View Full Version : House-sharing tips...

18/04/2006, 8:33 AM
As a hardened verteran of the house sharing lark, and im due to be moving house soon for the umpteenth time, thought i’d ask for tips and share a few too for anyone stuck in the perilous world of the houseshare (froma blokes point of view of course)...

• Never live in a house where the girls outnumber the boys, any democratic decisions will be decided by the girls. End of. You will not win.
• Always make sure that there is at least one other male in your houseshare. A vital drinking buddy to watch the footy with and someone to bitch to about the rest of the housemates.
• Never, even if you are running low, borrow someone else’s milk, butter, ketchup etc. without their permission. They can spot it from a mile off. Even if you only thought about it.
•*In a communal tv living room situation, never say there’s football on the other channel, could you switch the station please. Again you will not win, let them watch their soaps, and go to the pub. In peace.
•*Lastly, but most importanlty. Never sh@g one of the housemates. (dont screw the crew). Limitless complications if you get dumped. Especially when she brins back other blokes.

any other vital tips?

18/04/2006, 9:36 AM
Never live with a couple, similar to the rule out being outnumbered by girls, every argument you have with one of them, you will have with both of them. And you will lose. Badly.
In my experience (I've lived in several shared houses) it's best if there's an equal number of boys and girls.
A cleaning rota only works if everyone agrees to it
If you're assigned one of the bills (gas/electricity/phone/tv/etc) when you pay it, staple the receipt to it and leave it where everyone can see it.
Before you move in ask if it's a smoking house, if you do and it isn't, it's not worth your while. If you don't and it is, it's just as bad.
Always remember the house is at its cleanest when they're trying to get someone to move in, it's not going to stay looking spotless.
If there's a game console in the house, try not to plug it into the main communal TV, even a small portable in the same room will save countless arguments - trust me on this one

18/04/2006, 9:46 AM
Find your own place as soon as you can afford to do so. Failing that, house-share with friends. IMO living with strangers is a no-no.

:ball: PP

18/04/2006, 10:11 AM
A few more...
• Never live in a house with somebody who actually owns it. Democracy goes out the window and any (ahem) guests will be given a short sharp stare by the landlady. and you’ll never see the lass again. Also any accidental breakage, you cant just sweep under the carpet, they will know about it.
• If anyone objects to you having a friend or friends over to stay, move out. I once had a good pal of mine over to stay for the weekend, the landlady (as above) refused point blank. moved out the next week in protest.
• Try to live in a house where everyone speaks the same first language. Was in a house in my early days here with a few Koreans who spoke good English. but nothing worse when they’d be in the living room speaking in Korean to their friends. Got me very paranoid that did.
• Try and stick to the time you normally take a shower in the morning. saves a lot of hassle.

Murph
18/04/2006, 12:00 PM
I find that leaving p*rn either in DVD or magazine format around a communal living room normally provokes reaction in a mixed house. Normally it just disappeares in an all male house!!!

Eire06
18/04/2006, 12:27 PM
Try not to live with boys and if you have to don't share a bathroom with them..
Their Idea of cleanliness means you can't see the dirt so its not there and there is always the 'boy' smell :o

18/04/2006, 12:35 PM
biggest tip i can offer. dont live with galway people. never mind galway girls

I find that leaving p*rn either in DVD or magazine format around a communal living room normally provokes reaction in a mixed house. Normally it just disappeares in an all male house!!!

i have found this too, hence you should leave it sprawled in the middle of the floor or, turn it on and leave the telly on low, then hide in your room till someone comes home and see the reaction unfold, along with your answer of "jees i wonder whose that is"

Roadend
18/04/2006, 2:27 PM
Any tips on how to get rid of somone from a house, someone you know a long time, but they just do not have the ability to live with other people.

18/04/2006, 2:33 PM
Not really, if you know this guy a quiet word to let him know the state of affairs might sort out the problem. We had to call the landlord in to get rid of one guy a while back, but none of us could stand living with him anymore and none of us knew or cared where he went.
Thing is, a few months later the gardai called to the house looking for him. More than once!

18/04/2006, 2:41 PM
Any tips on how to get rid of somone from a house, someone you know a long time, but they just do not have the ability to live with other people.
Have a phone in and see if you can get him voted out!:D

$Leon$
18/04/2006, 2:41 PM
biggest tip i can offer. dont live with galway people. never mind galway girls

Your right there had bad experience living with a pair of galway girls. No one else in the house liked them either. It got ugly towards the end.

18/04/2006, 3:50 PM
Your right there had bad experience living with a pair of galway girls. No one else in the house liked them either. It got ugly towards the end.

Best housemates I've had were definitely Aussies. An Aussie mate in Dublin when i shared with himself and his missus, non-stop parties, never slow to get the 'tinnies' out and barbies in the summer! Strangely enough, houseshare im in is sh!t with backstabbing and nagging galore, and they're mostly Irish which i originally thought after my other failed house shares in London would be just the trick! I was wrong!

18/04/2006, 5:58 PM
it depends, you gotta remember your out in kingston with a lot of the knob jockeys that frequent club 92 et all when they are home.

southside noses up knickers down types....so ye can see where its coming from...

19/04/2006, 9:04 AM
- Be weary if there is a landline in the house.
"Mystery" calls can appear on the bills which nobody claims they made!

- Agreed with "The Big Clean Up". The house is only clean when someone
is coming to view it.

- Housemates
It can be a right laugh sharing with students cos theres always a drinking buddy,
not so good when they invite half the college back to the gaff for a party and
its left to someone else to clean up. Or if you have to be up for work early and
theres people shouting theplace down till 5 in the morning

- Housesharing can get you into a rigid routine though, shower at a certain
time every morning, make dinner at a set time so the kitchen isnt crowded.
If you dare do anything at a different time then the place will turn into chaos

- Central heating!
I know people in a house share where some house mates have a tendency to
turn on the heating on a Firday evening after work, then heading off home for
the weekend and leaving the heating on. If its oil the tank will soon empty and
cost a lot to refill, if its gas the bills will be huge.

- In my experience cleaning rotas and kittys dont work cos niether are
adheard to. What I've seen happen is 1 persons cleaning day/week, everything
is left pile up until they can be bothered to clean, and so the places turns into a
pigsty. Better to clean as you go.

19/04/2006, 12:02 PM
it depends, you gotta remember your out in kingston with a lot of the knob jockeys that frequent club 92 et all when they are home..

Can indeed man... funny enough moving to North London this weekend, Hendon to be exact... also about landlines as well, a guy i once houseshared with, he left the house with no notice, ran up a €200 phone bill, (most to those naughty sort of lines) and stole money and house ornaments! the fcuker....:mad: :mad:

19/04/2006, 12:21 PM
ah good man pauro i now live in finchley central which is about 10 mins from there, but dont be going to that sh1te hole the claddagh...

19/04/2006, 1:27 PM
ah good man pauro i now live in finchley central which is about 10 mins from there, but dont be going to that sh1te hole the claddagh...

Been there. A dump! But its not a bad old area, i may meet for few pints with ya seeing as your only up the road, pm us your number if ya can, might have it or not as the case may be!

21/04/2006, 9:04 PM
Your right there had bad experience living with a pair of galway girls. No one else in the house liked them either. It got ugly towards the end.I'd say it was ugly throughout with Galway people;) :D.

The best tip is to get yer own place, it's the easiest way possible. Do what you want, when you want. Party in Carrick anyone?:cool:.

hamish
21/04/2006, 9:49 PM
One tip lads, never, ever, EVER, sh@g the landlady.

21/04/2006, 10:23 PM
One tip lads, never, ever, EVER, sh@g the landlady.Trust Hamish to top everybody's posts off. Hamish, yer a legend:D.

hamish
21/04/2006, 10:25 PM
Trust Hamish to top everybody's posts off. Hamish, yer a legend:D.

No, no, no - I wasn't referring to my own experience - happened to a friend.
Honestly.

21/04/2006, 10:26 PM
No, no, no - I wasn't referring to my own experience - happened to a friend.
Honestly.You do realise nobody is actually going to believe that, right?:p.

Dazzy
21/04/2006, 10:30 PM
No one does! :D

hamish
21/04/2006, 10:44 PM
Honest lads, on my gay dog's life, I swear.:o

Dazzy
22/04/2006, 8:42 PM
Honest lads, on my gay dog's life, I swear.:o

So how did the dog go then :D

hamish
22/04/2006, 9:55 PM
So how did the dog go then :D

Bunty is in a foul temper this evening - we've acquired a new dog (Tara) who's growing to be huge (has a bit of German Sherperd inside it) but very docile. Bunty doesn't like Tara one little bit - invading her territory I suppose.

Back on topic, problem with "getting close" to a landlady is that she can get possessive if you bring in a new girlfriend to the flat for a "visit" and there can sometimes be a paranoid husband too. It's not too bad if the hubby is a bit of a lad and plays away from home as I've found. Not me personally, I hastily add, a mate who shared the flat with me can testify to that.:)

Dazzy
22/04/2006, 10:05 PM
Still alive, so you actually told the truth:eek: :eek:

Gotta feel sorry for my mate, he is on his own living with 3 girls, dont know how he copes, they're just lucky that they are never around when all my mates are there, we would get him kicked out for sure :D plus you cant listen to them

22/04/2006, 10:37 PM
plus you cant listen to themAh now, the Derry accent isn't that bad Dazzy;) :p.

Dazzy
22/04/2006, 10:52 PM
Thats the problem they aint from Derry, just glad i dont live there :D

hamish
22/04/2006, 10:56 PM
Oh yeah, one thing I didn't like when sharing flat with girls - don't know about now but I used to hate going going into the bathroom and see wet tights hanging over the radiator. They always left a nice perfume smell though all throughout the place. Another thing I recall is that women were desperate for f.arting and they don't give a flying fcuk if you're eating or not- maybe that accounts for the perfume.

23/04/2006, 12:31 PM

Quality! :D Nearly happened me once, a girl i was house sharing with (complete snobby bitch, but anyway), she made a drunken pass at me while chatting away in the living room. I turned her down knowing the consequences, never the same since. Oh and another tip, when the landlady moves in her fancy man, move the hell out!

hamish
23/04/2006, 5:39 PM
Quality! :D Nearly happened me once, a girl i was house sharing with (complete snobby bitch, but anyway), she made a drunken pass at me while chatting away in the living room. I turned her down knowing the consequences, never the same since. Oh and another tip, when the landlady moves in her fancy man, move the hell out!

That's right Pauro - trouble from the bloke and the lady. Unless she wanted a DP - but that's another story.;)

24/04/2006, 1:51 PM
Bunty is in a foul temper this evening - we've acquired a new dog (Tara) who's growing to be huge (has a bit of German Sherperd inside it) but very docile. Bunty doesn't like Tara one little bit - invading her territory I suppose.

Kinda like Al Bunty then?:D :D :D

JoeSemi
24/04/2006, 11:36 PM

Or find handcuffs in the room she moved out of to let you sleep in:o

hamish
24/04/2006, 11:47 PM
Or find handcuffs in the room she moved out of to let you sleep in

:eek: Go on Joe Semi - tell us more. G'wan:D

Kinda like Al Bunty then?

I guess so LOL:D - only Al Bundy was straight but I get you

heh heh

JoeSemi
25/04/2006, 10:54 AM
:eek: Go on Joe Semi - tell us more. G'wan

Ah, all I'll say is that Don Vito brought them to the freshers ball with him
and there were young wans trapped for the night with him........!! A skip of Druids ensured he was as determined as be damned:rolleyes:

Over to you Don:cool:

hamish
25/04/2006, 12:13 PM
Ah, all I'll say is that Don Vito brought them to the freshers ball with him
and there were young wans trapped for the night with him........!! A skip of Druids ensured he was as determined as be damned:rolleyes:

Over to you Don:cool:

Now, you're teasing us - that's very mysterious.:D

$Leon$
25/04/2006, 1:28 PM
For a change this one is true.When Joe moved into digs he got the landlady's old room. One day he found a pair of handcuffs in the back of the wardrobe. And they were brought out on a night on the town.

hamish
25/04/2006, 7:48 PM
For a change this one is true.When Joe moved into digs he got the landlady's old room. One day he found a pair of handcuffs in the back of the wardrobe. And they were brought out on a night on the town.

Good, glad I'm not the only one who had a randy landlady - they do exist.:D

25/04/2006, 7:58 PM
Good, glad I'm not the only one who had a randy landlady - they do exist.:D
Would a Bean an tí be considered a landlady?:D If it is, then 'Up Galway' has a whole new meaning.:eek:

hamish
25/04/2006, 8:14 PM
Would a Bean an tí be considered a landlady?:D If it is, then 'Up Galway' has a whole new meaning.

Tell ya the truth, OSO, there are Galway folks here who just might - know/be related to/be a neigbour of - my landlady when I was in Galway. I have great stories which, honest to God, were a young lads fantasy come true, I'd love to load them but for the reasons above, but I really can't. You wouldn't believe some of the sceals I could tell you and it was in the 70s too.
I mean, it's a small country.
Jesus, that flat had everything, randy landlady, nympho nurses, visiting wives playing away from home, gallons of free drink the first night we arrived, poitin and we only paid rent for two weeks out of the two and a half years we stayed there. She wouldn't take the money - husband was loaded. When I think back, it was a Carry On film come true.:D
As that English journalists says, "you couldn't make it up".:eek:

25/04/2006, 8:43 PM
I believe you 'hamish, that's why I asked the question.1978 was a year I'll never forget. And Connemara of all fcuking places.:D
*My first pint of Guinness, ye dirty minded feckers*

JoeSemi
25/04/2006, 10:52 PM

I'd say half the problem was not getting near enough to batter the auld sausage.

Its tough at the top, but even tougher at the bottom.......don't forget that!;)

Any chance you'll fill the lads in on your encounter with a lady in uniform?:D ........or is that too sore a point?!

hamish
25/04/2006, 11:47 PM
I believe you 'hamish, that's why I asked the question.1978 was a year I'll never forget. And Connemara of all fcuking places.:D
*My first pint of Guinness, ye dirty minded feckers*

Oh sh!te, my landlady and her husband was from Connemara - in your case. her initials weren't GF???:eek:

JoeSemi
25/04/2006, 11:57 PM

I really don't think you were all there that night Leon so its best stay quiet ....or we'll tell all about your encounter with a skanky wan in a uniform.

Handcuffs, baton, uniform, t-shirt ?!:confused: .........try and recall that night before you start spoutin sh!te. What comes out of most peoples ar$es comes out of your mouth generally.

Pipe down like a good lad:mad:

hamish
26/04/2006, 12:00 AM
C'mon Joe Semi/Leon - out with it - you two have me and Strangeirish going nuts wondering about what you two were up to and who the wans were..
I mean UNIFORMS:eek: - are we talking role playing here???;)
heh heh:D

JoeSemi
26/04/2006, 12:17 AM
C'mon Joe Semi/Leon - out with it - you two have me and Strangeirish going nuts wondering about what you two were up to and who the wans were..
I mean UNIFORMS - are we talking role playing here?

For Leon's birthday in 2nd year we hired a lovely lady from Ballymun to put manners on him and she found it hard! A few things anyway.......:p

Baton, uniform, handcuffs, a very large attendance, security(!) on the door, friends, aquaintances......you name it, and he wasn't grateful in the least the aul f€cker:rolleyes: They came from far and wide to see Leon become a man; but they found a mouse instead and left slightly disappointed!!

We decked out the lads flat, packed the place solid and he still wasn't grateful. Everyone was wondering who this legend was who had the massive party with 'Patricia the Stripper' and he still moaned.

If only you knew half of it hamish. The man could have become a legend put is currently a leg end. We'll sort him out yet, hopefully!

P.S: We're keeping everything crossed tbh.:ball:

hamish
26/04/2006, 12:26 AM
LOL:D That man needs a spanking - where's Green Tribe when you need her.

Remember the same thing happening when a mate of mine was "arrested" by some Athlone bird in our local, masquerading as a Bean Garda. (She was masquerading, not our mate). He was sure he'd get off with her after she disrobed but she was just a bored student making a few bob on the side. Great big t!ts though.:) -and we've been telling him to go on a diet for years.:D

26/04/2006, 8:30 AM
oh and another tip! When your leaving your house make sure the guy who replaces you actually moves in and gives you back your deposit. The guy replacing me down my old gaff has fecked off apparantly and my month's deposit is now in doubt! :eek:

26/04/2006, 10:15 AM
A good tip is to move in with 2 ex boyfriends coz then u r not tempted to go over old ground. A bad tip is to move in with someone from Kinsale who insists on tea from a tea pot in china cups and leaves mouldy alpen lying around for weeks.

Another good tip is to find out how many women have gotten pregnant in the bed u will be using.....3 in my old one that I know of!