View Full Version : Am I Racist

Pages : 1 2 [3] 4

23/02/2006, 10:32 AM
I don't think it's a case of non-nationals not being willing to learn the language but rather them being employed while in the early stages of learning English. In my local newagents the staff became all Chinese about three years ago and you used not to be able to communicate in the slightest down there. The same people are in place three years later and speak adequate English now. I've lived in Slovenia for many months without being able to communicate and you feel like an impotent fool. You can't do basic things like go shopping and get something at the deli or have to avoid eye contact in the elevator in case someone says "nice weather" and you don't no how to respond. I don't think anyone willingly wants to be unable to communicate.

so really wahat your saying is for me to go back to the store in 3 years and they might have learned english.

liam88
23/02/2006, 10:34 AM
Not disagreeing with your sentiments but this passage is untrue. The VAST majority of nonEU nationals in Ireland are voluntarily migrant
This is what i'm getting at - "voluntarily migrant" is a misunderstood term.

If someone is "voluntarily migrant" it means they probably wern't raped in a Shanghai Jail for shouting Free Tibet, or attacked by Burmese soldiers because they have the wrong surname but still the majority of "voluntarily migrant" people had to leave for more indirect reasons such as poverty/opression/lack of opportunity.
all "voluntarily migrant" really means is they wern't chased over a boarder. 99% of the time though the will have left their home because it was poor, their family was trying to force them into an arranged marriage, there was sever opression/lack of press freedom etc. or soemthing along these lines.
If the palces the people were coming from were such havens why would they be wanting to leave? The answer is that they wouldn't!
The majority of migrants from China would be termed "voluntarily migrants" simply because they wern't chased out-but let's be honest; living in China wouldn't you take the first oppurtunity to get to Ireland or the UK.

These people haven't come to Ireland for the decent chips or to England so they could live near Buckingham palace-they have come because they want to have an oppurtunity, make some money and live in a democracy-thigns that every human being deserves.

Jamaican PM-what's you opinion on nick griffin?n Just out of inteterest?

23/02/2006, 10:35 AM
so really wahat your saying is for me to go back to the store in 3 years and they might have learned english.

Yes, that's exactly what I said.

liam88
23/02/2006, 10:37 AM
my friend from Burma is picking up English like anything through working! He came 3 years ago but he's been fluent for a while now-give people who come to Ireland/UK a chance to learn the language yea?

Den Perry
23/02/2006, 10:42 AM
my friend from Burma is picking up English like anything through working! He came 3 years ago but he's been fluent for a while now-give people who come to Ireland/UK a chance to learn the language yea?

give them a chance...but not to my detriment ok?

23/02/2006, 10:48 AM

With all due respect unless you have some magic formula for learning a language the only way to be able to learn one to be able to use it adequately is through being immersed in it and having to be thrown in at the deep end.

23/02/2006, 11:03 AM

It'd be a lot more to your detriment if we didn't have these migrant workers willing to work s*it hours for s*it pay!!!!

23/02/2006, 11:10 AM
Did you study that case where the court had to determine whether Sheiks wre a race?

Den, you need to pay more attention in class. The case concerned the racial status of Sikhs rather than Sheikhs.

:ball: PP

Drumcondra Red
23/02/2006, 11:12 AM
Yes, its racist

Den Perry
23/02/2006, 11:20 AM
Den, you need to pay more attention in class. The case concerned the racial status of Sikhs rather than Sheikhs.

Yes Paddy I was chatting up the bird next to me back then....even in the tutorial that we dedicated to that case! what was the name of the case again? As far as I remember, the whole race thing was a side issue wasn't it?

"He who comes to Equity must come with clean hands".....Lord Denning, Re: High Trees House

Den Perry
23/02/2006, 11:22 AM
It'd be a lot more to your detriment if we didn't have these migrant workers willing to work s*it hours for s*it pay!!!!

Don't thnk so.......

23/02/2006, 11:22 AM

What detriment, it takes you 5 minutes instead of 2 to get a packet of crisps???. Boo ****ing hoo

This is what i'm getting at - "voluntarily migrant" is a misunderstood term.
Its not an official term, I just used due to a poot vocabulary

If someone is "voluntarily migrant" it means they probably wern't raped in a Shanghai Jail for shouting Free Tibet, or attacked by Burmese soldiers because they have the wrong surname but still the majority of "voluntarily migrant" people had to leave for more indirect reasons such as poverty/opression/lack of opportunity.
all "voluntarily migrant" really means is they wern't chased over a boarder. 99% of the time though the will have left their home because it was poor, their family was trying to force them into an arranged marriage, there was sever opression/lack of press freedom etc. or soemthing along these lines.
Seriously, you reading too many academic journals. I worked in the area, you are wrong.

If the palces the people were coming from were such havens why would they be wanting to leave? The answer is that they wouldn't!
Why are there so many Irish in Australia?

I'm not trying to be personal Liam but you really can't comment on real life politiks until you've lived a little

23/02/2006, 11:26 AM
Don't thnk so.......

Who do you think would work in the 24 hour garages etc. if these migrants weren't-cos irish people sure aren't willing to!!

you feel like an impotent fool. You can't do basic things like go shopping and get something at the deli

Exactly how it is for english speaking customers in a lot of shops in this country

Den Perry
How many irish in Australia or the USA get free state benefits?

Den Perry
23/02/2006, 11:29 AM

Who do you think would work in the 24 hour garages etc. if these migrants weren't-cos irish people sure aren't willing to!!

Well maybe the wages would not be so low if these people were not willing to work for them. Oh and please do not think me a rascist just because I have some "conservative" beliefs

Den Perry
23/02/2006, 11:32 AM
What detriment, it takes you 5 minutes instead of 2 to get a packet of crisps???. Boo ****ing hoo

Yes, and why should I wait five minutes because the person who is supposed to be at my service is too rude to speak English (or Gaeilge) to me?......and I don't eat crisps, cadbury's cream eggs are my thing

23/02/2006, 11:33 AM
How many irish in Australia or the USA get free state benefits?
way more than non Eu citizens living here. And we're talking about people who are working for a living

23/02/2006, 11:34 AM
Well maybe the wages would not be so low if these people were not willing to work for them. Oh and please do not think me a rascist just because I have some "conservative" beliefs

For it to be profitible for a garage to stay open overnight the wages have to be fairly low- otherwise the garages just wont bother....

23/02/2006, 12:42 PM
Yes Paddy I was chatting up the bird next to me back then....even in the tutorial that we dedicated to that case! what was the name of the case again? As far as I remember, the whole race thing was a side issue wasn't it?

Your ignorance and not just in this post is no laughing matter to me Den. It certainly helps to explain your blinkered attitude though.

"He who comes to Equity must come with clean hands".....Lord Denning, Re: High Trees House

People in glass houses shouldn't throw stones. You don't need to be a Law Lord to work that one out.

It's also worth remembering that reproducing quotes from learned people doesn't of itself accord you the same status or intelligence. On the evidence I don't think we'd struggle to differentiate between the quality of your thoughts and those of others.

anto1208
23/02/2006, 1:11 PM
im glad to see that most of the people posting here are sensible and while they may get upset the odd time with a foriegner not having a total grasp of the language ,they understand that they have nt had the FREE education or oportunities that we have to learn an other language and cut them a little slack .

anyway ye act like this is new there is a shop run by a little old lady near me and most of the time you have to repeat yourself and point out stuff to her ,its not a big deal .

I think some of the questions are a bit misleading. For instance, asking whether a certain race is better at sports than another race. In my opinion, suggesting that black people are better athletes than Indian or Pakastani athletes seems logical.

I wouldnt worry about it. In terms of what society perceives as being racist, its fair to say that I am a racist. However, that doesn't concern me.

max power and the jamacan pm ye are dirty racists no if buts or maybe's about it . ye dont consider yourselfs to be in the wrong but racists rarely due the KKK think there right too , as do nazi's and they dont concern themselfs with what society thinks either .

that nonsence about black athletes highlights your ignorance , some black athletes are faster some are slower ,just because they are black does nt mean they will be faster , by your lodgic if you had a race with 100 people 50 black 50 idian the first 50 would all be black which is so stupid i dont know where to start on that logic as you call it .

at what stage does some one stop being a foreigner , if there parents are african but they are born here do you consider them as foreigners ? even if they speak a different language look different from you are they now irish .

23/02/2006, 1:19 PM
max power and the jamacan pm ye are dirty racists no if buts or maybe's about it . ye dont consider yourselfs to be in the wrong but racists rarely due the KKK think there right too , as do nazi's

sorry but thats going a bit far and i take deep offence to that.

never mention the jam pm in the same breath as me:D

what draws you to say that as a matter of interest ????

i dont wish death on any person, such as the nazi or kkk, i have no problem with a member of my family being involved in a mixed race sitution.

i have no problem engaging with people from other countries.

i do however have a problem with going into a store and the person in there not being able to speak english.

klein4
23/02/2006, 1:23 PM
I think anyone who even uses the term "mixed race situation" should be made sign on at their local garda station every week......:eek:

23/02/2006, 1:34 PM
But still wished every foreigner in the country would **** off home max...

Passive
23/02/2006, 1:41 PM
I haven't had time to read through the whole thread but I don't think it's fair to say that you get annoyed when shop workers don't speak English. Admittedly, the extent to which Chinese students have taken over the service industry is remarkable, but lots of Irish students go to the continent and work in shops and pubs as a way to learn the language. I've never experienced a language barrier in a shop that I couldn't easily get around.

23/02/2006, 1:59 PM
I've never experienced a language barrier in a shop that I couldn't easily get around.

But you're not a racist who pops out to his local Spar looking to be annoyed because the minimum wage Latvian behind the counter can't understand your accent.

I gave Max Power the benefit of the doubt in an earlier post but this entire thread is full of half-baked quasi-racist nonsense from Max and a few others. very depressing stuff.

anto1208
23/02/2006, 2:10 PM
sorry but thats going a bit far and i take deep offence to that

never mention the jam pm in the same breath as me:D

what draws you to say that as a matter of interest ????

i dont wish death on any person, such as the nazi or kkk, i have no problem with a member of my family being involved in a mixed race sitution.

i have no problem engaging with people from other countries.

i do however have a problem with going into a store and the person in there not being able to speak english.

as im sure the poor guy that gets told to f@ck off back home take great offence ,

in fairness i probibly should nt have included you with jam pm at least you have questioned your actions in an atempt to find out whether your in the wrong or not , wishing all foreigners to feck off back to where ever they came from because 1 person that you met in a low paid unskilled job was nt able to speak brilliant english is an over reaction .why do you want to send back all the fluent hard working guys that are keeping this country going boosting our economy . remember this guy isnt taking anything from the state none of your tax euro's go into his pocket in fact he is helping by paying tax etc .

we have plenty of irish spongers here that "just dont feel like working god bless them" as flanders would say that deserve our anamosity before some hard working guy just trying to do an honest days work ,

23/02/2006, 2:12 PM
But still wished every foreigner in the country would **** off home max...

Once as a thought in my head, it is not a belief i have every day.

23/02/2006, 2:24 PM

I've gone into shops in Dundalk where the staff spoke some strange language. I didn't lose the rag over it though, just concluded my business with a lot of pointing and gesturing. Technically their race was Irish but they couldn't speak English. :D

23/02/2006, 2:30 PM
least maxpower questioned his actions in an atempt to find out whether he's in the wrong or not
. . . . . . .. . . . . . . . .
remember this guy isnt taking anything from the state none of your tax euro's go into his pocket in fact he is helping by paying tax etc .
. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .
we have plenty of irish spongers here that "just dont feel like working god bless them" as flanders would say that deserve our anamosity before some hard working guy just trying to do an honest days work
Great post, even my macroeconomics lecturer (lover and contributor of The Capitalist Magazine who views refugees as 'disposable labour at the true equilibrium wage' ie below minimum wage) says we need 50,000 foreign nationals in the next two to three years to maintain our tertiary sector ie, flip burgers etc.

Yet still you hear this "me son's sitting at home with no job and and all these ref-u-geees gets all the jobs."
Your son simply prefers Dr.Phil to working.

We've jobs for everyone.

anto1208
23/02/2006, 4:05 PM
i got this email a long time ago but thought it was relevant to this topic ( feel free to delete is considered spam)

If you've learned to speak fluent English, you must be a genius! This
little treatise on the lovely language is only for the brave. Peruse at
your leisure, English lovers. Reasons why the English language is so
hard to learn:

* The bandage was wound around the wound.
* The farm was used to produce produce.
* The dump was so full that it had to refuse more refuse.
* We must polish the Polish furniture.
* He could lead if he would get the lead out.
* The soldier decided to desert his dessert in the desert
* Since there is no time like the present, he thought it was time
to present the present.
* A bass was painted on the head of the bass drum.
* When shot at, the dove dove into the bushes.
* I did not object to the object.
* The insurance was invalid for the invalid.
* There was a row among the oarsmen about how to row.
* They were too close to the door to close it.
* The buck does funny things when the does are present.
* A seamstress and a sewer fell down into a sewer line.
* To help with planting, the farmer taught his sow to sow
* The wind was too strong to wind the sail
* After a number of injections my jaw got number.
* Upon seeing the tear in the painting I shed a tear.
* I had to subject the subject to a series of tests
* How can I intimate this to my most intimate friend?
* There is no egg in eggplant nor ham in hamburger; (ask our
American cousins about that as we call them aubergines and beefburgers)
neither apple nor pine in pineapple.

* English muffins weren't invented in England or French fries in
France (Surprise!).
* Sweetmeats are candies (sweets to us Brits) while sweetbreads,
which aren't sweet, are meat (The naughty bits).
* Quicksand works slowly, boxing rings are square and a guinea pig
is neither from Guinea nor is it a pig.
* And why is it that writers write but fingers don't fing, grocers
don't groce, and hammers don't ham?
* If the plural of tooth is teeth, why isn't the plural of booth
beeth? One goose, 2 geese.
So one moose, 2 meese? Doesn't it seem crazy that you can make
amends but not one amend.
* If you have a bunch of odds and ends and get rid of all but one
of them,what do you call it? Is it an odd, or an end?

* If teachers taught, why didn't preachers praught?
* If a vegetarian eats vegetables, what does a humanitarian eat?
* In what language do people recite at a play and play at a
recital?
* Ship by lorry and send cargo by ship?
* Have noses that run and feet that smell?
* How can a slim chance and a fat chance be the same, while a wise
man and a wise guy are opposites?
* You have to marvel at the unique lunacy of a language in which
your house can burn up as it burns down, in which you fill in a form by
filling it out,and in which, an alarm goes off by going on.

* English was invented by people, not computers, and it reflects
the creativity of the human race, which, of course, is not a race at
all.

* That is why, when the stars are out, they are visible,but when
the lights are out, they are invisible

23/02/2006, 8:42 PM
But you're not a racist who pops out to his local Spar looking to be annoyed because the minimum wage Latvian behind the counter can't understand your accent.
There's a world of a difference between someone not being able to understand you and rudeness from someone in the services industry. I was in a garage recently, and I asked the Chinese guy behind the counter if they had any lozenges (I had a cold). He didn't understand, but quickly picked up on what I meant and gave me some Hacks. He then asked me to repeat the first word I'd used. That guy was polite, and more importantly, he was trying - that's the difference.

@anto1208, you'll see hackers and assorted computer nerds sometimes refer to Linux "boxen"*. I find it very amusing.

* Scientists and engineers often refer to PCs as "machines" ("I have the simulation running on a dozen machines") or "boxes" ("I have that on the Windows box downstairs"), and will distinguish between operating systems like that.

23/02/2006, 8:52 PM
Went into a 24 shop last night and they had a new bloke working there - some foreign chap but very pleasant and friendly. He had a problem with names that sounded similar though.
I asked for a couple of bars of whole nut chocolate but he went sifting around the meat sector, came back and said, "Sorry, no whole meat".:D
Then after I managed to get it across it was chocolate he got the message.Then I asked for firelighters and he gave me cigarette lighters. Got that sorted too when I pointed to the arear where the firelighters were.
I then asked for two packs of 20 Silk Cut King Size Purple. He first brought out a 10 pack of the small Silk Cut Blue. Eventually got that sorted too.:confused:

Is you name Ronnie? Was his name Ronnie? :D

If management does nor employ people who speak english & you have a problem with then it is managements fault. I find the the eastern european service industry employees the best of the foreigners. I think some people come from cultures where queueing isn't the norm - when in Spain i've seen locals unable to form a queue in the supermarket & appear quiet rude.

There is certainly a big difference in the way irish people see foreigners of different races - chinese & eastern european versus african.

Should the state have public education programmes to educate foreigners to the ways of the irish? (cue sarcastic comments on drinking etc...)

23/02/2006, 10:13 PM
There is certainly a big difference in the way irish people see foreigners of different races - chinese & eastern european versus african.

Sadly, it's a pigment of our imagination.:eek: ;)

Dr.Nightdub
23/02/2006, 11:21 PM
I think some people come from cultures where queueing isn't the norm

One of the things that always makes me laugh about this country is the queues for buses. Everyone waits in a reasonably straight line starting at the bus stop, then along comes the bus and whooooosh! - scrum around the door. God love the Irish, we picked up on 90% of the concept of queuing but then blew it at the end.

As for the comments in the thread:
- If you call someone a w@nker, you're frustrated. If you call someone a black w@nker or a Polish w@nker, you're racist.
- If you want foreigners to fcuk off back to where they came from, you're a racist. To be a consistent racist, you should also avoid going to other people's countries - EVER.
- To be REALLY consistent, you should demand that all the Irish who emigrated to other countries should in turn come back to Ireland, along with all their descendants. Then the queue in your local Centra will be far far worse than it is just because the bloke behind the counter hasn't got great English.
- The points about English being hard to learn are well made. What no-one's pointed out is that to learn English, the Chinese working in the service industry first have to learn a whole different ALPHABET.
- We'll be entitled to criticise people for not understanding English when we learn to speak it. Examples: th- and -ing.

23/02/2006, 11:40 PM
ok dont know what why to approch this but here goes,

does it get up anyone elses nose that when you walk into a store and ask for soemthing of a member of staff that they stare at you as if you have two heads, a lot of workers have no english and i personally feel its a bacis right to walk into a shop and for the staff to be able to speak the same language as you.

maybe its more the employers fault for not insisting that all staff members have a basic level of english, perhaps its just their sheer greed in wanting to raise the profit margin by reducing wage levels.

one light recently i was in store in dublin and i had a problem with something, i asked the staff for the name of and number of the manager as he was not on duty at the time, here is the response i was given.....

"you write it down, its your language". i nearly fell over, i was so pi$$ed off that anyone could say that to me, afterall i go to work in france i learn french etc.

at that moment i wished every foreigner in the land would just fcuk off home.

now maybe this was a flash in the pan moment but i do have problems with certain other aeras of foreign society within this country which i dont want to go into at the mo cause i'll be here all day.

BUT

i do have similar problems with irish people, so i ask, just because those others are foreign nationals of different race and colour , would i be conisdered a racist :confused:

I agree with you Max Power. It's an absolute disgrace that Irish people in this country can't even go into a shop and order something in their national language - Gaelic.

Not only can they not do it in Dublin - they can't even in areas with large Gaelic speaking populations. And if they get fecked off with it and lash out at someone, the Garda who comes to take them into custody will more than likely not be able to arrest them in their own language (thanks to recent changes by the government). And when they finally have their day in court, they don't even have the right to have their trial conducted in their national language either.

There are too many Irish people in this country walking around speaking a foreign language. I wish they'd all feck off to England where they linguistically belong......

Now read again what you wrote above and go figure....

Wiseguy
24/02/2006, 10:34 AM
I've skipped through most of the posts but what strikes me the most is that in this country you can't open your mouth about a non national without being accused of being a racist.Everyone is so P.C. these days it's gone beyond a joke.The fact of the matter is that there is a certain way that we live and behave in this country and what we accept as good manners and everyone should abide by that.If non nationals have a problem with that then perhaps Ireland is not the country for them.What concerns me the most is that some non nationals come over here for the free ride, expect to carry on the traditions they had in their own country & accuse people of being racist if somebdy questions it.I can assure you that if you went to some of their countries and carried on like you carry on here you would either be jailed or deported.Certain countries have certain laws and ways to live and although you keep your identity and as many traditions as you can you abide by the laws and respect the customs of society.

24/02/2006, 10:46 AM
YOu really should have read the thread first. NOBODY expects anything less than decent manners FROM everybody. Regardless of the factors/people involved. If someone is rude, they're rude. full stop

24/02/2006, 10:49 AM
I agree with you Max Power. It's an absolute disgrace that Irish people in this country can't even go into a shop and order something in their national language - Gaelic.

Not only can they not do it in Dublin - they can't even in areas with large Gaelic speaking populations. And if they get fecked off with it and lash out at someone, the Garda who comes to take them into custody will more than likely not be able to arrest them in their own language (thanks to recent changes by the government). And when they finally have their day in court, they don't even have the right to have their trial conducted in their national language either.

There are too many Irish people in this country walking around speaking a foreign language. I wish they'd all feck off to England where they linguistically belong......

Now read again what you wrote above and go figure....

No need i knew someone would post that at some stage.

24/02/2006, 10:53 AM
I've skipped through most of the posts but what strikes me the most is that in this country you can't open your mouth about a non national without being accused of being a racist.Everyone is so P.C. these days it's gone beyond a joke.The fact of the matter is that there is a certain way that we live and behave in this country and what we accept as good manners and everyone should abide by that.If non nationals have a problem with that then perhaps Ireland is not the country for them.What concerns me the most is that some non nationals come over here for the free ride, expect to carry on the traditions they had in their own country & accuse people of being racist if somebdy questions it.I can assure you that if you went to some of their countries and carried on like you carry on here you would either be jailed or deported.Certain countries have certain laws and ways to live and although you keep your identity and as many traditions as you can you abide by the laws and respect the customs of society.

Now i consider that to be more racist than anything i've said.

klein4
24/02/2006, 10:58 AM
surely good manners would be making people as welcome as possible?

Mad Moose
24/02/2006, 12:07 PM
I've skipped through most of the posts but what strikes me the most is that in this country you can't open your mouth about a non national without being accused of being a racist.Everyone is so P.C. these days it's gone beyond a joke.The fact of the matter is that there is a certain way that we live and behave in this country and what we accept as good manners and everyone should abide by that.If non nationals have a problem with that then perhaps Ireland is not the country for them.

There was a whole debate on the Ray D'arcy show one morning on the subject of non-nationals.It stemmed from news updates where if someone who arrived here from another country for example died in a road accident or commited a crime they were referred to as non-nationals. There is no such thing as a non-national, everybody has a nationality and why was it so hard to refer to them as been a native of a particular country, Latvian national for example, Lithuanian national, Nigerian national etc. This to me may well have been considered slightly racist but this was the term used by none other than General McDowell. I mean I wouldnt like to be referred to as a non national if I chose to relocate for part of my life in Scotland for example. Personally i meet the same level of ignorance from as many native clannish Donegal people than I do of new arrivals. I have a friend who arrived from Bosnia and I dont blame his leaving there when he did.He has struggled to integrate and i've been inclined to inform him that thats not him but rather where he is and the people he is amongst.Christ I'm fom no more than a hundred miles further south and I would never call this home.

Brendan

24/02/2006, 12:24 PM
Now i consider that to be more racist than anything i've said.

Moderator: Please do not quote complete posts when responding.

24/02/2006, 12:52 PM
why i was refering to the complete post :confused:

and you just quoted my complete post too !

Wiseguy
24/02/2006, 1:37 PM
There was a whole debate on the Ray D'arcy show one morning on the subject of non-nationals.It stemmed from news updates where if someone who arrived here from another country for example died in a road accident or commited a crime they were referred to as non-nationals. There is no such thing as a non-national, everybody has a nationality and why was it so hard to refer to them as been a native of a particular country, Latvian national for example, Lithuanian national, Nigerian national etc.
Brendan

I used the term Non-National for a reason.If i was to name every nationality i would be here all bloody day typing.In general i don't have a problem with most of them that come into this country.For the most part they are a welcome addition and most have settled into Irish life and society quite well but some do refuse to accept that this is the way we live in Ireland and expect us to bend over just to accommodate them.I always believe in making people feel welcome but it works both ways and i do know what i am talking about believe me.I also know from experience from being in other countries that you have to adopt some of their traditions and ways of day to day living as not to offend people.When you do this you are made feel welcome in most cases.Most people i know would as the saying goes " when in Rome, live like a roman " and i expect the same from those who come to Ireland.Surely it's not that big of a deal and just common courtesy.

Mad Moose
24/02/2006, 1:50 PM
I used the term Non-National for a reason.

No I understand your use of the term and I just want to link it to the fact the term has been considered racist and if not at least inappropriate.Its funny to hear McDowell use it. I take your point on how people should behave but I dont see much difference, its pretty much the changing face of Ireland, people give so little time to courtesy nowadays.Its a race for time and its very much a country that has to adapt to its wealth without losing its values.Not sure if I'm the only one who has seen the change.This country has lost so much of its values, its become a particularly greedy country and people just race to get ahead. Not trying to generalise but I can understand how difficult it must be for somebody to settle here in this country.Perhaps in most circumstances they are counting their blessings.I agree that people,if right was right, would respect the people whom they have come to live amongst.It used to be so funny walking down Parnell Street on the way to college.The change was incredible.

Brendan

24/02/2006, 2:02 PM

Best post on this thread so far.
Non-Nationals have no right to gripe about not being able to fit in if they do not attempt to adopt even the simplest of our customs like queueing or having road tax and insurance.
also a considerable amount of non-national's(Notice Iam not generalising here)
are less than desirable citizen's ie. Criminals in their own countries who want to continue thare criminal ways here. for instance and correct me if I'm wrong
but I'm pretty sure I'd never heard of Crack Cocaine being available in Ireland until reletivley recently and of the seizures that gardai have made the vast majority of arrests made in connection have been people of west African origin. now I dont think I'm racist to say I do not want people like that being allowed to come here If I had my way the irish dealers in death would be deported too
Also the majority of credit card and Identity theft over the Internet originates in Nigeria and Eastern Europe.anyone see a pattern emerging here? I would like to reiterate that I have no Problem with any decent person of any race or creed coming here and contributing to Irish society what I have a problem with is Organised Criminals being given a Carte Blanche to set up their empire's here. Also why do these people come to Ireland as opposed to any other european country? It's not for the Guinness. It is no coincidence that we have the one of the if not the most lucrative Social Welfare systems and the least efficent immigration systems

Passive
24/02/2006, 2:02 PM
some non nationals come over here for the free ride, expect to carry on the traditions they had in their own country & accuse people of being racist if somebdy questions it.

Oh look, there's Jesus. And he's weeping.

Passive
24/02/2006, 2:11 PM
I'm pretty sure I'd never heard of Crack Cocaine being available in Ireland until reletivley recently and of the seizures that gardai have made the vast majority of arrests made in connection have been people of west African origin.

Do you realise how many thousands of Nigerians are in Ireland?

And do you realise how few people are involved in the aforementioned drug dealing?

Now do you realise what a stupid comment that is?

You can't base your immigration policy on the fact that one out of every thousand immigrants is going to be a c*nt.

I just wish that when people talk about immigration into Ireland they compared everything they were about to say with what Irish immigrants did in places like America and Britain.

klein4
24/02/2006, 2:14 PM
block g raptor ; are the majority of these criminals non national or are you only remembering the non national ones as the media feels need to make a point of this in reports? correct me if I am wrong here but there was plenty of serious crime here before we ever had any immigration. and also do you really feel queing is what defines us as Irish people? I agree with person above who said bus/luas ques are total free for alls. And there was plenty of people driving without tax/insurance and after consuming an amount of alcohol that would make shane macgowan blush before immigration to this country. people seem to be takin out a general sense of frustration in their own lives on the nearest and easiest target - foreign people. pretty ****in boring and repetitive at this stage.