View Full Version : Is Alex Bruce the ultimate mercenary?
Qwerty
27/02/2006, 11:09 PM
NI management called him up 3 times so they clearly wanted him. My feeling toward mercenaries is pragmatic, there are times when we need them and the depth they provide but in an ideal world we would play the Breens and Kilbanes and not the Hollands and Morrisons. Despite the reasonably high numbers of Irish youngters in the UK we don't have many quality center backs coming through - not that I think Bruce is a quality center back at this point but he could develop into one like his father and become an option in years to come. Probability is he will be playing League 1 sooner rather than later and then gradually slip into obscurity.
Dassa
27/02/2006, 11:52 PM
beggars cant be choosers?
were far from beggers and if he turned us down once should never have been given further chance. in his position of midfield or defence centre we have much more talanted players than him.
livehead1
28/02/2006, 10:23 AM
were far from beggers and if he turned us down once should never have been given further chance. in his position of midfield or defence centre we have much more talanted players than him.
i can think of a few more who turned ya down and then ended up in the jersey, maik taylor? we've done it as well though
28/02/2006, 11:44 AM
he has made a bad career choice cos he is far more likely to play for NI than us but i can understand Dassa's feelings on the matter.
klein4
28/02/2006, 12:01 PM
beggars cant be choosers?
I wouldnt put me house on us beatin the north at the moment...
What has Houghton done to earn your disapproval?
He's said several times since he retired that he still considers himself scottish and looks for their results first. Just incase people try and claim that it was for the audience he was talking to at the time, he said this on an RTE production - The Green and the Red about players who'd played for United or Liverpool, and Ireland. Gave the story of how he decided to play for Ireland in a fit of pique because he was píssed off not getting his game for scotland when he thought he should've been in their team.
Dassa
28/02/2006, 12:26 PM
I think its safe to say that people like us would give anything to represent our countries. But thats because we are real fans for many players today the honour of pulling on that green top of either country just doesnt mean what it should. very dissapointing but maybe a sign of the times im afraid.
zinedineontour
28/02/2006, 5:15 PM
no clinton morrison is but look at the commitment and effort he has put into the green jersey and nobody was complaining bout him in israel or switz .. if alex bruce comes on as a player and does well for us then fair play to the lad .. wish him well
Irish Pride
28/02/2006, 10:56 PM
Reading the paper today and i seen and Alex Bruce said he watched his dad win everything as a player for club but not getting a cap for country. he then said he has irish family back ground but here is the best part of the article and i quote:
"Its something you look forward to as a lad, representing a country. Its nice to be wearing the Ireland kit"
Hands up how many of us dreamed of representing A country as a kid?????
I know i've always wanted to represented MY country but as a lad i never said it would be great to play so Scotland or Hungry or Iran.
When will the kids learn. Well he is irish now, lets back him. he might make it.
livehead1
01/03/2006, 1:02 AM
the clinton M. discussion is irrelevant now, that fella puts so much effort in when he plays for us, always works so hard, hes a good player and a nice man, no1 i have spoke to has a bad word 2 say about him, a gent
Qwerty
01/03/2006, 1:33 AM
Vinny Jones is the ultimate mercenary, he even looks the part. Whenever we bring up the topic of mercenaries we have to at least acknowledge we didn't take Vinny up on his offer...
Irish_Praha
01/03/2006, 8:45 AM
Vinny Jones is the ultimate mercenary, he even looks the part. Whenever we bring up the topic of mercenaries we have to at least acknowledge we didn't take Vinny up on his offer...
Yeah I remember the headlines in the papers about 10 years ago when we wer considering his offer "It's Vinny O'Jones" :rolleyes:
monutdfc
01/03/2006, 11:50 AM
Did we ever get a chance to turn him down? As I recall he could not prove his eligibility. He came to Dublin to get his granny's birthcert but with no success. Having said that, I think Charlton said he wouldn;t have picked him anyway.
But I could be totally wrong.
as_i_say
01/03/2006, 12:10 PM
i always dreamed of playing for Country A...great team they had in the 90s
01/03/2006, 12:20 PM
i always dreamed of playing for Country A...great team they had in the 90s
Me too! I hate that Country B...so much.
03/03/2006, 8:37 AM
The guys on the Northern Ireland board dug up this one
http://www.fifa.com/en/media/index/0,1369,74563,00.html
My reading of this is that if Alex Bruce's only qualification fdor us is through his grandmother from Co. Down then he would not be eligible. He may have a connection to the Republic as well but I haven't seen that clarified.
It would also rule out any NI born players from playing for us as the previous rule used to allow passport holders to play for a country. Anybody born on th eisland can get an Irish passport but now they will need a RoI grandparent at a minimum.
03/03/2006, 5:22 PM
Lads I qualified by birth to play for the Republic; through my mother for Northern Ireland ; through my mother's father being born in Cairo ..for Egypt; and through my father's mother being born in Valparaiso ....for Chile.
And while I am proud to be Irish ... it would have been an honour to represent any of them if I am honest!
Now as it happens I didn't even have the talent to represent San Marino but that's life ! :D
03/03/2006, 5:25 PM
The guys on the Northern Ireland board dug up this one
http://www.fifa.com/en/media/index/0,1369,74563,00.html
My reading of this is that if Alex Bruce's only qualification fdor us is through his grandmother from Co. Down then he would not be eligible. He may have a connection to the Republic as well but I haven't seen that clarified.
It would also rule out any NI born players from playing for us as the previous rule used to allow passport holders to play for a country. Anybody born on th eisland can get an Irish passport but now they will need a RoI grandparent at a minimum.
Well if he has an Irish born (anywhere on the island) granny especially one born before 1949 then he as far as I know can still become an Irish citizen.
The referendum that was voted on in 2004, came into effect on 1 January 2005 which is when the rules changed. And Alex is more than 15 months old isn't he?:D