View Full Version : Am I Racist

Pages : 1 [2] 3 4

Clifford
22/02/2006, 2:17 PM
Considering our "leader" can hardly speak English is this any surprise? Don't know if this is relevant here, but let's see. (I don't think there is a prob with expecting to be spoken to in a better manner than that Max, broken English or not)

Irish people ‘have worst linguistic skills in Europe’
22/02/2006 - 08:06:48

An EU study has reportedly found that Irish people have poorer linguistic skills than the citizens of any other member state.

Reports this morning said two-thirds of Irish people questioned as part of the research admitted they could only speak English and few believed they should bother learning any other.

The reports said Ireland was currently the only EU country with no provision for teaching modern languages in primary schools.

Meanwhile, a separate study has also reportedly highlighted falling literacy levels among Junior Cert students.

This morning's reports said the assessment put together by some of the examiners of Junior Cert papers had concluded that literacy standards were in decline, particularly the ability to write coherent prose

22/02/2006, 2:24 PM
A taster of whats in store this season for the falsh in the pan champs

L@nger, you'd better be around for a pint this time.
We can abuse some foreign nationals when our pint isn't pulled correctly. ;)
I expect you only texted me after the game because you weren't confident beforehand.

22/02/2006, 2:28 PM
L@nger, you'd better be around for a pint this time.
We can abuse some foreign nationals when our pint isn't pulled correctly. ;)
I expect you only texted me after the game because you weren't confident beforehand.

no no.....that was my pre match text......cork phones are slower than our superior Dub phones

Soper
22/02/2006, 2:29 PM
EXPLAIN :confused:
no no, that would be going off topic!and we can't have that!

22/02/2006, 2:35 PM
no no, that would be going off topic!and we can't have that!

please do, i'm bored with this topic now anyway :p

22/02/2006, 2:37 PM
Because its not going your way. As usual.

Eire06
22/02/2006, 2:38 PM
Because of the word race...
Smartass :rolleyes:
You can be racist to a religious group also so it is not solely against different 'races'

22/02/2006, 2:42 PM
You can be racist to a religious group also so it is not solely against different 'races'
No you can't- that's sectarianism or discrimination etc.

Racism is solely for a race although it is not always used in that context

22/02/2006, 2:42 PM
No, that be sectarian (or sectaraniast if you be wanky wabout it)

klein4
22/02/2006, 2:47 PM
emmmmm?????????:confused:
Is that not called sectarianism????

mass migration of people to a superior land to look for work cause they have no jobs where they come from cause they keep electing corrupt politicians on the take. they dont really speak the language and they find the natives "customs" like washing and not sleeping/marrying your relations alien to them...yes....the sooner we repatriate the culchies the better.

22/02/2006, 2:48 PM
Because its not going your way. As usual.

hey i posted something to see what others thought, its not one way or the other. i do consider myself to be racist by what society considers to be racist.

Eire06
22/02/2006, 2:50 PM
Is there an echo in here or something....

Racist (http://dictionary.reference.com/search?q=Racist)

With perticular reference to

discriminatory especially on the basis of race or religion

Sectarian (http://dictionary.reference.com/search?q=sectarian%20)

22/02/2006, 3:26 PM
Racist (http://dictionary.reference.com/search?q=Racist) With perticular reference to Sectarian (http://dictionary.reference.com/search?q=sectarian%20)

Since when do the Americans know anything about the English language?

Yes, I know, that was a racist comment.

22/02/2006, 3:31 PM
Since when do the Americans know anything about the English language?

Yes, I know, that was a racist comment.

Are the Americans a race though or were you refering to the Native Americans or American Indians?........... Pah I'm all confused with this pc rubbish :p :)

22/02/2006, 3:39 PM
Pah I'm all confused with this pc rubbish

Computers confuse me too. :( :D

22/02/2006, 3:42 PM
hey i posted something to see what others thought, its not one way or the other. i do consider myself to be racist by what society considers to be racist.
So who else would define it?

22/02/2006, 3:49 PM
So who else would define it?

websters

anto1208
22/02/2006, 4:24 PM
Racist.

brilliant gervais-esque responce ...quality :D :D

Hither green
22/02/2006, 4:29 PM
My attitude is the same as yourself so dont disagree with you on that point. As I said before tho we are a totally different country to Britain with totally different experiences. As it is an Irish football website I dont see the problem with making that distinction.

Sure but you hear many of the same opinions and complaints being made else where and I was making a more general comment migrant workers.

22/02/2006, 4:31 PM
brilliant gervais-esque responce ...quality :D :D

well that explains why i didn't find it funny at all :)

22/02/2006, 4:49 PM
Max, try this (http://www.okcupid.com/tests/take?testid=12925561706718549677). It may help you answer your own question.

22/02/2006, 4:57 PM
and the result

"You scored higher than 57% on racistpoints"

its mainly aimed at the US

22/02/2006, 5:00 PM
and the result

"You scored higher than 57% on racistpoints"

its mainly aimed at the US

Couldn't find a european one. I scored a 39, with some things that I need to work on!

Closed Account 2
22/02/2006, 5:49 PM
at that moment i wished every foreigner in the land would just fcuk off home.

Think that's a bit beyond the pale. If it was more a case of wanting all the people to attempt to learn/speak a reasonable level of a host country's language then that would be fair, IMO.

When I go on holiday I always try and speak a little bit of the language - it just showing respect.

Marked Man
22/02/2006, 7:00 PM
Max, if you're going to complain about the ability of non-natives to speak English, the least you could do would be to use proper spelling and grammar yourself.

22/02/2006, 7:11 PM
Max, if you're going to complain about the ability of non-natives to speak English, the least you could do would be to use proper spelling and grammar yourself.

That's it! I want to speak to a manager, now!!!:D

22/02/2006, 7:27 PM
When I go on holiday I always try and speak a little bit of the language - it just showing respect.

Totally agree I always do that it used to Drive my Ex/and longtime travel partner mad she didn't get the whole respect element. I used to get really nice compliments etc. although i was embarrassed at reus airport a couple of years ago when I ordered una cerveza pou favour and the bar-man tried to hold a spanish conversation with me. A lot of people think the spanish are ignorant but you would be surprised how much the attitude changes if you even make the small effort to say Gracious(spelling?)

22/02/2006, 7:30 PM
The problem as I see it is that English is a stupid foreign language in the first place :D

The Pie Man
22/02/2006, 8:14 PM
some people have problems with spelling and such, i am one and have had to deal with it through school etc.

22/02/2006, 9:41 PM
Think that's a bit beyond the pale. If it was more a case of wanting all the people to attempt to learn/speak a reasonable level of a host country's language then that would be fair, IMO.

i agree with your point but its not like migrant workers dont try or dont want to learn the language...of course they do they want to fit in

English is one of the hardest languages to learn because of it being completely backwards compared to other languages. It takes time for them to learn and IMO people need to be a bit understanding in that respect.

How many irish students etc go abroad each summer and work.....yes mostly they cater for tourists but if a local came in i guarantee most of them wouldnt be able to string a sentence together

hamish
22/02/2006, 9:53 PM
Went into a 24 shop last night and they had a new bloke working there - some foreign chap but very pleasant and friendly. He had a problem with names that sounded similar though.
I asked for a couple of bars of whole nut chocolate but he went sifting around the meat sector, came back and said, "Sorry, no whole meat".:D
Then after I managed to get it across it was chocolate he got the message.Then I asked for firelighters and he gave me cigarette lighters. Got that sorted too when I pointed to the arear where the firelighters were.
I then asked for two packs of 20 Silk Cut King Size Purple. He first brought out a 10 pack of the small Silk Cut Blue. Eventually got that sorted too.:confused:

It involved a lot of gestures and pointing on my part - thank Heavens I wasn't looking for condoms.:D

Nice bloke but he was causing queues.

Oh, the shop had only an after 11pm window open so I couldn't do self service.

Kinda reminds me of the time I went into a bar in a redneck part of the US and asked the barman, "Do you have fags?". That didn't get a nice response but eventually I managed to tell the barman I wanted cigarettes and wasn't looking for a gaybar.. LOL

22/02/2006, 10:37 PM
I work in Adult Education and the number of people doing English as a Second Language courses is amazing in a small county like ours. Its great and shows that the majority of the migrant workers want to learn English. I used to work with Asylum seekers and saw how difficult it was for them.

TheJamaicanP.M.
22/02/2006, 10:44 PM
Max, try this (http://www.okcupid.com/tests/take?testid=12925561706718549677). It may help you answer your own question.

I took the test and it turns out that I'm 78% racist. However, that doesn't bother me one bit. I think we're too politically correct these days. In my opinion, there are too many Africans, Chinese and eastern Europeans in this country. From my experience of the Africans and Chinese, they have little or no manners. They're arrogant and to be quite honest, I do wish they'd **** off back to their own country. Fair enough, our economy might need the Chinese at the moment, but I'm thinking ahead and I don't want to be living in a city that becomes a ghetto like parts of South London and Birmingham.

BTW, I wouldn't view Maxie P as a racist.

TheJamaicanP.M.
22/02/2006, 10:46 PM
some people have problems with spelling and such, i am one and have had to deal with it through school etc.

Ya poor thing. I hope you're dealing with it ok.:D

anto1208
22/02/2006, 10:52 PM
I took the test and it turns out that I'm 78% racist. However, that doesn't bother me one bit. I think we're too politically correct these days. In my opinion, there are too many Africans, Chinese and eastern Europeans in this country. From my experience of the Africans and Chinese, they have little or no manners. They're arrogant and to be quite honest, I do wish they'd **** off back to their own country. Fair enough, our economy might need the Chinese at the moment, but I'm thinking ahead and I don't want to be living in a city that becomes a ghetto like parts of South London and Birmingham.

that test is pretty acurate so :D

22/02/2006, 10:59 PM

Got 68 on that test and certainly dont consider myself racist

TheJamaicanP.M.
22/02/2006, 11:08 PM
Got 68 on that test and certainly dont consider myself racist

I think some of the questions are a bit misleading. For instance, asking whether a certain race is better at sports than another race. In my opinion, suggesting that black people are better athletes than Indian or Pakastani athletes seems logical.

I wouldnt worry about it. In terms of what society perceives as being racist, its fair to say that I am a racist. However, that doesn't concern me.

22/02/2006, 11:19 PM
Ya, those questions are terrible.
Like, what score would you get, if you thought country music was a black thing?

klein4
23/02/2006, 8:16 AM

what an ignorant little man you are.:mad:

23/02/2006, 8:30 AM
I wouldnt worry about it. In terms of what society perceives as being racist, its fair to say that I am a racist. However, that doesn't concern me.

It bloody well should. And I thought you were an educated man. My mistake. :mad:

:ball: PP

23/02/2006, 9:08 AM
Love the cop outs from all the rascists. "That test was stupid" "Society deems me a rascist" Like it needs qualifying.

23/02/2006, 9:10 AM
Love the cop outs from all the rascists. "That test was stupid" "Society deems me a rascist" Like it needs qualifying.

if i dislike a person its because of them and not their passport.

klein4
23/02/2006, 9:19 AM
then why didnt you start a thread sayin ya hate rude people rather than people who arent from ireland that are rude? which would probably be closer to the truth. as fot the jamaican pms there are too many africans and chinese in this country comment...what the hell does that mean? how many is too many? how are they effecting him at all?

23/02/2006, 9:32 AM
My result indicated that I am "Tolerant" but I think the test isn't a good indicator since the questions are hollow and compiled for an American audience.

23/02/2006, 9:33 AM
then why didnt you start a thread sayin ya hate rude people rather than people who arent from ireland that are rude? which would probably be closer to the truth. as fot the jamaican pms there are too many africans and chinese in this country comment...what the hell does that mean? how many is too many? how are they effecting him at all?

But the point i was making is should i be considered a racist because they have a different passport to me, a muppet is a muppet no matter what country and if i call a black man a muppet people will call you racist. and the society thing i should have backed up dodge with PC society which these days is the whole media and half the country who seem to like the ride on the moral high horse.

as for the PM, he is looking for attention.

23/02/2006, 9:58 AM
The problem as I see it is that English is a stupid foreign language in the first place :D

EXACTLY! :)

I agree with whoever said that an understanding of our language should be a pre-requisite before dem immigents are allowed to come to our country. I look forward to the time when foreign shop workers can tell us to "F*** off abhaile to Sasana".

Den Perry
23/02/2006, 10:07 AM
you have the choice not to pay for a service if you dont think it is good enough.

I don't agreee Klein...why should you go to another shop just because the guy behind the counter in your regular shop won't bother his b ******* to learn the lingo?

Twice in two weeks a non national who does not have good English (or pretends not to)....the second time a I challenged him and he played the f-uckin eejit. I demanded to see the boss...he said he was the manager. So I threatened to call the Gardai....he then got his mate out who claimed to be the owner, and he gave me back the 3 cents I was owed....

I then sent in a plant a few weeks later and lo and behold....he was short changed by 1.50.

Den Perry
23/02/2006, 10:11 AM

Did you study that case where the court had to determine whether Sheiks wre a race?

Den Perry
23/02/2006, 10:21 AM
I work in Adult Education and the number of people doing English as a Second Language courses is amazing in a small county like ours. Its great and shows that the majority of the migrant workers want to learn English. I used to work with Asylum seekers and saw how difficult it was for them.

difficult? u having a laugh?

23/02/2006, 10:24 AM
I don't think it's a case of non-nationals not being willing to learn the language but rather them being employed while in the early stages of learning English. In my local newagents the staff became all Chinese about three years ago and you used not to be able to communicate in the slightest down there. The same people are in place three years later and speak adequate English now. I've lived in Slovenia for many months without being able to communicate and you feel like an impotent fool. You can't do basic things like go shopping and get something at the deli or have to avoid eye contact in the elevator in case someone says "nice weather" and you don't no how to respond. I don't think anyone willingly wants to be unable to communicate.