Chelsea)
Ashley Cole (Arsenal)
Sol Campbell (Arsenal)
Jamie Carragher (Liverpool)
Wayne Bridge (Chelsea)

MIDFIELDERS
David Beckham (Real Madrid)
Michael Carrick (Spurs)
Frank Lampard (Chelsea)
Steven Gerrard (Liverpool)
Owen Hargreaves (FC Bayern)
Jermaine Jenas (Spurs)
Stewart Downing (Middlesbrough)
Joe Cole (Chelsea)
Aaron Lennon (Spurs)*

FORWARDS
Wayne Rooney (Manchester United)
Michael Owen (Newcastle United)
Peter Crouch (Liverpool)
Theo Walcott (Arsenal)*

macdermesser
08/05/2006, 2:04 PM
Squad in full
* - denotes Uncapped Player:

GOALKEEPERS
Paul Robinson (Spurs)
David James (Manchester City)
Robert Green (Norwich City)

DEFENDERS
Gary Neville (Manchester United)
Rio Ferdinand (Manchester United)
John Terry (Chelsea)
Ashley Cole (Arsenal)
Sol Campbell (Arsenal)
Jamie Carragher (Liverpool)
Wayne Bridge (Chelsea)

MIDFIELDERS
David Beckham (Real Madrid)
Michael Carrick (Spurs)
Frank Lampard (Chelsea)
Steven Gerrard (Liverpool)
Owen Hargreaves (FC Bayern)
Jermaine Jenas (Spurs)
Stewart Downing (Middlesbrough)
Joe Cole (Chelsea)
Aaron Lennon (Spurs)*

FORWARDS
Wayne Rooney (Manchester United)
Michael Owen (Newcastle United)
Peter Crouch (Liverpool)
Theo Walcott (Arsenal)*

Two crocked strikers .. a little boy and Crouch .. unbelievable

08/05/2006, 2:11 PM
brilliant news :)

2 strikers?

chappie
08/05/2006, 2:25 PM
given the choice i would rather gerrard or cole playin off owen (if fit) than that shaper defoe....sven was right to leave him out...as for walcott...sure brazil have done it in a good few world cups,bring a young lad for the experience...most recently ronaldo in 94 kaka in 2002

08/05/2006, 3:07 PM
http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/football/world_cup_2006/teams/england/4983618.stm

Mad squad! Walcott, without a single Premiership appearance gets in. Defoe and Bent (top English scorer in Premiership) miss out. I'd be quite peed off if i were them.... and whats the obsession with Hargreaves. Is he Sven's lovechild or something?

08/05/2006, 3:39 PM
Unless he's got some mad plan to use Gerard, Lennon or Cole behind a lone striker, I would have thought it more sensible to bring a fifth striker.

FarBeag
08/05/2006, 3:42 PM
http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/football/world_cup_2006/teams/england/4983618.stm

and whats the obsession with Hargreaves. Is he Sven's lovechild or something?

Class. Maybe something different.He has an eye for the younger model.

08/05/2006, 5:54 PM
Well Owen will be fit in time for the WC so its really one crocked striker!
I presume that if Rooney isnt fit they will be going for 1 up front.

08/05/2006, 6:00 PM
Absolute joke of a squad. The selection of Walcott cannot be justified. Bent or Defoe deserved it more and would have been better options. Can't see any logic in Hargreaves been selected- Nolan a far better choice. Glad to see that Sven had the bottle to drop SWP for Lennon- the right choice I feel. After reading Eriksson's comments it looks like Joe Cole will be used to support the main striker if Rooney is unfit.

08/05/2006, 6:19 PM
Absolute joke of a squad. The selection of Walcott cannot be justified. Bent or Defoe deserved it more and would have been better options. Depends on whether he actually intends to play him. If he's really thinking about a 4-5-1, Walcott will be barely relevant. If he goes for 4-4-2, I would think he's daft not bringing five strikers anyway, especially give Rooney and Owen's states.

Can't see any logic in Hargreaves been selected- Nolan a far better choice. Do you actually watch Bayern's games dmetc? Hargreeves is a good player who plays at a very high level and who has had a good season. The claim that Nolan is better than him seems presumptuous to me.

Glad to see that Sven had the bottle to drop SWP for Lennon- the right choice I feel. Agreed. Lennon could make a genuine impact on their games.

08/05/2006, 10:21 PM
Ever since Mad Sven took over the England team, he has been shown disrespect to international football. First of all, he was the first to introduce 11 substitutes at HT. Thankfully not allowed any more. Now he has selected a player, he has admitted he never saw playing live before. Can you believe the uproar if Stan had done the same thing. Don't mention Terry Dixon, thats different. Sven said he has seen videos of him and was impressed. Gob smacked at this. What must Defoe, Beattie, Vassell ect be thinking now. Arsenal have three English players in squad. 2 out injured the entire season, the other never deemed good enough to play in first team and all 3 have been selected for WC. David Dein is top man in FA and chairman of ARsenal. Wonder if he has any influence?

09/05/2006, 11:30 AM
Their first choice XI remains as formidable as ever IMO.

Coltron
09/05/2006, 3:40 PM
I will really enjoy England and Sven struggle to beat even TaT. He has set his stall out very clearly now. He is not going to try to play a system but instead rely on individual brilliance to win matches. What I expect to see is some superb goals, a lot of bizarre substitutions, few pre-meditated attacks and general mismanagement.

They will get out of their group no doubt, may even beat a pretty good side in the next round but their chances of getting to the final in Berlin is slim in the extreme IMO.

They failed to break down Northern Ireland and messed around with different formations none of which have yet worked. Sven keeps the press happy and the fans in hopefull expectation but it's all nice window dressing. He talks quietly and few really question him properly, he talks about formations the can play and areas of strenght in the side. We can play 4-4-2 he said, 4-5-1 with five midfielders or 4-3-3 with Crouch upfront and two wingers, we have lots of wingers he says. Well all knowing one show me a good preformance using any of these formations in under your reign please. He insists with certain players regardless so as Beckham is fixed in the side 4-3-3 is automatically redundant. If Rooney or Owen is 85% fit he will play them so 4-5-1 is out the window too. The diamond and 'quarter back' systems didn't work either because he can't seen to accept that a triangular shape goes in the triangular hole.

Give me Netherlands, Argentina or Mexico anyday of the week.

09/05/2006, 5:30 PM
Good to see you know so much about a side you hate!

londonirish17
10/05/2006, 9:08 AM
Two crocked strikers .. a little boy and Crouch .. unbelievable

Well said ! Thanks to the recruitment policy of most English top flight teams, the national side finishes up with that situation. They shouldn't complain. When all top teams (Arsenal, Chelski...) tend to buy foreign strikers instead of young homegrown talents you just finish up with what you said macdermesser...;)

Coltron
10/05/2006, 11:38 AM
Don't confuse my passion with hatred. I have the same feeling toward England as I do to Poland or Sweden - complete neutrality. The reason I got so worked up over it yesterday is that I think he (Eriksson) is a bluffer.

However, now I've realised that the man actually has a personality and quiet a good sence of humour. I think this is the funniest thing in football. Sven is going to be sitting on a beach in 3 months time eyeing up some young lady, cocktail in hand laughing himself silly. He does not give a fidler's f*** about England and this is a clear example. The masses are too caught up in the dream and hype to notice. He collects something like 3 millions pounds a year while trying to seduce everyone from TV presenters to FA secretaries while he catches the odd game of football. He then strokes Englands ego and everyone is blissful.

He is giving the a big F You to everyone espessially the press I imagine. Thats my opinion and I haven't stopped laughing at it since early yesterday. He talks a good game thats how is got such a good contract and is continuing to do so. The amount of holes in the stuff he says and the squad he picked only points to one answer and I'm :D :D :D because of it.

England to be elimated between the GROUP STAGES AND THE QUARTERS. Quote on that, I'll take it if I'm wrong.

10/05/2006, 12:56 PM
Rooney is an unreal talent and with him I reckon England could very well have won it. Without him they are ordinary.
They would have beaten Portugal in the Euros if he hadn't got injured.
I doubt that very much. England were terrible at the European Championships. The only good performance they put in was against Croatia. They'll play badly 9 times out of 10 with a midfield of LM-Gerrard-Lampard-Beckham. Add Carrick in behind them and it will make the world of difference. With Rooney out injured Sven will probably be forced to play Carrick and England will actually start playing well for the first competitive series since the last world cup.

Karlos
11/05/2006, 12:03 AM
I doubt that very much. England were terrible at the European Championships. The only good performance they put in was against Croatia.

Possession wise I would agree that England suffered but attacking wise certainly not and never did I feel their overall performance could be labelled as 'terrible'. England scored 11 goals in 4 games without really retaining the ball as well as they should have which when you look at it is some feat in itself.

They should have undoubetedly gone through in the game against Portugal with their last minute goal that was cruelly chalked off. The performance against France I was also impressed with and England would have been more than worthy of the 2-0 lead had Beckham slotted the penalty away. The moment of brilliance Zidane created for the goal was the only way at that that point that France was going to score.

The Croatia and Switzerland games once again highlighted England's inability to retain possession but also showed how despite underperforming they were most dangerous attacking outfit at the competition with Rooney playing.

Unlike in Japan in 2002, I honestly do believe that England could have gone on and won that competition. A team who scores goals will always have a chance in cup football.

11/05/2006, 7:49 AM
They should have undoubetedly gone through in the game against Portugal with their last minute goal that was cruelly chalked off.
You have a point overrall but I don't believe that that goal should have stood. At the time I must have watched the goal about a thousand times and took a load of stills. Something that wasn't noticed at all by the media was that Terry was actually offside. He ran into an offside position just before Cambell hit the bar (http://homepage.eircom.net/~gearoidw01/first%20phase.jpg) and stayed the furthest man forward for the 2nd phase too (http://homepage.eircom.net/~gearoidw01/second%20phase.jpg). If Terry wasn't in that position Ricardo would have probably gotten to the ball (Terry's arm is stopping Ricardo from getting his feet off the ground):
http://homepage.eircom.net/~gearoidw01/Image165.jpg

Anyway, England were pushing their luck throughout the tournament, especially against Switzerland. Rooney was a huge help but he's not going to be the difference between them winning the world cup if they play like they did at Euro 2004. Rooney hs had not cast on his foot for 2 or 3 days now and he seems to be walking fine in normal shoes. With a month left I feel he might just be able to make at least the knockouts.

11/05/2006, 8:33 AM
England are an enigma. They have players that'd get into most international teams & have more ability to get goals from midfield than most teams.

They're incapable of playing a measured, tactical game but yet are always capable of goals.

The Croatia game cited above is a classic example. Conceding early was the best thing to happen to them. It put them on the front foot & by playing their usual direct football they imposed their style on Croatia and proved to be better.

I'm not sure if anything will have changed since 2004 but I thought England were shocking defending set pieces. Switzerland could have scored a hatful & Croatia scored from a corner (twice?). Robinson is a far better 'keeper than James, but in my opinion is very weak coping with a well struck inswinging free kick. If I was an opposition coach I'd highlight this as a major weakness.

On the flipside, I think it's exactly this type of free kick that I think England will get goals from, but in a way I'm surprised SWP wasn't picked as he's the kind of player that will win those frees. Continental refs will always give frees when a player like him goes to ground.

I think England CAN win but I'm (almost!) convinced that ultimately their style of play will not prevail against the higher level of technical skill that almost all of the other likely Q-finalists will have. What I saw of the UEFA Cup final last night and watching games like Chelsea vs Barcelona reinforce this opinion. Greece in 2004 was different. Large slices of luck (Spain & Russia should have buried them, Czechs too) helped them on their way, but even though they employed a similar Anglo-saxon type of game I think they were far better organised than England are.

Karlos
11/05/2006, 11:27 PM
You have a point overrall but I don't believe that that goal should have stood. At the time I must have watched the goal about a thousand times and took a load of stills. Something that wasn't noticed at all by the media was that Terry was actually offside. He ran into an offside position

There's definetly a case for the offside and I must admit I haven't seen the goal in a year or two. I did remeber Terry appearing to be in an offside position but honestly can't remember if he strayed after Campbell made contact with his head or not so I'll take your word on it as the images aren't that conclusive. :)

However I do know for certain that linesman's flag never went up and I'm not surprised at that as the penalty box was so crowded for the incident and any offside was marginal in a split second.

Either way I suppose my real issue is with the conscious deciscion the referree made and not the honest one he missed. There was no foul on the goalkeeper in my eyes and I'll never view that type of incident as a foul. It was a very soft descision to give to the home team. To give that type of foul everytime would effectively rule challenging for a header anywhere out on the field in my opinion. I would definetly feel hard done by if that had been us in that scenario. :)

Karlos
11/05/2006, 11:55 PM
Thanks to the recruitment policy of most English top flight teams, the national side finishes up with that situation. They shouldn't complain. When all top teams (Arsenal, Chelski...) tend to buy foreign strikers instead of young homegrown talents you just finish up with what you said macdermesser...;)

Am I the only one who finds this statement inaccurate? :)

Isn't Theo Walcott a direct result of a bigger club (i.e. Arsenal) who have invested heavily in a 'young homegrown talent'. The bigger clubs are spending more 'one-off' huge sums of money on UK players than most of their foreign players i.e Rooney, Walcott, Owen, SWP, Crouch, Defoe, Lampard, Cole et al.

Going further back you also had the likes of Fowler, Shearer, Andy Cole, Sutton,going to and being chased by the big clubs for astronomical fees.

The top clubs will certainly spend the money if the talent is available and that's the bigger issue I think. I can't remember the last time a really top young starting out english player went anywhere other than to a top English club - David Platt in 1990 maybe.

Arsenal, who I know a little about, are a club who have spent so much money on English youth in recent years with not too reward. There's an endless list of investments (some in the millions) made at that club that ended up having to be shipped off because they just weren't the right standard - Pennant, Upson, Thomas, Sidwell, Bentley, Bothroyd, I could go one forever.....I believe when we had a similar discussion before I checked the current reserve squad and there was no fewer than 9 English players at that time (and about a handful of Irish lads.)

It's a common misconception I believe that English clubs don't invest in English youth. I can't speak for the other big clubs but I imagine that when you walk around their training grounds you see the amount of english players and the type of time and effort being put into them by their clubs.

There's honestly not much more some of these clubs can do. If they are talented enough players will make it, and end up at Arsenal, United, Liverpool, Chelsea or Spurs. :)

12/05/2006, 9:05 AM
Arsenal, who I know a little about, are a club who have spent so much money on English youth in recent years with not too reward. There's an endless list of investments (some in the millions) made at that club that ended up having to be shipped off because they just weren't the right standard - Pennant, Upson, Thomas, Sidwell, Bentley, Bothroyd, I could go on forever
I wouldn't class Pennant or Upson not good enough. Pennant only played a few league games for Arsenal(if even that amount) and scored a hat-trick on his debut. He never got a look in at Arsenal and has proved this season that he has the potential to be an England international. The fact that his displays have been for a team that has been relegated. As soon as Upson left Arsenal and was playing regularly for Birmingham he was selected in the England squad. Arsenal did have talented English players and hopefully Walcott won't end up going down the same road as them.

londonirish17
12/05/2006, 10:53 AM
[QUOTE=KarlosIRL]Am I the only one who finds this statement inaccurate? :)

Isn't Theo Walcott a direct result of a bigger club (i.e. Arsenal) who have invested heavily in a 'young homegrown talent'. The bigger clubs are spending more 'one-off' huge sums of money on UK players than most of their foreign players i.e Rooney, Walcott, Owen, SWP, Crouch, Defoe, Lampard, Cole et al....
Ok, let's drop Arsenal than if that may please you. But what about Chelsea (SWP spends his time on the bench) ?
I was talking of strikers!
Sure the England side is full of quality they got a good keeper (just 1) good defenders, excellent midfield players, world class strikers but ONLY 2 OF THEM!
You can't seriously tell me that this is enought to win a world cup...
The basic problem is that Rooney is out due to injury and Owen is only at +/-75% and that's a fact.
Crouch is a nice guy but he won't lead England to success as won't Defoe (who is a very good PL player) or Walcott.
Anyway, most homegrown talents emerged (and do still today) from clubs like West Ham (Lampard, Cole...)

Karlos
12/05/2006, 11:09 AM
I wouldn't class Pennant or Upson not good enough. Pennant only played a few league games for Arsenal(if even that amount) and scored a hat-trick on his debut. He never got a look in at Arsenal and has proved this season that he has the potential to be an England international. The fact that his displays have been for a team that has been relegated. As soon as Upson left Arsenal and was playing regularly for Birmingham he was selected in the England squad. Arsenal did have talented English players and hopefully Walcott won't end up going down the same road as them.

I would personally class them as not good enough for a number of reasons, talent being a part of that but commitment & attitude aslo being highly relevant in the career of top club player. If they are good enough for Arsenal then they would and should be playing for a top 6 team. There's was very little interest in either player from within the top 6 clubs when they were being released in Pennant's case and asked for a move in Upson's. :)

A pedantic point I know, but just to point out that Pennant's hatrick was in his first start & not on his Arsenal debut. :)

Karlos
12/05/2006, 11:13 AM
Ok, let's drop Arsenal than if that may please you. But what about Chelsea (SWP spends his time on the bench) ?
I was talking of strikers!
Sure the England side is full of quality they got a good keeper (just 1) good defenders, excellent midfield players, world class strikers but ONLY 2 OF THEM!
You can't seriously tell me that this is enought to win a world cup...
The basic problem is that Rooney is out due to injury and Owen is only at +/-75% and that's a fact.
Crouch is a nice guy but he won't lead England to success as won't Defoe (who is a very good PL player) or Walcott.
Anyway, most homegrown talents emerged (and do still today) from clubs like West Ham (Lampard, Cole...)

It doesn't please me to drop Arsenal, I'm just trying to debate an issue sensibly that I disagree with. I used Arsenal as an example because it's what I'm knowledgeable on, I dodn't want a debate on Arsenal in the England thread. I'm making a point about the English league that was brought up in relation to the England squad. I never said anything about winning the world cup I don't think. As for strikers I believe I addressed that with the likes of Owen, Fowler, Defoe, Crouch, Rooney, Shearer, Sutton, Andy Cole etc used as examples. :)

You are right on the likes of West ham creating players and that never was in question, I was referring soley to the inaccurate synopsis in my opinion that the top english clubs won't buy young english players. I just disagree with you, that's all. :)

londonirish17
12/05/2006, 11:31 AM
It doesn't please me to drop Arsenal, I'm just trying to debate an issue sensibly that I disagree with. I used Arsenal as an example because it's what I'm knowledgeable on, I dodn't want a debate on Arsenal in the England thread. I'm making a point about the English league that was brought up in relation to the England squad. I never said anything about winning the world cup I don't think. As for strikers I believe I addressed that with the likes of Owen, Fowler, Defoe, Crouch, Rooney, Shearer, Sutton, Andy Cole etc used as examples. :)

You are right on the likes of West ham creating players and that never was in question, I was referring soley to the inaccurate synopsis in my opinion that the top english clubs won't buy young english players. I just disagree with you, that's all. :)

Well that's absolutely no problem Karlos ! That's why we use this forum:)

15/05/2006, 2:29 PM
I would personally class them as not good enough for a number of reasons, talent being a part of that but commitment & attitude aslo being highly relevant in the career of top club player. If they are good enough for Arsenal then they would and should be playing for a top 6 team. There's was very little interest in either player from within the top 6 clubs when they were being released in Pennant's case and asked for a move in Upson's. :)

A pedantic point I know, but just to point out that Pennant's hatrick was in his first start & not on his Arsenal debut. :)

Pennant is a messer. Waste of considerable talent.

17/05/2006, 8:04 AM
Arsenal came in for criticism this year for fielding no English players (Cole & Campbell were injured), not least from Alan Pardew. I think it was Liam Brady who correctly pointed out that it was pointless filling the side with English players if actually winning the league & doing well in the CL is Arsenal's priority. It's all well & good clubs like West Ham having an English core but finishing in the top half is a major success for West Ham, finishing 4th is a major disappointment for Arsenal. There are virtually no English regular international starters outside the top 4 and just look at how much a regular English international costs. Personally I'd prefer if Arsenal had more of a local core as it just makes them easier to relate to, but given the choice, I'd rather just see them do well.

Anyway, different point entirely, does anyone think Paraguay may be a much tougher game for England than they are banking on?

17/05/2006, 9:27 AM
Anyway, different point entirely, does anyone think Paraguay may be a much tougher game for England than they are banking on?
Without a doubt. I think England will get out of their group but Paraguay could easily do so too. They're better than Uruguay and Australia (a team Sven wanted to avoid) didn't seem any better than Uruguay in the playoff. From Paraguay's 2 games each against Brazil and Argentina they were only beaten once, in Brazil. They beat Argentina at home and drew away. Jose Cardozo is 35 and still going strong. :)

17/05/2006, 9:39 AM
I did a google search on Paraguay's results and only got selected results. If you have them, can you post their last 12-15 months' results up here pls? Have they had any friendlies since they qualified?

I noticed they beat Argentina & a lot of their players play in Argentina, Spain and Germany & at good clubs too. I just suspect they're being written off too easily over here. "Sure we beat them 3-0 in Mexico '86" and all that.

17/05/2006, 9:52 AM
http://www.rsssf.com/tables/2006q-det.html#sam

Full South American Qualifying details at link above. Santa Criz is probably their top player. Would expect England to bea them. I think England will lose to Sweden though meaning they'll finish 2nd in their group and play germany. At that stage the world cup will officially kick off... (Not that I'm not sying for the group games...)

17/05/2006, 9:54 AM
I did a google search on Paraguay's results and only got selected results. If you have them, can you post their last 12-15 months' results up here pls? Have they had any friendlies since they qualified?

Paraguay's results for quite some time available here: http://www.soccerbase.com/results2.sd?teamid=2008
Ah soccerbase, eases the pain.

17/05/2006, 10:46 AM
Thanks Dodge & Tets.

17/05/2006, 12:12 PM
If everything stays as it is (injuries wise), who should Sven start with in his opening game ? IMO think his best options would be

Robinson

Neville
Ferdinand
Carragher

Carrick

Beckham
Gerrard
Lampard

J.Cole
Crouch

17/05/2006, 12:29 PM
If everything stays as it is (injuries wise), who should Sven start with in his opening game ? IMO think his best options would be

Robinson

Neville
Ferdinand
Carragher

Carrick

Beckham
Gerrard
Lampard

J.Cole
Crouch
Crouch ahead of Owen? I'd prefer Gerrard behind the striker myself. Interesting to see Carragher at left back. Was excelent there a few years ago but he could suffer from a lack of games in the position.

18/05/2006, 8:20 AM
Crouch ahead of Owen? I'd prefer Gerrard behind the striker myself. Interesting to see Carragher at left back. Was excelent there a few years ago but he could suffer from a lack of games in the position.

Has Owen recovered from injury ? Carragher has to play, fantastic defender and he has played there before, brings a real steel to the liverpool and england defence when he plays. But in saying tyhat, after Ashley Coles' preformance last night..........

18/05/2006, 10:26 AM
Some of the stuff Sven has been saying is unreal. He doesn't appear to have a clue what he's doing. I still think England are capable of doing well despite him though.

18/05/2006, 12:38 PM
Has Owen recovered from injury?
Ye, he is fully fit now. Eriksson says he's at 100% now.

25/05/2006, 8:21 PM
Just watching the B international tonight. Lennon has being amazing down the right. Too bad Goldenballs is in his place or he would be pushing to start in the WC.

25/05/2006, 8:40 PM
Walcott has made an impession. Went on a good run and had a good effort saved.

25/05/2006, 8:41 PM
Oh ye it's 2-1 to Belarus. Jenas scored after 35mins and England were leading at half-time.

25/05/2006, 9:15 PM
Robert Green injured and out of the world cup, very unfortunate. Looks like they started 3 of the Spurs midfield. :) Anyone ever heard of the ref (D McKeown (Ireland))?

25/05/2006, 11:17 PM
Anyone ever heard of the ref (D McKeown (Ireland))?
That quote sums up a lot of what is wrong with this country nowadays - let me guess - you have no interest whatsoever in Irish Domestic Football :rolleyes:

tbh Dave is one of the better referees in the eL - he had a very good game (bordering on excellent tonight)

On the handball shout - if you see the replays (and also according to one of my England supporting mates) he had Crouch stood in his eyeline for the handball - in this situation it's Marc's shout on this one - Dave was even looking across to him asking for help.

26/05/2006, 7:09 AM
That quote sums up a lot of what is wrong with this country nowadays - let me guess - you have no interest whatsoever in Irish Domestic Football :rolleyes:
Would ye cop on ffs. For someone that doesn't seem to post in the Ireland forum you have no right to tell people who/what they can and can't support. If someone came onto the Ireland forum asking about a player that's relatively unknown then he'd get as much info as possible, he wouldn't be told to f off because he knows nothing about a Burnley bit part player. I watch every televised Eircom league game I can. I've been to Richmond park a few times over the last couple of years with my nephew and tbh, I couldn't tell you the name of 1 ref. I'll have to start studying a bit more if I'm to pass this test of yours.

I don't know where you live but I live in an area of Dublin where you'd find pretty much no fans of Eircom league sides. You might find a few that have "immigrated" from Ringsend but other than that it's all premiership/Cetlic fans. There's no one club that people can associate with and it's tough to actually start supporting an EL club unless it has been bred into you. I took it upon myself to go to a few Pats matches as they'd be the closest team to me but I've grown very little affection to them. Maybe I will in the years to come but it's not a thing of just switching on a switch in your head and you suddenly support someone. It's different when you're from, say, Cork or Sligo as you have a team representing a county that you have a lot off affection to (As I said a few times, in Cork Roy Keane is Corkman, in Dublin Damien Duff is an Irishman).

This is completely off topic but I can't believe you'd make an assumption like that and I had to respond.

26/05/2006, 10:15 AM
tbh, I couldn't tell you the name of 1 ref.
In fairness Reiteoir, I can't distinguish between the two McKeowns myself. Kelly, Buttimer, Hancock, and Daly as well as the McKeowns are the only eircom League officials I can think of off the top of my head.

Now, as a warning to others: eirebhoy was defending himself. I don't want this debate to got down the whole Premiership/Celtic/el road. It stops now.

26/05/2006, 10:21 AM
Rooney potentially 6 weeks away from training according to Sky Sports, so he'll miss the group stages
http://home.skysports.com/worldcup/article.asp?hlid=390098&CPID=4&clid=114&lid=2&title=ROONEY+OUT+OF+GROUP+STAGES